马格达伦群岛的 12 次令人难以置信的家庭冒险 - 海伦·厄利 (Helen Earley) 为加拿大家庭娱乐撰写的家庭旅行文章

通往老哈里海滩的木板路/照片:Helen Earley

“麦琪!?” 当我告诉我的邻居我们家庭公路旅行的可能目的地时,她尖叫道:“哦,天哪,你 已可以选用 去。” 她拿出她的蜜月相册,继续滔滔不绝地说:“海伦,海滩很美,奶酪很美。 惊人,有一家很棒的啤酒厂,我们一直骑自行车,还做了一些风帆冲浪和露营,最后一晚,我们住在一个古老的修道院里。 它是 SOOOO 浪漫的。” 相册翻到一张我邻居吃完晚饭回来的照片  Domaine Du Vieux Couvent,穿着得体,看起来比我认识的她更年轻、更快乐(也更醉人)。


新的 马格达伦群岛 是圣劳伦斯湾中部的一小群岛屿,由魁北克省管辖,但实际上更靠近爱德华王子岛和新斯科舍省。 在晴朗的日子里,从布雷顿角的天际线小径可以看到它们的轮廓。 他们稀少的动物群——雏菊、三叶草和羽扇豆——通向各种海岸景观,包括陡峭的红色悬崖、鹅卵石海滩或宽阔的白色沙滩,就像您在加勒比地区所能找到的一样柔软而美丽。

Magdalen Islands Grosse Ile 红色岩石崩落,Helen Earley 拍摄

Grosse-Île的红色悬崖和白色沙滩。/照片:Helen Earley

这里没有摩天大楼,但有几座低矮的建筑、大量的教堂和色彩缤纷的盛宴,这些木屋带有宽大的阳台和天窗,其中许多可供出租作为度假屋。 国土面积约205平方公里(即200多倍 比新斯科舍省!),只有一条主干道,加上强劲、温暖的夏季风,“The Maggies”深受骑自行车者、风帆冲浪者和风筝冲浪者的欢迎。 马格达伦群岛还以其热闹的阿卡迪亚音乐场景和美味的食物而闻名:当地的奶酪、熏鱼和微酿啤酒。

但是,如果这些岛屿非常适合骑自行车的人、奶酪爱好者和度蜜月的人,那么我要带着两个年幼的孩子去那里做什么呢?

当我们在 XNUMX 月下旬访问时,我找到了答案。 一切!

西游记

我们悠闲地离开哈利法克斯的家,在 罗德布鲁德内尔河度假村 在爱德华王子岛上。 第二天,我们吃了龙虾卷午餐 鼠标 PEI,在旺季,前往 Magdalens 的渡轮每天下午 2:00 出发。 这艘船很简单,1980 年代建造的汽车渡轮——没有康加舞线或赌场! 然而,有一个小的儿童游乐区、一个热闹的酒吧和几个体面的用餐区,我的孩子们认为它在公海上是奢侈的。

作家 Helen Earley 和她的家人乘坐 CMTA 渡轮从苏里斯爱德华王子岛前往魁北克省的 Cap Aux Meules。 马格达伦群岛是冒险家庭度假的理想场所。

从 Souris 到 Cap Aux Meules 的 CMTA 渡轮/照片:Helen Earley

泡泡露营

五天多来,我们住了三个地方:高档 玛德利诺城堡, 令人兴奋的全包度假村 La Salicorne,最后,一个神话般的前海洋研究站变成了青年旅馆 Parc de Gros Cap.

最不寻常的住宿是 La Salicorne 的“La Bulle”(泡泡),在大入口岛上。 这种奇怪而美妙的豪华露营体验与度假村的全包套餐相结合,其中包括美味的熟食早餐和晚上的菜单(套餐)。

La Bulle - The Bubble - 在 La Salicorne 度假村的豪华露营。 马格达伦群岛是冒险家庭度假的理想场所

La Salicorne 的“La Bulle”/照片:Helen Earley

皮划艇

La Salicorne 为客人和日间游客提供各种航海冒险活动。 对于我们的家人来说,最好的选择是从用户友好的坐式皮划艇船队借用,这些皮划艇停泊在 Bassin aux Huîtres(牡蛎湾)平静的浅水区,步行穿过树林只需 5 分钟。我们的泡沫。

在马格达伦群岛的 La Salicorne 进行皮划艇之旅

La Salicorne 的皮划艇之旅/照片:Helen Earley

一天下午,我和我 7 岁的女儿和一小群游客(主要来自蒙特利尔)一起参加了导游带领的泥浴之旅。 这是练习我们的几句法语的绝佳机会,因为没有什么比在你的身体上摩擦红土并让别人给你拍照更能超越语言障碍的了!

旅行作家 Helen Earley 和她的女儿 Lucy 在 La Salicorne 泥浴 - 划独木舟穿过 Bassin aux Huitres(牡蛎湾)平静的浅水区,将我们带到布德罗岛的红色悬崖,在那里我们可以让厚厚的红粘土泥浴恢复活力。

没有什么比把黏土涂满全身然后让别人给你拍照更能超越语言障碍的了

海豹解说中心

同一天晚上,就在晚饭前,我们遇到了一种完全不同的体验。 有一刻,我的孩子们正在拥抱海豹玩具。 接下来,我们收到了关于如何最好地杀死海豹的相当生动的描述(显然是在它头部的柔软部分)。 虽然它不是为了超级娇气,但参观 海豹解说中心 在 La Salicorne 可以帮助游客了解当今岛上存在的海豹贸易。

冬季冒险家可以在 XNUMX 月下旬或 XNUMX 月初返回群岛,参观竖琴海豹的产地 海豹观察直升机之旅 由Chateau Madelinot安排的一项豪华旅游活动,越来越受到世界各地游客,尤其是中国人的欢迎。

狩猎海豹幼崽? 这种以前的做法(幼崽因其白色的皮毛而受到重视)自 1987 年以来已被禁止。根据严格的规定,捕猎海豹通常仅限于当地人。

La Salicorne 的海豹解说中心 - 马格达伦群岛的家庭乐趣

La Salicorne 的海豹解说中心/照片:Helen Earley

洞穴探险是前往马格达伦的冒险旅行者的热门景点之一。 我们实际上并没有在这次旅行中进行任何探洞,因为两个孩子都太小了,但这里有一张来自马格达伦群岛旅游网站的照片,该照片是 14 岁及以上成人和青少年最受欢迎的活动之一。 我们迫不及待地想在几年后回去,当我们从水中探索岛屿的地理时,感受海洋的力量。 我热情洋溢的邻居做到了,并说这是一种强烈的刺激!

在马格达伦群岛探洞 - 探索岛屿地理的强烈方式

探洞:照片由 Isles de La Madeleine 提供

Poutine and Pain au Chocolat 

马格达伦群岛有很多美食可供选择,但我们保持简单。 我们最喜欢的家庭餐之一是在简陋而一尘不染的地方吃一盘普丁 餐厅 Chez Armand,在法蒂玛社区 - 与其说是餐厅,不如说是一家小餐馆,但非常值得与饥饿的孩子一起旅行。

我的味蕾也对我一生中吃过的最好的巧克力疼痛有着极其热情的回忆,在 Pâtisserie Hélène des Iles 在 Havre-Aux-Maisons。 在那里,被巧克力烘烤的温暖气味所吞没,我不得不眨眼提醒自己,我并没有突然被带到巴黎的一个区。

马格达伦群岛的 Pâtisserie Hélène des iles,我在那里吃到了世界上最好的巧克力巧克力

Pâtisserie Hélène des Iles:世界上最好的巧克力疼痛/照片:Helen Earley

盐博物馆

盐矿博物馆, 就像你进入自治市 格罗斯岛,是一个小而强大的解说中心,位于迷宫般的盐矿上方,主要为魁北克和纽芬兰生产道路盐。 正如英语和法语所解释的那样,年轻的科学家和地质学家将会对他们所站在的矿山范围以及盐的历史感到震惊。 对于非常年轻的孩子,博物馆精心布置了一些玩具卡车供他们玩耍。 这是一种甜蜜的——不用等,咸的!——花一些时间了解岛上工业的方式。

马格达林群岛格罗斯岛的盐博物馆

Grosse-Île的盐博物馆/照片:Helen Earley

老哈里海滩 

Grande Échouerie 海滩,也被称为老哈里海滩,是 14 英里长的原始白色沙滩,在您的脚下吱吱作响,冰冷清澈的海水非常适合游泳。 在我们逗留期间,我们两次拜访了老哈利:一次是在午餐时间野餐,另一次是为了度过下午。 几乎我们遇到的每个人都告诉我们,这个海滩曾经被评为国家地理最好的海滩之一。虽然我找不到参考资料,但不难想象老哈里出现在国家地理或康泰纳仕旅行者的页面上。

老哈里海滩马格达伦群岛

壮观的老哈里海滩/照片:Helen Earley

风筝制作

马格达伦群岛上温暖的夏风是一股源源不断的力量:振奋精神、恢复活力——非常适合放风筝! 在 La Boutique Au Gré du Vent 在 L'Étang-du-Nord 岛上,您可以从数以千计的彩色风筝中选择购买——或者在有趣的风筝制作工作坊中制作自己的风筝。 这对全家人来说是一项极好的活动,还有很多其他的小作坊和精品店可供参观,同时您等待风起(不会太久)。

在马格达伦群岛制作自己的风筝,这是 12 个令人难以置信的家庭冒险之一,作者:Helen Earley,加拿大家庭娱乐

在 L'Étang-du-Nord 的 Au Gré du Vent 精品店制作风筝/照片:Helen Earley

在马格达伦群岛放风筝 照片由 Helen Earley

风保证:在马格达伦群岛放风筝是一项很棒的家庭活动/照片:Helen Earley

Galerie-Boutique Le Flâneur

就在风筝中心的拐角处,Pierrette Molaison(艺术家的名字,Arthure)的工作室位于 Le Flâneur 茶店和精品店的地下室。 她的收藏 Spécemins 玛德琳:当地商人、船长、渔民和企业家,以玩偶或绘画(有时两者兼而有之)的形式永垂不朽,对岛民的生活和文化提供了深刻的个人见解。

Nicole Garneau 和 Pierrette Molaison 在 Le Flaneur,2016 年夏季

Pierrette Molaison 和 Nicole Garneau 欢迎您来到 Le Flâneur:一家充满惊喜的茶叶店和精品店。/照片:Helen Earley

当我问莫莱森是否认为成为阿瑟尔的“人物”之一是一种荣誉时,一位无意中听到我们谈话的当地顾客强调地插话:“Moi,Je confirme que oui!” 是的!

当地人在 La Flaneur 上被 Arthure 制作成肖像和玩偶:马格达伦群岛的艺术

Le Flâneur 地下室画廊的隐藏宝藏/照片:Helen Earley

在她收集的 2,000 多个玩偶中,莫莱森还涉及幻想。 在 Le Flâneur 迷人的户外花园里,我三岁的儿子被 La Maison Croche des Dame 西葫芦 (南瓜女士的歪屋),一座摇摇晃晃的木屋,禁止成人进入,但邀请勇敢的孩子进入并从罐子里取出糖果。 对于蹒跚学步的孩子来说,这是一次惊心动魄的童话体验,“La Maison Croche”反映了 Les Madelinots 的智慧、创造力和慷慨精神。

马格达伦群岛的家庭乐趣 - La Maison Croche des Dames Courgettes

在 Le Flâneur 的花园里,La Maison Croche 为孩子们提供了令人兴奋的款待/照片:Helen Earley

沙子城堡

在热门的旅游区 La Grave,在 Havre-Aubert 岛上(在这里您还可以找到一些时髦的餐厅和酒吧)我推荐 黑貂工匠 作为购买一些非常优雅的纪念品的好地方。

画廊还展示了数百个来自世界各地的小沙子,从南非的罗本岛到布雷顿角的切蒂坎普。 就像岛上的许多经历一样,这个不起眼的展览令人谦卑,并在精神上扎根。

画廊外是一个大型沙箱,在旺季的每周一,当地的沙艺工匠会在此制作独特的沙雕。 没有人被任何东西搁浅,我 3 岁的儿子在沙匠离开后就到达了沙箱。 我让你猜猜接下来发生了什么!

马格达伦群岛 Les Artisans du Sable 的沙堡建筑

Les Artisans du Sable/照片:Helen Earley

就这样,我们一家人精神焕发、受过良好教育、吃饱喝足、精力充沛,带着与蜜月情侣完全不同的假期回忆回到哈利法克斯,但同样珍贵。 而且,就像我滔滔不绝的邻居一样,我们发现自己向我们遇到的几乎每个人推荐了一次穿越马格达伦山脉的家庭公路旅行。

通常情况下,反应是这样的,“哦,我有 时刻 想去那里”……但没有人真正解释为什么他们还没有去。

马格达伦群岛旅游标志

海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)是哈利法克斯的一位作家。 她和她的家人由 玛德琳岛旅游局.

12 Incredible Family Adventures in The Magdalen Islands

12 Incredible Family Adventures in the Magdalen Islands - a family travel article by Helen Earley for Family Fun Canada

The boardwalk to Old Harry Beach/Photo: Helen Earley

“The Maggies!?” squeals my neighbour when I tell her about a possible destination for our family road trip, “Oh my gosh, you have to go.” She pulls out her honeymoon album and continues gushing: “Helen, the beaches are beautiful, the cheese is amazing, there’s a great brewery, we cycled the whole time and did some windsurfing and camping too and on the last night, we stayed in an old Convent. It was soooo romantic.” The album flips to a picture of my neighbour returning from dinner at  Domaine Du Vieux Couvent, dressed to the nines, looking younger, happier (and tipsier) than I have ever known her.

The Magdalen Islands are a small group of  islands in the middle of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, governed by Quebec, but actually closer to the provinces of Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia. On clear day, their silhouette can be seen from Cape Breton’s skyline trail. Their sparse fauna – daisies, clover and lupines – leads to a variety of coastal landscapes including steep red cliffs, pebbled beaches, or expanses of wide white white sand, as soft and beautiful as any that you’d find in the Caribbean.

Magdalen Islands Grosse Ile red rocks caving photo by Helen Earley

Red cliffs and white sand on Grosse-Île./Photo: Helen Earley

There are no skyscrapers here, but a few low buildings, plenty of churches and a feast of colourful, much-photographed wooden houses with wide verandas and dormer windows, many of which are available for rent as holiday homes. With a land mass of about 205 square kilometres (that’s over 200 times smaller than Nova Scotia!), only one single main highway, and a strong, warm summer wind, “The Maggies” are popular with cyclists, windsurfers and kite-surfers. The Magdalen Islands are also famous for their lively Acadian music scene and delicious food: local cheeses, smoked fish and mirco-brewed beer.

But if the islands are perfect for cyclists, cheese-lovers and honeymooners, then what was I going to do there with my two young kids?

When we visited in late July, I discovered the answer. Everything!

The Journey

We left our home in Halifax at a leisurely pace and stayed overnight at the Rodd Brudenell River Resort on Prince Edward Island. The next day, we had a lobster roll lunch in Souris PEI, where in high season, the ferry to the Magdalens departs daily at 2:00 pm. The vessel is very simple, 1980’s built car ferry – no conga lines or casinos! However, with a small children’s play area, a lively bar and a couple of decent eating areas, my kids considered it luxury on the high seas.

Writer, Helen Earley and her family aboard the CMTA Ferry en route from Souris Prince Edward Island to Cap Aux Meules, Quebec. The Magdalen Islands are a perfect spot for an adventurous family vacation.

CMTA Ferry from Souris to Cap Aux Meules/ Photo: Helen Earley

Bubble Camping

Over 5 days, we stayed in three places: the upmarket Chateau Madelinot, the exciting all-inclusive resort La Salicorne, and finally, a fabulous former marine research station-turned youth hostel at Parc de Gros Cap.

The most unusual accommodation was “La Bulle” (the bubble) at La Salicorne, on the Island of Grande-Entrée. This weird and wonderful glamping experience was combined with an all-inclusive package at the resort which included a delicious cooked breakfast and a menu d’hôte (set menu) in the evenings.

Glamping in La Bulle - The Bubble - at La Salicorne Resort. The Magdalen Islands are a perfect spot for an adventurous family vacation

‘La Bulle’ at La Salicorne/ Photo: Helen Earley

Kayaking

La Salicorne offers a variety of nautical adventures for both guests and day visitors. For our family, the best option was to borrow from the fleet of user-friendly sit-on-top kayaks, moored in the calm, shallow waters of Bassin aux Huîtres (Oyster Bay), only a 5 minute walk through the woods from our bubble.

A Kayaking Tour at La Salicorne in the Magdalen Islands

A Kayaking Tour at La Salicorne/ Photo: Helen Earley

One afternoon, my 7-year old daughter and I joined a small group of visitors (mainly from Montreal) on a guided mud-bathing tour. This was the perfect chance to practice our few words of french…because nothing transcends the language barrier like rubbing red clay all over your body and asking someone to take your picture!

Travel writer Helen Earley and her daughter Lucy mud bathing at La Salicorne - A Kayak ride through the calm, shallow waters of Bassin aux Huitres (Oyster Bay) brings us to the red cliffs of Isle Boudreau where we rejuvenate a thick red clay mud bath.

Nothing transcends the language barrier like smearing clay all over your body and asking someone to take your picture

Seal Interpretive Centre

That same evening, just before supper, we encountered a totally different kind of experience. One moment my kids were cuddling  seal stuffies.  The next, we’re receiving a fairly graphic description of how best to kill a seal (on the soft part of its head, apparently). Although it’s not for the ultra-squeamish, a visit to the Seal Interpretive Centre at La Salicorne helps visitors understand the seal trade as it exists today on the Islands.

Winter adventurists can return to the Islands in late Feburary or early March to visit the harp seal birthing grounds through seal observation heli-tours arranged by the Chateau Madelinot, a luxury travel activity that is increasingly popular with tourists worldwide, especially the Chinese.

Hunting seals pups? This former practice (pups were valued for their white fur) has been banned since 1987. Hunting seals, generally, is restricted to locals, under strict regulations.

Seal Interpretive Centre at La Salicorne - family fun on the Magdalen Islands

Seal Interpretive Centre at La Salicorne/ Photo: Helen Earley

Caving

Caving is one of the top draws for adventure travellers to the Magdalens. We didn’t actually do any caving on this trip because both kids are too young, but here’s a photo from the Magdalen Islands Tourism website of one of the most popular activities for adults and teenagers 14 years and older. We can’t wait to go back in a couple of years, and feel the power of the ocean as we explore the island’s geography from the water. My ebullient neighbour did it, and said it was an intense thrill!

Caving on the Magdalen Islands - an intense way to explore the island's geography

Caving: Photo courtesy of Isles de La Madeleine

Poutine and Pain au Chocolat 

There’s plenty for the gourmet in the Magdalen Islands, but we kept things simple. One of our favourite family meals was a plate of poutine at the humble and spotless Restaurant Chez Armand, in the community of Fatima –  more of a diner than a restaurant, but well worth the trip with  hungry kids.

My tastebuds also have extremely passionate memories of the best pain au chocolat I have ever had in my life, bought at Pâtisserie Hélène des Iles at Havre-Aux-Maisons. There, engulfed by the warm smell of chocolate baking, I had to blink to remind myself that I had not suddenly been transported to an arrondissement of Paris.

Pâtisserie Hélène des iles in the Magdalen Islands, where I had the the world's best pain au chocolat

Pâtisserie Hélène des iles: the world’s best pain au chocolat/Photo: Helen Earley

The Salt Museum

The Salt Mine Museum, just as you enter the municipality of Grosse-Île, is a small but mighty interpretative centre that sits above a maze of working salt mines, which primarily produce road salt for Quebec and Newfoundland. Young scientists and geologists will be boggled at the extent of the mines they are standing on top of, and by the history of salt, as explained in both English and French. For the very young, the museum has thoughtfully placed some toy trucks to play with. It’s a sweet – no wait, salty!- way to spend some time learning about the industry of the island.

The Salt Museum in Grosse-Île on the Magdalen Islands

The Salt Museum at Grosse-Île/Photo: Helen Earley

Old Harry Beach 

Grande Échouerie Beach, also known as Old Harry Beach is 14 miles of pristine white sand that squeaks beneath your feet, and cold, clear water which is beautiful for swimming. We visited old Harry twice during our stay: once for a lunchtime picnic, and again to spend the afternoon. Nearly everyone we met told us that the beach was once named as one of National Geographic’s best beaches Although I couldn’t find the reference, it is not hard to imagine Old Harry featured on the pages of National Geographic or Condé Nast Traveller.

Old Harry Beach Magdalen Islands

Spectacular Old Harry Beach/Photo: Helen Earley

Kite-making

The warm summer wind on the Magdalen Islands is a constant force: invigorating, rejuvenating – and perfect for flying kites! At La Boutique Au Gré du Vent on the island of L’Étang-du-Nord, you can choose from thousands of colourful kites to buy – or make your own, in a fun kite-making workshop. This is a superb activity for the whole family, with lots of other little workshops and boutiques to visit, while you wait for the wind to pick up (it won’t be long).

Make your own kite in the Magdalen Islands, one of 12 Incredible Family Adventures, by Helen Earley, Family Fun Canada

Kite-making at Boutique Au Gré du Vent on L’Étang-du-Nord/Photos: Helen Earley

Flying kites in the Magdalen Islands photo by Helen Earley

Wind guaranteed: flying kites on the Magdalen Islands is a great family activity/Photo: Helen Earley

Galerie-Boutique Le Flâneur

Just around the corner from kite central, the studio of Pierrette Molaison (artist’s name, Arthure) is situated in the basement of Le Flâneur tea shop and boutique. Her collection of Spécemins Madeleiniens: local businesspeople, sea captains, fishermen and entrepreneurs, immortalized as dolls or paintings (sometimes both), offers a very deep, personal insight into the life and culture of the islanders.

Nicole Garneau and Pierrette Molaison at Le Flaneur, Summer 2016

Pierrette Molaison and Nicole Garneau welcome you to Le Flâneur: a tea shop and boutique that is full of surprises./Photo: Helen Earley

When I asked Molaison whether it was considered an honour to be made into one of Arthure’s “personnages”, a local customer who had overheard us talking, interjected emphatically: “moi, je confirme que oui!” Yes!

Local people made into portraits and dolls by Arthure at La Flaneur: Art on the Magdalen Islands

Hidden treasures in the basement gallery at Le Flâneur/Photo: Helen Earley

In her collection of over 2,000 dolls, Molaison also deals in fantasy. In the enchanting outdoor garden of Le Flâneur, my three-year son was entranced by La Maison Croche des Dame Courgettes (The Crooked House of the Pumpkin-ladies), a wonky, wooden house that prohibits adults, but invites brave children to enter and take a candy from a jar. For a toddler, a thrilling fairy tale experience, “La Maison Croche” reflects the wit, creativity and generous spirit of Les Madelinots.

Family Fun on the Magdalen Islands - La Maison Croche des Dames Courgettes

In the garden of Le Flâneur, La Maison Croche offers children a thrilling treat/Photos: Helen Earley

Sandcastles

In the popular tourist area of  La Grave, on Havre-Aubert Island (this is where you will also find some of those hip restaurants and bars) I recommend the Artisans du Sable as a great place to buy some really classy souvenirs.

The gallery also has a fascinating display of hundreds of tiny vials of sand from all over the world, from Robben Island, South Africa to Chéticamp, Cape Breton. Like many experiences on the islands, this unassuming exhibit is humbling and spiritually grounding.

Outside the gallery is a large sandbox, where on Mondays during high season, a local sand artisan crafts a unique sand sculpture. Not one to be grounded by anything, my 3-year old son arrived at the sand box just after the sand artisan had left. I’ll let you guess what happened next!

Sand castle building at Les Artisans du Sable, Magdalen Islands

Les Artisans du Sable/Photo: Helen Earley

And so, revitalized, educated, well-fed and invigorated, our family returned to Halifax with holiday memories quite different from those of a honeymooning couple, but equally as dear. And, just like my gushing neighbour, we find ourselves recommending a family road trip through the Magdalens to almost everyone we meet.

More often than not, the response is something like, “Oh, I have always wanted to go there”… but no one really explains why they haven’t yet been.

Magdalen Islands Tourism Logo

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer. She and her family were hosted by Tourisme Iles de La Madeleine.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
4 Comments
  1. March 17, 2017
    • March 17, 2017
  2. March 17, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *