在玛雅海滨与孩子们周围愉快游览的十大秘诀

图伦遗址和海滩通过Shutterstock

图伦遗址和海滩 通过Shutterstock

您是否曾经休假过,并感到遗憾,下次您会以完全不同的方式做事? 那是我们最近的玛雅里维埃拉之旅。 虽然这次旅行肯定很愉快,但是我们本可以从一些额外的研究和旅行计划中受益。 这是我们第一次访问墨西哥的玛雅里维埃拉一侧,我们习惯了巴亚尔塔港一侧的一种“更轻松”的生活方式。 过去的旅行很简单:出现在您的全包度假胜地并签约旅行,搭乘穿梭巴士或乘坐出租车享受您的一天。 不过,环游玛雅里维埃拉的行程要复杂一些,我觉得我们在这次旅行中吸取了一些重要的教训。

墨西哥玛雅里维埃拉一日游攀登科巴

在科巴攀登。 Tanya Koob的图片

带孩子们在玛雅海滨快乐之旅的十个秘诀

一 - 不要试图做到这一切。 住在普拉亚德尔卡曼附近? 享受这个城市附近的旅游,并保存图卢姆地区为您的下一次旅行。 访问 科苏梅尔岛,带家人去 伊施卡瑞特或者计划再去一次更长的Ek Balam玛雅遗址之旅。 如果住在图伦附近,请专注于参观图卢姆遗址,参加更长时间的一日游,去科巴的玛雅遗址,或者带着家人去 谢尔哈 一天。 有些游览需要4个多小时的车程(为什么这次我们不得不跳过参观Ek Balam的遗迹)。

在坎昆和里维埃拉玛雅人的Xel-Há,Xplor,Xplor fuego或Xenotes中体验冒险。

两 - 选择一个离你最想探索的地方很近的度假胜地。 我们住在一个有趣的生态旅馆在一个小小的度假区 埃克斯葡哈 并最终被孤立,远离图伦和普拉亚卡门。 下一次,我们会留在更接近更受欢迎的度假胜地之一的地方。

第三步–跳过带孩子的历史导览游。 如果您想在该地区参观一些玛雅遗迹,请寻找一家转运公司,例如“加拿大转账”,并仅支付您的运输/入场费。 孩子们在科巴附近享受山地自行车的乐趣远胜于在历史课上站着学习的乐趣(并且您随时可以在旅途之前或之后给孩子们精读一堂课。)Ek Balam是另一个奇妙的地方,可以在这里狂野探索无需官方导游告诉您该怎么做。 最后,孩子们可能会更喜欢在图伦的海滩,而不是他们自己废墟。 提早到达,在废墟中四处奔走,然后在海滩上待几个小时。

墨西哥玛雅里维埃拉一日游Xel Ha

在Xel Ha浮动。 照片提供:Tanya Koob

四 - 预订正式旅游时请注意细节。 这次巡演会有多长时间? 大部分一日游都会持续至少8小时(这对于小孩来说真的很长)。 会有小吃和午餐的机会,或者你应该为孩子带些零食吗? 会有导游吗?还是你可以自己探索? 该地区或地方是否会有浴室购买食物?

五 - 尽可能预订私人旅游。 我们度假村的一个家庭跳过了我们正在使用的官方旅游公司,转而使用转机公司来建立到他们想要参观的地方的交通工具。 他们有一辆私人面包车,需要自行探索,并且整天都围绕着孩子的需求进行计划。 我们从这个家庭学到了很多东西,并且会在下次我们返回玛雅海滨时效仿他们的榜样。 如果这对您的家庭来说太贵了,请与您在度假村见面的另一个家庭联系并一起去。 最后,它会比导游更便宜。

六-做研究,找到最实惠的旅游。 并非所有旅行团的价格都一样,因此不要只是走到您度假村的旅游咨询台并注册第一次去图伦或科巴的旅行团。 在您出发之前,请检查Internet,查看提供接送服务的公司(比提供导游的公司便宜得多),并调查价格可能更便宜的本地公司。 在与某个陌生的旅游公司签约之前,Trip Advisor还是一个查找信息并获得评论的好地方。

第七点–提前知道热门旅游景点的期望。 例如,图卢姆(Tulum)或科巴(Coba)废墟内没有浴室,我想其他历史遗址也是如此,因此请打包湿巾并在紧急情况下换衣服。 同样,许多海滩也没有更衣室设施。 当我们到达图卢姆的海滩并意识到废墟中没有浴室或更衣室时,我们会感到惊讶。 除非您想在毛巾后面换衣服,否则请在衣服下穿西装! 我们还发现GoPro摄像机被认为是“专业摄像机”,将带您进入旅游景点需要额外付费。

墨西哥玛雅里维埃拉一日游在Xel Ha浮动

在Xel Ha漂流穿过红树林。 照片提供:Tanya Koob

八 - 跳过出租车,并采取公众 集体。 这款面包车服务提供从坎昆到图伦的主要高速公路上下的交通服务。 你将与​​当地人和游客一起分享乘坐出租车的一小部分费用。 更多关于Colectivos的信息可以在这里找到 www.travelyucatan.com/collectivo。 请注意,他们不会将您从公路带到海滩或确切位置。 例如,如果您想要参观艾库玛尔的海滩,一旦抵达镇上,您将不得不搭上出租车或步行,然后在高速公路上下车。

九 - 早点参观受欢迎的旅游景点。 如果您还没有及时赶到图伦遗址,那么您已经太迟了。 大多数旅游景点都被10:30am挤得满满的,所以要早点出发,最迟在中午时分离开,以免炙手可热。

十 - 仔细研究家庭主题公园。 Xel-Ha,Xcaret和Xplor等主题公园如果有计划并且适合儿童的适龄人群,则会非常有趣。 这些公园中有许多最适合年龄较大的儿童和青少年。

 

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Ten Tips for Happy Touring around the Mayan Riviera with Kids

Tulum Ruins and Beach via Shutterstock

Tulum Ruins and Beach via Shutterstock

Have you ever taken a vacation and come away with a sense of regret that next time you’d do things a whole lot differently? That was our recent trip to the Mayan Riviera. While the trip was definitely enjoyable, we could have benefited from some additional research and trip planning in advance. This was our first time visiting the Mayan Riviera side of Mexico and we were used to an “easier” way of life on the Puerto Vallarta side. Past trips were simple: show up at your all-inclusive resort and sign up for a tour, hop on your shuttle bus or take a taxi and enjoy your day. Touring around the Mayan Riviera was a bit more complicated though and I feel like we learned some important lessons on our recent trip.

Ten Tips for Happy Touring around the Mayan Riviera with Kids

One – Don’t try to do it ALL. Staying near Playa del Carmen? Enjoy tours near this city and save the Tulum area for your next trip. Visit the Island of Cozumel, take the family to Xcaret, or plan one longer trip to the Mayan ruins of Ek Balam. If staying near Tulum, focus on visiting the ruins of Tulum, take a longer day tour to the Mayan ruins of Coba, or take the family to Xel-Ha for the day. Some tours will require 4+ hours of driving (why we had to skip visiting the ruins of Ek Balam this time).

Mexicos Mayan Riviera Day Tours Climbing at Coba

Climbing at Coba. Picture by Tanya Koob

Two – Choose a resort that is close to the areas you most want to explore. We stayed at a fun eco-lodge in the tiny resort area of Xpu-Ha and ended up being isolated and far from both Tulum and Playa del Carmen. Next time, we’ll stay somewhere closer to one of the more popular resort areas.

Three – Skip the guided history tours with kids. If you want to visit some Mayan ruins while in the area, look for a transfer company such as “Canada Transfers”  and pay for your transportation/entrance fees only. The kids will enjoy mountain biking around Coba much more than they will standing around listening to a history lesson (and you can always give your children the condensed lesson before or after your trip.) Ek Balam is another fantastic place to run wild and explore at will without an official tour guide telling you what to do. And finally, the kids will probably enjoy the beach at Tulum much more than they will the ruins themselves. Arrive early, run around the ruins, and then spend a couple of hours at the beach.

Mexicos Mayan Riviera Day Tours Xel Ha

Floating at Xel Ha. Photo Credit: Tanya Koob

Four – Pay attention to the details when booking an official tour. How long will the tour be? Most day tours last a minimum of 8 hours (which is really long for small children). Will there be opportunities for snack breaks and lunch or should you bring some snacks with you for the kids? Will there be a guided tour or will you be able to explore on your own? Will there be bathrooms in the area or places to buy food?

Five – Book private tours whenever possible. A family at our resort skipped the official tour company we were using and used a transfer company instead to just set up transportation to the places they wanted to visit. They had a private van, got to explore freely on their own, and had their whole day planned around their children’s needs. We learned a lot from this family and will be following their example next time we return to the Mayan Riviera. If this ends up being too expensive for your family, hook up with another family you meet at your resort and go together. In the end, it will be much more affordable than a guided tour.

Six – Do your research and find most affordable tour. Not all tours are equally priced so don’t just walk up to the tour desk at your resort and sign up for the first tour to Tulum or Coba. Check the Internet before you go, look at companies that offer transfers (much cheaper than companies offering guided tours,) and investigate local companies that might be more affordable. Trip Advisor can be a great place to find information as well and to get reviews before you sign up with some strange tour company.

Seven – Know what to expect from popular tours and tourist sites in advance. For example there are no bathrooms inside the ruins of Tulum or Coba and I imagine it’s the same for other historical sites so pack wet wipes and a change of clothes in case of emergency. Likewise, there are also no changeroom facilities at many beaches. Imagine our surprise when we got to the beach at Tulum and realized that there were no bathrooms or change rooms inside the ruins. Unless you want to change behind a towel, wear your suit under your clothes! We also discovered GoPro cameras are considered to be “professional video cameras” and you will be charged extra to bring them into tourist sites.

Mexicos Mayan Riviera Day Tours Floating at Xel Ha

Floating through the mangroves in Xel Ha. Photo Credit: Tanya Koob

Eight – Skip the taxi and take the public Colectivos. This van service offers transportation up and down the main highway from Cancun to Tulum. You’ll share a ride with locals and tourists alike for a fraction of the cost of a taxi. More information on Colectivos can be found here at www.travelyucatan.com/collectivo. Note, they will not take you off the highway to a beach or exact location. If you want to visit a beach at Akumal for example, you will have to catch a taxi or walk once you arrive at the town and get dropped off on the highway.

Nine – Go early when visiting popular tourist sites. If you haven’t arrived at the ruins of Tulum in time for the gates opening for the day, you are too late. Most tourist sites are unbearably crowded by 10:30am so go early and leave by noon at the very latest to beat the heat.

Ten – Research family theme parks carefully. The theme parks of Xel-Ha, Xcaret, and Xplor (among others) are a lot of fun if planned out and if done with the right age of children. Many of these parks are best suited for older children and teens.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *