去古巴西部的当地 - 巴拉德罗,哈瓦那,比尼亚莱斯和马坦萨斯

只是在游泳池中尽情享受,但探索一下,你会发现在古巴西部有一些罕见的儿童友好宝石。 在这条环形路线上体验更多真正的古巴,从巴拉德罗海滩到充满艺术气息的哈瓦那,到郁郁葱葱的比尼亚莱斯山谷和历史悠久的马坦萨斯。 这里是去哪里,住哪里以及在哪里可以找到美味的古巴美食。

走进哈瓦那的Fusterlandia仙境 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

走进哈瓦那的Fusterlandia仙境 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

适合孩子的哈瓦那

第一步:乘坐出租车前往哈瓦那。 距离Varadero沿Via Blanca高速公路仅有很短的2半小时车程。 停在中途 Bacunayagua桥梁,古巴最高的桥梁,在这个风景优美的观景点拍照。 如果您不开车,可以前往餐厅的特色菜 - 清爽的菠萝Pina Coladas。 出租车小费:旧的镀铬巡洋舰很漂亮,但经常发生故障,没有A / C. 在哈瓦那取一个。

复古游乐设施很容易在Iberostar Parque Central外面找到 - 照片Debra Smith

复古游乐设施很容易在Iberostar Parque Central外面找到 - 照片Debra Smith

:飞溅在 Iberostar Parque Central 就在哈瓦那老城的中心。 赶上四座中央广场的早期徒步之旅,这里有五百年历史的教堂,巴洛克式酒店,博物馆和公共艺术的宝库。 孩子们会喜欢在屋顶游泳池畅游,俯瞰这座令人难以置信的上城,以及夹层酒店的小建筑模型。 门外有糖果色的老式出租车排队。

在福塔莱萨圣卡洛斯德拉卡瓦尼亚举行的加农炮仪式上至少提前一小时到达 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

在福塔莱萨圣卡洛斯德拉卡瓦尼亚举行的加农炮仪式上至少提前一小时到达 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

请参见: 哈瓦那港口的堡垒球迷可以享受两项最好的。 前往 卡斯蒂略德洛斯特雷斯雷耶斯德莫罗 在日落时分欣赏城市全景,欣赏这座16世纪宝藏,然后前往附近 La Cabana,这是美洲最大的堡垒。 一个令人兴奋的历史重演是每晚在那里进行的。 请在9下午举行礼仪性的大炮爆炸

用餐: 靠近军事公园的La Divina Pastora餐厅拥有不少自己的大炮,但这些都可供进一步检查。 他们阴凉的户外露台俯瞰着海港,他们专注于新鲜的龙虾。

在La Divina Pastora餐厅准备大炮 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

在La Divina Pastora餐厅准备大炮 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

車輛改道: 在离开哈瓦那的路上,一定要停在Fusterlandia。 彩虹色的马赛克艺术爆炸覆盖在Jaimanitas以前经济萧条的郊区的80建筑物上。 这是艺术家何塞·福斯特(Jose Fuster)的生活作品,他的愿景是改变他的社区,一次一个房子,从他自己开始。 他的幻想图像和雕塑在墙壁,地板,屋顶和楼梯到街灯的每个可用表面上都会发生骚乱。 孩子们会喜欢它。

去国家:哈瓦那到Viñales

第二步: 从哈瓦那到Viñales的2半小时车程将带您通过古巴最令人惊叹的风景。 绵延起伏的丘陵覆盖着厚厚的绿色植被,并与皇家棕榈点缀在一起,很快让位于一个平坦的谷底,并以被称为1000英尺高的圆顶露头 莫戈特斯。 由软石灰石制成,洞穴rid,,几乎无处可见,使得Viñales山谷成为联合国教科文组织世界遗产。

郁郁葱葱的维纳勒斯谷拥有丰富的农田和皇家棕榈树覆盖的mogotes  - 照片黛布拉史密斯

郁郁葱葱的维纳勒斯谷拥有丰富的农田和皇家棕榈树覆盖的mogotes - 照片黛布拉史密斯

住宿: Viñales小镇正在显示出旅游热潮的迹象。 传统的单层木材和石膏房屋都以绚丽的色彩进行了新鲜的涂装。 餐厅和咖啡馆遍布每个角落,每天在教堂广场附近还有一个小型手工艺品市场。 房主出租一个或两个房间,并经常包括价格中的餐点。 叫 casa particulares,这些房屋的300在Air BnB上市。 在Viñales找到适合您家庭的最佳酒店体验。

私人住宅的住宿费用是Vinales的一种流行选择 - 照片Debra Smith

私人住宅的住宿费用是Vinales的一种流行选择 - 照片Debra Smith

请参见: 被称为小农场的徒步旅行 芬卡 西班牙语,当地居民和导游Douglas Pino Correa。 在Viñales的旅游办公室询问他。 道格拉斯是山谷植物和动物的专家,可以向你介绍当地的农民。 他们中的许多人仍然使用雄伟的黑水牛来耕种厚厚的红土。 这里还有攀岩跋涉 莫戈特斯,提供自行车,骑马和观鸟之旅。

农民仍然在用水牛的土地 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

农民仍然在用水牛的土地 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

用餐: 近乎完美的生长条件意味着整个山谷都可以找到新鲜无农药的有机农产品。 对于传统的古巴餐服务家庭风格,尝试 Ladera del Valle。 除了鳄梨沙拉,烤木薯,黑豆和米饭(当然!),房子的特色是用各种美味的方式烹制的烤猪肉。

在马背上游览维纳莱斯谷很容易安排 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

在马背上游览维纳莱斯谷很容易安排 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

車輛改道: 在此 Las Terrazas 社区,位于Sierra del Rosario生物圈保护区,是与古巴家庭交往的好地方。 Curujey Ranch的解说中心将为您提供这个巨大区域的概况,这是古巴第一个主要的填海工程之一。 这里有一个模范合作湖畔小镇,有学校,农场,咖啡种植园和古巴的第一条高空滑索。 您可以享用野餐午餐,在圣胡安河的温柔瀑布中畅游。 “你怎么能告诉古巴的游客?”,我们的导游问道。 “有一件事,古巴人永远不会这样做”,他说,指着一位正在单脚平衡的绅士,在他身边抓着毛巾,同时试图摆脱他的泳衣。 “而且,他也不知道更衣室就在他身后”。

在Las Terrazas镇停留一杯当地种植的咖啡 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

在Las Terrazas镇停留一杯当地种植的咖啡 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

回到海滩:马坦萨斯市到巴拉德罗

第三步: 在返回巴拉德罗的途中停在马坦萨斯市。 这个经常被忽视的海港城镇距离酒店区仅一小时车程,店内提供一些美食。 被称为桥梁之城,跨越三条河流的17桥梁,拥有唯一完全保存的19th 世纪法国复方药房今天在世 Matanzas药房博物馆.

住宿: 从4到12的孩子们都会喜欢新朋友Star Friends Kids Club的游戏,主题派对和活动 Iberostar Bella Vista Varadero. 两个游泳池配有龙和鲸鱼滑梯以及监督海滩活动,这里有很多水上乐趣。 父母会喜欢巨大的房间,每晚的娱乐活动,六间餐厅,五间酒吧和两个奥运会大小的游泳池。

贝拉维斯塔巴拉德罗有两个奇怪的浅水池供孩子们使用 -  Debra Smith的照片

贝拉维斯塔巴拉德罗有两个奇怪的浅水池供孩子们使用 - Debra Smith的照片

请参见: 马坦萨斯市在圣塞韦里诺城堡和奴隶之路博物馆中提供了Santeria的“厨房宗教”的难得一见。 这座联合国教科文组织世界遗产地是Matanzas最古老的建筑,可追溯至1693。 在接下来的300年中,该堡垒被用作驻军,州长,监狱和监狱的所在地。 该博物馆追溯了古巴奴隶制的悲惨历史,并通过促进他们的文化,艺术和精神表达来庆祝非洲人民当今的影响力和贡献。 它是为数不多的参观者可以看到展示非洲Santeria大自然邪教的仪式物品,鼓和服装的地方之一。

用餐: 从巴拉德罗的酒店区出发乘坐十分钟的出租车, Terraza古巴 提供什么只能被描述为美食古巴用餐体验。 这家餐馆以前由加拿大夫妇拥有,这家最新餐厅将古典古巴餐馆的美味解读提升到一个新的水平。 服务无可挑剔,特别触动,比如带有空气过滤系统的小玻璃封闭酒吧,您可以在此享用晚餐后的朗姆酒和雪茄配对。 附注:提供阅读眼镜,以便您可以看到账单 - 根据加拿大标准,这将非常小。

奥达利斯科雷亚将她的艺术才能和对土地的热爱带给了芬卡科尼登西亚 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

奥达利斯科雷亚将她的艺术才能和对土地的热爱带给了芬卡科尼登西亚 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

車輛改道: 如果您有时间从巴拉德罗一日游,请向您的礼宾部询问前往Finca Coincidencia(Coincidence Farm)的Cubatur游览,距离酒店区仅有40分钟车程。 Hector Correa是一位农业工程师,他的妻子Odalys是一位艺术史学家,他创造了一个神奇的地方,陶器和雕塑与果园和玉米田交融。 他们与他们的三个儿子一起,将棘手的土地变成了500品种的药用,观赏和濒临灭绝的树木,植物和花卉的绿洲。 参观者可以参观户外雕塑花园(他们举办了古巴双年展艺术节),陶艺工作室和农场,然后加入他们,享用美味的自制午餐。 “你吃我们吃的东西”,赫克托尔自豪地说。 农场是一个旋风般的活动。 Hector和Odalys除了经营工作室外还养鸡,猪,火鸡和蜜蜂。 赫克托尔说:“我没有和平,但我有幸福。”

在古巴西部找到你的幸福。 有关更多信息,请查看 去古巴 网站。

黛布拉史密斯是卡尔加里的旅行作家。 她由古巴旅游局主持,但一如既往,她的观点是她自己的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Going Local in Western Cuba – Varadero, Havana, Viñales and Matanzas

It’s so tempting to just hang at the pool at an all-inclusive but explore a bit, and you’ll find some rare child-friendly gems in western Cuba. Experience more of the real Cuba on this circle route from the beaches of Varadero through art-filled Havana, to the lush Viñales Valley, and historic Matanzas. Here’s where to go, where to stay and where to find fantastic Cuban food.  

Walk into the Fusterlandia wonderland in Havana - photo Debra Smith

Walk into the Fusterlandia wonderland in Havana – photo Debra Smith

Kid Friendly Havana

Step One: Grab a cab to Havana.  It’s a short 2 ½ hour drive from Varadero along the Via Blanca highway. Stop halfway at the Bacunayagua Bridge, the highest bridge in Cuba for a photo op at this scenic viewpoint. If you’re not driving, check out the restaurant’s speciality –  refreshing pineapple Pina Coladas. Taxi tip: the old chrome cruisers are beautiful, but suffer from regular breakdowns and no A/C. Take one in Havana instead.

 

Vintage rides are easy to find outside the Iberostar Parque Central - photo Debra Smith

Vintage rides are easy to find outside the Iberostar Parque Central – photo Debra Smith

 

Stay: Splash out at the Iberostar Parque Central right in the middle of Old Havana. Catch an early walking tour of the four central plazas, a treasure trove of five-hundred-year-old churches, baroque hotels, museums and public art. Kids will love a dip in the rooftop pool with its bird’s-eye view of this incredibly photogenic city and the tiny architectural model of the hotel on the mezzanine. Candy coloured vintage cabs line up right outside the doors.

 

Arrive at least an hour early for The Cannon Ceremony at Fortaleza de San Carlos de la Cabaña - photo Debra Smith

Arrive at least an hour early for The Cannon Ceremony at Fortaleza de San Carlos de la Cabaña – photo Debra Smith

 

See: Fortress fans can enjoy two of the best at Havana Harbour. Head to Castillo de Los Tres Reyes del Morro around sunset for a panoramic view of the city and a peek inside this 16th-century treasure, then head for nearby La Cabana, the largest fortress in the Americas. An exciting historical re-enactment is performed there every night. Cover your ears for the ceremonial cannon blast at 9 p.m.

Dine: La Divina Pastora Restaurant, near the military park, has quite a few cannons of its own but these are available for closer inspection.  Their shady outdoor patio overlooks the harbour, and they specialise in fresh lobster.

Cannons at the ready at La Divina Pastora Restaurant - photo Debra Smith

Cannons at the ready at La Divina Pastora Restaurant – photo Debra Smith

Detour: On your way out of Havana, be sure and stop at Fusterlandia.  A rainbow coloured explosion of mosaic art covers over 80 buildings in the formerly economically depressed suburb of Jaimanitas. It is the life’s work of artist Jose Fuster who had the vision to transform his neighbourhood, one house at a time, starting with his own. His fanciful images and sculptures run riot over every available surface from walls, floors, rooftops and staircases to streetlights. Kids will love it.

Going to the Country: Havana to Viñales

Step Two: The 2 ½ hour drive from Havana to Viñales will take you through some of the most breath-taking scenery in Cuba. Rolling hills blanketed in thick green vegetation and dotted with Royal Palms soon give way to a flat valley floor punctuated with 1000-foot-high round-topped outcrops called mogotes. Made of soft limestone and riddled with caves, they are found almost nowhere else on earth, making the Viñales Valley a designated UNESCO World Heritage site.

The lush Vinales Valley has rich farmland and mogotes covered in Royal palms - photo Debra Smith

The lush Vinales Valley has rich farmland and mogotes covered in Royal palms – photo Debra Smith

Stay: The small town of Viñales is showing signs of a tourism boom. Traditional one-story wood and plaster homes are freshly painted in brilliant colours. Restaurants and cafes can be found on every corner, and a small handicraft market runs near the church square every day. Homeowners rent out a room or two and often include meals in the price. Called casa particulares, there are over 300 of these homes listed on Air BnB. Find one that fits your family for the best hotel experience in Viñales.

Private home stays at casa particulars are a popular option in Vinales - photo Debra Smith

Private home stays at casa particulars are a popular option in Vinales – photo Debra Smith

See: Take a walking tour of the small farms, called finca in Spanish, with local resident and tour guide Douglas Pino Correa. Ask for him at the tourist office in Viñales. Douglas is an expert on flora and fauna of the valley and can introduce you to local farmers along the way. Many of them still use majestic black water buffalo to plough the thick red soil for crops. There are also rock-climbing treks on the mogotes, bicycle, horseback riding and bird watching tours available.

Farmers still till the land using water buffalo - photo Debra Smith

Farmers still till the land using water buffalo – photo Debra Smith

Dine: Near-perfect growing conditions mean that fresh, pesticide-free organic produce can be found throughout the valley. For a traditional Cuban meal served family style, try Ladera del Valle. Along with an avocado salad, roasted cassava and black beans and rice (of course!), the house speciality is roast pork prepared in a variety of delicious ways.

Touring the Vinales Valley on horseback is easy to arrange- photo Debra Smith

Touring the Vinales Valley on horseback is easy to arrange- photo Debra Smith

 

Detour: The Las Terrazas community, located in the Sierra del Rosario Biosphere Reserve is a great place to mingle with Cuban families.  An interpretive centre at Curujey Ranch will give you an overview of this huge area which was one of Cuba’s first major reclamation projects. There’s a model cooperative lakeside town with schools, farms, coffee plantations and Cuba’s first zip line. Take a picnic lunch and enjoy a dip in the gentle waterfalls of the San Juan River. “How can you tell a tourist from a Cuban?”, asks our tour guide. “For one thing, Cubans never do that”, he says, pointing to a gentleman who is balancing on one foot, clutching a towel around him and trying to shake off his bathing suit at the same time. “Also, he doesn’t know that the change rooms are right behind him”.

Stop for a cup of locally grown coffee at the town of Las Terrazas - photo Debra Smith

Stop for a cup of locally grown coffee at the town of Las Terrazas – photo Debra Smith

 

Back to the Beach: Matanzas City to Varadero

Step Three: Stop into Matanzas City on your way back to Varadero.  This often-overlooked harbour town, just an hour from the hotel zone, has some treats in store. Known as the City of Bridges, for the 17 bridges that cross its three rivers, it has the only fully preserved 19th century French compounding pharmacy in existence today, the Matanzas Pharmacy Museum.

Stay: Kids from 4 to 12 will love the games, theme parties and activities at the Star Friends Kids Club at the new Iberostar Bella Vista Varadero. There’s lots of water fun with two wading pools complete with dragon and whale slides and as well as supervised beach activities. Parents will love the huge rooms, nightly entertainment, six restaurants, five bars and two Olympic sized swimming pools.

There are two fanciful wading pools for kids at the Bella Vista Varadero - photo by Debra Smith

There are two fanciful wading pools for kids at the Bella Vista Varadero – photo by Debra Smith

See: Matanzas City offers a rare glimpse into the “kitchen religion” of Santeria at the San Severino Castle and Museum of the Route of the Slave. This UNESCO World Heritage site is the oldest building in Matanzas, dating to 1693. Over the next 300 years the fort was used as a garrison, a home for governors, a prison and a jail. The museum traces the tragic history of slavery in Cuba and celebrates the present-day influence and contribution of the African people by promoting their culture, art and spiritual expressions. It is one of the few places where visitors can find ritual objects, drums, and costumes of African based Santeria nature cults on display.

Dine: A ten-minute cab ride from the hotel zone in Varadero, Terraza Cuba is offering up what can only be described as a gourmet Cuban dining experience. Previously owned by a Canadian couple, this up to the minute restaurant raises delectable interpretations of classic Cuban fare to a new level. Service is impeccable and special touches abound, like their small glass enclosed bar with an air filtration system where you can enjoy an after-dinner rum and cigar pairing. Side note: reading glasses are provided so you can see the bill – which will be very small by Canadian standards.

Odalys Correa brings her artistic talents and love of the land to Finca Coincidencia - photo Debra Smith

Odalys Correa brings her artistic talents and love of the land to Finca Coincidencia – photo Debra Smith

Detour: If you have time for just one day trip from Varadero, ask your concierge about a Cubatur excursion to Finca Coincidencia (Coincidence Farm), a 40-minute drive from the hotel zone. Hector Correa, an agricultural engineer and his wife Odalys, an art historian, have created a magical place where pottery and sculpture mingle with orchards and cornfields.  Together with their three sons, they have transformed thorny ground into an oasis for over 500 varieties of medicinal, ornamental and endangered trees, plants and flowers. Visitors can tour the outdoor sculpture garden (they have hosted the Cuba biennale art festival), the pottery studio and the farm before joining them for a delicious home-grown lunch. “You eat what we eat”, says Hector proudly. The farm is a whirlwind of activity. Hector and Odalys raise chickens, pigs, turkey and bees in addition to running the studio. “I don’t have peace, but I have happiness”, Hector says.

 

Find your happiness in western Cuba. For more information check the Go Cuba website.

Debra Smith is a Calgary travel writer.  She was hosted by the Cuba Tourist Board, but as always, her opinions are her own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *