探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

站在凉爽,宽敞,光线昏暗的砖墙蜂箱窑中 Medalta Potteries看着我七岁的女儿抬起脖子看向弯曲的天花板的顶部,很难想象同一空间从地板到天花板,从墙壁到墙壁都挤满了成百上千个粘土物体,并不断地烘烤。高温。

但是,这种圆顶状的窑和其他类似的窑以及第二次世界大战后在Medalta投入使用的隧道窑实际上在1916年至1954年之间确实产生了数百万件陶瓷。在塑料世界中,陶瓷是日常生活必不可少的,在此期间,梅迪辛哈特的工厂主导了加拿大西部的粘土产品市场-有时生产的粘土产品占加拿大制造的所有粘土产品的一半以上。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

向上,向上,向上…在无浆砖蜂箱窑内。 这种窑在北美相对罕见。

梅迪辛哈特的历史粘土区是一个小城市,位于亚伯达省的东南角,距卡尔加里约2 1/2小时路程。 正是这条铁路的临近,加上沿着萨斯喀彻温省南部河道的当地天然粘土床以及来自当地气床的大量廉价天然气(适合于持续加热高温窑),使梅迪辛哈特在粘土产品生产商。 以前是许多公司的故乡,生产从stone器到精美的瓷器再到下水道,砖头和厕所的各种产品,这个历史悠久的地区占地150英亩,令人着迷。 该地点由博物馆固定,该博物馆位于Medalta Stoneware Ltd的旧工厂内。

我的丈夫在The Hat(当地人亲切的称呼)中长大,他的母亲Jane MacKay是一位陶瓷艺术家,并且是Medalta的长期志愿者。 然而,由于日程安排冲突和普遍的懒惰(主要是在假日旅行期间暴饮暴食引起的)…2017年复活节标志着我们一家人的 第一次访问 到Medalta。 事实证明,我不知道。 我不知道梅达塔是谁 so 大, so 专业呈现和 so 迷人!



在我岳母的专家指导下,我们参观了大型工厂,并学到了很多关于陶瓷的知识,以及有关陶瓷的信息,以及在梅迪辛哈特的红土鼎盛时期如何,何地以及为何生产这些陶瓷。 更有趣的是,我们了解了在那里工作的人……还有一些没有的人。 例如,我们发现,在1930年代的大萧条时期,只要他们在搬迁前搬出房屋,就可以让无家可归的人骑在铁轨上睡觉(当然不用时!),以躲避草原严冬的夜晚。早班开始工作。 而且,在许多行业中,女性早于她们在业界受到欢迎,因为她们较小的手和灵活的手指使她们能够出色地完成诸如附接杯子把手等挑剔的工作,因此在工厂中担任了一些选择职位。

我们发现Medalta生产了一些非常著名的陶器系列。 例如,如果您有幸在一天之内回到加拿大国家铁路公司或加拿大太平洋铁路公司体验白手套服务,那么您将可以享受Medalta生产的餐具上的餐点。 如果您在加拿大太平洋地区的标志性酒店之一就餐,也有同样的故事。 可以看到Medalta多年来创造的许多产品,尤其是作为 Tony Schlater系列。 这个庞大的陶瓷收藏品,仅包括Medalta生产的物品,在过去的五年中被艾伯塔省的农民和牧场主聚积。 其中有些作品很漂亮,有些是标志性的,有些是残酷的商业广告,有些则完全古怪。 勋章经历了 许多 多年来产品的演变,试图跟上不断变化的市场需求。

因为一张图片价值一千个字,所以快速浏览一下该网站吧……

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

这座窑炉的残渣在Medalta陶器的入口处向您致意,于2010年从铺设于1960年代的混凝土地板下面挖出。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

当您的娜娜(Nana)成为您的导游时,您最好注意一下! 孩子们可以在前台进行寻宝游戏。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

在蜂箱窑内陈列Medalta奶油搅拌,缸和水冷却器。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

通过唯一的门离开窑炉; 每次射击之前,泥瓦匠会完全将其砌成砖。 较小的拱门是燃气火焰燃烧的地方。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

携手阿尔伯塔省的历史。 这些窑用当地生产的砖制成。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

多年来在Medalta生产的许多餐具系列之一,现在在博物馆展出。 虽然对砖块非常好,但是当地的粘土被发现不适合制作陶器; 来自萨斯喀彻温省的高品质粘土由铁路进口。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

旧的影片片段显示了工厂是如何从粘稠的天然粘土开始为家庭和工业生产高功能部件的。 提示:有很多步骤!

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

前往老工厂,看看那里发生了什么混乱的事情。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

旧工厂大部分时间就像Medalta工作停止时一样,这比清理过的卫生版本要有趣得多。 一些玩意的功能是显而易见的; 其他人需要一些想象力!

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

单班,单日和单年生产的产品数量惊人。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

正如在Medalta的Turning Room中的这些展示所描述的那样,在塑料偷走一些雷声之前,陶瓷在家庭和工业中有无数用途。 在这里将工厂的同名和可收藏的stone器罐压制成形-您可以在照片的左后角看到用于制造罐的设备。

探索历史悠久的克莱区Medalta Potteries,Medicine Hat AB(Family Fun Canada)

了解我们的历史:放大的图像和整个博物馆的展览在将前艾伯塔人的生活和时代带入当代的过程中发挥了巨大作用。

Medalta不仅仅是一个仅展示过去文物的静态博物馆,现在还是一个活跃的工作室和工作室,可为 常驻陶瓷艺术家教育计划 用于公共和画廊空间,供本地艺术家和巡回展览使用。 根据一天的不同,您可能会看到艺术家在工作,或者有机会注册动手计划–我建议您检查一下 Medalta的活动日历 提前了解您打算去的地方。 星期四要去梅迪辛哈特吗? 不要错过Medalta的每周(全年)农民和艺术家市场。 无需付费即可进入市场,这里有供应商,现场音乐表演,现金酒吧和许多现成的食品,您可以在这里购买到自己吃的晚餐! 想要拿起Medalta陶器吗? 礼品店出售仍由博物馆收藏的一些原始设备制成的陶瓷艺术家手工制作的复制品。

下次您去梅迪辛哈特地区时(或者您可以很轻松地从卡尔加里进行一日游),请Medalta Potteries挥舞一下,使您将英迪梅特哈特变成加拿大人工业中心。 如果碰巧碰到我孩子的娜娜,请说“嗨!” 从我们这里!

从29月XNUMX日开始,Medalta主办 我是西方人。 这次展览有“七位精心挑选的艺术家,以他们对牛仔和西方流派的独特诠释,对我们眼中的人的形象进行解构,重新情境化和现代化,并使其与时俱进”。 我是西方人将于30年2017月XNUMX日在Medalta举行。

The Alberta Industry That Clay Built: Exploring Medalta Potteries in Medicine Hat’s Historic Clay District

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Standing inside the cool, spacious and dimly lit brick-walled beehive kiln at Medalta Potteries, watching my seven year old daughter crane her neck to see to the top of the curved ceiling, it’s hard to imagine the same space crammed from floor to ceiling and wall to wall with hundreds to thousands of clay objects stacked in layers and baking in intensely hot temperatures.

But this dome-shaped kiln and several others like it – along with the tunnel kiln that was put into use at Medalta after World War II – did, in fact, bring into being millions of pieces of ceramics between 1916 and 1954. In a pre-plastics world, ceramics were indispensable to daily life and, during this time, factories in Medicine Hat dominated the Western Canadian clay products market – at times producing more than half of all the clay products made in Canada.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Looking up, up, up… inside the mortarless brick beehive kiln. Such kilns are relatively rare in North America.

The Historic Clay District in Medicine Hat – a smallish city located in the southeast corner of Alberta, about 2 1/2 hours from Calgary – is situated adjacent to the railway tracks; it was the proximity of this railway, together with local natural clay beds along the South Saskatchewan River and abundant, inexpensive natural gas from local gas beds (suitable for firing the kilns with consistent high heat), that allowed Medicine Hat to rise to prominence as a clay products producer. As former home to a number of different companies producing everything from stoneware to fine china to sewer pipes, bricks and toilets, this historic district is 150 acres of fascinating industrial detritus. The site is anchored by the museum, which is housed within the old factory of Medalta Stoneware Ltd.

My husband grew up in The Hat (as it is affectionately known to locals) and his mum, Jane MacKay, is a ceramic artist and a long-time volunteer at Medalta. And yet, due to scheduling conflicts and general laziness (mostly brought on by overeating during holiday visits)… Easter 2017 marked our family’s first visit to Medalta. And it turns out that I had no idea. I had no idea Medalta is so big, so professionally presented and so fascinating!



Under the expert guidance of my mother-in-law, we toured the massive facility and learned more than we thought possible about ceramics, and how, where and why they were produced during Medicine Hat’s clay heyday. Even more interestingly, we learned about the people who worked there… and some who didn’t. For example, we discovered that during the Great Depression of the 1930’s, homeless folks who rode the rails were allowed to sleep in the kilns (when not in use of course!) to escape the prairie’s harsh winter nights, provided they vacated the premises before the morning shift started work. And also that – earlier than they were welcomed in many industries – women held some choice positions in the factories, because their smaller hands and nimble fingers made them excellent at finicky work like attaching mug handles.

We discovered that some very famous pottery lines were produced at Medalta. For example, if you were lucky enough to experience white glove service on the Canadian National or Canadian Pacific railways ‘back in the day’, you would have enjoyed your meals on tableware produced at Medalta. Same story if you were dining at one of the iconic Canadian Pacific hotels. Many of the products that Medalta created over the years can be viewed, particularly as part of the Tony Schlater Collection. This enormous ceramics collection, including only Medalta-produced items, was amassed over the course of five decades by the Alberta farmer and rancher. Some of the pieces are beautiful, some iconic, some crassly commercial and a few are downright quirky. Medalta went through many product evolutions over the years, trying to keep up with changing market demand.

Because a picture is worth a thousand words, come along on a quick photographic tour of the site…

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

The remnants of this kiln, which greets you at the entrance to Medalta Potteries, were excavated in 2010 from beneath a concrete floor that was laid in the 1960’s.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

When your Nana is your tour guide, you’d better pay attention! Kids can pick up a scavenger hunt at the front desk.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Collection of Medalta butter churns, crocks and water coolers on display inside the beehive kiln.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Exiting the kiln through the only door; it would be entirely bricked up by masons prior to each firing. The smaller archways are where the gas-fired flames would burn.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Hands on with Alberta history. The kilns were made using locally produced bricks.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

One of the many tableware lines produced at Medalta over the years and now on display in the museum. While excellent for bricks, the local clay was found to be unsuitable for producing pottery; higher quality clay was imported by rail from Saskatchewan.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Old film footage shows how the factory produced highly functional pieces for home and industry, starting with goopy natural clay. Hint: there were a lot of steps!

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Heading into the Old Factory to see where the messy stuff happened.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

The Old Factory has for the most part been left just as it was when work ceased at Medalta, which is far more interesting than a cleaned up, sanitized version would have been. The functions of some of the contraptions are obvious; others require some imagination!

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

The sheer quantity of product produced in a single shift, single day and single year is mind-boggling.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Before plastics stole some of their thunder, ceramics had innumerable home and industrial uses, as described by these displays in Medalta’s Turning Room. This is where the factory’s eponymous and collectable stoneware crocks were pressed into shape – you can see the equipment used to make the crocks in the back left corner of the photo.

Exploring Medalta Potteries in the Historic Clay District, Medicine Hat AB (Family Fun Canada)

Understanding our history: enlarged images and exhibits throughout the museum do a great job of bringing the life and times of former Albertans to life for current generations.

Far from being a static museum that simply exhibits relics of the past, Medalta is now also an active studio and workshop complex, providing creative space for resident ceramics artistseducational programs for the public and gallery space for local artists and traveling exhibitions. Depending on the day, you may see artists at work or have the opportunity to sign up for hands-on program – I’d recommend checking Medalta’s Events Calendar in advance to see what’s on when you plan to visit. Going to be in Medicine Hat on a Thursday? Don’t miss Medalta’s weekly (year-round) farmers and artists market. There’s no charge to get in and the market features vendors, live music, a cash bar and lots of ready to eat food you buy to eat your supper on site! Want to get your hands on some Medalta crockery? The gift shop sells replica ware handmade by ceramic artists using some of the original equipment still housed in the museum.

The next time you’re in the Medicine Hat area (or you could pretty easily make a day trip of it from Calgary), swing by Medalta Potteries for a glimpse into the ingenuity, creativity and sweat equity that went into making Medicine Hat a Canadian industrial hub. And if you happen to run into my kids’ Nana, say “Hi!” from us!

Beginning June 29th, Medalta hosts I Am Western. This exhibit has “seven hand picked artists presenting their unique interpretations of the cowboy and western genre, deconstructing, re-contextualizing, and modernizing the image of who we are with an eye and integrity to current realities”. I Am Western will be at Medalta through September 30th, 2017.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *