萨斯卡通被迷住了

萨斯卡通标题

这个地方真棒!“我们的儿子愉快地宣布,我们从草原百合河船上观察南萨斯喀彻温河美丽的河岸。 萨斯卡通市正在对他施展咒语。 “你为什么要离开?”

在12的岁月里,我与父母决定从萨斯卡通迁出的决定几乎没有关系,我的儿子似乎并不在意这一点。 当你看到我们刚刚溅到河边的喷雾公园或参议员Sid Buckwold桥下的黑板墙时,谁会关心母系家庭的动态,我的儿子和我写了一些我们希望在我们死之前做的事情(见见蝙蝠侠,整夜跳舞,分别旅游旅行。)

萨斯卡通被迷住了

我可能不会说它“在我死之前......”但是我现在想重温萨斯卡通一段时间,但不知怎的其他旅行一直在预先计划我的计划。 今年夏天终于为我带来了一个完美的机会,让我带着孩子们炫耀我长大的城市。

在我们的厨柜里,大约是1984萨斯卡通,有一个杯子。 一个迷人的杯子让我心中充满了惊奇。 当它充满了温暖的液体时,“Saskatoon is Magic”这个词似乎就像魔术一样! 我会用我的小手指跟踪这些字母并背诵这些字样如同口头禅:萨斯卡通是神奇的!

三角洲Bessborough

在贝斯伯勒三角洲萨斯卡通的彩色记忆

当我们离开萨斯卡通搬到埃德蒙顿(一个更大规模的类似城市,许多人向我保证)时,我对于青少年女孩的戏剧性时尚感到极度沮丧。 “没有什么能填补我所爱的神奇城市的空白!”我尖叫着,经常哭泣。 最后,我渐渐爱上了冰冷的家。 旅行,但总是回来,选择在埃德蒙顿开始和养家。 但最近我开始怀疑我童年的迷人城市。 我对桥梁之城有如此美好的回忆,现实可以衡量吗?

我发现的并不是回忆的手工魔力,而是一种有趣,充满活力的魅力。 标志性的三角洲贝斯伯勒酒店(Delta Bessborough Hotel)仍然矗立在河边,瞥见我记忆犹新的东西,但在很多情况下,他们已经被繁荣和成长的繁荣城市的魔杖所感动。

萨斯卡通被迷住了

西部开发博物馆的Boomtown Street信用:旅游萨斯卡通

一个合适的地方开始我的“跑回萨斯卡通”巡回赛(猜猜谁笑话参考,每次我跑出来都错过了该标志)是 西部开发博物馆。 许多小学实地考察都回来了。 1910典型草原城镇的重新建立,构成了博物馆的中坚力量,以及从早期一直到现在的新农村家庭互动展览“赢得草原赌博”。 我的同伴和我喜欢看到我们曾经玩过的玩具(Rainbow Brite任何人?),孩子们喜欢1920s娱乐中心。 他们只经过了15次。

萨斯卡通被迷住了

里弗斯代尔:沿着南萨斯喀彻温省的River Landing步行,Thrive的冷榨果汁,在游乐场Cappanna比萨饼的一个空间攀登设备。

从萨斯卡通的谦逊开始,我们快速地向前飞到了今天最发生的地方之一:里弗斯代尔。 从之前粗略的根源来看,时髦的绅士化的魔力正在将里弗斯代尔变成一个有趣的时髦街区。 我们开始了我们的一天 THRIVE冷压汁 (提示:我们的孩子不是piquante姜的粉丝,但其他口味都很受欢迎!)然后才能到操场上,沿着河边小径走到草原主题飞溅公园。 从那里我们回到Riversdale本身和它的宝石之一: 萨斯卡通农民市场。 由于这是一个星期三(农民在周三和周末),与周末相比有点慢,不是所有的供应商都出去了,而是提供了一个很棒的地方。 当然,任何农贸市场最好的部分就是样品......孩子们很高兴! 还有很多当地时尚的咖啡馆和餐馆 Cappanna比萨店。 不到一分钟的烹饪时间意味着美味的比萨(玛格丽塔与水牛芝士和河鳟鱼与芝麻菜)很快就在桌子上。 与一群孩子一起旅行时的重要注意事项!

萨斯卡通被迷住了

在Kinsmen公园PotashCorp Playland的游乐设施和相邻的游乐场

而且,严肃地说,没有旋转木马的情况下,什么怀旧之旅会是完整的? 市中心的金斯曼普拉帕克在一个小镇上总是很有趣。 微型列车将在公园周围突然出现,小摩天轮会将其少数乘客抬起并轻轻将其带回,旋转木马缓慢转动,展示其异想天开的动植物。 幸运的是,我们在那里为新装修的公园隆重开幕。 这三个游乐设施仍然存在(对于火车和摩天轮来说,规模较大),但同样,变革魔术在这个地方投下了闪亮的咒语,取而代之并重新开放 在Kinsmen公园的Potash Playland:小镇的舒适已被充满活力的大都会感觉所取代。 此外,还有一个巨大的操场上的帐篷灵感幻灯片,大量zipline和许多很酷的障碍课程和设备爬。 我的孩子们已经开始倡导埃德蒙顿的河畔公园!

如果你去体验萨斯卡通魔术:

萨斯卡通被迷住了

在喜来登的水上滑道,从巴士的小吃,在自动清除赛道赛车

住哪里:

由数百家创建、维护和提供物联网(IoT)全球开放标准的公司所组成的 喜来登骑士 酒店位于萨斯卡通市中心河对岸的黄金地段。 喜来登俱乐部楼层包括晚间的热早餐和开胃菜(晚餐后一晚特别供应晚餐。)这里也是新装修的河流乡村水上乐园的所在地,在那里您可以轻松度过一个愉快的下午。巨大的滑水道,在儿童或大型游泳池中嬉戏,或在两个热水浴缸中放松身心。

在哪里吃:

儿童友好的食物和“手工汉堡”在手边丰富 杰里的 (手工制作的意式冰淇淋以惊人的口味!); 一个有趣的50的氛围和汉堡是多年来的一部分 粉红色的凯迪拉克麦芽店,铁板烧餐桌准备食物 武士日本料理 在Delta Bessborough是一个很酷的特殊场合。 因为这是一家三角洲餐厅,孩子们可以在6餐厅享用免费的儿童菜单或半价主菜。 对于冷冻酸奶,双层巴士提供的冰淇淋零食和各种小吃, 巴士站茶点 (就在Bess'的街对面)很难被击败......加上很棒的照片操作!

你的孩子也会喜欢:

尖顶蹦床: 如果你看到了 惊人的比赛加拿大 在萨斯卡通,你看到了Apex的所有弹跳乐趣!
自动清理汽车赛道:儿童12和免费获得一个伟大的夏夜活动!
自然科学博物馆:参观美丽的萨斯喀彻温大学校园,搜索免费的恐龙展品。 不要忘记带这个 寻宝 与你(这里是 答案!)

非常感谢旅游萨斯卡通为我们的家庭举办。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
3评论
  1. 26-2016-XNUMX
  2. 11年2015月XNUMX日
    • 11年2015月XNUMX日

Charmed by Saskatoon

Saskatoon-title

This place is awesome!” My son happily declares as we survey the beautiful banks of the South Saskatchewan River from aboard the Prairie Lily river boat. The city of Saskatoon is weaving its spell over him. “Why did you ever leave?”

At 12 years old I had little to do with my parents’ decision to move from Saskatoon, a fact my son seems to care little about. Who cares about maternal family dynamics when you can see the spray park we just splashed in near the river’s edge, or the blackboard wall painted under the Senator Sid Buckwold Bridge where my sons and I wrote something we hope to do before we die (meet Batman, dance all night, travel travel travel, respectively.)

Charmed by Saskatoon

I might not state it as emphatically as “Before I die…” but I have wanted to revisit Saskatoon for a while now, but somehow other trips kept pre-empting my plans.  This summer finally presented the perfect opportunity for me to bring my kids and show off the city where I grew up.

In our kitchen cabinet, circa 1984 Saskatoon, there was a mug. A mesmerizing mug that filled my heart with wonder. When it was filled with warm liquid, the words “Saskatoon is Magic” appeared like, well, like magic! I would trace the letters with my little fingers and recite the words like a mantra: Saskatoon is magic!

The Delta Bessborough

A hand coloured memory of Saskatoon at The Delta Bessborough

When we left Saskatoon to move to Edmonton (a similar city on a bigger scale, many assured me) I was suitably devastated, in the dramatic fashion of pre-teen girls. “Nothing will ever fill the void of the magical city I love!” I cried, shrilly and often. Eventually I grew to love my icy adopted home; traveling, but always returning, choosing to start and raise a family in Edmonton. But recently I have begun to wonder about the enchanted city of my childhood. I had such happy memories of the City of Bridges, could the reality measure up?

What I found was not quite the handcoloured magic of memories, but a fun, vibrant charm. The iconic Delta Bessborough Hotel still stands beside the river, and glimpses of things I half remembered shine through, but in many cases they have been touched by the boomtown wand of prosperity and growth.

Charmed by Saskatoon

Boomtown Street at the Western Development Museum credit: Tourism Saskatoon

A fitting place to start my “Running Back to Saskatoon” tour (a Guess Who joke reference that missed the mark every time I trotted it out) was the Western Development Museum. Lots of elementary school field trips came rushing back. The re-creation of a typical prairie town in 1910 forms the backbone of the museum, and the new interactive exhibit “Winning the Prairie Gamble” that follows a farming family from the early days right through to the present. My companion and I loved seeing the toys we used to play with on display (Rainbow Brite anyone?) the kids loved the 1920s funhouse. They went through it only about 15 times.

Charmed by Saskatoon

Riversdale: Walking the trail along River Landing on the South Saskatchewan, the cold pressed juice at Thrive, a spacey climbing apparatus at the playground, Cappanna pizzas.

From Saskatoon’s humble beginnings we did a whirlwind fast forward through time to one of the most happening spots of today: Riversdale. From its previously sketchy roots, the magic of hipster gentrification is transforming Riversdale into a fun funky neighbourhood. We started our day juicing up at THRIVE Cold Pressed Juice (tip: our kids were not fans of the piquante ginger, but the other flavours were a hit!) before hitting the playground and walking on the riverside trail to a prairie themed splashpark. From there we headed back to Riversdale proper and one of its gems: The Saskatoon Farmers’ Market. As it was a Wednesday (the farmers are there Wednesdays and weekends) and bit of a slower day compared to the weekend, not all the vendors were out, but the ones that were offered a glimpse at what a great place it is. And of course the best part of any farmers market is the samples…the kids were delighted! There are also many trendy locally owned cafes and restaurants, like Cappanna Pizzeria.  The less-than-a-minute cooking time meant the delicious pizzas (margarita with buffalo mozzarella and river trout with arugula) were on the table quickly. Important considerations when travelling with a herd of kids!

Charmed by Saskatoon

The rides and adjacent playground at PotashCorp Playland at Kinsmen Park

And seriously, what nostalgia tour would be complete without a carousel? The downtown Kinsmen playpark was always fun, in a small town kind of way. The miniature train would chug around the park, the little ferris wheel would raise its few passengers up and bring them gently back, and the carousel turned slowly, showcasing its whimsical menagerie. By sheer force of luck, we were there for the grand opening of the newly retrofitted park. The three rides remain (on a larger scale for the train and ferris wheel) but again, the transformative magic has cast a shiny spell over the place, replaced and reopened as Potash Playland at Kinsmen Park: the small town coziness has been replaced by a vibrant cosmopolitan feel. Additionally there is an enormous playground on the grounds with a teepee inspired slide, massive zipline and lots of cool obstacle courses and apparatuses to climb. My kids have begun advocating for a riverside park for Edmonton!

If you go experience the Magic of Saskatoon:

Charmed by Saskatoon

The waterslide at the Sheraton, snacks from the bus, racing at Auto Clearing Raceway

Where to stay:

The Sheraton Cavalier is in a prime location across the street from the river in downtown Saskatoon. The Sheraton Club level includes hot breakfast and appetizers in the evening (which served for supper one evening after a particularly large and late lunch.) It is also home of the newly renovated River Country Waterpark, where you can easily spend a happy afternoon slipping down the giant waterslide and splashing in the kiddie or big pool, or relaxing in one of the two hot tubs.

Where to eat:

Kid friendly fare and “artisanal burgers” are abundantly on hand at Jerry’s (with handmade gelato in amazing flavours!); a fun 50’s vibe and burgers for years are part of the treat at Pink Cadillacs Malt Shop, tableside food prep at the teppanyaki Samurai Japanese Restaurant in the Delta Bessborough is a cool special occasion spot. And because it’s a Delta restaurant, kids 6 and under eat free from the kids menu or half price entrees. For frozen yogurt, ice cream treats and assorted snacks served from a double decker bus, Bus Stop Refreshments (right across the street from the Bess’) is hard to beat…plus great photo ops!

Your kids will also love:

Apex Trampoline: if you saw Amazing Race Canada in Saskatoon, you saw all the bouncing fun you can have at Apex!
Auto Clearing Motor Speedway: Kids 12 and under get in free for a great summer night activity!
Museum of Natural Sciences: Visit the stunningly beautiful University of Saskatchewan campus and search out the free dinosaur exhibits. Don’t forget to bring this scavenger hunt with you (here are the answers!)

Many thanks to Tourism Saskatoon for hosting our family.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
3 Comments
  1. April 26, 2016
  2. September 11, 2015
    • September 11, 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *