fbpx

14令人敬畏的事情要在波士顿与孩子们做

任何家长都会明白,在我们前往波士顿之前,我只有最好的计划行程。 但是当我们接近我们的时候 离开仅两日,后 - 最后一天的学校 出发日期,我意识到我有一个很短的名单,并没有清楚的想法如何度过我们在波士顿的日子。 因此,对于所有过度疲惫,忙碌的父母来说,与波士顿孩子们一起做的最好的事情清单就是为您服务!

波士顿是美国历史最悠久的城市之一,但它也是一个年轻,充满活力,富有远见的城市,我很兴奋探索! 波士顿是您可以为孩子们(也是成年人!)带来历史活力的地方,您可以参加水上冒险活动,享受沉稳的体验式学习体验,做一些观看的人,享受一些美味的饮食......大量的饮食。

奥尔德镇电车之旅

这些橙色和绿色的手推车在波士顿无处不在,您可以在整个城市轻松地停下来,整天跳下或停留整个循环,充分利用这个“运输”吸引力。 我们在手推车上花了大约90分钟,由我们的电车司机好莱坞充分通知和娱乐,好莱坞的巡演完成了配乐和配音。 电车之旅给了我们一个良好的城市定位(开始你的旅行的好方法!),并且电车票持有者也可以享受其他景点的折扣和免费入场,所以一定要检查。

自由步道基金会导游徒步旅行

这次90分钟导游徒步旅行是波士顿儿童最喜欢的活动之一。 在18世纪扮演托马斯哈钦森三世角色的服装的带领下,这次旅程实际上为孩子们和成年人带来了历史。 我们选择了 走进历史之旅 这只是关于1英里的步行和11自由之旅网站的16。

在波士顿与孩子们一起做的事情 - 自由步道基金会导游徒步游波士顿MA
从波士顿共同旅行开始到法纳尔大厅结束的那一刻,我们的大女儿被我们导游的第一人称的历史事件记录迷住了。 每当我们的导游搬到下一个地点时,她都会在前面找到一个地点,以便她能够听到,看到并提出问题。 我们的导游让年轻的孩子们也参与到战斗的故事,幽默的故事以及法尼尔大厅冰淇淋的承诺中,这是我们巡演的最后一站!

法纳尔大厅

自从1700开始,法尼尔大厅就一直是波士顿的会议厅和市场,今天它只是历史与现代城市相互交融的又一例证。 我们可以花一整天在50商店漫游,吃东西(还有更多吃东西!),观看街头艺人,沿着鹅卵石走道散步,真正吸纳法尼尔大厅所提供的一切。

法纳尔霍尔波士顿 - 与孩子们在波士顿做的事情

昆西市场

我有没有提到吃饭? 有了36食品供应商,昆西市场绝对是每个人都有的。 利用这个优势 食券 节省时间和金钱,并且一定要节省甜点的空间!

昆西市场波士顿事情与波士顿的孩子做
当然,如果你准备坐在众多餐厅选择之一(包括Cheers复制品吧),你也可以做到这一点。 我们选择坐在外面 “休息室” 孩子们在那里吸了午餐,然后立即对每一个免费的活动进行了一次破解。 我们的孩子们喜欢这一切,从选择棋盘游戏,乒乓球到露天艺术课程和阅览室,我们“监督”,因为我们在大树下啜饮冰咖啡。

The-Lounge-Faneuil-Hall-与孩子们在波士顿做的事情

新英格兰水族馆 - 波士顿海港巡游鲸鱼观赏

我们都听说鲸鱼巡回观看鲸鱼拒绝合作的故事,因此我们在波士顿海港邮轮上启航时,有着高度而现实的希望。 我们知道这些是野生动物,他们可能会或可能不会在我们刚刚结束的3小时游览中露面。 值得庆幸的是,Stellwagen Bank国家海洋保护区距离波士顿港的高速双体船仅有1小时车程,夏季则是着名的鲸鱼饲养区。 我们看到了多次出现的座头鲸的惊人景观,并让孩子们在波浪中寻找水面,这意味着鲸鱼很快就会出现。

观鲸 - 波士顿 - 与孩子们在波士顿做事

我们还发现了一些非常害羞的小须鲸。 这次旅行的另外一个好处是非常了解的工作人员和导游,他们提供有关海洋生物,鲸鱼的活动信息,并且可以提供问题 - 对孩子们来说非常棒! 需要注意的是:虽然它在土地上很热,阳光明媚,但在开阔的水面上却很凉爽,所以一定要带上外套。 在阳光灿烂的日子里,海洋蓝色放大了太阳光线,因此戴上防晒霜,帽子和太阳镜。 最后,如果您容易晕车,请查看这些重要提示 避免晕船.

新英格兰水族馆

我的孩子们喜欢 参观水族馆 而新英格兰水族馆并没有让人失望! 计划在这里至少花两个小时探索展览,了解拯救海龟,当然还有触摸鲨鱼和rays鱼! 留出很多时间观看企鹅 - 到目前为止孩子们最喜欢的部分!

新英格兰 - 水族馆 - 波士顿事情要在波士顿与孩子们做

在您前往水族馆前,请仔细阅读新英格兰水族馆网站获取有用的提示,一天的活动日程安排,喂食时间表,IMAX电影放映时间和这个有用的“如何成为鲨鱼和雷语者“视频非常适合为Touch Tank准备年轻的孩子。

新英格兰 - 水族馆 - 波士顿 - 企鹅 - 与孩子们在波士顿做的事情

波士顿鸭子之旅

这次巡演已被多次评选为波士顿最好的选手之一,而且一旦踏上这条路,其原因就很明显了 回复 第二次世界大战的两栖车辆。 驾驶陆地和漂浮在水面上的“鸭子”是您在信息丰富且超级娱乐的ConDUCKtor的帮助下陆地和海上看波士顿的完美方式。

波士顿鸭子之旅 - 与波士顿儿童一起做的事情

我们的司机和导游是“Skippy Skydiver”,他告诉我们关于关键场所和历史事件的所有信息,以及关于波士顿的一些非常有趣的故事和不太知名的事实 - 你知道波士顿是129 Dunkin'甜甜圈? 一旦我们击中查尔斯河,导游将继续进行,但这次Skippy让孩子们轮流驾驶鸭子!

鸭子之旅 - 与孩子们在波士顿做的事情

我们巡回演出的这一亮点绝对会让他们回到学校时的“我今年过的这个夏天”杂志的作品。

波士顿茶会船舶和博物馆

当我们走过浮动博物馆的大门,进入会议室副本 - 大约是1773时,我完全不知道该期待什么。

波士顿茶党派船舶博物馆事情与孩子们在波士顿做

我们每人都拿着一张名片,上面写着一名当自由之子倾倒茶水时出现的人的名字。 打扮的导游在观众参与的情况下演出了这个致命的晚上,然后我们通过大量的期待和几个“消费者!”来体验我们的体验。 第一站是两艘历史上精确的复制高船之一。 我们登上了 埃莉诺 探索甲板上下,惊叹于这艘小船如何穿越大海。 然后,孩子们首先将复制的茶叶箱倒入格里芬码头的水中,正好在十二月16,1773的波士顿茶会上完成。

小费茶水 - 在波士顿和孩子们一起做的事情

其他值得注意的展品还包括创新技术展示,包括女性全息作品,分别展示两个事件的视角,以及乔治三世和塞缪尔亚当斯的作品,这些作品基于他们交换的信件进行激烈的对话。 我们看到了罗宾逊半茶柜,这是波士顿茶党仅有的两个知名茶柜之一,它被发现,隐藏,保存并最终在博物馆展出。 在游览结束时,一定要停在 阿比盖尔的茶室 品尝5茶,包括波士顿茶会期间抛出的相同混合物。 您还可以享受其他饮料(是的,它们提供啤酒和葡萄酒)以及美味的糕点,并配有1773波士顿人生八卦的一面,因为所有服务器都装扮成爱国者女性。

快速提示:The 波士顿儿童博物馆 位于波士顿茶党船舶和博物馆附近,是下一站的理想目的地,特别适合年幼的孩子! 另外,如果你的孩子喜欢消防车, 波士顿消防博物馆 是从那里几个门。

走出水面

在我们的赏鲸之旅和波士顿鸭子之旅之间,我想花更多时间在水上,并将许多帆船,皮划艇和独木舟加入河中。

波士顿港独木舟皮艇租赁事宜在波士顿与孩子们做

查尔斯河独木舟和皮划艇为初次入场者和任何需要进修的人提供租赁和2小时课程。 如果你想参加波士顿的许多户外活动,这绝对是一个不错的选择!

Hahvahd 教程

我的大女儿在十二岁时只有几个月的时间害羞,这次巡演对她来说是完美的。 在现任哈佛大学生的带领下,我们了解了哈佛的文化传统,历史,甚至一些着名的哈瓦那人。

哈佛 - 波士顿 - 波士顿儿童事宜

从约翰哈佛的脚趾碰碰运气,到站在创建Facebook的柯克兰庄园的台阶上,在低音拱门的两侧彼此窃窃私语,在哈佛之旅中有许多事情要看和学习。

哈佛旅游 - 私语 - 与波士顿的孩子们一起做的事情

拥有当前的学生指南绝对是这次巡演的一个不同之处。 我们的导游雅各布离开了我的女儿,她感受到了启发,但她明白进入哈佛需要的不仅仅是好的标志 - 成为一个全面的人,对某些事情充满热情并有所作为同样重要。 在旅程结束时,雅各布花了一些时间回答问题,当其中一个孩子问:“你如何进入哈佛?”他的回答是完美的......“努力工作,保持独特。”

天鹅船和波士顿公共

我知道很多人会告诉你这是一个旅游陷阱,但孩子们喜欢它。 自从1877以来,天鹅船一直是波士顿的象征,为游客和波士顿人提供了美国最古老的公园 - 波士顿公园的公共花园泻湖周围一场古朴而安静的15分钟之旅。

天鹅 - 波士顿 - 事情要做在波士顿的孩子们

这艘船由坐在天鹅身后的驾驶员操作,就像骑自行车一样踩踏天鹅船。 当我们在泻湖周围漂浮时,孩子们看到了乌龟,天鹅,鸭子和小鸭子 - 这是自从我们进入这个城市以来受到很大打击 为鸭子开路 公园。

退房 为鸭子开路 雕塑和 青蛙池塘 - 这是冬天的溜冰场,夏天还有飞溅池和戏水池。

科学博物馆

警告! 你可以花一整天的时间在波士顿科学博物馆漫游展品,而且几乎不可能看到和做任何事情。 我们了解到我们最喜欢的皮克斯角色是如何在我孩子们最喜欢的电影中创作和制作的,包括恐龙,太空以及蝴蝶和鲸鱼。 无论你到哪里,都会为所有年龄段的孩子(以及妈妈和爸爸们!)提供另一种互动式学习体验。

玫瑰肯尼迪林荫道

“Big Dig”的建设从1991开始,目标是将所有进出波士顿的高架公路引入城市下的隧道系统。 一旦完成了价值数十亿美元的项目,一英里半的公园就建在高速公路曾经建成的城市中间,并被称为玫瑰菲茨杰拉德肯尼迪绿道。

罗斯 - 肯尼迪 - 格林韦 - 旋转木马 - 波士顿 - 与孩子们在波士顿做的事情
Greenway是波士顿新鲜活力城市的又一个完美例子,是漫步,野餐和与孩子探索的完美场所 - 特别是孩子们用作飞溅垫和旋转木马的水景。

芬威公园

虽然我承认,我本人没有亲自前往芬威公园,但我的“男孩们”在旧棒球场的棒球场之一中进行了纵身挑战。 红袜队和传奇的“绿色怪物”的故乡是一个必须看到的,所以如果你的家人喜欢棒球(或甚至你的家庭的几个成员),一定要看看比赛或参观。

非常感谢Greater Boston Convention&Visitors Bureau为我的家人提供上述景点的通行证。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

14 Awesome Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Any parent will understand that I had nothing but the best intentions to plan an itinerary well in advance of our trip to Boston. But as we got closer to our leave-only-two-days-after-the-last-day-of-school departure date, I realized I had a very short list and no clear idea of how to spend our days in Boston. So for all the over-tired, busy parents everywhere, this list of the best things to do with kids in Boston is for you!

Boston is one of the oldest, historical cities in the United States yet it’s also a young, vibrant, forward-thinking city that I was excited to explore! Boston is where you can bring history alive for the kids (and adults too!), have an aquatic adventure, a sedate experiential learning experience, do some people watching, and get some good eating… lots and lots of eating.

Olde Town Trolley Tour

These orange and green trolleys are everywhere in Boston and with convenient stops throughout the city you can hop on and hop off all day or stay on for the entire loop to take full advantage of this “transportainment” attraction. We spent about 90-minutes aboard the trolley, thoroughly informed and entertained by our trolley driver, Hollywood, whose tour came complete with soundtracks and voice-overs. The trolley tour gave us a good orientation of the city (a great way to start your trip!) and trolley ticket holders also receive discounts and free admissions to other attractions so be sure to check.

The Freedom Trail Foundation Guided Walking Tour

This 90-minute guided walking tour was one of the kids’ favourite activities in Boston. Led by an incredibly informed guide in 18th century costume playing the role of Thomas Hutchinson III, this tour literally brought history alive for the kids as well as the adults. We opted for the Walk Into History Tour which is only about 1 mile of walking and features 11 of the 16 Freedom Trail sites.

Things To Do With Kids In Boston -The Freedom Trail Foundation Guided Walking Tour Boston MA
From the moment the tour started in Boston Common until it ended at Faneuil Hall, my oldest daughter was captivated by our guide’s first-person accounts of amazing historical happenings. Every time our guide moved to the next site, she found a spot up front so she could hear, see and ask questions. Our guide kept the younger kids engaged as well with tales of battles and a good dose of humour and the promise of ice cream at Faneuil Hall, the final stop on our tour!

Faneuil Hall

Faneuil Hall has served Boston as a meeting hall and market place since the 1700’s and today it’s just one more example of how history and a modern city intersect. We could have spent all day roaming the over 50 shops, eating (and more eating!), watching the street performers and walking along the cobblestone walkways to truly take in all Faneuil Hall has to offer.

Faneuil Hall Boston - Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Quincy Market

Have I mentioned eating? With over 36 food vendors, there was definitely something for everyone at Quincy Market. Take advantage of the Food Voucher program to save time and money and be sure to save room for dessert!

Quincy-Market-Boston-Things To Do With Kids In Boston
Of course, if you’re ready to sit down at one of the many restaurant options (including the Cheers replica bar) you can do that too. We opted to sit outside in “The Lounge” where the kids inhaled their lunches then immediately took a crack at every single activity available free of charge. Our children loved it all from the selection of board games, to ping pong to open-air art lessons and a reading room, while we “supervised” as we sipped iced coffees under big shady trees.

The-Lounge-Faneuil-Hall-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

New England Aquarium – Boston Harbor Cruises Whale Watch

We have all heard stories of whale watching tours where the whales refuse to cooperate, so it was with high, yet realistic hopes that we set sail aboard Boston Harbor Cruises. We knew that these were wild animals who may or may not make an appearance during our just over 3-hour excursion. Thankfully, the Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary is only a 1-hour ride on the high-speed catamaran from Boston Harbor and a known whale feeding area in the summer months. We had amazing views of a humpback whale that surfaced multiple times and had the kids scouting the waves for the telltale spray of water that meant the whale would soon appear.

Whale-Watching-Boston-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

We also spotted a few very shy minke whales along the way. An added bonus of this tour is the very informed staff and guides who gave information about marine life, the whale’s activities and were available and very open to questions – amazing learning for kids! Things to keep in mind: Although it was hot and sunny on land, it’s cooler on the open water so be sure to bring a jacket. On a sunny day, that ocean blue magnifies the sun rays so wear sunscreen, a hat and sunglasses. Finally, if you’re prone to motion sickness, check out these great tips for avoiding seasickness.

New England Aquarium

My kids love visiting the aquarium and the New England Aquarium did not disappoint! Plan to spend at least two hours here exploring the exhibits, learning about saving turtles and of course touching sharks and rays! Leave lots of time to watch the penguins – by far the kids’ favourite part!

New-England-Aquarium-Boston-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Before you head to the aquarium, peruse the New England Aquarium website for helpful tips, a schedule of the day’s events, feeding schedules, IMAX movie show times and this helpful “How To Be a Shark and Ray Whisperer” video perfect for preparing young kids for the Touch Tank.

New-England-Aquarium-Boston-Penguins-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Boston Duck Tours

This tour has been voted among the best of Boston many times over and the reason is clear once you step onto the replica WWII amphibious vehicle. The “Duck”, which drives on land and floats on water, is the perfect way to see Boston by land and by sea with the help of your informative and super entertaining ConDUCKtor.

Duck-Tours-Boston-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Our driver and guide was “Skippy the Skydiver” who told us all about key sites and historical happenings as well as some very funny stories and not-very-well-known-facts about Boston – did you know Boston is home to 129 Dunkin’ Donuts? Once we hit the Charles River the guided tour continued but this time Skippy let the kids each take a turn driving the Duck!

Duck Tour - Things To Do With Kids In Boston

This highlight of our tour will definitely make the “What I Did This Summer” journal entries when they’re back at school.

Boston Tea Party Ships and Museum

I had absolutely no idea what to expect when we walked through the doors of the floating museum and into a Meeting House replica – circa 1773.

Boston-Tea-Party-Ships-Museum-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

We were each handed a card with the name of a person who was present when the Sons of Liberty dumped the tea overboard. Costumed guides acted out the fateful evening with audience participation then we made our way through the experience with tons of anticipation and a few “Huzzahs!”. The first stop is one of two historically accurate replica tall ships. We boarded the Eleanor and explored above and below deck, marveling at how this tiny ship was built to cross the ocean. Then the kids were first in line to dump replica crates of tea into the water of Griffin’s Wharf exactly where it was done at the Boston Tea Party on December 16, 1773.

Tipping the tea overboard -Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Other notable exhibits were displays of innovative technology including holographs of women giving two separate perspectives of the events and the “paintings” of King George III and Samuel Adams that come alive in a heated conversation based on the letters they exchanged. We saw the Robinson Half Tea Chest, one of only two known tea chests from the Boston Tea Party, which was found, hidden, preserved and finally displayed at the Museum. At the end of your tour be sure to stop at Abigail’s Tea Room for a tea tasting of 5 teas including the same blends that were thrown over during the Boston Tea Party. You can also enjoy other beverages (yes they serve beer and wine) as well as yummy pastries served with a side of in-character gossip about life in Boston in 1773 as all the servers are dressed as Patriot women.

Quick Tip: The Boston Children’s Museum is located near the Boston Tea Party Ships and Museum and is perfect next-stop destination especially for the younger kids! Also, if your kids love fire trucks, the Boston Fire Museum is a few doors down from there.

Get Out Onto the Water

Between our whale-watching excursion and the Boston Duck Tour, I wanted to spend more time on the water and join the many sailboats, kayaks and canoes out on the river.

Boston-Harbor-Canoe-Kayak-Rentals-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Charles River Canoe and Kayak offers rentals and 2-hour lessons for first-timers and anyone who needs a refresher. If you’re looking to partake in some of the many outdoor activities in Boston this is definitely a great option!

The Hahvahd Tour

My eldest daughter is just a few months shy of turning twelve and this tour was perfect for her. Led by a current Harvard student we learned about Harvard culture and traditions, its history and even some famous Havardians.

Harvard-Tour-Boston-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

From touching the toe of John Harvard for good luck, to standing on the steps of Kirkland House where Facebook was created, to whispering secrets to each other on separate sides of the Whispering Arch, there were many things to see and learn on our Harvard Tour.

Harvard-Tour-Whispering-Arch-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

Having a current student guide was definitely a point of difference for this tour. Our guide, Jacob left my daughter feeling inspired and yet understanding that it takes more than good marks to get into Harvard – it’s equally important to be a well-rounded person, to be passionate about something and to make a difference. At the end of the tour, Jacob spent some time answering questions, and when one of the kids asked, “How do you get into Harvard?” his answer was perfect… “Work hard and be unique.”

Swan Boats and Boston Common

I know many will tell you this is a bit of a tourist trap, but the kids loved it. Since 1877, the Swan Boats have been a symbol of Boston and providing tourists and Bostonians alike with a quaint and quiet 15-minute tour around the Public Garden Lagoon in Boston Common, the oldest park in the United States.

Swan-Boats-Boston-Things To Do With Kids In Boston

The boat is operated by a driver who sits behind the swan and pedals the swan boat just as you would a bike. As we floated around the lagoon, the kids saw turtles, swans, ducks and ducklings – which was a big hit since we were in the Make Way For Ducklings park.

Check out the Make Way for Ducklings sculpture and the Frog Pond – which is a skating rink in the winter and a splash pad and wading pool in the summer.

Museum of Science

Warning! You can spend all day roaming the exhibits at the Museum of Science in Boston and it is still almost impossible to see and do everything. We learned how our favourite Pixar characters were created and produced in my kids’ favourite movies, about dinosaurs and space and butterflies and whales. Everywhere you turned there was another interactive learning experience for kids of all ages (and moms and dads too!).

Rose Kennedy Greenway

Construction for the “Big Dig” began in 1991 with the goal of moving all of the elevated highways leading in and out of Boston into a tunnel system underneath the city. Once the multi-billion dollar project was complete, a mile and half of public parks were created in the middle of the city where the highways used to be and became known as the Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy Greenway.

Rose-Kennedy-Greenway-Carousel-Boston-Things To Do With Kids In Boston
The Greenway is one more perfect example of the fresh vibrant city Boston is and a perfect place to stroll, picnic and explore with kids – especially the water features the kids use as splash pads and the carousel.

Fenway Park

While I admit, I did not personally make my way to Fenway Park, my “boys” made the piligrimage to one of the old stalwart stadiums of baseball. The home of the Red Sox and the legendary “Green Monster” is a must see so if your family likes baseball (or even a few members of your family) be sure to check out a game or take a tour.

Many thanks to Greater Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau for providing my family with passes to some of the above attractions.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *