fbpx

加拿大的奥运城市:此时此刻,还有如何参观

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

里约热内卢对他们的场地和计划进行了最后的修改 2016奥运夏季运动会 (8月5-21,2016)和一些世界上最优秀的运动员在预期中结束了多年的训练,我们记得加拿大自己的奥运会。

在过去的40年中,三个加拿大城市都有举办世界奥运会的荣誉(和挑战)。 事实上,夏季2016标志着在加拿大举行的第一届奥运会的40周年纪念! 以下是每个加拿大奥运会的一些计划,政治,亮点和遗产。 下次游览蒙特利尔,卡尔加里或温哥华时,一定要参观奥运会结构和场馆之一!

蒙特利尔 - 1976夏季奥运会

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

在'76闭幕式上蒙特利尔的奥林匹克体育场。 照片提供 MontrealOlympics.com.

加拿大唯一的夏季奥运会是在1976举行的蒙特利尔举行的,此前该市击败洛杉矶和莫斯科赢得了竞标。 此次奥运会的最大政治新闻是,在国际奥委会拒绝禁止新西兰在种族隔离期间与南非保持积极的体育关系之后,25非洲国家撤离。

不幸的是,对于加拿大的运动员来说,76比赛也是夏季奥运会主办国未能赢得金牌的第一次(也是唯一一次)。 然而,加拿大人确实拿到了5银牌和6铜牌,最终获得了27th(在92国家中)的奖牌榜。

有趣的事实:14岁的罗马尼亚体操运动员纳迪亚科马内奇拿下7个完美的10,赢得3金牌!

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

蒙特利尔塔,毗邻奥林匹克体育场。 照片来源:© 旅游蒙特利尔.

虽然 奥林匹克体育场 它本来是1976游戏的首选传统结构,其巨大的成本,永不全功能的可伸缩屋顶和两个主要租户(蒙特利尔Alouettes和蒙特利尔博览会)的损失使其声名狼借。 体育场仍然举办许多体育和音乐会活动; 它拥有惊人的56K座位容量! 相邻的 蒙特利尔塔 (这是在比赛结束后实际完成的)是世界上最高的斜塔(165米),非常值得一游,因为它可以欣赏到城市的美景。 它可以通过玻璃包裹的缆车进入,孩子们会喜欢! 感觉像一个冠军家庭,游泳 - 赢得奖牌和新记录设置 - 在 Parc Olympique体育中心.

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

Laurentian生态系统在Biodome。 照片来源:©加拿大旅游局,Pierre St-Jacques

同样位于Parc Olympique, Espace Pour LaVieMontréal 这里有四个受欢迎的家庭景点: 生态馆 (位于游戏的赛车场,为5独特的北美气候提供身临其境的体验), 植物园, 昆虫馆天文馆。 你可以轻松地花一整天(或两个)探索这些!

卡尔加里 - 1988冬奥会

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

'在卡尔加里的麦克马洪体育场举行'88开幕典礼。 照片提供 Panasonic.

加拿大首个冬季奥运会在1988举行的卡尔加里和卡纳纳斯基斯举行,此前该市的4th竞标尝试击败了瑞典和意大利的城市。 尽管是有史以来最昂贵的冬季运动之一,但是一个精明的组织委员会设法产生净盈余,用于维持比赛的剩余设施,并确保该地区作为加拿大冬季运动运动员发展中心的地位。

在冬季主题和卡尔加里的西方传统中,Hidy和Howdy,两只北极熊运动西部服装和牛仔帽,是游戏中可爱的官方吉祥物。 想知道我们是怎么做的? 加拿大运动员获得了2银牌和3铜牌,最终获得了13th(来自57国家)的奖牌榜。

有趣的事实:'88奥运会举办了一些引人入胜的现实生活事件,导致了两部故事片: 凉快的跑道,关于有史以来第一个牙买加雪橇队和 埃迪鹰这是英格兰顽强的弱势滑雪跳投的故事。

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

在加拿大奥林匹克公园的半管,在后台有一个滑雪跳台。 照片提供 参观卡尔加里.

奥运会上仍有许多卡尔加里(和地区)设施。 耐基斯卡专为下坡滑雪活动而建,现在是一个受欢迎的家庭滑雪目的地,距离城市仅一个多小时。 同样, 坎莫尔北欧中心,为游戏的越野和冬季两项赛事而建造,现在是卡纳纳斯基斯国家的全年运动目的地和训练设施。 在卡尔加里,拿一个 野餐 (或冬季的溜冰鞋)到奥运广场(在'88'中颁发奖牌),去吧 在奥林匹克椭圆形滑冰 或者参加许多夏季或冬季运动和活动之一 加拿大奥林匹克公园(Winsport)。 你会看到Eddie着名的滑雪跳跃(反之亦然!),而且你可以了解所有关于 - 并且几乎参与 - 我们国家的体育历史 加拿大体育名人堂.

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

卡尔加里市中心的奥林匹克广场。 照片提供 参观卡尔加里.

最后,但肯定并非最不重要的是,所有前往卡尔加里的游客至少应该看到标志性的一瞥 丰业银行Saddledome,家的 卡尔加里火焰 (NHL),大型音乐会和活动的场地,以及重要的一部分 卡尔加里牛仔节(Calgary Stampede) 理由。

在我写这篇文章的时候,卡尔加里正积极探索参加2026冬季奥运会的可能性!

温哥华 - 2010冬奥会

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

在温哥华2010开幕式期间,一名滑雪运动员冲入奥运五环。 照片提供 加拿大奥运队官方网站.

虽然被广泛称为温哥华冬奥会,但2010冬季运动会的活动在温哥华,西温哥华,里士满和惠斯勒举行。 尽管存在财务困难,抗议者,温暖的天气导致技术问题以及运动员在雪橇训练期间惨死,但这些比赛被广泛认为是成功的。

加拿大运动员在2010比赛中表现出色,超过卡尔加里奖牌数量的五倍。 事实上,加拿大成为自1952以来第一个领导金牌数量的主办国,同时也打破了一个国家在冬季奥运会上获得的最多金牌的纪录。 在比赛结束时,加拿大运动员获得了14金牌,7银牌和5铜牌,在3rd(82国家)的奖牌榜上登陆!

有趣的事实:温哥华的比赛是第一次(夏季或冬季)奥运会在室内举行开幕式。 开幕式和闭幕式均在 BC广场体育场,在$ 150升级之后。

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

奥运升级后,BC Place体育场的鸟瞰图。 照片提供 旅游温哥华.

对奥运会感兴趣的温哥华游客应该参加滑雪和夏季活动 柏树山 去滑冰,参加健身课程(也许送孩子去体育营?) 里士满奥林匹克椭圆形 or Hillcrest中心。 乘坐轻轨列车 加拿大线,连接里士满和温哥华国际机场与温哥华市中心。 温哥华位于福溪(False Creek)海岸的生态友好型奥运村在奥运会结束后成为住宅。 想偷看? 步行或乘坐TELUS World of Science或Granville Island的小渡轮,在该地区漫步。

看看加拿大的奥运城市:蒙特利尔,卡尔加里和温哥华的历史和游戏遗产。

里士满奥林匹克椭圆形的外部。 照片提供 斯图尔特奥尔森.

在惠斯勒, 惠斯勒奥林匹克公园惠斯勒滑动中心 已经成为许多品种的夏季和冬季运动的中心。 还鼓励观光旅游。 如果您与体育,文化或教育团体一起旅行,您甚至可以留在酒店 惠斯勒运动员中心!

我们还不知道加拿大何时会再次举办奥运会,但与此同时我们都可以享受蒙特利尔1976,卡尔加里1988和温哥华2010游戏留下的回忆和设施。 让我们一起为我们的运动员们欢呼,因为他们今年八月在里约热内卢开展世界......加拿大去吧!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Canada’s Olympic Cities: Then and Now, Plus How to Visit

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

As Rio de Janeiro puts the finishing touches on their venues and plans for the 2016 Olympic Summer Games (August 5-21, 2016) and some of the world’s best athletes conclude years of training in anticipation, we’re remembering Canada’s own Olympic games.

Over the past 40 years three Canadian cities have had the honour (and the challenges) of hosting the world’s Olympics games. In fact, summer 2016 marks the 40th anniversary of the first Olympics ever held on Canadian soil! Here’s a look at some of the plans, politics, highlights and legacy of each Canadian Olympic games. The next time you visit Montreal, Calgary or Vancouver, be sure to visit one of the resulting Olympic structures and venues!

Montreal – 1976 Summer Olympics

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

Montreal’s Olympic Stadium during the ’76 closing ceremonies. Photo courtesy MontrealOlympics.com.

Canada’s only Summer Olympics was held in Montreal in 1976, after the city beat out Los Angeles and Moscow to win the bid. The biggest political news of the games was the withdrawal of 25 African nations, following the IOC’s refusal to ban New Zealand for maintaining active sporting ties to South Africa during apartheid.

Unfortunately for Canada’s athletes, the ’76 games was also notable as the first (and only) time a Summer Olympic host nation failed to win a gold medal. Canadians did, however, take home 5 silver and 6 bronze medals, ending up 27th (out of 92 nations) in the medal standings.

Fun fact: 14-year-old Romanian gymnast Nadia Comaneci scored seven perfect 10’s, earning 3 gold medals!

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

The Montreal Tower, located adjacent to the Olympic Stadium. Photo credit: © Tourisme Montréal.

Although the Olympic Stadium was intended to be the premiere legacy structure from the 1976 games, its enormous cost, never-fully-functional retractable roof and loss of its two major tenants (Montreal Alouettes and Montreal Expos) have left it with a somewhat tarnished reputation. The stadium does still host many sporting and concert events; it has a whopping 56K seating capacity! The adjacent Montreal Tower (which was actually completed after the games) is the world’s tallest inclined tower (at 165 metres) and well worth a visit for its excellent view of the city. It’s accessed via a glass-encased funicular that kids will love! Feel like a family of champions, with a swim – where medals were won and new records set – at the Sports Centre at Parc Olympique.

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

Laurentian ecosystem at the Biodome. Photo credit: © Canadian Tourism Commission, Pierre St-Jacques

Also located at the Parc Olympique, Espace Pour La Vie Montréal is home to four popular family attractions:  the Biodôme (housed in the games’ velodrome and offering an immersive experience in 5 distinct North American climates), Botanical GardenInsectarium and Planetarium. You could easily spend a whole day (or two) exploring these!

Calgary – 1988 Winter Olympics

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

The ’88 opening ceremonies at Calgary’s McMahon Stadium. Photo courtesy Panasonic.

Canada’s first Winter Olympics was held in Calgary and Kananaskis in 1988, after the city’s 4th bid attempt beat out cities in Sweden and Italy. Despite being one of the most expensive winter games ever held, a canny organizing committee managed to produce a net surplus that has been used to maintain the games’ remaining facilities and secure the area’s position as a hub for winter sports athlete development in Canada.

Playing on both the winter theme and Calgary’s western heritage, Hidy and Howdy, twin polar bears sporting western outfits and cowboy hats, were the lovable official mascots of the games. Wondering how we did? Canadians athletes won 2 silver and 3 bronze medals, ending up 13th (out of 57 nations) in the medal standings.

Fun fact: the ’88 Olympics were home to some intriguing real life events that have led to two feature films: Cool Runnings, about the first-ever Jamaican bobsleigh team and Eddie the Eagle, which features the story of England’s tenacious underdog ski jumper.

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

The half pipe at Canada Olympic Park, with a ski jumping tower in the background. Photo courtesy Visit Calgary.

Lots of Calgary (and area) facilities remain from the Olympics. Nakiska, purpose-built for the downhill ski events, is now a popular family ski destination, just over an hour from the city. Similarly, the Canmore Nordic Centre, constructed for games’ cross country and biathlon events is now a year-round sporting destination and training facility in Kananaskis Country. Right in Calgary, take a picnic (or your skates, in winter) to Olympic Plaza (where the medals were awarded in ’88), go skating at the Olympic Oval and or take in one of the many summer or winter sports and activities on offer at Canada Olympic Park (Winsport). You’ll see the ski jumps that Eddie made famous (and vice versa!), plus you can learn all about – and virtually participate in – our nation’s sporting history at Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame.

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

Downtown Calgary’s Olympic Plaza. Photo courtesy Visit Calgary.

Last, but certainly not least, all visitors to Calgary should at least catch a glimpse of the iconic Scotiabank Saddledome, home to the Calgary Flames (NHL), venue for large concerts and events, and important part of the Calgary Stampede grounds.

As I write this, Calgary is actively exploring the possibility of bidding on the 2026 Winter Olympics!

Vancouver – 2010 Winter Olympics

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

A snowboarder soars through the Olympic rings during the Vancouver 2010 opening ceremonies. Photo courtesy Canadian Olympic Team Official Website.

Although widely known as the Vancouver Olympics, events for the 2010 winter games were held in Vancouver, West Vancouver, Richmond and Whistler. Despite financial troubles, protesters, warm weather causing technical troubles and the tragic death of an athlete during a luge training run, the games were widely held to be a success.

Canadian athletes excelled at the 2010 games, more than quintupling their medal count from Calgary. In fact, Canada became the first host nation since 1952 to lead the gold medal count, while also breaking the record for the most gold medals earned by a single country at a Winter Olympics. By the end of the games, Canadian athletes had earned 14 gold, 7 silver and 5 bronze medals, landing at 3rd place (out of 82 nations) in the medal standings!

Fun fact: Vancouver’s games were the first (summer or winter) Olympics to have their opening ceremonies held indoors. The opening and closing ceremonies were both held at BC Place Stadium, following a $150 upgrade.

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

An aerial view of BC Place Stadium, following its Olympic upgrade. Photo courtesy Tourism Vancouver.

Visitors to Vancouver that are interested in the Olympics should check out skiing and summer activities Cypress Mountain and go skating, take a fitness class (maybe send the kids to a sports camp?) at the Richmond Olympic Oval or Hillcrest Centre. Take a Skytrain ride on The Canada Line, which connects Richmond and Vancouver International Airport with downtown Vancouver. Vancouver’s eco-friendly Olympic Village, on the shores of False Creek, became residential housing after the games. Want to take a peek? Walk or take a little ferry over from TELUS World of Science or Granville Island and enjoy a wander around the area.

A look at Canada's Olympic cities: the history and legacy of games in Montreal, Calgary and Vancouver.

Exterior of the Richmond Olympic Oval. Photo courtesy Stuart Olson.

In Whistler, Whistler Olympic Park and the Whistler Sliding Centre have become hubs for summer and winter sports of many varieties. Sightseeing visits are also encouraged. If you’re traveling with a sports, cultural or educational group, you can even stay at the Whistler Athletes’ Centre!

We don’t yet know when Canada will again host an Olympic Games, but in the meantime we can all enjoy the memories and the facilities that remain from the Montreal 1976, Calgary 1988 and Vancouver 2010 games. And let’s join together in cheering on our athletes as they take on the world in Rio this August… GO CANADA GO!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *