Raquette et ski de fond dans et autour de Calgary

Ah, hiver à Calgary - froid et neigeux. Parfait pour la raquette et le ski de fond.

À moins que ce ne soit, bien sûr, parce que la seule chose qui est sûre dans cette ville est la nature capricieuse de nos conditions hivernales, et la plupart d'entre nous love les vents Chinook relativement doux! Que nous ayons ou non beaucoup de neige dans la ville, nous vivons à proximité des Rocheuses canadiennes, l'un des terrains de jeu naturels les plus célèbres au monde.

Cet hiver, ne vous contentez pas d'hiberner et de vous cacher à l'intérieur jusqu'au printemps (aussi tentant soit-il), mais dirigez-vous dehors et profitez au maximum de la saison. La raquette et le ski de fond sont des activités amusantes pour toute la famille et tous les niveaux d’habileté peuvent en profiter. Il existe de nombreux endroits dans et autour de Calgary pour profiter du grand air en plein air. Vous pourriez même avoir de la chance avec beaucoup de neige fraîche ET l'un de ces vents de chinook magnifiques qui rendent les Calgariens si fiers. De plus, imaginez à quel point vous vous sentirez bien près du feu!

Ski et raquette à Calgary (Family Fun Calgary)

Super endroits pour faire de la raquette et du ski de fond dans et autour de Calgary

Parcs et terrains de golf de la ville de Calgary

Trouvez une étendue de neige ou de parc, et vous avez un endroit idéal pour faire de la raquette et du ski! Le parcours peut être un peu difficile dans certaines régions qui sont populaires auprès des promeneurs de chiens, des randonneurs et des cyclistes d'hiver, mais de nombreux endroits à Calgary ont des sentiers spécialement aménagés pour les skieurs de fond. Souvent entretenus par des clubs de ski, certains les terrains de golf de la ville sont réglés par une machine, en particulier pour les skieurs. Les terrains de golf Shaganappi, Confederation et Maple Ridge offrent tous ce service. Les parcs South Glenmore et Canmore suivent également des sentiers en dur.

La raquette est une activité hivernale amusante et abordable, comme il est facile de le faire dans n'importe quel parc local. En plus des endroits déjà mentionnés, visitez les parcs Bowness, Edworthy et North Glenmore pour les zones non aménagées, ou dirigez-vous vers le parc provincial Fish Creek ou le parc naturel Weaselhead. Nose Hill Park est une autre option à vérifier, avec de superbes vues sur le centre-ville.

Rendez-vous sur Le site Web de la ville de Calgary pour plus d'informations sur leurs sentiers de ski de fond et de raquette.

Bow Station d'habitat

Bow Habitat Station, dans le sud-est de Calgary, offre la possibilité de faire de la raquette là où elle se trouve, dans les zones humides interprétatives du parc Pearce Estate. Ils offrent même location de raquettes. C'est une façon fabuleuse d'essayer la raquette, à la maison, sans prendre beaucoup de temps ni devoir acheter de l'équipement.

Rendez-vous sur Site Web de Bow Habitat Station pour plus d'informations sur leurs options de raquette.

Sunshine Village

Pour une excursion de raquette particulièrement revigorante, consultez le Expérience de raquette Signature à Sunshine Village. Offrez-vous des vues spectaculaires et une aventure exaltante qui commence par une remontée du télésiège et vous mène sur une poudre intacte.

Rendez-vous sur Site Web de Sunshine Village pour plus d'informations sur leur expérience de la raquette.

Ann et Sandy Cross Conservation Area

Le Ann et Sandy Cross Conservation Area, juste au sud-ouest de Calgary, est un espace naturel de 4800, mis de côté pour la protection de l'habitat faunique et l'éducation à la conservation. Bien que le ski de fond ne soit pas autorisé ici, en raison de son impact sur la terre, la raquette est la bienvenue, et vous pouvez même voir quelques-unes des nombreuses espèces qui appellent cette région à la maison.

Rendez-vous sur Ann et Sandy Cross Conservation site web pour plus d'informations sur leurs sentiers de raquette.

Parc provincial Canmore Nordic Centre

Le parc provincial Canmore Nordic Centre est facilement accessible en voiture depuis Calgary et propose autant d'activités amusantes que vous pourrez en hiver! Les frais d'utilisation des sentiers sont en vigueur ici. Il existe plus de 65 km de sentiers aménagés, naturels et aménagés à la machine. 6.5 km du sentier est illuminé pour les longues soirées d'hiver. Une belle prairie, située au milieu du réseau de sentiers, est facilement accessible pour tous les niveaux et offre une vue spectaculaire sur Canmore, la vallée de la Bow et les montagnes Rocheuses environnantes.

Il n'est pas permis de faire de la raquette sur les pistes de ski damées, mais le Canmore Nordic Centre possède une boucle dédiée à la raquette d'environ 3 km.

Rendez-vous sur Le site de Canmore Nordic Centre pour plus d'informations sur leurs sentiers de ski de fond et de raquette.

Kananaskis Country

Il y a beaucoup de beaux sentiers dans le pays Kananaskis, que ce soit pour la raquette ou le ski de fond. Il existe plus de 85 km de pistes de ski de fond damées dans la région des lacs Kananaskis, ainsi que des km 30 dans le réseau de sentiers Smith-Dorrien. Parc provincial Peter Lougheed est une destination populaire pour ceux qui veulent faire une journée de ski, et ils ont spécifique sentiers de raquetteAinsi.

Rendez-vous sur Site Web de Kananaskis Country pour plus d'informations sur leurs sentiers de ski de fond et de raquette.

West Bragg Creek

West Bragg Creek compte des kilomètres de sentiers 141, avec des sentiers dédiés au ski de fond ou à la raquette. Les pistes de ski sont aménagées explicitement pour le ski de fond, offrant une expérience de ski nordique de qualité, alors qu'il y a près de 40 kms de sentiers toutes saisons ouverts aux snow-shoers.

Rendez-vous sur Site Web de West Bragg Creek pour plus d'informations sur leurs sentiers de ski de fond et de raquette.

Que faire ensuite?

Alors qu'est-ce que tu attends? Ce sont quelques-uns des nombreux endroits où vous pouvez profiter des activités hivernales, et vous pourriez trouver l'endroit parfait dans votre propre quartier! Ne pas avoir d'équipement n'est pas une excuse, car il y a des endroits à Calgary qui louer du matériel si vous n'êtes pas encore convaincu.

Essayez le ski de fond ou la raquette, et vous découvrirez peut-être que l'hiver n'est pas si mal, après tout! L'air vif et frais, la neige qui scintille sous le soleil et l'immobilité absolue qui règne lorsque vous êtes au calme dans les bois peuvent restaurer votre bien-être, tout en bougeant et en prenant soin de votre corps. Si rien d'autre, il pourrait être juste la chose pour aider à brûler toute l'énergie que les enfants ont, été ou hiver!

Montagnes enneigées (Family Fun Calgary)

Une journée magnifique dans les montagnes. Crédit photo: Charity Quick

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

Mots clés:
9 Commentaires
  1. le 1 Décembre 2017
  2. le 1 Décembre 2017
  3. le 1 Décembre 2017
  4. le 1 Décembre 2017
  5. le 1 Décembre 2017
  6. 29 novembre 2017
  7. 21 novembre 2017
  8. 20 novembre 2017
  9. 17 novembre 2017

Snowshoeing and Cross-country Skiing In & Around Calgary {Giveaway!}

Presented by Boiron

Ah, winter in Calgary – cold and snowy. Perfect for snowshoeing and cross-country skiing.

Unless it’s not, of course, because the only thing that’s sure in this city is the capricious nature of our winter weather, and most of us love the comparatively balmy Chinook winds! Whether or not we get much snow in the city, however, we live next door to the Canadian Rockies, one of the world’s most famous natural playgrounds.

This winter, don’t just hibernate and hide indoors until spring (as tempting as that may be), but head outside and make the most of the season. Snowshoeing and cross-country skiing are fun activities the whole family and any skill level can enjoy, and there are many places in and around Calgary to enjoy the great winter outdoors. You might even get lucky with lots of fresh snow AND one of those gorgeous chinook winds that make Calgarians so proud. If you’re feeling a little under the weather, grab a package of Coryzalia® from Boiron: a homeopathic medicine used for colds and cold symptoms. Plus, just think of how great curling up by the fire will feel afterwards!

Skiing & Snowshoeing in Calgary (Family Fun Calgary)

Great Places to Snowshoe and Cross-Country Ski In & Around Calgary

City of Calgary Parks and Golf Courses

Find an expanse of snow or park, and you have a great place to snowshoe and ski! The going may be a little rough in some areas that are popular with dog-walkers, hikers, and winter cyclists but many places in Calgary have specifically groomed trails for cross-country skiers. Often maintained by ski clubs, some of the city’s golf courses are track set by a machine, especially for skiers. Shaganappi, Confederation, and Maple Ridge golf courses all offer this service. South Glenmore and Canmore Parks also track set trails.

Snowshoeing is a fun, affordable winter activity, as it is easy to do at any local park. In addition to places already mentioned, check out Bowness, Edworthy, and North Glenmore Parks for ungroomed areas, or head to Fish Creek Provincial Park or Weaselhead Natural Environment Park. Nose Hill Park is another option to check out, with great views of downtown.

Visit the City of Calgary’s website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

Bow Habitat Station

Bow Habitat Station, in southeast Calgary, offers snowshoeing right where they are located, on the Pearce Estate Park’s Interpretive Wetlands. They even offer snowshoe rentals. This is a fabulous way to try out snowshoeing, right at home, without making a huge time commitment or having to purchase equipment.

Visit the Bow Habitat Station’s website for more information about their snowshoeing options.

Sunshine Village

For a particularly invigorating snowshoeing excursion, check out the Signature Snowshoe Experience at Sunshine Village. Indulge in spectacular views and an exhilarating adventure that starts with a ride up the chairlift and leads you over untouched powder.

Visit the Sunshine Village website for more information about their snowshoeing experience.

Ann & Sandy Cross Conservation Area

The Ann & Sandy Cross Conservation Area, just southwest of Calgary, is 4800 acres of natural area, set aside for the protection of wildlife habitat and conservation education. While cross-country skiing is not allowed here, due to its impact on the land, snowshoeing is welcome, and you may even see some of the many species that call this area home.

Visit the Ann and Sandy Cross Conservation website for more information about their snowshoeing trails.

Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park

The Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park is an easy drive from Calgary and offers as many winter fun activities as you can handle! Trail use fees are in effect here. There are more than 65 kms of groomed, machine-made, and natural trails and 6.5 kms of the trail is illuminated for those long winter evenings. A beautiful meadow, located in the middle of the trail system, is easily accessible for all levels and offers spectacular views of Canmore, the Bow Valley and the surrounding Rocky Mountains.

Snowshoeing on the groomed ski trails here is not permitted, but the Canmore Nordic Centre has a dedicated snowshoe loop, about 3 km long.

Visit the Canmore Nordic Centre’s website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

Kananaskis Country

There are many beautiful trails in the Kananaskis Country, for either snowshoeing or cross-country skiing. More than 85 kms of groomed cross-country ski trails exist in the Kananaskis Lakes area, as well as 30 kms in the Smith-Dorrien Trails System. Peter Lougheed Provincial Park is a popular destination for those wanting to make a day of skiing, and they have specific snowshoeing trails, as well.

Visit the Kananaskis Country website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

West Bragg Creek

West Bragg Creek boasts 141 kms of trails, with trails dedicated to cross-country skiing or snowshoeing. The ski trails are groomed explicitly for cross-country, providing a quality Nordic ski experience, while there are nearly 40 kms of all-season trails that are open for snow-shoers to use.

Visit the West Bragg Creek website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

What Next?

So, what are you waiting for? These are some of the many locations where you can enjoy winter activities, and you might find the perfect spot in your own neighbourhood! Not having gear is no excuse, as there are places in Calgary that will rent equipment if you’re not yet convinced. And don’t let flu season slow you down, either. If you feel like you’re getting sick reach for Oscillococcinumfrom Boiron, and reduce the duration of flu-like symptoms such as body aches, headaches, fever, and chills.

Give cross-country skiing or snowshoeing a try, and you might discover that winter is not so bad, after all! The crisp, fresh air, the snow sparkling in the sunshine, and the utter stillness that comes when you’re quiet in the woods can restore your well-being, all while you get moving and take care of your body. If nothing else, it might be just the thing to help burn all that energy kids have, summer or winter!

Snowy Mountains (Family Fun Calgary)

A gorgeous day in the mountains. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

As a parent, it’s so difficult when your child is sick or in pain, and sometimes it’s hard to know the best course of action. Homeopathy is a system of medicine that gently works with the body’s natural healing powers. Boiron is the #1 brand of homeopathic medicines recommended by pharmacists, and they have been proud to serve Canadians for more than 25 years. Boiron homeopathic medicines serve your family’s needs, as they meet the highest manufacturing quality standards. So, the next time someone in your family is under the weather, you can trust Boiron.

Boiron (Family Fun Calgary)

Enter to Win!

One lucky Family Fun Calgary winner is about to win a Boiron Winter Wellness Bundle and a $50 Sport Chek gift card. Use the widget below to enter and don’t forget multiple entries are not only allowed, they are encouraged!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
9 Comments
  1. December 1, 2017
  2. December 1, 2017
  3. December 1, 2017
  4. December 1, 2017
  5. December 1, 2017
  6. November 29, 2017
  7. November 21, 2017
  8. November 20, 2017
  9. November 17, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *