5的理由留在你的下一次家庭度假的青年旅馆

5的理由留在你的下一次家庭度假的青年旅馆

阿德莱德中央旅馆/信用: YHA澳大利亚

你还记得背包旅行日的青年旅馆吗? 住宿是基本的。 规则? 带上您自己的床单,在淋浴间穿人字拖鞋 - 玩得开心!

现在你们都长大了,实际上可以负担得起一个体面的酒店,你可能没有考虑和家人一起预订青年旅馆......但你应该这样做! 如果精心挑选,入住auberge de jeunesse或当地背包客的经历不仅可以节省您的金钱,还可以提高您的家庭度假质量。

除了显而易见的(双层床!!),这里是5在您下一次家庭度假时留在青年旅舍的理由:

5的理由留在你的下一次家庭度假的青年旅馆

双层床在 Auberge de Gros Cap/信用:海伦Earley

1。 青年旅舍也长大了

旅游博客Kash Bhattacharya拥有该网站 预算Traveller.org 并表示,奢侈品招待的趋势对于想要按预算旅行的家庭来说意味着更好的选择。 他说:“过去几年来,这里的宿舍场面发生了翻天覆地的变化。” “旅馆正在成长并吸引所有年龄段的人”。 如果你想看一些令人惊叹的例子,请查看他的列表 欧洲最好的家庭旅馆,包括华丽的 Plas Curig 在斯诺登尼亚,和时髦 Cocomama - 阿姆斯特丹精品旅馆,位于前妓院。

Plas Curig旅馆

威尔士的Plas Curig Hostel被认为是“英国最好的旅馆” 预算旅行者/信用:预算旅行者

2。 你会省钱

在我们最近的魁北克家庭公路旅行 Madgalen群岛,我们住在可能是我见过的最美丽的旅馆: Auberge de Gros Cap (如下图)。 这座一尘不染,色泽明亮的前海洋研究站位于红色石头悬崖的边缘,通过高大的宿舍窗户可以清新的海风吹拂,提供免费网络连接,欧陆式早餐和一个儿童大型游乐场。 宽敞的4床家庭房的价格? 每晚只需$ 86。

Auberge de Gros Cap

Auberge de Gros Cap Magdalen群岛/信用:海伦Earley

3。 你的孩子会认识新朋友

在同一家旅馆,我的8一岁的女儿露西和她的新朋友亚瑟在他们在休息室的游戏架上找到的棋盘上玩拼字游戏。 赶上? 他只说法语,她只说英语。 在两组自豪的父母的帮助下,这两个喜欢冒险的孩子设法进行了双语游戏 - 每个人都用他们自己的语言写下文字!

5原因留在你的下一个家庭度假青年旅舍/ Scrabble Game Park Du Gros Cap。 Helen Earley的照片

Scubble at Auberge de Gros Cap,Magdalen Islands / Credit:Helen Earley

旅行作家 安·布里顿坎贝尔 讲述了在澳大利亚同样丰富的经验:

“当我们登记入住时,我们认为我们会碰到这个赌场头奖。” 格兰屏生态 青年 宿舍 在澳大利亚的Halls Gap。 我们的孩子,然后7和9岁,与来自世界各地的旅行者交谈。 野生袋鼠就住在外面 宿舍 是奖金。“

4。 你会拿起旅行提示

忘记指南书的应用程序! 在青年旅馆,您可以真正与同行“联网”,找出哪些景点值得。 在旅馆里,可以关掉手机和iPad,然后前往休息室享受低科技旅行者的聊天。

5。 你吃得好

除了提供适度的早餐(想想烤面包,果酱或花生酱和咖啡)外,大多数旅馆都为客人提供厨房。 这意味着你和你的家人可以 真正 体验当地美食。 在当地购物,去钓鱼,尝试农贸市场,品尝当地啤酒。 既然您有冰箱和炉灶,那么您可以做到这一切。 (不要忘记遵循厨房规则,并随着时间的推移进行清理。)

魁北克Magdalen群岛的典型青年旅馆早餐。 歌海娜焦糖和吐司。 Helen Earley的照片

典型的青年旅馆早餐,Auberge de Gros Cap / Credit:Helen Earley

你的家人曾经住过青年旅馆吗? 如果是这样,请告诉我们您在评论中的体验。 而且,如果您计划一个家庭度假,请务必查看以下链接,了解加拿大和世界各地一流的家庭友好青年旅馆!

Plas Curig,英国威尔士斯诺登尼亚

Cocomama,阿姆斯特丹,荷兰

YHA温德米尔,湖区,英格兰

位于伦敦,约克和爱丁堡的Safestay旅馆

与YHA澳大利亚的家庭假期

幽鹤国家公园,不列颠哥伦比亚省

HI坎莫尔,艾伯塔省

Auberge de Gros Cap,马格达伦群岛,魁北克

旅游局,马格达伦

海伦和她的家人在美丽的海滨举行了婚礼 马格达伦群岛 礼貌 魁北克海事.

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

5 Reasons to Stay in a Youth Hostel on Your Next Family Vacation

5 Reasons to Stay in a Youth Hostel on Your Next Family Vacation

Adelaide Central Hostel/Credit: YHA Australia

Do you remember the youth hostels of your backpacking days? The accommodation was basic. And the rules? Bring your own bedsheets, wear flip-flops in the shower – and have fun!

Now that you’re all grown up and can actually afford a decent hotel, you may not have considered booking into a youth hostel with your family…but you should! When chosen carefully, the experience of staying at an auberge de jeunesse or a local backpackers can not only save you money, but enhance the quality of your family vacation.

Aside from the obvious (bunk beds!!), here are 5 reasons to stay in a youth hostel on your next family vacation:

5 Reasons to Stay in a Youth Hostel on Your Next Family Vacation

Bunk beds at Auberge de Gros Cap/Credit: Helen Earley

1. Youth Hostels Have Grown Up Too

Travel Blogger Kash Bhattacharya owns the website Budget Traveller.org and says that a trend toward luxury hosteling means a better choice for families who want to travel on a budget. “There’s been a huge shift in the hostelling scene in the last few years”, he says. “Hostels are growing up and attracting people of all ages”. If you want to see some stunning examples, check out his list of the best family friendly hostels in Europe, including the opulent Plas Curig in Snowdonia, and the funky Cocomama – a boutique Amsterdam hostel housed in a former brothel.

Plas Curig Hostel

Plas Curig Hostel in Wales, deemed the “best hostel in Britain” by Budget Traveller/Credit: Budget Traveller

2. You’ll Save Money

On our recent family road trip to Quebec’s Madgalen Islands, we stayed in possibly the most beautiful hostel I have ever seen: The Auberge de Gros Cap (pictured below). Set on the edge of a red stone cliff, with fresh sea air blowing steadily through the tall dormitory windows, this spotlessly clean, bright yellow former marine research station offers free internet, continental breakfast, and a large playground for the kids. The price of a spacious 4-bed family room? Only $86 per night.

Auberge de Gros Cap

Auberge de Gros Cap Magdalen Islands/Credit: Helen Earley

3. Your Kids Will Meet New Friends

At the same hostel, my 8 year-old daughter Lucy and her new friend Arthur played Scrabble on a board that they found on the games shelf in the lounge. The catch? He spoke only French, and she only English. With the help of two sets of proud parents, these two adventurous kids managed to have a bilingual game – each placing words in their own language!

5 Reasons to Stay in a Youth Hostel on Your Next Family Vacation/ Scrabble Game at Park Du Gros Cap. Photo by Helen Earley

Scrabble at Auberge de Gros Cap, Magdalen Islands/Credit: Helen Earley

Travel Writer Ann Briton Campbell recounts an equally enriching experience in Australia:

“We thought we’d hit the hosteling jackpot when we checked in to the Grampians Eco Youth Hostel in Halls Gap, Australia. Our kids, then 7 and 9-years-old, talked with travellers from all over the world. That wild kangaroos lived just outside the hostel was a bonus.”

4. You’ll Pick Up Travel Tips

Forget the guide book app! At a youth hostel, you can truly “network” with fellow travellers to find out which attractions are worthwhile. At a hostel, it’s OK to turn off the phone and the iPads, and head down to the lounge for a low-tech travellers’ chat.

5. You’ll Eat Well

As well as providing a modest breakfast (think toast and jam or Nutella and coffee), most hostels have a kitchen for guests. This means you and your family can truly experience local cuisine.  Shop local, go fishing, try farmer’s markets, taste local beer. You can do it all, now that you’ve got a fridge and a stove at your disposal. (Don’t forget to follow the kitchen rules, and clean up as you go along.)

A typical youth hostel breakfast in the Magdalen Islands, Quebec. Grenache Caramel and Toast. Photo by Helen Earley

A typical youth hostel breakfast, Auberge de Gros Cap/Credit: Helen Earley

Has your family ever stayed in a youth hostel? If so, please tell us about your experience in the comments. And, if you’re planning a family vacation, make sure you check out the following links to superb family-friendly youth hostels in Canada and around the world!

Plas Curig, Snowdonia, Wales, UK

Cocomama, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

YHA Windermere, Lake District, England

Safestay Hostels in London, York and Edinburgh, UK

Family Holidays with YHA Australia

Fireweed Hostel, Yoho National Park, BC

HI Canmore, Alberta

Auberge de Gros Cap, Magdalen Islands, Quebec

tourisme-magdalen

Helen and her family were hosted in beautiful the Magdalen Islands courtesy of Quebec Maritime.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *