我一直是跨境购物的狂热者–任何借口在Target待几个小时,我就可以参加! 但是,由于加元今年达到了历史最低点,因此很难有理由仅仅为了购物而前往美国。

然而,如果有一个很容易到达的目的地,那里有博物馆,以孩子为中心的景点,适合家庭的餐馆,风景秀丽的乡村小镇以及充满文化气息的繁华都市中心 - 那么我就可以证明这是一次跨越周末的周末旅行。

这正是我在纽约州北部发现的东西,也是我们不断返回罗切斯特的原因。 罗彻斯特距安大略省尼亚加拉瀑布(Niagara Falls)1.5小时车程,距多伦多XNUMX小时车程,距渥太华XNUMX小时车程,乘车即可轻松抵达,同时还设有国际机场和Amtrak火车。

以下是为什么罗切斯特是理想的家庭跨界度假的最重要的7原因:

孩子们会玩!

一个完美的周末目的地,至少足以让你至少忙碌几周,罗切斯特已成为我们家庭的最爱,最大的吸引力是 强大的国家博物馆。

有了400,000玩具,玩偶,游戏,电子游戏和其他与玩耍相关的历史材料,每个孩子和成人都会有一些东西被惊呆了。 Strong是半个历史的博物馆 - 对于大孩子来说是一次惊人的怀旧体验(阅读:父母和祖父母),并为小型和半互动游戏空间提供实践历史课程。

 

在博物馆里,我的女儿杂货店在这里购物和工作 Wegmans超级儿童市场,踏入过去,重现19的生活th 世纪之交 一个历史的地方 展览,在他们最喜爱的角色包括世界中发挥 大鸟和埃尔莫中, Berenstain熊和Marvel Super Heroes。 他们尝试了一些视频游戏,并兴高采烈地骑着古董Carousel和The Strong Express Train。 不用说,当是时候把孩子们拉走吃午餐了,没人愿意离开。

游戏之城 - 纽约州罗切斯特 - 游戏博物馆

时间过得很快乐,而且很多 食物选择 在The Strong现场,花一天中更好的时间很容易。 不要指望不经过战斗就将你的孩子拉走。

孩子们将学习,探索,发现和玩更多!

一旦你从列表中选中了Strong,那么无数的其他博物馆和景点值得在罗切斯特参观。 在充满乐趣的家庭周末期间,您的行程可能包括: 罗切斯特博物馆与科学中心斯特拉森堡天文馆, 乔治伊士曼议院国际摄影和电影博物馆, 纪念美术馆,或 塞内卡公园动物园.

对于所有年龄段的孩子们来说,有大量的游乐设施和游戏可供户外夏季娱乐, 达里恩湖游乐园 在返回尼亚加拉/多伦多的路上,距离罗切斯特不到一个小时。 除了45游乐设施之外,还有六个世界级的过山车(您不能付费给我踩脚踏板),还有大量的小游戏,还有更大的小孩! 我们享受水上公园太冷了,但看起来不可思议。 还有大量的每日节目/表演和值得筹划你的旅行的夏季音乐会。

玩的城市 - 纽约罗切斯特 -  DarienLake

在去往罗切斯特的途中,在达里恩湖停下来打破了驱动器。 但是有很多 住宿如果您想要停留超过一天的时间,您可以在网站上进行自我介绍和登录。

您可以将PLAY带到大自然中

一旦你完成了博物馆和景点,一个惊人的,风景秀丽的世界就存在于罗切斯特外的安大略湖和伊利运河岸边。 我们参观了 韦恩县,安大略湖葡萄酒之路的所在地,互动式农场,高尔夫球场,市场,博物馆,海滩,游艇码头等等。

我们的第一站是 长英亩农场 在马其顿。 这是那些允许孩子在体验农场生活的同时爆发的“农家乐”目的地之一。 我们最喜欢的活动之一是宝石平移。 两个孩子都带着袋装宝石和水晶回家,他们骄傲地向亲戚朋友炫耀! 没有入场费参观农场,但你需要购买(廉价)的特定活动的门票,包括返回40冒险,着名的惊人的玉米迷宫,和宝石平移。 如果你正在寻找一个美丽的地方让你的孩子烧掉一些蒸汽并与大自然保持联系 - 这就是它! 秋季是这里的繁忙季节,但春季和夏季也有很多事情要做。

玩的城市 - 纽约罗切斯特 -  LongAcre农场

 

本着农场跳跃的精神,我们离开了长英亩,开车到了 Lagoner农场 在威廉姆森在农场到餐厅咖啡馆享用美味的午餐 走出工艺Ciderworks Taproom。 这第五代家庭农场有一个可爱的市场和秋季活动,包括苹果采摘,旅行车和儿童游乐场。 辛辣工艺的苹果酒业务受到了对苹果种植业的热爱,并希望能够与他们正在种植的农产品有所不同。 结果:美味(并且完全值得现场采样,并带几瓶回家与朋友一起享用!)。

游戏之城 - 纽约罗切斯特 - 登上苹果酒

你可以玩整天......而且整夜都是!

尽管一天的活动使您精疲力尽,但我们还是让孩子们快速cat了一下,然后带他们去镇上参加周五晚上的罗切斯特红翼棒球比赛(明尼苏达双城的小联盟会员)。 门票比大联盟比赛便宜得多($ 8- $ 12 /座),这意味着我们可以确保有五个第五排座位,孩子们可以看到一切! 吉祥物(还有很多)吸引了我3岁的孩子,而我6岁的孩子则能够跟随我们,并从我们令人惊叹的座位上实际看到了比赛中的球。 热狗,棉花糖,巧克力,啤酒和全场第七场全场的歌声“带我去参加球类比赛”,是一次完美的全美之夜! 尽管红翼队在比赛后期输了比赛,但我们的孩子还是做到了9th 随后展示了令人敬畏的焰火表演。

玩的城市 - 纽约罗切斯特 - 红色翼

如果夜生活是你的事 - 而你在没有小旅行的情况下旅行 - 罗切斯特以其音乐场景而闻名(包括罗切斯特国际爵士音乐节),当地 工艺啤酒厂剧院 并跳舞。

购物......(妈咪喜欢玩的)......真是不可思议!

上次我们在城里我们度过了一个晚上 东景购物中心 - 一个可爱的高档场所,购物,用餐和娱乐 - 在罗切斯特美丽的皮茨福德社区。 如果你去,一定要去看看百货公司Von Maur(美国东北部的第一家)和类似购物天堂的东西。

提示: 当孩子们开始抱怨他们厌倦了购物的时候(好像这甚至有可能?!)一定要把他们引导到美食广场的后面,在那里你会发现一个令人惊叹的双层古董旋转木马! 他们周围和周围都会去 - 突然间,呜呜声会停止!

如果你不认为杂货店购物很有趣,你从来没有去过罗切斯特的 Wegmans超级商店。 相信我,你会希望这是你当地的超市! 巨大的市场充满了疯狂的准备食物量选项是家庭的完美解决方案。 虽然一个孩子可能想要比萨饼,另一个可以吃寿司,而爸爸(也可能是妈妈)可以有一个布法罗鸡肉手指头(这么好吃!)。

对于我们加拿大人为了抵消加拿大元而寻求大笔交易的情况, 滑铁卢高级奥特莱斯 是它在哪里!

虽然你不能和你的食物一起玩......你一定可以享受它。

说到食物......当你和孩子一起旅行时,找到食物 正确的餐厅 可以是一个伟大的假期和灾难之间的差异! 我对吗?! 对我们来说最好的一餐是在 恐龙Bar-B-Que。 大部分食物,美味的食物,许多儿童友好的一面,以及嘈杂的氛围,这意味着即使孩子尝试,孩子也不能破坏。 全国着名的真正的烧烤场和吸烟现场蓝调,如果你是一个肉粉,这个市中心的餐厅应该在你的饮食行程前面和中心。

对于罗切斯特声称享有盛誉的最美味的冷食,您需要带着您的孩子到雅培的冷冻奶冻, 地点 从中选择。 Arthur Abbott开始在安大略湖岸边的1926出售他的冷冻甜点,其余都非常甜 历史.

最后,当你需要休息你疲惫的双脚时,有很多很棒的地方住宿

酒店价格合理罗切斯特,大部分都习惯于适应家庭。 我最喜欢的城市酒店是 斯特拉撒伦—藏在绿树成荫的NOTA(艺术社区)中。 房间宽敞现代。 酒店有一个可爱的小游泳池,一间美味的餐厅,并且在一个安静的住宅区,靠近一切。

我们住在市中心的罗切斯特最新酒店希尔顿花园酒店。 这个城市的交通有点多,但我们喜欢罗切斯特市中心的特色和魅力。 酒店步行至许多文化景点,提供一流的服务和舒适的客房。 设施包括一个室内游泳池(我们在观光热的一天后享受),健身中心和两间餐厅。

当你计划去罗切斯特旅行时,一定要退房 跨境展示 了解更多关于何处吃饭,停留和PLAY的重要提示,以及特别针对加拿大人的优惠和特别优惠。

由Hailey Eisen提供

Hailey EisenHailey Eisen是多伦多的自由作家和编辑。 她是以下网站的内容创建者和传播策略师 Felicity [鼓舞人心的传播]首秀集团 其中。 她的作品最近出现在《女性影响力》杂志,会议与奖励旅游中,以及在线Yummy Mummy Club。 Hailey是一个爱书的人,家长会的志愿人员,并且是可以与3岁和6岁的女儿分享孩子爱冒险的人! 了解更多 haileyeisen.com 并在Twitter上关注她 @haileyeisen

The City of PLAY! 7 reasons why Rochester, NY is the perfect cross-border family getaway!

I’ve always been a fan of cross-border shopping – any excuse to spend a few hours at Target and I’m in! But with the Canadian dollar reaching all-time lows this year, it’s been harder to justify traveling to the US just for shopping.

If, however, there were a destination that was easily accessible, bursting with museums, kid-centered attractions, family-friendly restaurants, scenic rural towns and a bustling, culture-filled urban centre—then I could justify a cross-boarder weekend excursion.

That’s exactly what I found in upstate New York and the reason we keep returning to Rochester. A 1.5-hour drive from Niagara Falls, Ontario, three hours from Toronto, and four from Ottawa, Rochester is easily accessible by car while also serviced by an international airport and the Amtrak train.

Here are the top 7 reasons why Rochester is the ideal family cross-border getaway:

The Kids will PLAY!

A perfect weekend destination, with enough going on to keep you busy for a few weeks at least, Rochester has become a favourite for our family and the biggest draw is the Strong National Museum of Play.

With 400,000 toys, dolls, games, electronic games, and other historical materials related to play, there’s literally something for every kid—and adult—to be awed and inspired by. The Strong is half history museum—an amazing nostalgic experience for big kids (read: parents and grandparents) and hands-on history lesson for the littles—and half interactive playspace.

 

While at the museum, my daughters grocery shopped—and worked—in the Wegmans Super Kids Market, stepped into the past to reenact life in the 19th century in the One History Place exhibit, played in the worlds of some of their favourite characters including Big Bird and Elmo, the Berenstain Bears, and the Marvel Super Heroes.  They tried their hand at a few video games and gleefully rode the antique Carousel and The Strong Express Train. Needless to say, when it was time to pull the kids away for lunch, no one wanted to leave.

City of Play - Rochester NY - Museum of Play

Time flies when you’re having fun, and with lots of food options on-site at The Strong, it’s quite easy to spend the better part of a day. Don’t expect to drag your kids away without a fight.

The kids will learn, explore, discover, and PLAY some more!

Once you’ve checked The Strong off your list, there are countless other museums and attractions worth visiting in Rochester. During a fun-filled family weekend your itinerary could include: The Rochester Museum & Science Centre and The Strasenburgh Planetarium, The George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film, Memorial Art Gallery, or the Seneca Park Zoo.

For outdoor summer fun with tons of rides and games for kids of all ages, Darien Lake Amusement Park is just under an hour outside of Rochester on the way back to Niagara/Toronto. There are more than 45-rides, including six world-class roller coasters (which you couldn’t pay me to step foot on) and tons of rides for little-little kids, and bigger-little kids too! It was too chilly for us to enjoy the water park, but it looked incredible. There are also plenty of daily shows/performances and summer concerts worth planning your trip around.

City of Play - Rochester NY - DarienLake

Stopping at Darien Lake on the way to or from Rochester breaks up the drive. But there are tons of accommodations—camping and lodges—on site if you want to stay longer than a day.

You can take the PLAY outdoors into nature

Once you’re done with museums and attractions, a whole stunning, and scenic, world exists just outside of Rochester on the shores of Lake Ontario and the Erie Canal. We visited Wayne County, home to the Lake Ontario Wine Trail, interactive farms, golf courses, markets, museums, beaches, marinas and more.

Our first stop was Long Acre Farm in Macedon. It’s one of those “agritourism” destinations that allow kids to have a blast while experiencing farm life. Our favourite activity, among the many, was Gemstone panning. Both kids went home with bags of gems and crystals they proudly showed off to relatives and friends! There is no admission price to visit the farm, but you are required to purchase (inexpensive) tickets for certain activities including the Back 40 Adventure, the famous Amazing Maize Maze, and gemstone panning. If you’re looking for a beautiful place for your kids to burn off some steam and get in touch with nature—this is it! Fall is the busy season here, but there’s a lot to do during the spring and summer months too.

City of Play - Rochester NY - LongAcre Farms

 

In the spirit of farm hopping, we departed Long Acre and drove to Lagoner Farms in Williamson for a delicious lunch at the Farm to Table Café and Embark Craft Ciderworks Taproom. This fifth-generation family farm has a lovely market and fall activities including apple picking, wagon rides, and a playground for kids. The hard craft cider business was inspired by a love of farming apples and the desire to do something a bit different with the produce they were growing. The result: delicious (and totally worth sampling on site and taking a few bottles home to enjoy with friends!).

City of Play - Rochester NY - Embark Cider

You can PLAY all day…and all night too!

Despite being exhausted from a day of activity, we gave our kids a quick catnap before taking them out on the town for a Friday night Rochester Red Wings baseball game (the minor league affiliate of the Minnesota Twins). Tickets are much more affordable than major league games ($8-$12/seat) meaning we could secure four fifth-row seats and the kids could see everything!  The mascots—and there were many—entertained my 3-year-old, while my 6-year-old was able to follow along and actually see the ball in play from our amazing seats. Hot dogs, cotton candy, chocolate, beer, and the seventh inning stadium-wide singing of “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” made for a perfect all-American night out! And despite late-game loss by the Red Wings, our kids made it to the end of the 9th inning for the awesome fireworks show that followed.

City of Play - Rochester NY - Red Wings

If nightlife is your thing—and you’re travelling without little ones—Rochester is known for its music scene (Including the Rochester International Jazz Festival), local craft breweries, and theatre and dance.

The shopping…(how mommy likes to PLAY)…is incredible!

Last time we were in town we spent an evening at Eastview Mall—a lovely upscale place to shop, dine, and PLAY—in Rochester’s beautiful Pittsford neighbourhood. If you go, be sure to check out the department store Von Maur (the first in the US northeast) and something resembling shopping heaven.

Tip: When the kids start whining that they’re sick of shopping (as if that’s even possible?!) be sure to steer them toward the back of the food court where you’ll find a stunning, double-decker antique carousel! Around and around and around they’ll go—and suddenly the whining will stop!

If you don’t think grocery shopping is fun, you’ve never been to Rochester’s Wegmans Super Store. Trust me, you’ll wish this were your local supermarket! The huge Marketplace filled with an insane amount of prepared foods options is the perfect solution for families. While one kid might want pizza, the other can have sushi, and dad (and maybe mom too) can have a Buffalo Chicken Fingers sub (so yummy!).

For us Canadians looking for a good deal to offset the Canadian dollar, the Waterloo Premium Outlets is where it’s at!

While you can’t PLAY with your food…you sure can enjoy it.

Speaking of food…when you’re traveling with kids, finding the right restaurants can be the difference between a great vacation and a disaster! Am I right?! The meal that went over the best for us was at Dinosaur Bar-B-Que. Large portions, delicious food, lots of kid-friendly sides, and a noisy ambiance that means kids can’t be disruptive, even if they try. Nationally acclaimed real pit BBQ and smoking live Blues, if you’re a meat fan, this downtown restaurant should be front and centre on your eating itinerary.

For the most delicious cold treat that’s a Rochester claim to fame, you’ll want to take your kids to Abbott’s Frozen Custard with tons of locations to choose from. Arthur Abbott started selling his frozen dessert in 1926 on the shore of Lake Ontario and the rest is a very sweet history.

Finally, when you need to rest your tired feet, there are tons of great places to STAY

Hotels are reasonably priced in Rochester and most are used to accommodating families. My favourite hotel in the city is The Strathallan—tucked into the tree-lined NOTA (neighbourhood of the arts). The rooms are modern and spacious; and the hotel has a lovely little pool, a delicious on-site restaurant, and is in a quiet residential neighbourhood that’s close to everything.

We stayed downtown at The Hilton Garden Inn, Rochester’s newest hotel. There is a bit more traffic in this part of the city, but we enjoyed the character and charm of Rochester’s downtown core. Walking distance to many cultural attractions, the hotel offers excellent service and comfortable rooms. Amenities include an indoor pool (which we enjoyed after a hot day of sightseeing!), fitness centre, and two restaurants.

When you’re planning your trip to Rochester be sure to check out Cross Border Showcase for more great tips on where to eat, stay, and PLAY—plus lots of deals and special offers especially for Canadians.

By Hailey Eisen

Hailey EisenHailey Eisen is a Toronto-based freelance writer & editor. She works as a content creator & communications strategist for Felicity [Inspiring Communications] and The Debut Group among others. Her work has appeared most recently in Women of Influence Magazine, Meetings & Incentive Travel, and online at the Yummy Mummy Club. Hailey is a book-lover, parent council volunteer, and seeker of kid-friendly adventures that she can share with her daughters, ages 3 and 6! Learn more at haileyeisen.com and follow her on Twitter @haileyeisen

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *