fbpx

爱尔兰农村探险 - 探索翡翠岛

“放慢爸爸!”我从我们租用的大众汽车后座向我三岁的孩子喊道。 虽然他发誓他是在极限驾驶下行驶,但我很确定我的丈夫在飞过坑洼时,在非常狭窄的角落里sc sc作响,躲过了数百条躺在道路上晒太阳的绵羊。 也许我略微夸张,但任何曾试图在爱尔兰开车的人都必须同意; 它不适合心灵的隐隐。 尽管驾驶本身可能令人望而生畏,但雄伟的景观,生活变化的观点以及与魅力乡村民众的交流使得爱尔兰农村成为最终的家庭旅游目的地。

爱尔兰农村探险 - 探索翡翠岛

田园爱尔兰风景 通过Shutterstock

当我的家人在当时包括两个四岁以下和六个月怀孕妈妈的孩子决定前往爱尔兰时,我们知道我们想要体验翡翠岛所提供的一切。 我们也想找到一个可以让我们的小人类休息的家庭基地。 一位家属建议我们考虑在爱尔兰农村租房子,并在该国西南角推荐科克郡。 在都柏林克服时差几个疯狂的日子之后,我们的家人租了一辆车,冒着爱尔兰高速公路开始我们的乡村冒险!

爱尔兰人喜欢在七月和八月的夏季月份向这个国家退却,因为他们涌向沿海地区。 因此,可以在任何价格范围内租用大量的物业,从小型公寓到大型地块上的完整房屋。 我们在淡季旅行,并没有找到适合我们家庭的地方的麻烦。 我们找到了我们的房子 想象一下爱尔兰 这使得旅行者可以在该国的任何地方搜索房产,并过滤许多类别,包括家庭友好,靠近海滩和游乐场以及当地的便利设施,如餐馆,商店和酒吧。

我们选择的目的地是位于Glengarriff镇外约5公里处的农场上的一座旧农舍。 位于山顶上,我们有一个惊人的小镇和渔港的景色。 我们可爱的主人为我们的到来烤了一块新鲜的爱尔兰苏打面包,并确保冰箱里备有牛奶,黄油和新鲜农场鸡蛋等必需品。 我们的孩子迫不及待地想看到这些动物,并被邀请帮忙做晚上的家务。 这次旅行的一个亮点就是看到我们这个城市的孩子们脸上的快乐和惊奇,因为他们喂养鸡舍里的驴子和精选鸡蛋。 当我们在第二天早餐煮熟那些相同的鸡蛋时,我的儿子骄傲地说,并不断提醒我们这些是 他的 蛋!

在农村乐趣在农村爱尔兰的手

在农场乐趣在爱尔兰的手

格伦加里夫距爱尔兰最着名的景点约一小时车程, 基拉尼国家公园。 基拉尼公园由爱尔兰最大的剩余林地以及众多的湖泊和湿地区组成,是大自然爱好者探访的热门目的地。 认识到我们的孩子在森林徒步旅行中不会持续很长时间,我们选择探索基拉尼城镇。 在罗斯城堡进行了快速的历史课之后,我们雇用了一辆摇摇欲坠的汽车(马车)带我们参加了45公园的一个小时的巡回演出。 虽然评论的大部分内容都遗失在我们的幼儿身上,但他们被马迷住了,很高兴在远处看到一群鹿。

科克郡地区隐藏的宝石是羊头半岛。 位于两个海湾(Bantry和Dunmanus)之间,羊头拥有超过八十公里的远足路径,从山顶的灯塔可以欣赏到壮观的景色。 稍微作弊,我们的家庭开车到了悬崖顶部,沿着山顶短暂地散步。 幸运的是,我们赶到羊群放牧时间,并欣赏农民挥舞着旗帜并在盖尔高呼,因为他们试图在牧场之间移动羊群。

羊头半岛,爱尔兰农村

羊头半岛

迪西岛是另一个家庭的最爱。 我们的孩子们只能通过缆车才能通过这种有点过时的空中交通方式穿过通道。 由于没有建筑物或永久性居民(除了一大群绵羊),Dursey岛是一个非常安静的地方,拥有惊人的海洋和周围悬崖的景色。 我们同行的缆车乘客包括一位爱尔兰农民和他的牧羊犬,这让我们的儿子感到惊讶,并导致关于在岛上获得羊的后勤问题的过多问题(显然,他们曾经在缆车上运送,但现在被带走通过船)。 尽管他们的口音很浓,但我们的儿子和他最好的朋友就绵羊在悬崖边缘如何平衡以及落入大海的可能性进行了热烈的辩论。

德西岛缆车,爱尔兰农村

爱尔兰杜西西岛缆车

也许爱尔兰最着名的城堡,布拉尼城堡位于都柏林和科克之间,为乘车旅行提供了一个不错的停靠点。 布拉尼城堡本身已经看到了更好的日子,但是纪念碑周围的土地以及布拉尼之家绝对值得探索。 我们的孩子们喜欢爬树,在众多的灌木和灌木丛中玩捉迷藏。 另一个亮点是毒药花园,冒着风险,在严格的监督下进入,哈利波特拥有丰富的危险和神秘植物物种。 当然,如果没有布拉尼石的亲吻,就不会访问布拉尼城堡。 令人惊讶的是,这并不像听起来那么简单,因为一名服务员在躺下时抓住酒吧,向后倾斜并翻起来。 这个过程非常繁琐,特别是在怀孕的时候,但是值得的是,确保终生奉献雄辩的演讲!

探索乡村爱尔兰 - 亲吻布拉尼石

在爱尔兰接吻布拉尼石

在爱尔兰一个小角落驾驶一周的时间确实给我们的家人留下了深刻的印象。 我的孩子们能够感觉到荣誉农场的孩子们,并且体验到了第一手农场到餐桌的饮食。 我永远不会忘记我们在驾驶中看到的惊人风景,并能真正体会到这个美丽的国家赋予的祖母绿绰号。 而且我的丈夫仍然吹嘘他的时间,并且誓言要实现实现实现速度限制的目标返回!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Adventures in Rural Ireland – Exploring the Emerald Isle

“Slow down Daddy!” yelled my three-year old from the backseat of our rented Volkswagen. Although he swears he was driving under the speed limit, I am pretty sure my husband achieved airborne status as we flew over the potholes, screeched around the extremely narrow corners and dodged the hundreds sunbathing sheep that littered the roadways. Perhaps I am exaggerating slightly, but anyone who has ever attempted to drive in Ireland would have to agree; it is not for the faint of heart. While the driving itself can be daunting, the reward of majestic landscapes, life changing views and encounters with charismatic country folk make rural Ireland the ultimate family road trip destination.

Adventures in Rural Ireland - Exploring the Emerald Isle

Idyllic Irish Landscape Via Shutterstock

When my family, which at the time included two children under four and a six-month pregnant momma, decided to travel to Ireland, we knew we wanted to experience everything the Emerald Isle has to offer. We also wanted to find a home base where we could rest our tiny human beings. A family member suggested that we consider renting a house in rural Ireland, recommending County Cork in the southwest corner of the country. After a few crazy days in Dublin overcoming jetlag, our family rented a car and braved the Irish highways to embark on our rural adventure!

The Irish love to retreat to the country in the summer months of July and August as they flock to the coastal areas. As a result, there are an abundance of properties available to rent in any price range, from small apartments to full houses on large parcels of land. We were traveling in the off-season and had no trouble finding a place to accommodate our family. We found our house on Imagine Ireland  which allows travellers to search properties anywhere in the country and to filter on a number of categories, including family-friendly, proximity to beaches and playgrounds and local conveniences such as restaurants, shops and pubs.

Our selected destination was an old farmhouse on an operational farm, located about five kilometres outside of the town of Glengarriff. Located on a hilltop, we had an amazing view of the town and fishing harbour. Our lovely host had baked a fresh loaf of Irish soda bread for our arrival and ensured the fridge was stocked with essentials including milk, butter and fresh farm eggs. Our children could not wait to see the animals and were invited to help out with the evening chores. A definite highlight of the trip was seeing the delight and amazement in our city-slicker children’s faces as they fed the donkeys and hand-picked eggs from the chicken coop. When we cooked those same eggs for the next morning’s breakfast, my son beamed with pride and constantly reminded us that these were his eggs!

Hands on farm fun in rural Ireland

Hands on farm fun in Ireland

Glengarriff is located approximately one hour away from one of Ireland’s most famous attractions, Killarney National Park. Comprised of Ireland’s largest remaining woodland, along with numerous lakes and wetland areas, Killarney Park is a much visited destination for nature lovers. Recognizing that our children would not last long on a forest hike, we opted to explore the town site of Killarney. After a quick history lesson at Ross Castle, we hired a jaunting car (horse-drawn carriage) to take us on a 45 minute tour of the park. While much of the commentary was lost on our toddlers, they were mesmerized by the horse and were delighted to spot a herd of deer in the distance.

A hidden gem in the County Cork area is the Sheep’s Head Peninsula. Located between two Bays (Bantry and Dunmanus), Sheep’s Head has over eighty kilometres of hiking paths, leading to phenomenal views from the lighthouse situated at the peak. Cheating slightly, our family drove to the top of the cliff and went for a shortened walk along the summit. Fortunately we arrived at sheep herding time, and enjoyed the show of farmers waving flags and shouting in Gaelic as they attempted to move the flock between pastures.

Sheeps Head Peninsula, Rural Ireland

Sheeps Head Peninsula

Dursey Island was another family favourite. Accessible only via cable car, our children loved crossing the channel on this somewhat dated aerial mode of transportation. With no buildings or permanent residents (other than a large herd of sheep), Dursey Island is an extremely peaceful place, boasting phenomenal views of the ocean and surrounding cliffs. Our fellow cable car passengers included an Irish farmer and his sheepdog, which amazed our son and lead to a plethora of questions regarding the logistics of getting the sheep on the island (apparently they used to be transported on the cable car, however are now taken via boat). Despite their thick accents, our son and his new best friend had a lively debate over how the sheep managed to balance on the edge of the cliffs and the likelihood of one falling into the ocean.

Dursey Island Cable Car, Rural Ireland

Dursey Island Cable Car, Ireland

Perhaps Ireland’s most famous castle, Blarney Castle is situated between Dublin and Cork, making for a nice stop on a road trip. Blarney Castle itself has seen better days, however the grounds surrounding the monument, along with Blarney House are definitely worth exploring. Our children loved climbing the trees and playing hide-and-seek in the numerous shrubs and bushes. Another highlight was the poison garden, entered at one’s own risk and under strict supervision, which felt straight out of Harry Potter with its abundance of dangerous and mysterious plant species. Of course no visit to Blarney Castle would be complete without the kissing of the Blarney Stone. Surprisingly this is not as straightforward as it sounds as one has to be held by an attendant while lying down, holding onto bars, leaning backwards and puckering up. The process was extremely cumbersome, especially while pregnant, however worthwhile, ensuring the lifelong gift of eloquent speech!

Exploring rural Ireland - Kissing the Blarney Stone

Kissing the Blarney Stone in Ireland

Spending a week driving around a small corner of Ireland definitely made a lasting impression on our family. My children were able to feel like honorary farm kids and got to experience first hand farm-to-fork eating. I will never forget the amazing scenery we saw on our drive and can truly appreciate the Emerald moniker bestowed upon this beautiful country. And my husband still brags about his time behind the wheel and vows to return with the goal of actually achieving the posted speed limit!

 

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *