fbpx

不要打破你的预算:在卡尔加里这个节日节俭的乐趣

他们说这是一年中最美好的时光。 他们说假期里没有像家一样的地方。 他们说这是快乐的季节。

好吧,我不反对。 但这个季节并非没有困难,我不只是指装饰和烹饪! (我知道,我知道,有些人喜欢那些东西,我宁愿品尝蛋酒,看别人也这样做。)与家人生活可能很忙碌,愉快,加重和昂贵,特别是在圣诞节! 随着额外的游客,孩子们在学校以及漫长的黑夜中,圣诞节尘土(闪闪发光?)结束后,家人可能会有点疯狂。 但随着不可避免的圣诞节账单到期,您可能也会感受到预算的压力。 养一个家庭可能代价高昂,有一些有益于预算的想法可以帮助你的家人做些有趣的事情。

卡尔加里冬季休假(卡尔加里家庭娱乐)

(主要)廉价的事情要做冬季休息

雪橇

当然,在卡尔加里它会变冷,但我们经常在户外活动中拥有美好的冬​​日。 有很多很棒的地方可以到户外欣赏新鲜清爽的空气,而且孩子们会燃烧在山坡上跑来跑去的各种能量! (现在,如果我们得到足够的雪) 卡尔加里市 已经在每个象限中指定了可以安全进行平底雪橇的特定位置。

溜冰

对于从山上俯冲下来的变化,抓住你的冰鞋,并前往许多美丽的溜冰场之一。 该 卡尔加里市 拥有8户外溜冰场,由城市维护并免费使用。 此外,35还有更多的溜冰场 认养溜冰场 计划和许多社区也有 社区溜冰场。 当然,室外溜冰场依赖于天气,尽管奥林匹克广场的冰面是冷藏表面。 如果天气太冷(或太温暖......),室内溜冰场通常也相对便宜。 该 卡尔加里市 提供$ 14.25和。的家庭通行证 Vivo $ 13只有滑冰通行证。 或者,你可以在地球上“最快的冰”上滑冰 奥运椭圆形 星期一晚上只提供一次托尼和食物银行捐赠。 另外,请查看您当地的竞技场,因为其中很多都非常便宜。

圣诞灯

你有足够的圣诞节了吗?! 如果不是这样,卡尔加里的许多地方将在新年前夜举行圣诞灯,有时甚至是冬季休息。 捆绑在一个明亮的公园散步。 或者自己喝杯咖啡,把孩子们放进汽车座椅,等等 驾驶 过去一些可爱的灯光!

游泳的

是的,这是冬天和宝宝,外面很冷。 但是,这可能是一个很好的理由去游泳池,特别是如果它有热水浴缸或蒸汽房! 而且没有什么比水上游戏更能帮助孩子们穿出去的。 该 卡尔加里市 有许多家庭可以玩的室内游泳池,一般不超过$ 20。 另外,选择时间被指定为 飞溅和游泳 次,成人仅支付$ 2,孩子支付$ 1。 2卡尔加里市的休闲中心多一点钱,但它们也为活动提供更多选择。 或者,检查你的本地 YMCA 用于游泳和其他活动选择。 看看 卡尔加里市儿童放养填充物:优惠券小册子塞满了只有$ 5的保留活动选项。

寻宝

寻宝一般被认为是更多的夏季活动,但没有理由不在冬日的外面去外面! 它会给你一个去探索的借口。 有关冬季地理定位的提示和技巧,请参阅 官方寻宝博客.

卡尔加里公共图书馆

我确定这不仅仅是我:我非常喜欢公共图书馆。 借助书籍,音乐和电影,您不仅可以节省资金(房间也可以放在自己的房间中),还可以提供许多服务和在线资源。 他们也很棒 程式 您可以注册,或者参观您当地的图书馆,了解简易活动,帮助您走出家门,以及独特的游乐区,如 23引擎的新历险.

YouthLink卡尔加里警察解释中心

YouthLink卡尔加里警察解释中心 是一个有趣,免费的地方参观(虽然有建议的捐赠),特别是对任何对警务,犯罪和法律有远程兴趣的孩子。 它们仅在学年的周五和周六开放,但是当他们获得一些令人兴奋的卡尔加里警察局和YouthLink设备的内幕消息时,孩子们会着迷,特别是当他们发现了解秘密行动的惊人机会时,解决犯罪和有趣的取证! (他们大部分时间都休息了,所以你只有几个访问选项。一定要查看网站。)

泥盆纪花园

冬天可能会很冷,有时候你会厌倦了雪的裤子,帽子和手套。 (或者,也许你厌倦了孩子在你去的任何地方失去他们;我知道我是这样做的。) 泥盆纪花园 是位于CORE购物中心市中心的独特室内绿洲。 花园正在进行装修,但绿地和室内游乐场,这是一个很好的免费地方,在寒冷的一天参观。 如果您有爱孩子的小孩,可以乘坐市中心的C火车增加乐趣!

卡尔加里机场

好吧,也许这只是我的家人,但我的孩子们喜欢在机场闲逛。 我们在我们的城市拥有世界级的机场,拥有良好的儿童友好的空间。 除了几个室内游乐区之外,您还可以参观SpacePort,这是一个免费的展览区,展示了专注于航空和航天领域的互动式展示。 (SpacePort是免费的,但你必须支付停车费。)

商场(及室内)游乐区

有时候,前往当地商场的一个游戏场所对于小孩来说足够令人兴奋。 包装一个治疗,让他们在温暖的(狭窄的)空间中燃烧一些能量。 深吸一口气。 给自己买一杯咖啡。

您还可以查看我们在卡尔加里的室内游戏场所的最终名单 选购,但要警告,它们并不都是经济实惠的。

格伦博物馆本月第一个星期四免费

在每个月的第一个星期四晚上,从5到9 pm,您可以免费参观Glenbow博物馆。 (所以,这个想法在冬季休息时只能使用一次,但至少孩子们可以在第二天早上睡觉!)探索Glenbow博物馆的各种藏品; 你可能会对你的孩子感兴趣的东西感到惊讶。

激光城$ 5激光标签

六岁以上的孩子可能会喜欢激动人心的激光游戏! (大人可以释放一些潜在的圣诞节沮丧?)在4的周三和周四晚上:30 - 9 pm,您可以只为$ 5 /人玩一个激光标签游戏。 不需要预订,所以只需出现!

棋盘游戏咖啡馆

多年来,棋盘游戏已成为典型的家庭活动。 但并不是你花钱购买所有的游戏,而是去看看卡尔加里的众多棋牌游戏咖啡馆之一。 只需支付少许费用,您的家人就可以购买一些零食,并尝试一些新游戏。 点棋盘游戏咖啡厅 特别适合家庭,有许多适合家庭的游戏可供选择。

圣诞疯狂的孩子们(家庭娱乐卡尔加里)

你在屋里疯了吗? 我完全明白。

所以,出去玩吧!

无论冬季休假为你和你的家人(或感觉像一辈子),为你的假期添加一些娱乐时间。 每个人都需要从家里休息一下,你可以做出一些美妙的 - 也许令人惊讶! - 记忆。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:

Don’t Bust Your Budget: Frugal Fun in Calgary This Holiday Season

They say it’s the most wonderful time of the year. They say there’s no place like home for the holidays. They say it is the season to be jolly.

Okay, I don’t disagree. But the season is not without its difficulties, and I don’t just mean the decorating and the cooking! (I know, I know, some people love that stuff. I would rather sip eggnog and watch others do it.) Life with a family can be busy, delightful, aggravating, and expensive, especially at Christmas! With extra visitors, the kids off school, and the lingering dark winter nights, families can get a little stir crazy after the dust (glitter?) of Christmas settles. But with the inevitable Christmas bills coming due, you might also be feeling the pressure of watching a budget. Raising a family can be costly, and it’s always great to have some budget-friendly ideas for fun things to do with your family.

Budget Activities Calgary Winter Break (Family Fun Calgary)

(Mostly) Cheap Things to do Over Winter Break

Sledding

It gets cold in Calgary, to be sure, but we often have wonderful winter days for outdoor activities. There are lots of great places to head outside and enjoy the fresh, crisp air, plus the kids will burn all kinds of energy running up and down a hill! (Now, if only we get enough snow.) The City of Calgary has designated specific locations in every quadrant that are safe for tobogganing.

Skating

For a change from swooping down a hill, grab your skates and head out to one of the many beautiful skating rinks. The City of Calgary has 8 outdoor skating rinks that are maintained by the city and free to use. In addition, there are 35 more rinks that are maintained by the Adopt-A-Rink program and many communities also have community rinks. Outdoor rinks are, of course, weather dependent, although the ice surface at Olympic Plaza is a refrigerated surface. If the weather is too cold (or too warm . . . ) indoor rinks are usually relatively inexpensive, too. The City of Calgary offers a family pass for $14.25 and Vivo has a skating-only pass for $13. Or, you could skate on the “fastest ice on earth” at the Olympic Oval on Monday nights for only a toonie and a food bank donation. Also, check out your local arenas, as many of them are quite inexpensive.

Christmas Lights

Have you had enough of Christmas yet?! If not, many places in Calgary will have their Christmas lights up through New Year’s Eve, and sometimes right through winter break. Bundle up and take a walk through a brightly lit park. Or grab yourself a coffee, pack the kids into their car seats, and drive past some lovely lights!

Swimming

Yes, it’s winter and baby, it’s cold outside. But that can be a great reason to head to the pool, especially if it has a hot tub or a steam room! And there is nothing like water play to help wear the kids out. The City of Calgary has a number of indoor pools where families can play, generally for under $20. Plus, select times are designated as Splash and Swim times, where adults pay only $2 and kids are $1. The 2 City of Calgary leisure centres are a little more money, but they also offer more options for activities. Or, check out your local YMCA for swimming and other activity options. Check out the City of Calgary kids’ stocking stuffer: a coupon booklet stuffed with staying active options for only $5.

Geocaching

Geocaching is generally considered more of a summer activity, but there’s no reason not to get outside on the nice winter days, too! It will give you an excuse to go exploring. For tips and tricks on winter geocaching, see the official geocaching blog.

Calgary Public Library

I’m sure it’s not just me: I absolutely love the public library. Not only can you save money (and room in your house) by borrowing books, music, and movies, but they have many services and online resources, too. They also have great programs you can register for, or see your local library for drop-in events, to help get you out of the house, plus unique play areas, like The New Adventures of Engine 23.

YouthLink Calgary Police Interpretive Centre

The YouthLink Calgary Police Interpretive Centre is a fun, free place to visit (although there is a suggested donation), especially for any child who is remotely interested in policing, crime, and the law. They are only open on Fridays & Saturdays during the school year, but kids will be fascinated when they get the inside scoop on some exciting Calgary Police Service units and equipment at YouthLink, and especially when they discover the amazing opportunities to learn about covert operations, solving crimes, and fun forensics! (They are closed December 24th, 2017 to January 4th, 2018, so you only have a couple visiting options over the break.)

Devonian Gardens

Winter can be cold, and sometimes you just get tired of snow pants, hats, and mitts. (Or, maybe you get tired of kids losing them everywhere you go; I know I do.) Devonian Gardens is a unique indoor oasis located downtown in the CORE shopping centre. The Gardens are undergoing an ongoing renovation, but with green space and an indoor playground, it’s a great FREE place to visit on a cold day. If you have kids that love the train, take the C-train downtown to add to the fun!

Calgary Airport

Okay, maybe this is just my family, but my kids love hanging out at the airport. And we have a world-class airport in our city, with good kid-friendly spaces. Besides a couple indoor playground areas, you could also visit the SpacePort, a FREE exhibit area with interactive displays focussing on aeronautics and space. (The SpacePort is free, but you will have to pay for parking.)

Mall (& Indoor) Play Areas

Sometimes, just heading to a play place at a local mall can be exciting enough for the little ones. Pack a treat and let them burn some energy in a warm (confined) space. Take a deep breath. Buy yourself a coffee.

You can also check out our ultimate list of indoor play places in Calgary here, but be warned, they are not all budget-friendly.

Glenbow Museum First Thursday of the Month Free

On the first Thursday night of every month, from 5 – 9 pm, you can visit the Glenbow Museum for free. (So, this idea only works once during winter break, but at least the kids could sleep in the next morning!) Explore the diverse collection of Glenbow Museum; you might be surprised at what your kids are interested in.

Laser City $5 Laser Tag

Kids six and up might enjoy a rousing game of laser tag! (And adults can release some of the latent Christmas frustration?) On Wednesday and Thursday evenings from 4:30 – 9 pm, you can play a game of laser tag for only $5/person. No booking is required, so just show up!

Board Game Cafes

Board games have become a quintessential family activity over the years. But instead of you forking out all the money to buy all the games, check out one of the many board game cafes in Calgary. For a small fee, your family can come buy some snacks and try out some new games. Pips Board Game Cafe is especially suited for families, with lots of family-friendly games to choose from.

Christmas Crazy Kids (Family Fun Calgary)

Are you going crazy in the house? I completely understand.

So, Get Out and Play!

Whether winter break flies by for you and your family (or feels like a lifetime), add some playtime to your holidays. Everyone needs a break from the house, and you can make some wonderful – and maybe surprising! – memories.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *