Aventures familiales à Moncton Nouveau-Brunswick Kayak Hopewell Rocks High Tide

Hopewell Rocks à High Tide / Photo: Tourisme NB

Si vous passez par Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, veuillez suivre mon conseil: arrêtez. Restez quelques nuits. Et… lâchez prise! Vos enfants n'oublieront jamais le temps qu'ils ont passé à Moncton. Que vous conduisiez, voliez ou preniez le train, Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, est une destination de vacances incroyable pour les familles qui aiment la langue, la nourriture et l'aventure.

 



Voici 11 attractions de Moncton que votre famille ne voudra pas manquer:

Aventures familiales à Moncton Rob Whelan Photography

La Ville de Moncton: tous ceux que nous avons rencontrés étaient complètement bilingues / Photo: Rob Whelan

1. Une culture urbaine unique

Pour les familles dont les enfants apprennent le français, Moncton offre une éducation précieuse. Nouveau-Brunswick est officiellement bilingue, et donc, une visite familiale à Moncton est vraiment une leçon de culture, car vous observez les employés des magasins, les serveurs et les serveuses, le personnel de l'hôtel et les familles locales passer sans effort entre les deux langues. Quelle belle façon de découvrir une nouvelle culture!

Aventures familiales à Moncton Train VIA Rail

Hiver ou été… nous rencontrons toujours de nouveaux amis dans le train!

2. Le voyage en train

Le train est une expérience incroyable pour les enfants, alors pourquoi ne pas faire de Moncton votre destination par chemin de fer? Trois fois par semaine, un train de nuit quitte Montréal à l'heure du souper et arrive à Moncton juste après le déjeuner. Quelle expérience incroyable de soirée pyjama! Ou si vous voyagez de l'Est, L'océan de VIA Rail quitte Halifax trois fois par semaine vers midi et arrive à Moncton environ 4 quelques heures plus tard: juste le temps de savourer un repas, une sieste et un regard par la fenêtre. Les courts séjours à Moncton deviennent un voyage de plus en plus populaire pour les familles canadiennes aventureuses.

Aventures en famille à Moncton Delta Beausejour Hotel

3. L'Hôtel Delta Beausejour

Le Delta Beauséjour n'est pas seulement un lieu de séjour, mais la destination en soi pour de nombreuses familles qui font un court séjour au Canada atlantique. Premièrement, le Delta est à distance de marche de la gare et de toutes les commodités du centre-ville. Ensuite, les services de l'hôtel sont totalement adaptés aux enfants. Les enfants ont droit à des jouets et des jeux de qualité à l'enregistrement, les enfants de 6 ans et moins mangent gratuitement au restaurant et le menu du service d'étage propose des repas très copieux pour enfants pour seulement 6.99 $. Enfin, la piscine du Delta Beauséjour comprend une superbe salle de jeux et le plus long bord de l'eau intérieur de Moncton. Wheeee!

Aventures familiales à Moncton Nouveau-Brunswick Magic Mountain

Parc aquatique Magic Mountain / Photo: Tourisme NB

4. Montagne magique

Si vous aimez les glissades d'eau, vous allez adorer Parc aquatique Magic Mountain! Avec des critiques extrêmement positives sur Trip Advsior, Magic Mountain Water Park offre un pays des merveilles de tubes, piscines et bords de l'eau adaptés aux familles de tous âges. D'une fontaine à jets d'eau pour les kiddies, à la nouvelle Torpedo Drop Capsule pour les audacieux, il y en a pour tous les goûts. Magic Mountain est situé dans le complexe Magnetic Hill, et il y a tellement de choses à faire là-bas, nous vous recommandons de rester au moins toute la journée.

Aventures familiales à Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick Amur Tiger

Un des deux rares tigres de l'Amour au zoo de Magnetic Hill / Photo: Ville de Moncton

5. Zoo de Magnetic Hill

Zoo de Magnetic Hill est le plus grand zoo du Canada atlantique, engagé dans la sauvegarde et sensibilisant le public aux espèces menacées. Le zoo est organisé par la géographie, avec chaque zone du zoo à thème pour sa région du monde. Éducatif! Originaire d'Extrême-Orient, le léopard d'Amur, en danger critique d'extinction, est l'un des rares léopards 87 au Canada. (Malheureusement, il y a moins de 60 d'entre eux sont restés dans la nature). Egalement en voie de disparition, un couple de beaux tigres de l'Amour, la plus grande espèce de chat du monde, est nouveau au zoo pour 2015. Soucieux de leur confort? Ne soyez pas! Ces chats sont bien soignés et totalement à l'aise avec le climat canadien. Saviez-vous que Moncton est à la même latitude que la région de l'Amour en Russie?

Aventures familiales à Moncton Nouveau-Brunswick Magnetic Hill

Magnetic Hill: sensations fortes! / Photo: Ville de Moncton

6. Magnetic Hill

Pourquoi tout s'appelle Magnetic Hill, demandez-vous? Eh bien, c'est à cause de… Magnetic Hill! À peine plus jeune que l'invention de la roue elle-même, cette attraction touristique séculaire attire encore des milliers de visiteurs chaque année à Moncton. Envie d'un frisson rapide? Il suffit de conduire jusqu'au bas de la colline, de retirer le pied du frein, et comme par magie, votre voiture roulera… en haut de la colline!

Aventures familiales à Moncton TreeGo

TreeGO / Photo: TreeGO

7. TreeGO

À quelques minutes du centre-ville, vous pouvez vous perdre dans les arbres à TreeGO, Le cours d'aventure Ariel de Moncton pour adultes et enfants de 7 ans et plus. Avec de multiples activités disponibles, les aventuriers peuvent choisir la distance et la vitesse à parcourir, en fonction de l'agilité individuelle, de l'endurance et de la confiance.Leurs enfants sont spécialement conçus pour les enfants âgés de 7 à 13 ans. Pouvez-vous vous balancer à travers les arbres comme Tarzan? Visitez TreeGO et découvrez!

Aventures familiales à Moncton Nouveau-Brunswick Musée Resurgo Moncton

Resurgo Transportation Discovery Centre: Vos enfants voudront rester toute la journée!

8. Resurgo Transportation Discovery Centre

La nouvelle attraction familiale de Moncton, Le centre de découverte des transports de Resurgo est un musée interactif petit mais incroyablement amusant. Une fois que vous y serez, vos enfants ne voudront plus jamais partir. Le dessin? Au Resurgo, les enfants peuvent lancer une fusée, construire un camion, piloter un avion, faire flotter un bateau et même envoyer des objets artisanaux de forme étrange dans une soufflerie. Ne quittez pas Moncton sans une visite à ce petit, mais puissant, nouveau musée des sciences de la marque. Vos petits explorateurs vous en seront reconnaissants!

Aventures familiales à Moncton Moncton Old Triangle Alehouse

The Old Triangle Alehouse, Moncton: bonne bière et nourriture / Photo: Old Triangle

9. Pubs pour toute la famille

La bonne chose à propos de voyager dans une petite ville, c'est que tout est compact et accessible, et vous avez certainement l'embarras du choix à Moncton, qui a une sélection fantastique de restaurants et de bars le long de sa rue principale. Pour une délicieuse cuisine de pub et de la bonne musique live, Le Vieux Triangle Irish Alehouse a un excellent menu pour enfants. Nous vous recommandons de prendre un "douillet" pour contenir les enfants afin que maman et papa puissent se détendre avec leurs pintes. Pour une bouffe de pub gastronomique, essayez The Brasserie gastronomique Tide & Boar, nommé l'un des 50 meilleurs restaurants au Canada par McLean's Magazine. Bien que le Tide and Boar n'ait pas de menu pour enfants, ils promettent qu'ils ont beaucoup d'options pour les enfants. Enfin, si vous êtes amateur de fruits de mer, que diriez-vous Catch-22 Bar à homard, présenté sur le spectacle de The Food Network Canada, You Gotta Eat Here!

Aventures familiales au restaurant Homestead de Moncton

Un joyau caché dans la banlieue de Riverview

10. Le restaurant Homestead

Chut… celui-ci est un secret. Lors d'un récent voyage à Moncton, nous avons demandé aux habitants où nous pourrions aller pour un repas de style diner maison. Chaque personne a dit: «The Homestead». Ce n'est pas à distance de marche du centre-ville, mais si vous pouvez trouver votre chemin vers la banlieue de Riverview, votre famille mangera comme les habitants, avec de généreux plateaux de plats cuisinés maison, du pain et des tartes maison et un service chaleureux et amical. . Mangez bien et ne le dites pas!

Aventures familiales à Moncton Hopewell Rocks Low Tide

Les rochers de Hopewell à marée basse / Photo: Ville de Moncton

11. Hopewell Rocks

Moncton est une mini-métropole fabuleuse, mais si l'aventure en plein air est ce que vous cherchez, vous trouverez de magnifiques randonnées, du kayak et des expériences de nature à Les rochers de Hopewell, situé à un peu moins d'une heure en dehors de la ville. Au fil du temps, les marées de la baie de Fundy (les plus hautes du monde) ont sculpté les falaises en criques et formations de grès distinctives surmontées d'arbres. Pendant les périodes de marée basse, vous pouvez marcher 2 km de plage et explorer plusieurs criques remplies de ces rochers en pot de fleurs. À marée haute, vous pouvez faire du kayak à travers les arches!

Que vous soyez en train de passer ou de faire la belle province du Nouveau-Brunswick votre destination principale, passez un bon moment à explorer l'une des villes préférées de notre famille: Moncton!

Helen Earley est une agence de voyage basée à Halifax écrivain. Son voyage à Moncton a été parrainé par Tourism Moncton

11 Family Adventures in Moncton, New Brunswick

Family Adventures in Moncton New Brunswick Kayaking Hopewell Rocks High Tide

Hopewell Rocks at High Tide/Photo: Tourism NB

If you happen to pass through Moncton, New Brunswick, please take my advice: Stop. Stay a couple of nights. And…let go! Your kids will never forget the time they spent in Moncton. Whether you drive, fly or take the train, Moncton, New Brunswick is an amazing holiday destination for families who love language, food and adventure. Here are 11 Moncton attractions that your family won’t want to miss:

Family Adventures in Moncton Rob Whelan Photography

The City of Moncton: everyone we met was completely bilingual/Photo: Rob Whelan

1. A Unique City Culture

For families whose children are learning French, Moncton offers a valuable education. New Brunswick is officially bilingual, and therefore, a family visit to Moncton is truly a lesson in culture, as you observe store employees, waiters and waitresses, hotel staff and local families switching effortlessly between the two languages. What a great way to experience a new culture!

Family Adventures in Moncton VIA Rail train

Winter or summer…we always meet new friends on the train!

2. The Train Journey

The train is an amazing experience for kids, so why not make Moncton your destination by rail? Three times per week, an overnight train departs Montreal at suppertime, arriving in Moncton just after lunch. What an amazing sleepover experience! Or if you’re travelling from the East, The VIA Rail ‘Ocean’ leaves Halifax three times a week at about lunchtime, and arrives in Moncton about 4 hours later: just enough time to enjoy a meal, a snooze and a gaze out the window. Short breaks to Moncton are becoming an increasingly popular trip for adventurous Canadian families.

Family Adventures in Moncton Delta Beausejour Hotel

3. The Delta Beausejour Hotel

The Delta Beausejour is not just a place to stay, but the destination itself for many families taking a short break in Atlantic Canada.  Firstly, the Delta is walking distance from the Train Station and all downtown amenities. Next, the services in the hotel are totally geared for kids. Kids are treated to premium toys and games on check-in, kids 6 and under eat free in the restaurant, and the room service menu offers very substantial kids’ meals for only $6.99. Finally, the pool area at the Delta Beausejour includes an awesome games room, and the longest indoor waterside in Moncton. Wheeee!

Family Adventures in Moncton New Brunswick Magic Mountain

Magic Mountain Water Park/Photo: Tourism NB

4. Magic Mountain

If you like waterslides, you will love Magic Mountain Water Park! With overwhelmingly positive reviews on Trip Advsior, Magic Mountain Water Park offers a wonderland of tubes, pools and watersides suitable for families of all ages. From a splash pad for kiddies, to the new Torpedo Drop Capsule for the daredevils, there is something for everyone. Magic Mountain is located in the Magnetic Hill Complex, and there is so much to do there, we recommend planning to stay at least the whole day.

Family Adventures in Moncton, New Brunswick Amur Tiger

One of two rare Amur tigers at the Magnetic Hill Zoo/Photo: City of Moncton

5. Magnetic Hill Zoo

Magnetic Hill Zoo is the largest zoo in Atlantic Canada, committed to safeguarding, and raising public awareness of endangered species. The zoo is organized by geography, with each area of the zoo themed for its world region. Educational! Native to Far East Russia, the critically endangered Amur leopard is one of only 87 leopards in Canada. (Sadly, there are less than 60 of them left in the wild).  Also endangered, a pair of beautiful Amur tigers, the largest cat species in the world, is new to the zoo for 2015. Concerned about their comfort? Don’t be! These cats are well looked after and totally comfortable with the Canadian climate. Did you know Moncton is on the same latitude as the Amur region of Russia?

Family Adventures in Moncton New Brunswick Magnetic Hill

Magnetic Hill: Quick thrills!/Photo: City of Moncton

6. Magnetic Hill

Why is everything called Magnetic Hill, you ask? Well, it’s because of… Magnetic Hill! Only slightly younger than the invention of the wheel itself, this age-old tourist attraction still brings thousands of visitors each year to Moncton. Fancy a quick thrill? Simply drive to the bottom of the hill, take your foot off the brake, and like magic, your car will roll…up the hill!

Family Adventures in Moncton TreeGo

TreeGO/Photo: TreeGO

7. TreeGO

Minutes away from the city centre, you can lose yourself in the trees at TreeGO, Moncton’s ariel adventure course for adults and children, 7 and above. With multiple activities available, adventurers get to choose decide how far and how fast to go, based on individual agility, endurance and confidence.Their children’s is especially designed for children between from the ages of 7 to 13. Can you swing through the trees like Tarzan? Visit TreeGO and find out!

Family Adventures in Moncton New Brunswick Resurgo Museum Moncton

Resurgo Transportation Discovery Centre: Your kids will want to stay all day!

8. Resurgo Transportation Discovery Centre

Moncton’s newest family attraction, The Resurgo Transportation Discovery Centre is a small but unbelievably fun interactive museum. Once you get in there, your kids will never want to leave. The draw? At the Resurgo, kids can launch a rocket, build a truck, fly a plane, float a boat, and even send odd-shaped homemade crafts up a wind-tunnel. Don’t leave Moncton without a visit to this small but mighty, brand sparkling new science museum. Your little explorers will thank you!

Family Adventures in Moncton Moncton Old Triangle Alehouse

The Old Triangle Alehouse, Moncton: good beer and food/Photo: Old Triangle

9. Family Friendly Pubs

The nice thing about travelling in a small city is that everything is compact and accessible, and you are certainly spoilt for choice in Moncton, which has a fantastic selection of restaurants and bars along its Main Street. For delicious pub food and great live music, The Old Triangle Irish Alehouse has a great kids’ menu. We recommend grabbing a cozy “snug” to contain the kids so Mum and Dad can relax with their pints. For gourmet pub grub, try The Tide & Boar Gastropub, named one of Canada’s Top 50 restaurants by McLean’s Magazine. Although the Tide and Boar doesn’t have a kids’ menu, they promise they have lots of options for kids. Finally,  if you’re a seafood lover, how  about Catch-22 Lobster Bar, featured onThe Food Network Canada show, You Gotta Eat Here!

Family Adventures in Moncton Homestead Restaurant

A hidden gem in the suburb of Riverview

10. The Homestead Restaurant

Shhh… this one’s a secret. On a recent trip to Moncton, we asked the locals where we could go for a home cooked diner-style meal. Every single person said, “The Homestead”. It’s not within walking distance of downtown, but if you can find your way to the suburb of Riverview, your family will eat like the locals, with generous platters of home-cooked food, home-baked bread and pies, and warm, friendly service. Eat well, and don’t tell!

Family Adventures in Moncton Hopewell Rocks Low Tide

The Hopewell Rocks at low tide/Photo: City of Moncton

11. Hopewell Rocks

Moncton is a fabulous mini-metropolis, but if outdoor adventure is what you seek, you will find stunning hiking, kayaking and nature experiences at The Hopewell Rocks, located just under an hour outside the city. Over time, the Bay of Fundy’s tides (the highest in the world) carved the cliffs into distinctive sandstone coves and formations topped with trees. During periods of low tide, you can walk 2 km of beach and explore several coves filled with these flowerpot rocks. At high tide, you can kayak through the arches!

Whether you are just passing through, or making the beautiful province of New Brunswick your primary destination, please have a great time exploring one of our family’s favourite cities: Moncton!

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based travel writer. Her trip to Moncton was sponsored by Tourism Moncton

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
20 Comments
  1. August 8, 2017
  2. April 6, 2017
    • April 6, 2017
    • August 26, 2017
      • August 26, 2017
  3. January 12, 2017
  4. August 4, 2016
  5. May 24, 2016
  6. May 21, 2016
    • May 24, 2016
  7. May 21, 2016
    • May 24, 2016
  8. May 21, 2016
    • February 4, 2017
  9. May 21, 2016
    • May 24, 2016
    • February 4, 2017
  10. May 21, 2016
    • May 24, 2016
    • May 24, 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *