fbpx

从一条荒凉的海上航行到捕捉一名风之间的间谍 - 15在新斯科舍省的孩子们难忘的冒险

我正在阳光下晒太阳,同时在哈利法克斯西北部的斯普林菲尔德湖30号码头的船坞上晃悠。 这是我们度假的最后一天,我精神上卖了一切,然后搬到了新斯科舍省。 我们的家人在新斯科舍省度过了我们暑假十天的短暂时间,每个人都被打败了。 我的丈夫提醒我,新斯科舍省的冬季天气非常寒冷,我天气寒冷,所以在温暖的月份进行探访就足够了。 新斯科舍省拥有一切:音乐,文化,历史,户外,海洋,湖泊以及首都哈利法克斯充满活力的市中心。

我们的新斯科舍冒险开始于着名的Cabot Trail周围。 时间紧张的游客可以在一天内放大; 精明的旅客建议至少入住三天。 我们的家庭放慢了速度,在布雷顿角度过了四天,在我看来这还不够。 至少我需要一个月。 但是如果没有奢侈的时间表和无底的银行账户,我们发现有四个就足以让人回味无穷。 我们度过了哈利法克斯及其周边地区的最后一半假期。

我选择了我们在访问期间喜欢的东西的15,并强烈建议您在规划下次访问新斯科舍时将它们添加到旅行清单中。

1。 与阿米巴航行之旅一起航行海洋

Amoeba在新斯科舍省Baddeck的帆船之旅

当我靠近海洋时,我会随时跳上水,所以我们预订了一天在加拿大最大的内陆海域布拉多尔湖上航行。 约翰船长和他幽默的幽默感让我们在地理,地形和该地区的历史上教育了我们。 包括Bras d'Or湖的含盐量,这意味着咸海和新鲜湖水的组合。 那是他在照片上面拿着帆船傻瓜书 - 放心,他一直在航行之旅超过24年。 Amoeba帆船之旅是家庭友好型和8年龄段的儿童,并免费开航。 登上Amoeba也是欣赏亚历山大·格雷厄姆贝尔前房地产Beinn Bhreagh全景的最佳位置。 http://amoebasailingtours.com

2。 回到路易斯堡堡垒

路易斯堡堡垒

回到路易斯堡国家历史遗址堡垒的1744。 在多年前的300上,这座法国城堡围绕着6000人进入了它的城墙。 在被英国人围攻并被法国人收回之后,这座堡垒最终被英国人在1760中摧毁。 这座具有历史意义的重要生活博物馆已重建为其原始大小的1 / 4,由加拿大公园管理。 http://www.fortressoflouisbourg.ca

3。 徒步天际线

天际线步道布雷顿角

沿着布雷顿角高地国家公园(Cape Breton Highlands National Park)的天际步道(Skyline Trail)步行远足,享受令人难以置信的沿海景观。 该路径为7.5公里或您可以采用更长的9.2 km循环。 加拿大公园公园(Parks Canada)表示,加息时间约为2-3小时,但是年幼的孩子希望它能够达到4小时,特别是如果你想停下来享受风景。 沿途有外屋,后半部分是木板路和台阶。 没有陡峭的斜坡或具有挑战性的部分,但它可以只是一个漫长的一天与小孩,所以带来充足的水和零食。 令人叹为观止的圣劳伦斯湾一览无余的美景,您可以鸟瞰下方的Cabot Trail高速公路。 带上双筒望远镜,你可能会很幸运,看到一些嬉戏的海豹和鲸鱼在下面的水中玩耍。 www.pc.gc.ca

4。 查看世界上最大的小提琴

世界上最大的小提琴悉尼新斯科舍

我对即将到来的新斯科舍之旅感到非常兴奋,我对我朋友的一系列事情感到兴奋不已。 我告诉她,我想在旅途中至少听一次风笛和小提琴音乐。 她是一位长期居住在新斯科舍省的人,她半开玩笑地说,如果我在布雷顿角每天都没有听到风笛或小提琴的话,我会很幸运。 她向我保证这个地方会渗出音乐,在旅游景区里随意吹笛者或小提琴者并不罕见。 悉尼港的大提琴代表60英尺高,这是世界上最大的小提琴,并向Cape Breton充满活力的凯尔特文化致敬。 如果你喜欢我,并且喜欢凯尔特音乐,可以穿过街道到总督酒吧,当地乐队每晚都会播放现场音乐,直到9 pm。 是的,很令我高兴的是,总督的大部分夜晚都有风笛和小提琴音乐。 http://governorseatery.com.

州长酒吧悉尼新斯科舍省

5。 去观鸟

鸟岛乘船游览新斯科舍省
如果你是一个鸟类爱好者,你会爱上它 鸟岛乘船游览 离北悉尼不太远。 如果你和我一样,几乎无法分辨出罗宾犬与w difference犬之间的区别,你仍然可以沿着海岸线欣赏一些不寻常的鸟类,特别是可爱的海雀和海岸线上的几片晒黑海豹。 自三代船长开始运营1972以来,这个近三个小时的游船旅程具有很高的教育意义。 带上双筒望远镜或出租前出租一双。 我以前从未见过海雀,并且完全期待企鹅大小的大型鸟类。 它们实际上非常小,所以双筒望远镜是必须要全面了解这些可爱的馅饼。

鸟岛游船游览-NOVA-斯科舍省,2

鸟岛游船游览-NOVA-斯科舍省,3

6。 留在开普敦布雷顿角Ingonish的Keltic Lodge

Keltic Lodge Ingonish新斯科舍省

自1940以来,Keltic Lodge一直是布雷顿角的标志性地标,最近进行了500万美元的翻新。 毗邻屡获殊荣的Highland Links高尔夫球场,Aveda spa,室外温水游泳池,提供现场音乐表演的餐厅以及附近的Ingonish Beach海滩使其成为Cabot Trail沿线家庭旅游的理想下榻之地。 http://kelticlodge.ca.

7。 在因弗内斯海滩寻找海玻璃

因弗内斯海滩

在因弗内斯,布雷顿角寻找海玻璃

在因弗内斯,布雷顿角寻找海玻璃

如果您绕过Cabot Trail,您会发现这个名为Inverness的小镇的宝石,以及我见过的最美丽的海滩之一,撒上海水玻璃。 这是一次经过深思熟虑的快速侧面旅行之一,并且不能停下来进行一次真正应该是一整天的短暂访问。 如果你有美人鱼的眼泪,也就是海玻璃,你会发现很多,如果你愿意脱掉鞋子,脚尖踩到我们在水中发现大量搅动的水中。 http://www.novascotia.com.

8。 在Downstreet咖啡公司享用午餐

Downstreet咖啡公司

Downstreet咖啡公司渗透现代时髦氛围,适合咖啡势利和美食家。

在因弗内斯的海滩度过一天后,您可以在Downstreet咖啡公司停下来享用卡布奇诺咖啡和新鲜的定制三明治。 从旧银行转换而来,您将在原始银行金库内找到包括当地果酱和果冻,有机茶和天然护肤品在内的珍宝。 www.downstreetcoffeecompany.com.

9。 在亚历山大格雷厄姆贝尔博物馆放风筝

亚历山大格雷厄姆贝尔博物馆的风筝

在亚历山大格雷厄姆贝尔博物馆放风筝

亚历山大·格雷厄姆·贝尔(Alexander Graham Bell)爱上了布雷顿角(Cape Breton)的美丽,并在新斯科舍省的巴德克(Baddeck 虽然游客不被允许进入Beinn Bhreagh的私人庄园,但您可以访问了他的生活和成就。 亚历山大格雷厄姆贝尔博物。 参观博物馆大约需要两个小时,但如果你有一些额外的时间,那么包括白手套之旅在内的幕后之旅。 随着孩子们的到来,我们决定享受亚历山大·格雷厄姆·贝尔最喜欢的逍遥时光之一,放风筝。 博物馆在白天的预定时间提供风筝制作活动。 您可以从博物馆注册风筝,或者在礼品店购买风筝,可以购买各种价格和尺寸的风筝。 www.pc.gc.ca.

alexander_graham_bell-旋转手机

我六岁的时候在亚历山大格雷厄姆贝尔博物馆尝试一台旧式旋转式电话机 - 这是许多动手展品之一。

10。 在Tatamagouche火车站用餐车用餐

Tatamagouche火车站

Tatamagouche火车站 是您在新斯科舍省最迷人的景点之一。 一家退休的CN火车站,已经被精心地改造成咖啡厅,礼品店,餐厅和精品酒店。 我们在从布雷顿角到哈利法克斯的路上绕道Tatamagouche,然后停下来吃午饭。 我们当天早上从附近的菜园里挑选了一些好吃的东西。 我的孩子们被所有可以在礼品店购买的怪异和美妙的饰品和玩具所吸引。 这对我们来说是一个快速的停留,但你可以阅读Helen Earley的文章, 一个孩子的梦想:火车站酒店,以及新斯科舍省Tatamagouche迷人的村庄.

11。 在哈利法克斯的码头21博物馆跟踪你的祖先

码头21博物馆哈利法克斯,新斯科舍省

在1951,我丈夫的父亲和他的家人离开了荷兰,来到21的新斯科舍省哈利法克斯的码头1951。 从1928到1971,现在有将近一百万人移民到加拿大 加拿大移民博物馆。 我们想让我们的孩子向他们展示他们的加拿大故事开始的地方。 他们喜欢儿童友好的动手活动,包括在殖民地火车车厢里玩象棋; 类似于他们的Oma和Opa在西部前往阿尔伯塔和不列颠哥伦比亚省的路上骑行时。我们只花了几个小时但如果你是历史爱好者,看起来好像需要几天才能体验博物馆的所有优惠。 对于成年人来说,尝试通过公民身份测试,这比你想象的要难。 访问 pier21.ca 了解更多信息。

码头21博物馆哈利法克斯

一位内部的历史学家研究我丈夫的父亲在加拿大到来的细节。 她找到了他们的船和乘客名单的照片。

12。 在Peggy's Cove的跑酷

佩吉的小海湾新斯科舍

在Peggy's Cove世界着名的灯塔前为他们的妈妈拍照时,我的孩子们正在渴望跳跃,争抢和爬过抱石的海岸线。 有很多地方可以运行和玩耍,看到海洋,而不必离海洋太近,它变得不安全。 Peggy's Cove的吸引力之一就是海浪拍打着岩石的粗糙和坍塌,但到处都有迹象表明游客要远离黑色的岩石,远离不可预测的水面。 这不是在水中浸泡脚趾的海滩。 Peggy's Cove也是购买纪念品的好地方。 这里有很多艺术画廊和礼品店。 Hags在山上 提供当地制作的工匠用品,从帽子和围巾到艺术品。 对于最实惠的锡制海滩装饰最美丽的部分,退房 Amos Pewter。 访问 www.peggyscoveregion.com 了解更多信息。

佩吉的小海湾新斯科舍

有很多岩石爬和跳跃跳跃,所以跳过高跟鞋和穿好的步行鞋。

佩吉的小海湾新斯科舍

每年有50万游客参观风景如画的Peggy's Cove渔村,这里的渔民不到40居民。

13。 在城堡寻找间谍

城堡 - 哈利法克斯NOVA-斯科舍省

如果你不得不在哈利法克斯挑选一件事情,请选择 城堡国家历史遗址。 这座星形山顶堡垒建于1800早期,是一个活生生的历史博物馆,每天都有互动和教育项目,包括 成为一天的士兵 成年人和孩子们的计划 幽灵漫步之旅。

城堡 - 哈利法克斯NOVA-斯科舍省,2

我的孩子们喜欢这个 公园加拿大XPlorer计划。 我们在接待处拿起一个书包,里面装满了追踪间谍所需的必需品,并拯救了城堡! 线索分散在城堡周围供儿童查找和记录在他们的小册子中。 完成活动后,他们获得纪念品,以纪念他们在Citadel的一天。 我们喜欢标记他们的冒险。 如果我们没有完成解决谜团的任务,我们可能在参观博物馆期间错过了一些重要的展品。 访问 http://pc.gc.ca/en/lhn-nhs/ns/halifax 了解更多信息。

城堡国家历史遗址哈利法克斯

通向Vimy和超越之路 在城堡的军队博物馆展出

城堡 - 哈利法克斯NOVA-斯科舍省,4

14。 吃大量的龙虾

吃新斯科舍所有的龙虾

吃新斯科舍所有的龙虾 - nomnom

住在内陆的艾伯塔省龙虾是家庭聚餐的罕见。 在计划我们前往新斯科舍省的旅行时,我打算尽可能多地吃龙虾:龙虾卷,龙虾麦片和奶酪,煮龙虾......你的名字,我打算吃它。 龙虾很容易找到,几乎每个菜单都包括麦当劳,但我们家最喜欢的龙虾点是在Baddeck Lobster Suppers中找到的。 他们专注于当地捕获的海鲜和烟火烧烤三文鱼的烟熏气味几乎足以阻止我们吃龙虾的任务但不完全。 所有你可以吃的贻贝菜单可能听起来有些诱人,但是这些部分是如此之大,我们几乎无法完成第一轮。

15。 在湖中跳跃

NOVA-舍湖

新斯科舍省周围散布着3000湖泊,湖边的乐趣是新斯科舍文化的一部分。 我们的湖畔度假胜地属于朋友,他们将自己的地方变成了一个地方 Airbnb出租 很幸运,你也可以呆在那里! 早晨,我们懒洋洋地看着皮划艇运动员和苏泊尔人漂浮着,喝着咖啡,沐浴在码头的阳光下。 我们在一艘划桨船中探险,调查湖中心无人居住的岛屿,并将孩子们从码头上扔下来,然后自己跳进去。 在晚上,我们的孩子们尝试捕鱼,并成功地捕获了他们顽皮地扔回水中的小物。 晚上我们会回到码头,手里拿着酒杯,看着太阳下山。

在新斯科舍省的孩子惊人的冒险

我们的糟糕的孩子们抓到了可悲的鱼,太小而无法保存。

尽管我们所有的疯狂冒险在新斯科舍省周围游荡,如果你让我的孩子们为他们最喜欢的假期命名,他们都会为在湖边度过的时光而欢呼。 无论您在新斯科舍省的家庭冒险活动何去,您都可以安排时间在新斯科舍省的湖泊放松身心。 在Beverley和Alan的Airbnb租赁中享受东海岸的热情好客。 访问 https://www.airbnb.ca/rooms/15658405 了解更多信息并预订住宿。

我很想听听你在新斯科舍省最喜欢的景点! 我敢打赌,我们错过了我们家庭冒险的一些伟大的点。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

From Sailing a Brackish Sea to Catching a Fenian Spy – 15 Unforgettable Adventures for Kids in Nova Scotia

I was basking in the sunshine while bobbing on a boat dock on Springfield Lake 30 minutes north-west of Halifax. It was our last day of our holiday, and I was mentally selling everything and moving to Nova Scotia. Our family had spent ten short days of our summer vacation in Nova Scotia, and everyone was smitten. My husband reminded me that Nova Scotia gets some pretty epic winter weather and I’m cold weather wimpy so visits in the balmy months would have to suffice. Nova Scotia has everything: music, culture, history, the great outdoors, ocean, lakes and a vibrant downtown scene in their capital, Halifax.

Our Nova Scotia adventure began with a drive around the famous Cabot Trail. Time-crunched tourists can zoom through in a day; savvy travellers recommend staying at least three days. Our family took it slow and spent four days in Cape Breton, which in my opinion isn’t enough. I need a month, at least. But without the luxury of an empty schedule and bottomless bank account, we found four was enough to get a taste to come back for more. We spend the last half of our holiday in and around Halifax.

I’ve picked 15 of our favourite things we enjoyed during our visit and highly recommend you add them to your travel checklist when planning your next visit to Nova Scotia.

1. Sail the Seas with Amoeba Sailing Tours

Amoeba Sailing Tours in Baddeck Nova Scotia

I will jump at any chance to get on the water when I am near an ocean so naturally, we booked a day to sail on Bras d’Or Lake, Canada’s largest inland sea. Captain John and his witty sense of humour had us in stitches as he educated us on the geography, topography, and history of the area. Including the fact that Bras d’Or Lake is brackish, meaning a combination of salty sea and fresh lake water. That’s him holding the Sailing for Dummies book in the photo above- rest assured, he’s been running his sailing tours for over 24 years. Amoeba Sailing Tours are family friendly and children ages 8 and under sail free. On board the Amoeba is also the best vantage point to get a full view of Beinn Bhreagh, the former estate of Alexander Graham Bell. http://amoebasailingtours.com

2. Step back in time at the Fortress of Louisbourg

Fortress of Louisbourg

Travel back in time to 1744 at Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site. Over 300 years ago, this French fortress housed over 6000 people within its walls. After being sieged by the British and reclaimed by the French, the fortress was ultimately destroyed by the British in 1760. This historically significant living museum has been reconstructed to 1/4 of its original size and is operated by Parks Canada. http://www.fortressoflouisbourg.ca

3. Hike the Skyline Trail

Skyline Trail Cape Breton

For incredible coastal vistas on a walkable hike head to The Skyline Trail in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The trail is 7.5 kms or you can take a longer 9.2 km loop. According to Parks Canada, the hike is about 2-3 hours but with young kids expect it to take up to 4 hours especially if you’d like to stop to enjoy the scenery. There are outhouses along the way and the last half is boardwalk and steps. There are no steep inclines or challenging sections but it can just be a long day with little ones so bring plenty of water and snacks. Crazy breathtaking with sweeping views of the Gulf of St Lawrence and you get a bird’s eye view of the Cabot Trail highway below. Bring binoculars and you might get lucky and see some frolicking seals and whales playing in the water below. www.pc.gc.ca

4. Check out the World’s Largest Fiddle

World's Largest Fiddle Sydney Nova Scotia

I was so excited about my upcoming trip to Nova Scotia I was rattling off my bucket list of things to experience to a friend. I told her I wanted to hear bagpipes and fiddle music at least once on my trip. A long-time resident of Nova Scotia, she half-joked that I’d be lucky if I didn’t get to hear bagpipes or fiddles every day in Cape Breton. She assured me the place oozes music and it’s not unusual to have random pipers or fiddlers busking in touristy areas. The Big Fiddle at the Port of Sydney stands 60 ft high, the world’s largest fiddle and pays homage to the vibrant Celtic culture in Cape Breton. If you are like me and love Celtic music, head across the street to the Governor’s Pub where local bands play live music nightly and is kid-friendly until 9 pm. And yes, much to my delight, there were bagpipes and fiddle music most nights at Governor’s. http://governorseatery.com.

Governor's Pub Sydney Nova Scotia

5. Go Bird Watching

Bird Island Boat Tours Nova Scotia
If you are a bird aficionado you will love the Bird Island Boat Tours not too far from North Sydney. If you are like me and can barely tell the difference between a robin and a wren, you’ll still enjoy a ride along the coast learning some unusual bird species, especially the adorable puffins along with a few sunning seals along the shoreline. Running since 1972 by three generations of Captains, this nearly three-hour boat tour is highly educational. Bring binoculars or rent a pair before heading out. I had never seen a puffin before and fully expected large birds the size of penguins. They are actually really quite small so binoculars are a must to get a full view of these cutie pies.

bird-island-boat-tours-nova-scotia-2

bird-island-boat-tours-nova-scotia-3

6. Stay the Keltic Lodge in Ingonish, Cape Breton

Keltic Lodge Ingonish Nova Scotia

Since the 1940’s the Keltic Lodge has been an iconic landmark of Cape Breton and recently underwent a five million dollar renovation. The adjacent award-winning Highland Links golf course, Aveda spa, heated outdoor pool, restaurants featuring live music and the nearby Ingonish Beach make this the perfect spot for a family stop along the Cabot Trail with something for everyone. http://kelticlodge.ca.

7. Hunt for Sea Glass at Inverness Beach

Inverness Beach

Hunting for sea glass in Inverness, Cape Breton

Hunting for sea glass in Inverness, Cape Breton

If you take a detour off the Cabot Trail you’ll find this gem of a town called Inverness as well as one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever seen, sprinkled with sea glass. This was one of those quick side trips that was an after thought and could not stop for a short visit that really should have been a full day affair. If you have a thing for mermaid tears, aka sea glass, you’d find lots here if you are willing to shed your shoes and tiptoe into the water where we found lots churning in the water. http://www.novascotia.com.

8. Have lunch at Downstreet Coffee Company

Downstreet Coffee Company

Downstreet Coffee Company oozes a modern hipster vibe, perfect for coffee snobs and foodies.

After a day at the beach in Inverness, stop by Downstreet Coffee Company for a cappuccino and a fresh, made-to-order sandwich. Converted from an old bank, you’ll find treasures including local jams and jellies, organic teas, and natural skin care products inside the original bank vault. www.downstreetcoffeecompany.com.

9. Fly a Kite at the Alexander Graham Bell Museum

Kites at Alexander Graham Bell Museum

Flying kites at the Alexander Graham Bell Museum

Alexander Graham Bell fell in love with the beauty of Cape Breton and made his summer home in Baddeck, Nova Scotia. While visitors are not allowed at the still privately owned estate of Beinn Bhreagh, you can visit learn about his life and accomplishment at the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. A visit to the museum takes about two hours but if you have some extra time, there are behind the scenes tours including the White Glove Tour. With kids in tow, we decided to enjoy one of Alexander Graham Bell’s favourite pastimes, flying a kite. The museum offers kite making activities at a scheduled time during the day. You can sign out a kite from the museum or pick up one at gift shop has many varieties of kites of all prices and sizes. www.pc.gc.ca.

alexander_graham_bell-rotary-phone

My six year old trying out an old rotary telephone in the Alexander Graham Bell Museum – one of the many hands-on exhibits.

10. Dine in the Tatamagouche Train Station Dining Car

Tatamagouche Train Station

The Tatamagouche Train Station is one of the most charming spots you’ll find in Nova Scotia. A retired CN Rail station that has been lovingly converted into a cafe, gift shop, restaurant and boutique hotel. We made the detour to Tatamagouche on our way from Cape Breton down to Halifax and stopped for lunch. We dined on goodies picked that morning from the nearby vegetable garden. My kids were entranced by all the weird and wonderful trinkets and toys available for purchase in the gift shop. This was a quick stop for us but you can read about her stay in a rail car on Helen Earley’s article, A Child’s Dream: The Train Station Inn, and The Charming Village of Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia.

11. Trace Your Ancestors at Pier 21 Museum in Halifax

Pier 21 Museum Halifax, Nova Scotia

In 1951, my husband’s father and his family left the Netherlands and arrived at Pier 21 in Halifax, Nova Scotia in 1951. From 1928 to 1971 nearly one million people immigrated to Canada at what is now Canada’s Museum of Immigration. We wanted to take our kids to show them where their Canadian story began. They loved the kid-friendly hands-on activities which included playing a game of chess in a Colonist train car; similar to one their Oma and Opa rode on when they made their way out west to Alberta and British Columbia.We only spent a few hours but if you are a history buff, it might seem like it would take days to experience all the museum offers. For the grownups, try to pass the Citizenship Test, it’s harder than you might think. Visit pier21.ca for more information.

Pier 21 Museum Halifax

An in-house historian researching details about the arrival of my husband’s father in Canada. She found a photo of their ship and the passenger list.

12. Parkour at Peggy’s Cove

Peggy's Cove Nova Scotia

After their obligatory photo op for their mom in front of the world famous lighthouse at Peggy’s Cove, my kids were itching to jump, scramble and climb across the bouldered coastline. There is plenty of place to run and play AND to see the ocean without having to get so close to the ocean that it becomes unsafe. One of the appeals of Peggy’s Cove is the rough and tumble of the waves smashing against the rocks but there are signs everywhere advising visitors to stay off the black rocks and way from the unpredictable water. This is not the beach to dip your toes in the water. Peggy’s Cove is also a great spot to pick up souvenirs. There are plenty of art galleries and gift shops. Hags on the Hill offers locally made artisan items from hats and scarfs to pieces of art. For the most beautiful pieces of beach decor in affordable pewter, check out Amos Pewter. Visit www.peggyscoveregion.com for more information.

Peggy's Cove Nova Scotia

There are lots of crags to climb and puddles to jump so skip the high heels and wear good walking shoes.

Peggy's Cove Nova Scotia

Every year, half a million tourists visit the picturesque fishing village of Peggy’s Cove that is home to less than 40 residents.

13. Hunt for Spies at the Citadel

citadel-halifax-nova-scotia

If you have to pick only one thing to do in Halifax, choose the Citadel National Historic Site. This star-shaped hilltop fort built in the early 1800s is a living history museum with interactive and educational programs running daily including Be a Soldier For a Day program for grown-ups and kids and Ghost Walk Tours.

citadel-halifax-nova-scotia-2

My kids loved the Parks Canada XPlorer Program. We picked up a satchel at the reception filled with the necessities needed to track down a spy and save the Citadel! Clues are scattered around the Citadel for children to find and record in their booklets.  After completing the activity they got a keepsake souvenir to remember their day at the Citadel. We loved tagging along on their adventure. We might have missed some important exhibits during our visit to the museum if we hadn’t been on a mission to solve a mystery. Visit http://pc.gc.ca/en/lhn-nhs/ns/halifax for more information.

Citadel National Historic Site Halifax

The Road to Vimy and Beyond exhibit in the Citadel’s Army Museum

citadel-halifax-nova-scotia-4

14. Eat Copious Amounts of Lobster

Eating all the Lobster in Nova Scotia

Eating all the lobster in Nova Scotia – nomnom

Living in land-locked Alberta lobster is a rarity at family meals. When planning our trip to Nova Scotia I intended to eat as much lobster as humanly possible: lobster rolls, lobster mac and cheese, boiled lobster..you name it, I was going to eat it. Lobster is easy to find and is on nearly every menu including McDonald’s but our family’s favourite lobster spot was found at Baddeck Lobster Suppers. They specialize in locally caught seafood and smoky smell of fire-planked bbq salmon was almost enough to deter us from our lobster-eating mission but not quite. The all you can eat mussel menu might sound enticing to some but the portions were so big we barely could finish round one.

15. Jump in a Lake

nova-scotia-lake

There are over 3000 lakes scattered around Nova Scotia and fun at the lake is part of Nova Scotian culture. Our lakeside retreat belonged to friends who have since converted their place into an Airbnb rental so lucky you can stay there too! Mornings started with sipping coffee and basking in the sunshine on the dock while we lazily watched kayakers and SUPers float by. We ventured out in a paddleboat to investigate the uninhabited island in the centre of the lake and cooled down tossing the kids off the docks and jumping in ourselves. In the evenings our kids tried their hand at fishing and were successful capturing tiny ones they ruefully tossed back in the water. In the evening we would head back to the dock, wine glass in hand and watch the sun go down.

Amazing Adventure for kids in Nova Scotia

Our landlubber kids caught fish which sadly, were too small to keep.

Despite all our crazy adventures wandering around Nova Scotia if you ask my kids to name their favourite part of the holiday they would both cheer about the time spent at the lake. Wherever your family adventure in Nova Scotia takes you, be sure to schedule to time to kick back and relax at a lake in Nova Scotia. Enjoy some east coast hospitality at Beverley and Alan’s Airbnb rental. Visit https://www.airbnb.ca/rooms/15658405 for more information and to book your stay.

I’d love to hear about your favourite spots in Nova Scotia! I bet we missed some great spots on our family adventure.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *