fbpx

6理由金斯顿安大略省统治加拿大顶级万圣节城市

由安妮Bokma

由于闹鬼的事件发生的历史悠久,金斯敦安大略省可以说是该国庆祝万圣节的最恐怖的地方。 从加拿大最严重的罪犯所在的令人毛骨悚然的监狱,到亨利堡的古堡,据说士兵的鬼魂依然在被称为骷髅公园的公共绿地漫游(在古老的墓地上建有成千上万的坟墓)没有令人毛骨悚然的城市去参加超自然的季节。 考虑加拿大金斯敦的塞勒姆。

我的孩子现在是青少年,但万圣节仍然是他们最喜欢的节日。 由于他们太老了,无法进行诀窍或治疗,我们前往石灰岩城去参加迷人的十月度假,带着足够的幻想和可怕的经历,让我们想要回到明年。

1。 敢于在福特堡受到惊吓

在金斯顿安大略的Fort Fright

如果你敢的话,进入Fort Fright!

几十个活着的“恐吓演员”,穿着鬼怪,僵尸,骷髅和令人毛骨悚然的小丑,从地下墓穴出来 亨利堡 - 一座建于俯瞰安大略湖的山顶上的19世纪军事要塞 - 让你惊叹你的生活。 被警告 - 他们成功了。 自从分娩以来,我一直没有尖叫过。 虽然演员不允许触摸你,但他们确实会接近并且令人非常惊慌。 我们选择了“全面恐慌”套餐,其中包括“令人恐惧的隧道故事”(不那么可怕)和电子棺木之旅。 我是我家里唯一一个敢于爬进缎子棺材里的棺材,它砰的一声关上,有节奏地弹了两分钟,而我面前的视频播放着将泥土铲到棺材上的人们的图像。 它比焦虑激发更有趣。 该景点还包括好莱坞式动画电影,幽灵般的声音和灯光效果以及3-D墙面投影。 但没有什么能够击败那些极具说服力的恐怖演员,尤其是杰森角色的恐惧因素,就在周五的13th电影中,他们挥舞着嘈杂的电锯,真正发出气体烟雾(幸好刀片丢失了)。 当我们离开10下午的堡垒时,他在山顶对抗几乎满月前排放的烟雾弥漫的山峰,他用最后一刻的锯子将我们送走。 我们在停车场里跑到我们的车上,以一种恐惧和欢笑的姿势弯腰。

如果所有这些对小孩子来说似乎都太过分了,亨利堡想到了这一点,并提供了一个可选的“安全通行证”,这是一种防护护身符,可以避开恐慌的演员,让孩子们可以享受这一活动,而不必在夜间咆哮。

2。 让我们一起走吧 金斯顿闹鬼的步行

金士顿安大略闹鬼步行

身穿黑色衣服的导游在金斯敦市中心,亨利堡,加纳诺克附近和莫里斯堡上加拿大村的灯光闪烁的光线下提供90分钟幽灵般的夜间徒步旅行。 几年前由一位受人尊敬的幽灵历史学家创办了20,这些散步导游是有才华的故事讲述人,剧作家和历史爱好者,他们在古老的法院大楼内制作了当地闹鬼的酒店,隐藏的墓地,墓穴和帷幔的真实鬼故事。

3。 在金斯敦监狱的酒吧后面

经过近两个世纪的使用,180被锁定在耻骨上,并在2013关闭,加拿大人现在可以在这个国家历史遗迹的沉闷石墙后面,瞥见生活在加拿大最古老的最高安全监狱内的沉闷生活囚犯,一次这个国家的一些臭名昭着的罪犯的家园。 前狱警率领巡视监狱,囚犯工作室和休闲场所,并重新列举着名监狱逃生和1971骚乱的详细情况,在此期间,六名警卫被控制监狱四天的囚犯劫为人质。 90分钟旅行的门票,直到10月底,很难得到。 几乎60,000在今年早些时候发售后不久就被抢购了。 然而,有限的8:40旅行时间门票可通过特定酒店的特别优惠提供,包括金斯敦的Holiday Inn酒店(请参阅 www.visitkingston.ca/stay/special-offers).

金斯顿安大略省监狱博物馆

如果您无法获得监狱旅游票,可以免费(接受捐赠)自助游附近 金斯敦监狱博物馆,这是八个监狱狱卒的故居,您将在这里了解到1800s监狱生活的残酷性(包括诸如“捆绑工作台”之类的酷刑手段),可以看到成百上千的战士和小腿(由囚犯制造的武器的日常用品,例如梳子和牙刷,它们用于自我保护)并了解好莱坞风格的大逃亡(比如由“Foxy Freddie”Caddedu绘制的失去20磅的人,这样他就可以塞进一个胶水切割的小洞中 - 共用一叠橙色晚餐托盘,并通过厨房溜出监狱)。

4。 慢慢漫步金士顿僵尸步行

“亡灵”的150超过了去年的年度 僵尸步行 开始在星期六的骷髅公园,10月的22在1下午和蜿蜒的市中心。 所有年龄段的比赛都会颁发给最佳组合,最佳情侣,最佳个人服装和最佳童装。 鼓励与会人员为金斯敦青少年避难所带来非易腐品参加免费活动。 非僵尸观察员欢迎。

5。 跳上 金士顿鬼和神秘的手推车

通过这辆旧时的电车,您可以窥探金斯敦的超自然过去,这里可以带您前往该城市一些鲜为人知的闹鬼景点,包括亨利堡山,亡人湾,洛克伍德庇护所,金斯敦监狱和卡斯特拉基公墓,您可以在那里下船晚上漫步在着名的坟墓 - 包括加拿大第一总理约翰麦克唐纳爵士的那个。

6。 用Pumpkinferno点亮你的夜晚

金斯顿安大略南瓜宁费诺

用Pumkininferno点亮万圣节!

对于比恐怖更神奇的东西,请看看Morrisburg上加拿大村数以千计的创意设计的手工南瓜装置的精彩展示。 距离金士顿的90分钟车程, Pumpkinfero 绝对值得额外的旅行时间。 入住McIntosh Country Inn酒店后,我们在位于上加拿大村庄的历史悠久的Willard's Hotel酒店(原为1830s酒馆)进行了传统的肉和土豆晚餐,之后前往黄昏时分,欣赏壮丽的橙色海洋电器展。 我们在长达一小时的漫步中惊叹不已,因为我们对发光的南瓜显示器感到惊叹,其中包括一只漂浮在天空中的超大号宇航员,一群围绕着大锅跳舞的巫师,一棵满载着数百个大树闪烁的橙色球体,来自世界各地的货币碎片以及从蒙娜丽莎到弗里达卡罗的着名肖像。

该活动已被安大略旅游业协会确认为全省最佳新活动,并且很容易看出其原因。 我们的下巴实际上是开放的,因为每个显示器都超过了最后一个。 即使你年事已高,也不会捣蛋,像Pumpkinferno这样的魔法可以很容易地在幽灵般的季节里坚持到孩子般的奇迹般的感觉。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

6 Reasons Kingston Ontario Reigns as Canada’s Top Halloween City

By Anne Bokma

With its rich history of haunted happenings, Kingston Ontario, is arguably the spookiest place in the country to celebrate Halloween. From the eerie penitentiary where Canada’s worst criminals were housed, to the ancient fortress of Fort Henry where the ghosts of soldiers are said to still roam the grounds to the public green space known as Skeleton Park (built over an old burial ground with thousands of graves) there’s no creepier city to head to for the supernatural season. Consider Kingston Canada’s Salem.

My kids are teenagers now, but Halloween is still their favourite holiday. Since they’re too old for trick-or-treating we headed to the Limestone City for an enchanting October getaway with enough fantastical and frightening experiences to make us want to head back next year.

1. Dare to be scared at Fort Fright

Fort Fright in Kingston Ontario

Enter Fort Fright, if you dare!

Dozens of live “scare actors,” dressed as ghosts, zombies, skeletons and creepy clowns, come out of the catacombs at Fort Henry — a 19th century military fortress built on a hilltop overlooking Lake Ontario — to give you the fright of your life. Be warned — they succeed. I haven’t screamed so much since giving birth. While the actors aren’t allowed to touch you, they do get close and it’s thrillingly unnerving. We opted for the “Total Scare” package, which included “Terrifying Tales from the Tunnels” (not so scary) to an electronic coffin ride. I was the only one in my family who dared climb into the satin-lined casket which slammed shut and bounced rhythmically for two minutes while a video in front of my face played images of people shovelling dirt onto a coffin. It was more amusing than anxiety provoking. The attraction also features Hollywood-style animatronics, spooky sound and light effects and 3-D wall projections. But nothing beats the fear factor of the extremely convincing scare actors, especially the Jason character, right out of the Friday the 13th movies, who wielded a noisy chainsaw that actually emitted gas fumes (thankfully the blade was missing). When we left the fort at 10 p.m. his menacing figure was outlined on the hill against the smoky clouds drifting in front of an almost full moon as he sent us off with a last rev of the saw. We literally ran to our car in the parking lot, bent over in a fit of fear and laughter.

If all this seems like too much for little kids, Fort Henry has thought of that and provides an optional “safe pass,” a protective amulet that wards off the scare actors so children can enjoy the event without running screaming into the night.

2. Get spirited away on a Haunted Walk of Kingston

Kingston Ontario Haunted Walk

Guides cloaked in black offer 90-minute ghostly evening walking tours by the flickering glow of a lantern light in downtown Kingston, Fort Henry, nearby Gananoque and at Upper Canada Village in Morrisburg. Founded 20 years ago by a respected ghost historian, the walks feature tour guides who are talented storytellers, dramatists and history buffs spinning real-life ghost tales of local haunted hotels, hidden burial grounds, grave robbings and hangings at the old courthouse.

3. Get behind the bars at Kingston Penitentiary

 

Locked to the pubic for 180 years and shuttered in 2013 after nearly two centuries of use, Canadians can now go behind the dreary stone walls of this national historic site to get a glimpse of the dreary life inmates lived inside Canada’s oldest maximum security prison, once home to some of this country’s most notorious criminals. Former guards lead the tours of the cellblocks, inmate workshops and recreational grounds and recount details of famous prison escapes and the 1971 riot, during which six guards were taken hostage by inmates who had control of the prison for four days. Tickets for the 90-minute tours, which run until the end of October, are hard to come by. Almost 60,000 were snapped up soon after they were released for sale earlier this year. However, limited tickets for the 8:40 a.m. tour times are available by special offer with selected hotels, including the Holiday Inn, in Kingston (see www.visitkingston.ca/stay/special-offers).

Kingston Ontario Penitentiary Museum

If you can’t score a prison tour ticket, take a free (donations accepted) self-guided tour of the nearby Kingston Penitentiary Museum, the former home of eight prison wardens, where you’ll gain insight into the brutality of prison life in the 1800s (including instruments of torture such as a “strapping bench”), see hundreds of shivs and shanks (weapons fashioned by prisoners out of everyday items such as combs and toothbrushes which they used for self protection) and learn about Hollywood-style great escapes (such as that plotted by “Foxy Freddie” Caddedu who lost 20 pounds so he could cram into a small hole cut from a glued-together stack of orange dinner trays and snuck out of prison via the kitchen).

4. Take a slow stroll with the Kingston Zombie Walk

More than 150 of the “undead” showed up for last year’s annual Zombie Walk that starts in Skeleton Park on Saturday, October 22 at 1 p.m and meanders downtown. Prizes during the all-ages event are awarded to the best group, best couple, best individual costume and best child’s costume. Participants are encouraged to bring non-perishables for the Kingston Youth Shelter to the free event. Non-Zombie observers welcome.

5. Hop on the Kingston Ghost and Mystery Trolley

Take a peek into Kingston’s paranormal past with this old-time trolley ride that takes you to some of the city’s lesser known haunted spots, including Fort Henry Hill, Deadman’s Bay, The Rockwood Asylum, Kingston Penitentiary and the Cataraqui Cemetery, where you can disembark for an evening stroll through the notable graves — including that of Canada’s First Prime Minister, Sir John A Macdonald.

6. Light up your night with Pumpkinferno

Kingston Ontario Pumpkininferno

Light up Halloween with Pumkininferno!

For something more magical than macabre, check out the fantastic display of thousands of creatively designed handcrafted pumpkin installations at Upper Canada Village in Morrisburg. A 90-minute drive from Kingston, Pumpkinfero is absolutely worth the extra travel time. After checking into the McIntosh Country Inn, we had a traditional meat-and-potatoes dinner at the historic Willard’s Hotel, formerly a 1830s tavern, on the Upper Canada Village site before heading out at dusk to take in the magnificent sea-of-orange electrical show. We oohed and awed during the spellbinding hour-long walk as we marvelled at the glowing pumpkin displays, including a larger-than-life size astronaut floating high in the sky, a collection of witches dancing around a cauldron, a massive tree laden with hundreds of twinkling orange orbs, currency pieces from around the world and famous portraits from the Mona Lisa to Frida Kahlo.

The event has been recognized by the Tourism Industry Association of Ontario as the province’s best new event and it’s easy to see why. Our jaws were practically hanging open as each display outdid the last. Even if you’re too old to trick-or-treat, enchantments like Pumpkinferno make it easy to hang on to that child-like sense of wonder during the spooky season.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *