Цвет мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Маяк острова Кидстон не только просто фотогеничен, но и отмечает вход в гавань Баддек. Грандиозный дом на заднем плане - это Бейнн-Бреаг, летний домик, построенный Александром Грэмом Беллом и его женой Мейбл, которым наслаждались многие из их потомков.

Когда морской бриз наполняет паруса шхуны Амеба и она идет в сторону, я упираюсь ногами в перила и пью свежий соленый воздух и невероятные прибрежные пейзажи, окружающие нас со всех сторон. Абсолютно белый и красный цвет маяка на острове Кидстон резко контрастируют с коричнево-серыми оттенками самого известного дома в этом районе - Бейнн Бреа - расположенного высоко на близлежащей скале. Пестрая зеленая листва и темно-синие воды океана, увенчанные белыми шапками, завершают вид. Я пробыл на Кейп-Бретоне всего день, но уже уверен в одном ... самая северная часть Новой Шотландии - одно красочное место!

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Изрезанное восточное побережье Национальный парк Кейп-Бретонский нагорье, как видно из похода в районе бухты Блэк-Брук.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Путешественник отдыхает и принимает вид с одного из культовых красных стульев Parks Canada в национальном парке Кейп-Бретон-Хайлендс.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Готов к приключениям, весло в Экскурсии по Северной Кайаку ждут посетителей, которые хотят исследовать бухту Святой Анны во время гребных туров с гидом продолжительностью от полудня до 5 дней.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Эти кресла идеально подходят для великолепных пейзажей суши и моря. Замок Рок Country Inn в Ингониш приглашают посетителей остановиться и немного уставиться.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Еще не пройденные места: с видом на небольшой участок тропы Кэбот, живописного шоссе, огибающего остров Кейп-Бретон. Хотя вы можете пройти весь путь за один день, вы упустите много замечательных вещей, которые стоит увидеть и сделать. Намного лучше запланировать поездку минимум на 3 дня!

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Le Centre de Mi-Carême, расположенный между Маргари и Четикампом, рассказывает об акадском фестивале середины поста посредством ярких демонстраций масок и костюмов, демонстраций музыки и танцев, а также уроков по изготовлению масок, танцев и традиционных песен.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Во время нашего июньского визита люпин расцвел по всему острову, добавив дополнительный всплеск цвета к пейзажу.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Гэльская культура жива и жива в Кейп-Бретон, в значительной степени благодаря культурному программированию и языковым инструкциям, доступным на Гэльский колледж, где присутствуют эти (и многие другие) клановые тартаны.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Только что с лодки (и из моря) в гавани Гранд-Этанг, этот лобстер уже красивого цвета, хотя в кастрюле он приобретет гораздо более яркий оттенок.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Хотя лобстера часто подают целиком, с топленым маслом, это сочное ракообразное встречается во многих других блюдах, таких как путин с лобстером в Остров Сансет Резорт в Бель-Кот.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Дегустация пива во внутреннем дворике с видом на озеро в Пивоварение большой ели это праздник для всех чувств. Великолепное розовое пиво справа - это сезонное кисло-малиновое пшеничное пиво «Серебряный пирог», вдохновленное рабочими нотами Александра Грэхема Белла.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Лодки - важная часть жизни на любом острове; эти красочные суда пришвартованы в Баддеке.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

Часовые и официальные лица приветствуют посетителей у входа в Крепость Луисбургского национального исторического места, Представленная крепость около 1744, и поэтому эти жители являются французскими, а не британскими.

Цвета мыса Бретон, Новая Шотландия (Family Fun Canada)

По мере ослабления дневного света одинокий часовой стоит на стене у крепости Луисбург.

После всего лишь одной короткой поездки на остров Кейп-Бретон, это воспоминания, которые выделяются для меня: скрипка, танцы, свежие морепродукты, соленый воздух, полевые цветы, история, дружелюбные островитяне, приключения на свежем воздухе и, конечно же, цвет!

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia: Captured in Living Colour

The Colour of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Beyond being merely photogenic, the Kidston Island Lighthouse marks the entrance to Baddeck Harbour. The grand house in the background is Beinn Bhreagh, summer home built by Alexander Graham Bell and his wife Mabel, and enjoyed by many of their descendants.

As the ocean breeze fills the sails of the schooner Amoeba and she heels to one side, I brace my feet against the rail and drink in the crisp salt air and incredible coastal scenery surrounding us on all sides. The stark white and red of the Kidston Island Lighthouse stand in bright contrast to the browns and greys of the area’s most famous home – Beinn Bhreagh – perched high on a nearby cliff. Variegated green foliage and deep blue ocean waters, topped by whitecaps, round out the vista. I’ve only been in Cape Breton for about a day, but I’m already sure of one thing… the most northern part of Nova Scotia is one colourful place!

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

The rugged east coast of Cape Breton Highlands National Park, as seen from a hike in the Black Brook Cove area.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

A hiker rests her feet and soaks in the view from one of Parks Canada’s iconic red chairs, in Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Ready for adventure, paddles at North River Kayak Tours await visitors who want to explore St. Ann’s Bay on guided paddling tours, ranging from half a day to 5 days long.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Perfectly situated for grand vistas of land and sea, these rocking chairs at the Castle Rock Country Inn in Ingonish invite visitors to stop and stare awhile.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Parts not yet travelled: overlooking a small section of the Cabot Trail, the scenic highway that circumnavigates Cape Breton Island. While you could make it the whole way around in one day, you’d be missing out on many great things to see and do. Taking at least 3 days to make the trip is a far better plan!

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Le Centre de Mi-Carême, located between Margaree and Cheticamp, tells the story of the Acadian Mid-Lent Festival through vibrant displays of masks and costumes, demonstrations of music and dance, plus classes in mask-making, dance and traditional songs.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

During our June visit, lupins were in bloom across the island, adding an extra splash of colour to the landscape.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Gaelic culture is alive and well in Cape Breton, thanks in large part to the cultural programming and language instruction available at the Gaelic College, where these (and many other) clan tartans are on display.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Fresh off the boat (and from the sea) in Grand Etang Harbour, this lobster is already a beautiful colour, though it’ll turn a much brighter hue in the cooking pot.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Although lobster is often served whole, with drawn butter, this succulent crustacean does make its way into many other dishes, such as this lobster-topped poutine at Island Sunset Resort in Belle Côte.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Beer tasting on the lake-view screened patio at Big Spruce Brewing is a feast for all the senses. The gorgeous pink brew on the right is a seasonal sour raspberry wheat beer, “The Silver Tart”, inspired by Alexander Graham Bell’s working notes.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Boats are an important part of life on any island; these colourful vessels are moored in Baddeck.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

Sentries and officials greet visitors at the entrance of the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site. The fortress represented is circa 1744, and therefore these inhabitants are French, not British.

The Colours of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (Family Fun Canada)

As daylight wanes, a lone sentry stands watch on the wall at the Fortress of Louisbourg.

Following just one brief trip to Cape Breton Island, these are the memories that stand out for me: fiddle music, step dancing, fresh seafood, salt air, wildflowers, history, friendly islanders, outdoor adventure and, of course, colour!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *