Coole öffentliche Kunst und Architektur ist ein Anziehungspunkt für viele Reisende, ein Bildungsinstrument für junge Besucher und ihre Familien. Es ist eine wunderbare Art, etwas über die Welt zu lernen.

Hier sind einige unterhaltsame künstlerische und architektonische Attraktionen, die Sie in Städten in ganz Kanada besuchen können:

 

Digitaler Schwertwal, Vancouver

Kanadas Got Art - Digital Orca

Fotos von Kirsty Barclay

Douglas Couplands Digital Orca ist eine riesige, verpixelte, dreidimensionale Orca-Skulptur, die viele Leute an Lego denken lässt. Die aus Edelstahl und Aluminium gefertigte Außenskulptur des durchbrechenden Killerwals wurde 2009 neben dem Vancouver Convention Centre installiert. Dies ist ein beliebtes Kunstwerk, mit dem Sie ein Selfie machen können, wenn Sie Vancouver besuchen – ebenso lohnenswert sind die herrlichen Aussichten, die als Kulisse dienen.

 

Friedensbrücke, Calgary

Canadas got art – Peace Bridge Calgary – Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Tourism Calgary

Calgarys auffällige Peace Bridge – Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Tourism Calgary

Die ikonische Peace Bridge der Stadt Calgary, die sich 130 Meter von Nord nach Süd über den Bow River erstreckt, verbindet das nordwestliche Viertel Sunnyside mit der Innenstadt der Stadt. Die Friedensbrücke, die vom preisgekrönten spanischen Architekten Santiago Calatrava entworfen wurde, wurde 2012 eröffnet und verzeichnet heute täglich etwa 6,000 Benutzer. Einheimische und Touristen kommen gleichermaßen vorbei, um sich vor der Stahlbrücke fotografieren zu lassen, die schnell zu einem der bekanntesten Wahrzeichen Calgarys geworden ist.

 

Terwillegar Park Footbridge & Royden Mills Sculptures, Edmonton

Canada's Got ARt – Terwillegar Bridge Bild mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Tourism Edmonton

Terwillegar Bridge Bild mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Tourism Edmonton

Der Edmontoner Künstler Royden Mills hat drei neue Skulpturen geschaffen, die entlang des Weges im Terwillegar Park in Edmonton aufgestellt wurden. Die Skulpturen „Potential“, „Resonant Point“ und „Beyond Listening“ wurden als interaktive öffentliche Kunstwerke entworfen, die die natürlichen Geräusche verstärken, die Sie im Park hören werden. Die Skulpturen, die gemeinsam als Resonant Progression bekannt sind, laden die Menschen ein, langsamer zu werden und der Natur um sie herum zu lauschen.

Canada's Got Art - Beyond Listening von Royden Mills Foto von eac_preview

Beyond Listening von Royden Mills Foto von eac_preview

Canada's Got Art - Ben Sures und Chris Brzezicki performen bei Potential von Royden Mills photo by eac_preview

Ben Sures und Chris Brzezicki treten bei Potential von Royden Mills auf Foto von eac_preview

Das Kanadische Museum für Menschenrechte, Winnipeg

Canadian Museum for Human Rights in Winnipeg im James-Bond-Film Spectre

Das berühmte Canadian Museum of Human Rights, Winnipeg
Urheberrecht: Kanadisches Museum für Menschenrechte

Das vom amerikanischen Architekten Antoine Predock entworfene Canadian Museum for Human Rights ist das erste Museum, das sich der Entwicklung, Feier und Zukunft der Menschenrechte widmet. Das Canadian Museum for Human Rights ist das erste Nationalmuseum, das außerhalb der Hauptstadtregion Kanadas errichtet wurde. Es ist ein Ort für Menschenrechtserziehung und -diskussion mit Galerien, Führungen, interaktiven Erlebnissen und Programmen.

Das Canadian Museum for Human Rights befindet sich in The Forks, Winnipegs Touristenziel Nr. 1, an der Kreuzung des Red River und des Assiniboine River und ein absolutes Muss, wenn Sie in Winnipeg sind.

 

Berczy Park Hundebrunnen; und Große Zwei Formen, Toronto

Canadas Got Art Brunnen im Berczy Park in Toronto Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Industryous Photography

Berczy-Park-Brunnen in Toronto Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Industryous Photography

Ein wirklich lustiges neues Kunstwerk im Berczy Park in Toronto ist der neu gestaltete Berczy Park-Brunnen des Montrealer Landschaftsarchitekten Claude Cormier. Der Hundebrunnen Berczy Park befindet sich in der Nähe des St. Lawrence Market hinter dem historischen Gooderham Building an der Front Street und verfügt über 27 Hundeskulpturen, einen riesigen goldenen Knochen und eine Katze. Der dreistufige Brunnen aus Gusseisen hat die Form eines Kragens und wiegt 26,000 Pfund. Der neu gestaltete Brunnen ist Teil einer 7.2-Dollar-Umgestaltung des Parks, zu der auch Bänke und Bäume gehören.

Henry Moores „Movement of Large Two Forms“ im Grange Park. Bilder mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Art Gallery of Ontario

Henry Moores „Movement of Large Two Forms“ im Grange Park. Bilder mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Art Gallery of Ontario

Und ein langjähriger Favorit in Toronto ist Large Two Forms, eine spätmoderne Bronzeskulptur des englischen Künstlers Henry Moore in der Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) in der Innenstadt. Large Two Forms – ein acht Tonnen schwerer Klassiker, auf dem Kinder gerne klettern – wurde kürzlich in den Grange Park auf der Südseite des Museums verlegt und gibt den Besuchern einen Vorgeschmack darauf, was es im Museum noch zu entdecken gibt. Die AGO ist international bekannt für ihre Sammlung von Henry Moore-Kunstwerken mit mehr als 900 Skulpturen und Arbeiten auf Papier.

Der Umzug von Large Two Forms ist Teil einer 12-Millionen-Dollar-Revitalisierung des Grange Park, die einen erweiterten Spielplatz mit Spritzschutz, einen Bereich ohne Leine, Wege, Sitzgelegenheiten, Beleuchtung, Springbrunnen und das Pflanzen von 60 Bäumen umfasst.

Canada’s Got (Public) Art! 6 Iconic Art & Architecture Pieces That Inspire

Cool public art and architecture is a drawing point for many travellers, an educational tool for young visitors and their families. It’s a wonderful way to learn about the world.

Here are some fun artistic and architectural attractions to check out in cities across Canada:

 

Digital Orca, Vancouver

Canada's Got Art - Digital Orca

Photos by Kirsty Barclay

Douglas Coupland’s Digital Orca is a giant pixelated three-dimensional orca sculpture that makes a lot of people think of Lego. Made from stainless steel and aluminium, the outdoor sculpture of the breaching killer whale was installed in 2009 beside the Vancouver Convention Centre. This is a popular piece of artwork to take a selfie with when you’re visiting Vancouver –  equally worthwhile, are the superb views that serve as a backdrop.

 

Peace Bridge, Calgary

Canadas got art - Peace Bridge Calgary - Photo courtesy Tourism Calgary

Calgary’s eye-catching Peace Bridge – Photo courtesy Tourism Calgary

The City of Calgary’s iconic Peace Bridge, spanning 130 metres north-south over the Bow River, connects the northwest Sunnyside neighbourhood with the city’s downtown. Designed by award-winning Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava, the Peace Bridge opened in 2012 and now sees approximately 6,000 users a day. Locals and tourists alike stopping by to have their picture taken in front of the steel bridge, which has quickly become one of Calgary’s most well-known symbols.

 

Terwillegar Park Footbridge & Royden Mills Sculptures, Edmonton

Canada's Got ARt - Terwillegar Bridge image courtesy Tourism Edmonton

Terwillegar Bridge image courtesy Tourism Edmonton

Edmonton artist Royden Mills has created three new sculptures that have been installed along the Terwillegar Park pathway in Edmonton. The sculptures — Potential, Resonant Point and Beyond Listening – were designed as interactive public artwork that amplifies the natural sounds you’ll hear in the park. Collectively known as Resonant Progression, the sculptures invite people to slow down and listen to nature all around them.

Canada's Got Art - Beyond Listening by Royden Mills photo by eac_preview

Beyond Listening by Royden Mills photo by eac_preview

Canada's Got Art - Ben Sures and Chris Brzezicki perform on Potential by Royden Mills photo by eac_preview

Ben Sures and Chris Brzezicki perform on Potential by Royden Mills photo by eac_preview

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights, Winnipeg

Canadian Museum for Human Rights in Winnipeg in James Bond movie Spectre

The iconic Canadian Museum of Human Rights, Winnipeg
Copyright: Canadian Museum of Human Rights

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights, designed by American architect Antoine Predock, is the first museum dedicated to the evolution, celebration and future of human rights. The first national museum to built outside Canada’s national capital region, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights is a place for human rights education and discussion, with galleries, guided tours, interactive experiences and programs.

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights is located at The Forks, Winnipeg’s No. 1 tourism destination, situated at the junction of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers, and an absolute must-see to visit when you’re in Winnipeg.

 

Berczy Park Dog Fountain; and Large Two Forms, Toronto

Canadas Got Art Berczy Park Fountain in Toronto Photo Courtesy Industryous Photography

Berczy Park Fountain in Toronto Photo Courtesy Industryous Photography

A really fun new piece of artwork, located in Toronto’s Berczy Park, is the redesigned Berczy Park fountain by Montreal landscape architect Claude Cormier. Located near the St. Lawrence Market behind the historic Gooderham Building on Front Street, the Berczy Park dog fountain features 27 dog sculptures, a giant golden bone, and a cat. Made from cast iron, the three-tier fountain is shaped like a collar and weighs 26,000 pounds. The redesigned fountain is part of a $7.2 makeover of the park, which also includes benches and trees.

Henry Moore's Movement of Large Two Forms located in Grange Park Images are courtesy of the Art Gallery of Ontario

Henry Moore’s Movement of Large Two Forms located in Grange Park Images are courtesy of the Art Gallery of Ontario

And a longtime Toronto favorite is Large Two Forms, a late-Modern bronze sculpture by English artist Henry Moore at the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) downtown. Newly relocated to Grange Park on the museum’s south side, Large Two Forms – an eight-ton classic that kids love climbing on – gives visitors a taste of what’s still to be discovered inside the museum. The AGO has an international reputation for its collection of Henry Moore artwork, with more than 900 sculptures and works on paper.

The relocation of Large Two Forms is part of a $12-million revitalization of Grange Park, which includes an expanded playground with splash pad, an off-leash area, pathways, seating, lighting, fountains, and the planting of 60 trees.

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *