2016年十二月

在假期旅行可能会很艰难。 在拥挤的机场,已经具有挑战性的行李箱包装加上笨重的礼物,以及遇到航班延误或积雪的道路比平常更高的机会……这一切都会加剧紧张的神经和一些不那么节日的感觉。 一些家庭选择完全放弃这种疯狂,即使这意味着与大家庭一起跳过圣诞节。

但假日旅行也可以是有趣和令人兴奋的,因为假日购物者的喧嚣使购物区变得活跃起来,季节性的装饰让一切看起来都显得最可爱和闪亮。 那么如何找到平衡点呢? 我想我们可能刚刚找到了两全其美……我们要在家过圣诞节  我们在 卡尔加里市中心!

不像我通常在出发去机场时那种疯狂的感觉,当我们在一个寒冷的 25 月星期五下午从家里出发时,我一点压力都没有。 毕竟,不需要运送圣诞礼物,我们只需要换几件衣服和一件泳衣,我们总共要旅行 XNUMX 分钟! 拉入 威斯汀卡尔加里,我们拿起我们的一个手提箱,把面包车的钥匙交给了代客服务员,然后走进了喜庆的大厅。 Easy-peasy…圣诞节freezie?? 此外,孩子们在办理入住手续时都受到了威斯汀儿童俱乐部背包(包含一本图画书)的欢迎。我喜欢那些对他们最小的客人有点大惊小怪的酒店!
Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

虽然这家酒店确实提供一些相邻的房间,但我们选择了行政小型套房。 我们宽敞的现代客房设有两张双人床、一个休息区、书桌和一间可爱的浴室,配有(令孩子们高兴的)一个镜内电视屏幕。 我们也有一个甲板,但温度在 -30 度左右徘徊,没有使用!

如果我们参观的是不同的城市,孩子们会发现在如此寒冷的温度下探索市中心是很困难的。 幸运的是我们卡尔加里人, 在水底采捕业协会(UHA)的领导下, 市中心设有 Plus 15,这是一个高于街道的室内走廊网络,连接办公大楼、酒店(包括威斯汀酒店)、市中心的购物中心和许多其他市中心的景点和地点。 我们甚至不需要我们的夹克从酒店步行到晚餐!

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

走过(通过积极闪闪发光 核心购物中心 以其众多, 许多 圣诞树)不是晚餐时唯一温暖的东西 双零比萨 – 欢迎光临,就像他们的'za! 从 '00' 肉丸和温暖的球芽甘蓝到两个 惊人 经典但扭曲的比萨饼(和牛意大利辣香肠和波利尼西亚公主),最后是新鲜意大利甜甜圈和西西里奶油卷, 整个 这顿饭很受欢迎 每周 我们的家庭成员。 我们 9 岁的孩子(不是一个大素食主义者)甚至吃了几秒钟的球芽甘蓝! 这是一个骄傲的妈妈时刻,我必须承认。

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

虽然我们在这里没有看到很多孩子,但这是它位于市中心的一个因素,而不是气氛或工作人员。 我会毫不犹豫地向发现自己在该地区的家庭推荐这个位置。

你可能以为我们很快就不需要再吃东西了,但是唉……成长中的孩子永远不会停止! 第二天早上我们的早餐都很好吃 健康,以 SuperFoodRX™ 产品为特色 威斯汀健康饮食和威斯汀儿童健康饮食 菜单。 而且因为我们是从客房服务处订购的,所以我们甚至不必脱下我们的睡衣。 只有一件事可以(并且确实)让今天早上变得更好...... Will Farrell 的 ELF 在电视上!

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

整个早餐大餐都很美味,但如果我不得不推荐一些出色的,我想我会选择孩子们的水果冰沙和蓝莓香蕉煎饼棒棒糖,蓝莓橙格兰诺拉煎饼,胡萝卜橙姜黄-姜芒果汁和“鸡蛋你的方式”配火腿和早餐土豆。 这是在市中心忙碌的一天的丰盛开始!

我们认为从酒店到下一站可能没有直接的室内路线(周末),所以我们抓住了夹克。 这是一个明智的选择,因为我们在去参加日场表演的路上确实走了大约 3 个街区。 拖鞋:一个鲜明的卡尔加里灰姑娘故事 by 艾伯塔剧院项目 在艺术共享空间。

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

照片来源:本杰明莱尔德

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

照片来源:本杰明莱尔德

戏剧、芭蕾舞或音乐表演是许多家庭度假必备的清单,我们也准备好接受这一传统。 每年,这家当地的表演艺术公司都会上演一个假日哑剧,适合所有人,但可能是任何家庭中最年轻的成员(因为它是一部两幕剧,所以对于真正的小孩子来说可能太长了)。 由丽贝卡·诺森 (Rebecca Northan) 撰写,她是一位以喜剧风格而闻名的当地剧作家,《拖鞋》以所有年龄段的笑话和流行文化为特色,一些有趣的卡尔加里历史以及有趣多彩的布景和服装。 我们整个下午都在欢笑,成为吵闹的观众(在哑剧中鼓励我们!),我们肯定会回来参加 Alberta Theatre Projects 的明年假期制作。

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

在快速浏览了溜冰场上的装饰和奥林匹克广场、旧市政厅和斯蒂芬大道步行街的著名五人纪念碑后,我们匆匆回到温暖的购物中心和 Plus 15,穿过卡尔加里历史悠久的砂岩哈德逊湾公司大楼. 沿着斯蒂芬大道慢步漫步,在奥林匹克广场冰冷场溜冰,肯定会成为温暖之旅的亮点,但在如此强烈的寒流中却没有吸引力! 现在我们都有些累了,所以我们在威斯汀酒店 20 楼的游泳池里快速游泳,在酒店附近享用舒适的寿司晚餐,并在我们房间的大屏幕平板电视上播放另一部假日电影。

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

在周日早上退房并从代客服务员那里取回我们的(温暖 - 万岁!)车辆后,我们跋涉到 卡尔加里堡 位于历史悠久的英格尔伍德……距离酒店仅 10 分钟车程。 虽然我曾多次在孩子们的实地考察中参观过这座堡垒,并且知道它是一个很棒的博物馆,但我不确定他们的早午餐会带来什么。 事实证明,卡尔加里堡周日家庭早午餐“具有当地有机历史”是 神话般!

Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。Ho-Ho-回家过节! 一个家庭在卡尔加里市中心度假期间的冒险(家庭乐趣卡尔加里)。

早餐在漂亮的餐厅内供应,包括美味的自助餐、甜点自助餐、由厨师掌管的定制鸡蛋/煎蛋站以及在厨房里定制的几道主菜(当然还有节日装饰)。 鉴于卡尔加里堡成人(27 岁以上)仅收取 13 美元,儿童(15-5 岁)仅收取 12 美元,而且年幼的孩子免费用餐,我对食物的质量(和数量)感到惊喜。 包括非酒精饮料(酒精饮料可供购买),用餐后进入博物馆也是如此! 可以肯定的是,鲜为人知的卡尔加里文化和烹饪便宜货。

从我们卡尔加里住宿的回程是我们在寒假中度过的最好的一次……从卡尔加里堡到我们的前门只需 25 分钟。 我们回到家时感到休息和满足……对我们自己的城市有了更好的了解,还有 48 小时值得珍惜的新家庭回忆!

知道你是否去:

威斯汀卡尔加里

卡尔加里威斯汀酒店位于卡尔加里市中心的 Plus 15 走廊系统上,交通便利,提供多种房型、一流的室内“健康饮食”菜单以及 4 个其他酒店内餐饮选择以及室内游泳池和健身设施。 它甚至对宠物友好(事先安排)!

地址 (请输入街道及门牌号): 320 4th Ave. SW, Calgary AB
您的网站www.westincalgary.com

双零比萨

Double Zero Pizza 是一家热闹的意大利餐饮场所,由屡获殊荣的卡尔加里厨师 Justin Leboe 打造。 位于卡尔加里历史悠久的“餐厅行”——斯蒂芬大道——您还可以从 The CORE 购物中心(商场西端)进入双零披萨。 我们的孩子喜欢餐厅和食物!

在奇努克中心的 Nordstrom's 旁边有第二家双零披萨店。

地址 (请输入街道及门牌号): 751 4th Street SW, 卡尔加里 AB
您的网站www.doublezeropizza.ca

艾伯塔剧院项目

“拖鞋:一个鲜明的卡尔加里灰姑娘故事”将在 Arts Commons 的玛莎科恩剧院播放至 31 月 5 日,推荐给 XNUMX 岁及以上的孩子。 我们赶时间,但演员们在演出结束后来到大厅拍照和签名!

联系地址: 215 8th Ave. SE, 卡尔加里 AB
您的网站www.atplive.com

卡尔加里堡

卡尔加里堡周日早午餐将于 2016 年 18 月 2017 日周日再次举行。 早午餐将于 24 年 26 月中旬恢复。卡尔加里堡将于 31 月 1 日至 XNUMX 日、XNUMX 日和 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日关闭。

地址 (请输入街道及门牌号): 750 9th Ave. SE, 卡尔加里 ABN
您的网站www.fortcalgary.com

非常感谢卡尔加里威斯汀酒店、双零披萨、艾伯塔剧院项目和卡尔加里堡接待我们的家人; 这里表达的观点是我自己的。 〜我

Make Merry in Your Own City – Explore Downtown Calgary During the Holidays!

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

Traveling during the holiday season can be tough. With crowded airports, the already-challenging suitcase packing complicated by bulky gifts and the higher than usual chance of encountering delayed flights or snowy roads… it can all add up to frayed nerves and some less-than-festive feelings. Some families choose to forego this craziness altogether, even if it means skipping Christmas with extended family.

But holiday travel can also be fun and exciting, as the hustle and bustle of holiday shoppers liven up shopping districts and seasonal decorations have everything looking its most lovely and sparkly. So how to find a balance? I think we may have just found the best of both worlds… we’re staying at home for Christmas and we took a holiday staycation in downtown Calgary!

Unlike the frantic feeling I usually have when departing for the airport, I wasn’t at all stressed as we set off from home on a frigid December Friday afternoon. After all, no Christmas gifts required transporting, we only needed a couple of clothing changes and a swimsuit each and we would be traveling for a grand total of 25 minutes! Pulling into The Westin Calgary, we grabbed our one suitcase, gave the minivan keys to the valet attendant and headed into the festively decorated lobby. Easy-peasy… Christmas freezie?? Plus, the kids were each welcomed with a Westin Kids Club backpack (containing a colouring book) upon check in. I love hotels that make a point to fuss over their youngest guests a little!
Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

While this hotel does offer some adjoining rooms, we went with an Executive Junior Suite. Our spacious, modern room featured two double beds, a seating area, desk and a lovely bathroom, complete with (much to the children’s delight) an in-mirror TV screen. We also had a deck, but with the temperature hovering in the -30’s, that went unused!

Had we been visiting a different city, the kids would have found it tough to explore the downtown core in such cold temperatures. Lucky for us Calgarians, our downtown features the Plus 15, an above-street-level network of indoor corridors that connect office towers, hotels (the Westin included), the downtown malls and a number of other downtown attractions and locations. We didn’t even need our jackets to walk from the hotel to dinner!

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

The walk over (via the positively glittering CORE shopping centre with its many, many Christmas trees) wasn’t the only warm thing about dinner at Double Zero Pizza – the welcome was every bit as warm, as was the delicious chili oil they serve with their ‘za! From the ’00’ Meatballs and Warm Brussels Sprouts through two amazing classic-but-with-a-twist pizzas (Wagyu Pepperoni & Polynesian Princess) and finally on to Fresh Italian Donuts and Sicilian Cannoli, the entire meal was a hit with every member of our family. Our 9-year-old (not a huge veggie guy) even went for seconds of the brussels sprouts! It was a Proud Mama moment, I must confess.

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

Although we didn’t see a whole lot of kids here, that’s a factor of its downtown location rather than the atmosphere or staff; I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this location to families who find themselves in the area.

You might have thought we’d not need to eat again anytime soon, but alas… growing kids never stop! Our breakfast the next morning was both delicious and healthy, featuring SuperFoodRX™ items from the Westin Eat Well and Westin Eat Well for Kids menus. And because we ordered from room service, we didn’t even have to get out of our PJs. Only one thing could have (and did) make this morning better… Will Farrell’s ELF was on TV!

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

The entire breakfast feast was delicious, but if I had to recommend a few stand-outs, I think I’d go for the kids’ Fruit Smoothie and Blueberry & Banana Pancake Lollipops, the Blueberry Orange Granola Pancakes, Carrot-Orange-Turmeric-Ginger-Mango juice and “Eggs Your Way” with Ham and Breakfast Potatoes. It was a hearty start to a busy day in the heart of the city!

We thought there might not be a direct indoor route (on the weekend) all the way from the hotel to our next stop, so we grabbed our jackets. It was a wise choice because we did end up walking outside for about 3 blocks on our way to take in a matinée performance of Slipper: A Distinctly Calgarian Cinderella Story by Alberta Theatre Projects at Arts Commons.

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

Photo Credit: Benjamin Laird

A  theatre, ballet or musical performance is on many families’ holiday-must-do lists and it’s a tradition we’re ready to embrace too. Each year, this local performing arts company puts on a holiday pantomime that is suitable for all but perhaps the youngest members of any family (because its a 2-act play and so perhaps too long for really wee ones). Written by Rebecca Northan, who is a local playwright known for her comedic style, Slipper features jokes and pop culture references for all age levels, some interesting Calgary history and fun and colourful sets and costumes. We spent the afternoon laughing and being good noisy audience members (as is encouraged during a pantomime!) and we’ll certainly return for next year’s holiday production by Alberta Theatre Projects.

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

Following a quick peek at the decorations on the ice rink and Famous Five monument at Olympic Plaza, old City Hall and Stephen Avenue Walk, we hustled back to the warmth of the shopping centres and Plus 15, entering through Calgary’s historic sandstone Hudson Bay Company building. A slow stroll along Stephen Avenue and a skate on the Olympic Plaza refrigerated rink would certainly be highlights of a warmer visit, but were not appealing during such an intense cold snap! We were all a bit tired by now, so we enjoyed a quick swim in the Westin’s 20th-floor pool, a cozy sushi dinner near the hotel and another holiday movie on the large flatscreen TV in our room.

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

After checking out on Sunday morning and getting our (warm – hurray!) vehicle back from the valet attendant, we trekked over to Fort Calgary in historic Inglewood… a mere 10-minute drive away. Although I had visited the fort on kids’ field trips a couple of times and knew it to be an excellent museum, I wasn’t sure what to expect from their brunch. It turns out that the Fort Calgary Sunday Family Brunch “served with local organic history” is fabulous!

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary). Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

Featuring a gourmet savory buffet, dessert buffet, custom egg/omelette station manned by a chef and several entrées made to order in the kitchen, the breakfast is served in a pretty dining room (complete with holiday decorations, of course). I was pleasantly taken aback by the quality (and quantity) of the food, given that Fort Calgary only charges $27 for adults (13+) and $15 for kids (5-12), with younger kids eating free. Non-alcoholic beverages are included (and alcoholic ones available for purchase), as is admission to the museum following your meal! A lesser-know Calgary cultural and culinary bargain to be sure.
Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

Ho-Ho-Home for the Holidays! One family's adventures during a holiday season staycation in downtown Calgary (Family Fun Calgary).

The return trip from our Calgary staycation was the best we’ve ever had on a winter holiday… 25 minutes from Fort Calgary to our front door. We arrived home feeling rested and content… and with a better understanding of our own city and 48 hours of new family memories to cherish!

Know If You Go:

The Westin Calgary

The Westin Calgary is conveniently located on the Plus 15 corridor system in downtown Calgary, offers a variety of room types, a terrific in-room Eat Well Menu plus 4 other in-hotel dining options and an indoor pool and workout facility. It’s even pet friendly (by prior arrangement)!

Address: 320 4th Ave. SW, Calgary AB
Websitewww.westincalgary.com

Double Zero Pizza

Double Zero Pizza is a lively Italian eating and drinking establishment, by award-winning Calgary chef Justin Leboe. Located on Calgary’s historic ‘restaurant row’ – Stephen Avenue – you can also enter Double Zero Pizza from within The CORE Shopping Centre (west end of the mall). Our kids loved the restaurant and the food!

There is a 2nd location of Double Zero Pizza next to Nordstrom’s in Chinook Centre.

Address: 751 4th Street SW, Calgary AB
Websitewww.doublezeropizza.ca

Alberta Theatre Projects

“Slipper: A Distinctly Calgarian Cinderella Story” plays through December 31st at the Martha Cohen Theatre in Arts Commons and is recommended for kids 5 and up. We were rushed for time, but the cast comes out to the lobby for photos and autographs following the show!

Address: 215 8th Ave. SE, Calgary AB
Websitewww.atplive.com

Fort Calgary

Sunday Brunch at Fort Calgary takes place once more in 2016, on Sunday December 18th. Brunch will resume in mid-January, 2017. Fort Calgary will be closed December 24-26, 31 and January 1st.

Address: 750 9th Ave. SE, Calgary ABN
Websitewww.fortcalgary.com

Many thanks to The Westin Calgary, Double Zero Pizza, Alberta Theatre Projects and Fort Calgary for hosting our family; the opinions expressed here are my own. ~am

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *