Ah, Winter in Calgary - kalt und schneebedeckt. Perfekt zum Schneeschuhwandern und Langlaufen.

Es sei denn natürlich nicht, denn das einzige, was in dieser Stadt sicher ist, ist die launische Natur unseres Winterwetters und die meisten von uns Liebe die vergleichsweise milden Chinook-Winde! Unabhängig davon, ob wir in der Stadt viel Schnee bekommen oder nicht, wohnen wir neben den kanadischen Rocky Mountains, einem der berühmtesten natürlichen Spielplätze der Welt.

In diesem Winter sollten Sie nicht nur bis zum Frühjahr Winterschlaf halten und sich drinnen verstecken (so verlockend das auch sein mag), sondern nach draußen gehen und die Saison optimal nutzen. Schneeschuhwandern und Langlaufen sind unterhaltsame Aktivitäten für die ganze Familie und für jedes Können. In und um Calgary gibt es viele Orte, an denen Sie den großartigen Winter im Freien genießen können. Vielleicht haben Sie sogar Glück mit viel Neuschnee UND einem dieser wunderschönen Chinook-Winde, die Calgarians so stolz machen. Denken Sie auch daran, wie großartig es sich danach anfühlt, sich am Feuer zusammenzurollen!

Tolle Orte zum Schneeschuhwandern und Langlaufen in und um Calgary

Überprüfen Sie dies im Voraus, da COVID-19 einige dieser Standorte betroffen hat.

Stadt von Calgary Parks und Golfplätze

Finden Sie eine Fläche von Schnee oder Park, und Sie haben einen tollen Ort zum Schneeschuhlaufen und Skifahren! In einigen Gegenden, die bei Wanderern, Wanderern und Radfahrern im Winter beliebt sind, kann es etwas schwierig sein, aber viele Orte in Calgary haben speziell präparierte Loipen für Langläufer. Oft von Skiclubs gepflegt, einige der Golfplätze der Stadt werden von einer Maschine speziell für Skifahrer eingestellt. Shaganappi, Confederation und Maple Ridge Golfplätze bieten alle diesen Service. South Glenmore und Canmore Parks verfolgen auch festgelegte Wege.

Schneeschuhwandern ist eine unterhaltsame, erschwingliche Winteraktivität, wie es in jedem lokalen Park leicht zu tun ist. Zusätzlich zu den bereits erwähnten Orten, besuchen Sie Bowness, Edworthy und North Glenmore Parks für ungepflegte Gebiete oder fahren Sie zum Fish Creek Provincial Park oder zum Weaselhead Natural Environment Park. Nose Hill Park ist eine weitere Option zum Auschecken, mit herrlichem Blick auf die Innenstadt.

Besuchen Sie die Stadt von Calgarys Website Weitere Informationen zu ihren Langlaufloipen und Schneeschuhpfaden.

Langlauf-Golfplatz Confederation Park Golfplatz (Familienspaß Calgary)

Langlaufen auf dem Confederation Park Golf Course; Fotokredit: Melissa Vroon

Bogen Habitat Station

Die Bow Habitat Station im Südosten von Calgary bietet Schneeschuhwandern genau dort, wo sie sich befinden, in den Interpretive Wetlands des Pearce Estate Park. Sie bieten sogar Schneeschuhverleih. Dies ist eine fabelhafte Art, Schneeschuhwanderungen zu Hause auszuprobieren, ohne sich zu viel Zeit zu verschwenden oder Ausrüstung kaufen zu müssen.

Besuchen Sie die Website der Bow Habitat Station Weitere Informationen zu den Schneeschuhoptionen.

Sonnenschein-Dorf

Für eine besonders belebende Schneeschuhwanderung besuchen Sie bitte die Signature Schneeschuh-Erlebnis im Sunshine Village. Gönnen Sie sich eine spektakuläre Aussicht und ein aufregendes Abenteuer, das mit einer Fahrt auf dem Sessellift beginnt und Sie über unberührte Pulver führt.

Besuchen Sie die Sunshine Village Webseite für mehr Informationen über ihre Schneeschuh-Erfahrung.

Ann & Sandy Cross Naturschutzgebiet

Der Ann & Sandy Cross Naturschutzgebiet, südwestlich von Calgary, ist 4800 Hektar von natürlicher Fläche, für den Schutz der Lebensräume für Wildtiere und Naturschutz Bildung zur Verfügung gestellt. Während Skilanglauf hier wegen seiner Auswirkungen auf das Land nicht erlaubt ist, ist Schneeschuhwandern willkommen, und Sie können sogar einige der vielen Arten sehen, die dieses Gebiet als Heimat bezeichnen.

Besuchen Sie die Ann und Sandy Cross Conservation Website für mehr Informationen über ihre Schneeschuhwanderwege.

Canmore Nordic Centre Provinzpark

Der Canmore Nordic Centre Provinzpark ist eine einfache Fahrt von Calgary entfernt und bietet so viele Winteraktivitäten, wie Sie bewältigen können! Hier gelten die Trail-Nutzungsgebühren. Es gibt mehr als 65 km gespurte, maschinell hergestellte und natürliche Wanderwege und 6.5 km des Wanderwegs sind für diese langen Winterabende beleuchtet. Eine wunderschöne Wiese in der Mitte des Wegenetzes ist für alle Ebenen leicht zugänglich und bietet einen spektakulären Blick auf Canmore, das Bow Valley und die umliegenden Rocky Mountains.

Schneeschuhwanderungen auf den präparierten Loipen sind hier nicht erlaubt, aber das Canmore Nordic Centre verfügt über eine eigene Schneeschuhschleife, die etwa 3 km lang ist.

Besuchen Sie die Website des Canmore Nordic Centre Weitere Informationen zu ihren Langlaufloipen und Schneeschuhpfaden.

Kananaskis-Land

Es gibt viele schöne Trails in der Kananaskis-LandZum Schneeschuhwandern oder Langlaufen. Mehr als 85 km gespurte Langlaufloipen gibt es in der Region der Kananaskis-Seen sowie 30 km im Smith-Dorrien-Loipensystem. Peter Lougheed Provincial Park ist ein beliebtes Ziel für diejenigen, die einen Skitag machen möchten, und sie haben bestimmte SchneeschuhwanderwegeSowie.

Besuchen Sie die Kananaskis Country Website Weitere Informationen zu ihren Langlaufloipen und Schneeschuhpfaden.

West Bragg Creek

West Bragg Creek Auf 141 km Loipen finden Sie Loipen für Langläufer und Schneeschuhwanderer. Die Loipen sind speziell für Langläufer präpariert und bieten ein erstklassiges nordisches Skierlebnis. Fast 40 km Ganzjahresloipen stehen Schneeschuhen zur Verfügung.

Besuchen Sie die West Bragg Creek Website Weitere Informationen zu ihren Langlaufloipen und Schneeschuhpfaden.

Was kommt als Nächstes?

Also, worauf wartest Du? Dies sind einige der vielen Orte, an denen Sie Winteraktivitäten genießen können, und Sie finden vielleicht den perfekten Ort in Ihrer eigenen Nachbarschaft! Keine Ausrüstung zu haben, ist keine Entschuldigung, denn es gibt Orte in Calgary, die dies tun Ausrüstung mieten wenn Sie noch nicht überzeugt sind.

Probieren Sie Langlauf oder Schneeschuhwandern aus, und Sie werden vielleicht feststellen, dass der Winter doch nicht so schlecht ist! Die frische Luft, der im Sonnenschein funkelnde Schnee und die völlige Stille, die entsteht, wenn Sie im Wald ruhig sind, können Ihr Wohlbefinden wiederherstellen, während Sie sich bewegen und sich um Ihren Körper kümmern. Wenn nichts anderes, könnte es genau das Richtige sein, um all die Energie zu verbrennen, die die Kinder haben!

Snowy Mountains (Familienspaß Calgary)

Ein wunderschöner Tag in den Bergen. Bildnachweis: Charity Quick

Snowshoeing and Cross-country Skiing In & Around Calgary {Giveaway!}

Presented by Boiron

Ah, winter in Calgary – cold and snowy. Perfect for snowshoeing and cross-country skiing.

Unless it’s not, of course, because the only thing that’s sure in this city is the capricious nature of our winter weather, and most of us love the comparatively balmy Chinook winds! Whether or not we get much snow in the city, however, we live next door to the Canadian Rockies, one of the world’s most famous natural playgrounds.

This winter, don’t just hibernate and hide indoors until spring (as tempting as that may be), but head outside and make the most of the season. Snowshoeing and cross-country skiing are fun activities the whole family and any skill level can enjoy, and there are many places in and around Calgary to enjoy the great winter outdoors. You might even get lucky with lots of fresh snow AND one of those gorgeous chinook winds that make Calgarians so proud. If you’re feeling a little under the weather, grab a package of Coryzalia® from Boiron: a homeopathic medicine used for colds and cold symptoms. Plus, just think of how great curling up by the fire will feel afterwards!

Skiing & Snowshoeing in Calgary (Family Fun Calgary)

Great Places to Snowshoe and Cross-Country Ski In & Around Calgary

City of Calgary Parks and Golf Courses

Find an expanse of snow or park, and you have a great place to snowshoe and ski! The going may be a little rough in some areas that are popular with dog-walkers, hikers, and winter cyclists but many places in Calgary have specifically groomed trails for cross-country skiers. Often maintained by ski clubs, some of the city’s golf courses are track set by a machine, especially for skiers. Shaganappi, Confederation, and Maple Ridge golf courses all offer this service. South Glenmore and Canmore Parks also track set trails.

Snowshoeing is a fun, affordable winter activity, as it is easy to do at any local park. In addition to places already mentioned, check out Bowness, Edworthy, and North Glenmore Parks for ungroomed areas, or head to Fish Creek Provincial Park or Weaselhead Natural Environment Park. Nose Hill Park is another option to check out, with great views of downtown.

Visit the City of Calgary’s website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

Bow Habitat Station

Bow Habitat Station, in southeast Calgary, offers snowshoeing right where they are located, on the Pearce Estate Park’s Interpretive Wetlands. They even offer snowshoe rentals. This is a fabulous way to try out snowshoeing, right at home, without making a huge time commitment or having to purchase equipment.

Visit the Bow Habitat Station’s website for more information about their snowshoeing options.

Sunshine Village

For a particularly invigorating snowshoeing excursion, check out the Signature Snowshoe Experience at Sunshine Village. Indulge in spectacular views and an exhilarating adventure that starts with a ride up the chairlift and leads you over untouched powder.

Visit the Sunshine Village website for more information about their snowshoeing experience.

Ann & Sandy Cross Conservation Area

The Ann & Sandy Cross Conservation Area, just southwest of Calgary, is 4800 acres of natural area, set aside for the protection of wildlife habitat and conservation education. While cross-country skiing is not allowed here, due to its impact on the land, snowshoeing is welcome, and you may even see some of the many species that call this area home.

Visit the Ann and Sandy Cross Conservation website for more information about their snowshoeing trails.

Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park

The Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park is an easy drive from Calgary and offers as many winter fun activities as you can handle! Trail use fees are in effect here. There are more than 65 kms of groomed, machine-made, and natural trails and 6.5 kms of the trail is illuminated for those long winter evenings. A beautiful meadow, located in the middle of the trail system, is easily accessible for all levels and offers spectacular views of Canmore, the Bow Valley and the surrounding Rocky Mountains.

Snowshoeing on the groomed ski trails here is not permitted, but the Canmore Nordic Centre has a dedicated snowshoe loop, about 3 km long.

Visit the Canmore Nordic Centre’s website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

Kananaskis Country

There are many beautiful trails in the Kananaskis Country, for either snowshoeing or cross-country skiing. More than 85 kms of groomed cross-country ski trails exist in the Kananaskis Lakes area, as well as 30 kms in the Smith-Dorrien Trails System. Peter Lougheed Provincial Park is a popular destination for those wanting to make a day of skiing, and they have specific snowshoeing trails, as well.

Visit the Kananaskis Country website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

West Bragg Creek

West Bragg Creek boasts 141 kms of trails, with trails dedicated to cross-country skiing or snowshoeing. The ski trails are groomed explicitly for cross-country, providing a quality Nordic ski experience, while there are nearly 40 kms of all-season trails that are open for snow-shoers to use.

Visit the West Bragg Creek website for more information about their cross-country ski and snowshoe trails.

What Next?

So, what are you waiting for? These are some of the many locations where you can enjoy winter activities, and you might find the perfect spot in your own neighbourhood! Not having gear is no excuse, as there are places in Calgary that will rent equipment if you’re not yet convinced. And don’t let flu season slow you down, either. If you feel like you’re getting sick reach for Oscillococcinumfrom Boiron, and reduce the duration of flu-like symptoms such as body aches, headaches, fever, and chills.

Give cross-country skiing or snowshoeing a try, and you might discover that winter is not so bad, after all! The crisp, fresh air, the snow sparkling in the sunshine, and the utter stillness that comes when you’re quiet in the woods can restore your well-being, all while you get moving and take care of your body. If nothing else, it might be just the thing to help burn all that energy kids have, summer or winter!

Snowy Mountains (Family Fun Calgary)

A gorgeous day in the mountains. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

As a parent, it’s so difficult when your child is sick or in pain, and sometimes it’s hard to know the best course of action. Homeopathy is a system of medicine that gently works with the body’s natural healing powers. Boiron is the #1 brand of homeopathic medicines recommended by pharmacists, and they have been proud to serve Canadians for more than 25 years. Boiron homeopathic medicines serve your family’s needs, as they meet the highest manufacturing quality standards. So, the next time someone in your family is under the weather, you can trust Boiron.

Boiron (Family Fun Calgary)

Enter to Win!

One lucky Family Fun Calgary winner is about to win a Boiron Winter Wellness Bundle and a $50 Sport Chek gift card. Use the widget below to enter and don’t forget multiple entries are not only allowed, they are encouraged!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
9 Comments
  1. December 1, 2017
  2. December 1, 2017
  3. December 1, 2017
  4. December 1, 2017
  5. December 1, 2017
  6. November 29, 2017
  7. November 21, 2017
  8. November 20, 2017
  9. November 17, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *