2018的哪个加拿大草原城是所有的愤怒?

去年它被刊登在 时尚 然后 今日美国。 今年,某个低调的城市是加拿大唯一被命名的加拿大目的地 纽约时报52去的地方 列出! 是的,女士们,先生们,您在这里听到了! 卑鄙的萨斯卡通草原城市风靡一时! 这座桥梁城市正在世界舞台上轰动一时……它不再那么谦虚了。

萨斯卡通

关于Riverlanding的Remai现代(图片来源:旅游萨斯卡通)

但是,每个人都在谈论“巴黎大草原”吗? 除了快速发展的河滨地区和繁荣的艺术和文化景观外,这种嗡嗡声在很大程度上可以归因于帕勃罗·毕加索,乔治·布拉克和其他20世纪知名艺术家之类的人! 8000件享誉世界的作品(包括这些大师的作品)在新开幕的萨斯喀彻温省中心地带找到了家 现代的雷迈 博物馆。

萨斯卡通风靡一时

照片来源:旅游萨斯卡通

这个博物馆虽然无疑是世界一流的,但它确实是一个本土珍宝。 2011年,当地慈善家和企业家艾伦·雷迈(Ellen Remai)宣布了加拿大艺术史上最大的一笔私人捐款,在萨斯卡通建造如此规模的画廊的运动得到了所需的动力。 弗兰克和艾伦·雷迈基金会的一笔款项实际上是动工的,该博物馆本身就是世界一流的现代主义建筑的壮举,在该基金会的持续支持下,它将寻求在未来30年中为国际展览提供支持。 博物馆的标志性收藏品《毕加索的405张毕加索画》是2012年由雷迈(Remai)捐赠的。以真正低调的草原风格,艾伦·雷迈(Ellen Remai)对这种慷慨的解释很简单:“一座伟大的城市值得伟大的艺术。”

萨斯卡通风靡一时

里弗斯代尔的漂移咖啡厅(照片来源:旅游萨斯卡通/凯里肖摄影)

但艺术并非桥梁城市发生的唯一事情! 屡获殊荣(最近扩建)的机场准备接待来自搜索文化,世界级美食和充足阳光的游客。 在过去的15年中,萨斯卡通经历了前所未有的发展和多样化的季节,这是一种城市存在主义的危机,引发了许多这个城市前所未有的东西。

 

(Adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || [])推({});

WinterShines白夜 加入其他一些在节日盛会上成熟的活动,毫无疑问,对萨斯卡通的生活和文化产生了越来越乐观的感觉。 高档化的证据无处不在,但从来没有比里弗斯代尔的核心街区更加重要,它已成为时尚和美食家的热门话题。 然后是Riverlanding的发展,这是南萨斯喀彻温河岸的一大部分,这里有水景,野餐区,河边咖啡馆和户外健身房,并且经常举办户外运动和文化活动。

萨斯卡通风靡一时

纽约布兰奇夜间艺术节(图片来源:萨斯卡通旅游局/ Nick Biblow)

当你考虑到阳光明媚的萨斯卡通充满了绿色空间,迎合家庭,田园般地坐在美丽的河岸上,而且价格实惠,这个问题就不是萨斯卡通为何如此愤怒,而是它如何将这个秘密保持这么久!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Which Canadian Prairie City is All The Rage in 2018?

Last year it was featured in Vogue and then USA Today. This year, a certain understated city is the only Canadian destination to be named in the New York Times 52 Places to Go list! That’s right, ladies and gentleman, you heard it here! The humble, prairie city of Saskatoon is all the rage! The bridge city is making a splash on the world scene… and it ain’t so humble anymore.

Saskatoon

The Remai Modern on Riverlanding (Photo Credit: Tourism Saskatoon)

But what’s got everybody talking about the ‘Paris of the Prairies?’ Aside from a rapidly developing riverfront and a thriving arts and culture scene, this surge in buzz can be attributed in large part to the likes of  Pablo Picasso, Georges Braque and a number of other well-known 20th-century artists!  8000 world-renowned pieces including works from these masters have found a home in the heart of Saskatchewan at the newly opened Remai Modern Museum.

Saskatoon is all the rage

Photo Credit: Tourism Saskatoon

This museum, though undoubtedly world-class in its appeal, is truly a home-grown treasure. The movement to build a gallery of this magnitude in Saskatoon got the momentum it needed when, in 2011, local philanthropist and entrepreneur, Ellen Remai, announced one the largest private donations in Canadian art history. A sum from the Frank and Ellen Remai Foundation literally got construction off the ground, and the museum, itself a feat in world-class modernist architecture, will seek to support international exhibits for the next 30 years with the continued support of this foundation. The museum’s hallmark collection, 405 Picasso linocuts, were also donated by the Remai’s in 2012. In true understated prairie style, Ellen Remai’s explanation for this generosity was simply, “A great city deserves great art.”

Saskatoon is all the rage

Drift Café in Riversdale (Photo Credit: Tourism Saskatoon/ Carey Shaw Photography)

But art is not the only thing happening in the bridge city! The award-winning (and recently expanded) airport is ready to receive visitors in search culture, world-class cuisine, and plenty of sunshine. Over the past 15 years, Saskatoon has experienced an unprecedented season of growth and diversification, an urban existential crisis of sorts, which has given rise to a whole host of items never before known to the city.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

WinterShines and Nuit Blanche join a whole host of other well-established events on the festival scene and are undoubtedly fueled by the palpable growing sense of optimism surrounding the life and culture of Saskatoon. Evidence of gentrification is everywhere but never more significant than in the core neighbourhood of Riversdale which has become a hot-bed for hipsters and foodies. Then there is the development of Riverlanding, a large portion of the South Saskatchewan River bank which is now home to a water feature, picnic areas, a riverside café, and an outdoor gym, and which frequently plays host to outdoor sporting and cultural events.

Saskatoon is all the rage

Nuit Blanche Night Time Arts Festival (Photo Credit: Tourism Saskatoon/Nick Biblow)

When you consider that sunny Saskatoon is full of green spaces, caters to families, sits idyllically on a beautiful riverbank and is affordable to boot, the question becomes not why Saskatoon is all the rage, but how it kept itself a secret for so long!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *