在芝加哥体验1 Day,3 Ways!

1日,3在芝加哥的方式!

 

对芝加哥的访问将让你像Sinatra一样低吟“芝加哥是我的城市”。 唯一的问题是,在风城发生这么多事情,你可能会发现很难缩小你想要做的事。 我们已经将3有趣的主题建议放在了如何度过这一天,以便您可以选择如何让Chi City留下您的印记!

芝加哥像其他人一样:芝加哥天际线和芝加哥食品星球

1日,3在芝加哥的方式!

从威利斯大厦(Willis Tower)到空中甲板(SkyDeck),这是一条轻松的路! 那不是我的脚在壁架上的街道上的高脚,而从高处…103楼的景致!

威利斯大厦(原名西尔斯大厦)是芝加哥的建筑之一,使城市天际线闻名世界,并立即得到认可。 看着瓦克街上人行道上闪耀的黑色大厦,我可以感觉到我的膝盖屈曲。 走向世界的思考 展望台 在顶部让我昏昏欲睡。 “我不确定我可以......”我喃喃自语。 “当然可以!”我受到鼓舞。

在我们登上电梯之前,在大堂区域张贴的琐事(在不到一分钟的时间内将我们放在103的地板上)将我从远高峰时期的厄运中分散了很长时间。 你知道塔是262迈克尔乔丹高吗? 那是313 Oprahs! 9分钟的电影, 能飞上蓝天 填补了建筑物及其设计的一些历史。 一旦登顶,我会承认,这是令人敬畏的。 在晴朗的一天,您可以看到Skydeck的四个州。 如果你比我更勇敢,可以走进The Ledge ......厚厚的夹层玻璃盒,从建筑物的侧面伸出4.3脚,让你清晰地拍摄到街道下方的412米。

1日,3在芝加哥的方式!

芝加哥喜欢狗,它们上有一切! 致谢A. Alexander,由Choice Chicago提供

没有什么比盯着脸上的死亡来增强食欲,并且与他们一起巡游 芝加哥食物星球 是品尝第二城市的理想方式。 几个主题旅游季节性运行。 我有机会在Wicker Park周围迷人的地区的几家餐厅品尝世界各地的美食。 根据我们引人入胜的热闹指南,最受欢迎的家庭之旅是Best in Chow,它全年运行,并为13下的儿童提供折扣价。 您可以在与其创作最相关的餐厅品尝一些最具标志性的芝加哥食物(热狗,深盘披萨,爆米花等)。 我想不出一个更好的方式来花费2.5与孩子一起吃饭的时间,因为这些部分足够小以至于你可以品尝到所有的东西,速度悠闲但不慢,并且不需要等待某个位置很受欢迎的餐馆。 请记住,根据巡回赛的情况,可以有相当数量的步行和站立......你最了解你的孩子,如果他们对这种事情有耐心!

探险家摇滚! 菲尔德博物馆和阿德勒天文馆

1 Day 3在芝加哥的方式

Sue,T-Rex迎接参观菲尔德博物馆。 她将在未来几个月前往TLC。

常规产品的 菲尔德博物馆 是欺骗性的。 从明亮的中央大厅向T-Rex的“Sue”房屋的天花板开放,您可以原谅周围的少量画廊占用很小的空间,并且您可以快速通过博物馆。 这不小。 你不能急于。 亮点之旅由知识渊博的人员全天提供,这可以是一个很好的方式来达到高点,帮助您决定自己想要回到自己的位置,深入挖掘您真正感兴趣的景点。

我最喜欢的是Grainger宝石大厅,收藏有画廊赞助商捐赠的令人印象深刻的宝石和珠宝,以及用该珠宝中的宝石制成的奇幻作品。 “你没有任何想法!” 我听到一个年轻人告诫他的女友,因为她在价值数百万美元的展览上徘徊了一点。

Crown Family PlayLab为年轻科学家提供探索的机会。

千万不要错过Crown Family Playlab(楼下),它与博物馆的其他部分有不同的时间,因此请确保您相应地进行检查和计划。 年轻一代将喜欢亲身实践的乐趣,并有机会深入研究与博物馆其他部分相关的主题。

聪明人的话:如果你已经购买了 CityPass通行证,一定要检查入场时包含的画廊,有些(但不是全部)是通行证的一部分。 我错误地认为我没有机会参观我实际上可以参观的一些展品。 华华。

1 Day 3在芝加哥的方式

感觉像阿德勒植物园的宇航员! 探索航天飞机,凝视月球岩石,并在巨大的行星下玩耍。

不远处的田野博物馆(在博物馆校区)被称为 阿德勒天文馆。 它收藏了来自太空探索历史的精美手工艺品,尤其是吉姆·洛威尔(Jim Lovell)自己收藏的作品。 画廊是沉浸式的,在休斯顿控制室播放的配乐中,当您观看戏剧性的《阿波罗13号》任务中的遗物时,感觉很紧迫(是的,这是汤姆·汉克斯的电影。)我可以看到它有点压倒性的对有感觉敏感的人,因此如果您的家庭有问题,您可能想花时间在其他画廊。

阿德勒做了一项干净整洁的工作,让参观者从太阳系画廊的巨大行星到太空漫步模拟,一条长长的带玻璃走道的黑暗隧道,让你感觉自己像在漫步星空一样,再加上节目以及让你对Final Frontier感到兴奋的活动。

艺术攻击:芝加哥艺术学院和千禧公园

Thorne微型客房,他的马身上的真人大小骑士与他们的盔甲,一个雕塑乞求触摸画廊

常规产品的 芝加哥艺术学院 一直名列世界顶级博物馆之列,并且以其百科全书的收藏品,为各类艺术爱好者提供了一些东西。 参观(包括入场和中午每天举行)是了解收藏的绝佳方式。 楼下的微型房间是神奇的,在现实生活中,只有在我的艺术史书中才能看到的艺术前景令人兴奋。

如果你有CityPASS,你会知道你可以选择阿德勒天文馆或艺术学院。 如果你有小/活跃的kiddos,他们可能更喜欢天文馆的动手性质(你可以花这一天在 科学和工业博物馆 这比名字暗示的更有趣!)

你可以在艺术学院进入瑞安学习空间,但不需要支付入场费。 虽然你不会看到所有的艺术,但你仍然可以参与一些创意艺术活动,包括触摸画廊,这是一个免费的触摸收集!

1 Day 3在芝加哥的方式

千禧公园的艺术无限价值! 皇冠喷泉,杰·普利兹克馆和云门。

一旦你在艺术学院完成,穿过Nichols Bridgeway(从现代机翼的三楼)穿过马路 千禧公园。 芝加哥市努力确保城市周围有无障碍的公共艺术 - 其中一些人比其他人更加钟爱,而在千禧公园里,您会发现一堆! 停在桥上,欣赏由弗兰克盖里设计的杰·普利兹克亭。 如果天气很好,你可以在普通芝加哥人的面前溅起水花,投射到皇冠喷泉上的高大的屏幕上。 在Anish Kapoor的云门(亲切地称为“The Bean”)和千年纪念碑的多立克式柱前呈现照片。 有一个 音频之旅 你可以下载到你的手机,如果你想要更多的艺术信息。

我在社交媒体上发布的必要#nofilter帖子引起了我朋友的热烈评论。 “我爱芝加哥!”和“你为什么不带我? 芝加哥是最棒的!“我的旅行数额相当可观,而且我认为我从未得到过有关城市的那种回​​应。 对于这个地方有一些低调而狂热的东西,而且很难不被吸引。用这些3的方式来度过这一天,你也会感受到它!

除非另有说明,所有Jen Mallia照片。 非常感谢 城市通行证 选择芝加哥 主办我的风城之旅。 这些意见像我以往一样。

1 Day, 3 Ways in Chicago! How to Spend the Day 3 Great Ways

Experience 1 Day, 3 Ways in Chicago!

1 Day, 3 Ways in Chicago!

 

A visit to Chicago will have you crooning “Chicago is my kind of town” just like Sinatra did. The only problem is that with so much happening in the Windy City, you might find it hard to narrow down what you want to do. We’ve put together 3 fun themed suggestions on how to spend the day so you can pick and choose how to let Chi City leave its mark on you!

Chicago like no other: SkyDeck Chicago and Chicago Food Planet

1 Day, 3 Ways in Chicago!

That’s a looong way up the Willis Tower to the SkyDeck! Those are not my feet high above the street on the Ledge, and the view from on high…103 floors up!

The Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) is one of the Chicago buildings that makes the city skyline world famous and immediately recognisable. Staring up at the shining black edifice from the sidewalk on Wacker Street, I can feel my knees buckling. Thinking of heading to the SkyDeck at the top makes me woozy. “I’m not sure I can…” I murmur. “Of course you can!” I am brightly encouraged.

The trivia posted in the lobby area before we board the elevator (zipping us up 103 floors in less than a minute) distracts me from the impending doom from great heights for just long enough. Did you know the tower is 262 Michael Jordans high? That’s 313 Oprahs! The 9-minute movie, Reach for the Sky filled in some of the history of the building and its design. Once at the top, I will concede, it was awe-inspiring. On a clear day, you can see four states from the Skydeck. If you are braver than me, step into The Ledge…a thick laminated glass box that protrudes 4.3 feet from the side of the building to give you a clear shot down to the street, 412 metres below.

1 Day, 3 Ways in Chicago!

Chicago likes its dogs with everything on ’em! Credit A. Alexander, courtesy of Choose Chicago

There’s nothing like staring death in the face to work up an appetite, and a tour with Chicago Food Planet is an ideal way to get a taste of the Second City. Several themed tours run seasonally. I had the opportunity to sip and snack my way around the world at several restaurants in the charming area around Wicker Park for the World’s Fare tour. According to our engaging and hilarious guide, the most popular tour for families is Best in Chow, which runs year round and offers discounted pricing for children under 13. You get to taste some of the most iconic Chicago food (hotdogs, deep dish pizza, popcorn and more!) at the restaurants most associated with their creation. I can’t think of a better way to spend 2.5 hours eating with kids, as the portions are small enough that you can get a taste of everything, the pace is leisurely but not slow, and there is no waiting for a seat at some very popular restaurants. Just bear in mind, depending on the tour, there can be a fair amount of walking and standing…you know your kid best, and if they will have patience for that kind of thing!

Explorers Rock! The Field Museum and Adler Planetarium

1 Day 3 Ways in Chicago

Sue, the T-Rex greets visitors to the Field Museum. She is heading for some TLC in the coming months.

The Field Museum is deceptive. From the bright centre hall, open to the ceiling that houses “Sue” the T-Rex, you would be forgiven for thinking the handful of surrounding galleries take up a small footprint and that you can get through the museum quickly. It’s not small. You can’t rush. Highlights tours are offered throughout the day by knowledgeable docents, and that can be a great way of hitting the high points to help you decide what you want to go back to on your own to dig in deeper at the spots you are really interested in.

My fave was the Grainger Hall of Gems, with an impressive collection of gems and jewellery donated by patrons of the gallery, as well as fantasy pieces created from the jewels in the collection.  “Don’t you get any ideas!” I heard a young man admonish his girlfriend as she lingered a little too wistfully over a multimillion-dollar display.

The Crown Family PlayLab gives young scientists the chance to explore.

Don’t miss the Crown Family Playlab (downstairs) it has different hours from the rest of the museum, so make sure you check and plan accordingly. The younger set will love the hands-on fun and chance to delve into the themes that mirror what is going on in the rest of the museum.

A word to the wise: If you have purchased the CityPASS, be sure to check what galleries are included in your admission, some (but not all) are part of the pass. I mistakenly thought I didn’t have access to some of the exhibits I actually could have visited. Wah WAH.

1 Day 3 Ways in Chicago

Feel like an astronaut at the Adler Plantarium! Explore a space shuttle, gaze upon the moon rocks, and play under the giant planets.

Not far from the Field Museum, (in the area known as Museum Campus) is the Adler Planetarium. It has a cool collection of artefacts from the history of space exploration, notably pieces from Jim Lovell’s own collection. The gallery is immersive, with a soundtrack of the Houston control room playing that lends a feeling of urgency as you look at relics from the dramatic Apollo 13 mission (yes, that’s the Tom Hanks movie one.) I could see it being a bit overwhelming to someone with sensory sensitivities, so you might want to spend your time in other galleries if that is an issue in your family.

The Adler has done a neat job of engaging visitors, from the giant planets in the Solar System gallery, to the Space Walk simulation, a long, dark tunnel with a glass walkway to make you feel like you are walking through the stars, plus shows and activities that will get you excited about the Final Frontier.

Art Attack: The Art Institute of Chicago and Millennium Park

The Thorne Miniature Rooms, life-size knight on his horse with their armour, a sculpture begs to be touched in the Touch Gallery

The Art Institute of Chicago is consistently ranked among the top museums in the world, and with its encyclopedic collection, it offers something for every genre of art lover. A tour (included with admission and held daily at noon) is an excellent way to learn about the collections. The miniature rooms downstairs were magical and seeing, in real life, art previoulsy seen only in my art history texts was pretty thrilling.

If you have the CityPASS, you will know that you can choose from the Adler Planetarium or the Art Institute. If you have little/active kiddos, they might enjoy the hands-on nature of the Planetarium more (you could spend this day at the Museum of Science and Industry that is far more interesting than the name implies!)

You can get into the Ryan Learning Space at the Art Institute without paying admission though. While you won’t get to see all the art, you can still engage in some creative art activities, including the touch gallery, an accessible collection that is free for the touching!

1 Day 3 Ways in Chicago

The art in Millennium Park is infinitely Insta-worthy! The Crown Fountain, Jay Pritzker Pavilion, and Cloud Gate.

Once you have finished at the Art Institute, cross the Nichols Bridgeway (from the third floor in the modern wing) over the road into Millennium Park. The City of Chicago works hard to ensure there is accessible public art—some more beloved by the citizens than others – around town, and in Millennium Park you will find a bunch! Stop on the bridge for a view of the Jay Pritzker Pavilion designed by Frank Gehry. If the weather is nice, you can splash in front of the faces of ordinary Chicagoans, projected large onto facing towering screens, at the Crown Fountain. Pose for pics in front of Anish Kapoor’s Cloud Gate (affectionately known as “The Bean”) and the Doric columns of the Millennium Monument. There is an audio tour you can download to your phone if you want more info on the art.

My requisite #nofilter posts on social media elicited passionate comments from my friends. “I LOVE CHICAGO!” and “Why didn’t you bring me? Chicago is THE BEST!” I travel a fair amount, and I don’t think I’ve ever got that kind of response about a city. There is something understated yet feisty about the place, and it’s tough not to be drawn in. With these 3 ways to spend the day, you’ll get a taste of it too!

All photos by Jen Mallia unless otherwise indicated. Many thanks to City PASS and Choose Chicago for hosting my visit to the Windy City. The opinions are, as ever, my own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *