大多数加拿大人都熟悉在世界着名的佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)发现的标志性灯塔,风景如画的渔村和美丽的花岗岩海岸线。 它是东海岸顶级的加拿大景点之一,旅游观光信息中心于5月至10月期间为22,781宾客提供2016服务。 考虑到Peggy's Cove的人口在640附近,这是很多夏季公司!

佩吉的小海湾新斯科舍

如果你和孩子一起去,你知道要穿坚固的鞋子(不是拖鞋),期望有风的条件(我提到这是世界的边缘吗?),并坚持发布的安全防范措施。 曾经的Sou'wester餐厅位于顶峰之上,提供良好的家常菜,一家礼品店以及显而易见的美景。 这是一个与孩子们一起休息的好地方,孩子们毫无疑问还会喜欢大型龙虾缸,这些龙虾缸通常装在篮筐里,并与活动组队。 喝着茶和享受一些姜饼沙漠看龙虾听起来像是一个很好的方式来开始一个加息的日子。

话虽如此,除了让佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)屏住呼吸,还有其他奇妙的冒险等待着您和您在Chebucto半岛上活跃的家庭。 很少有其他人因其自然之美而引人注目。 这些都不是在那里你会被人们蜂拥的地方; 黑蝇,是的,所以要做好准备。 这些都是自然的地方充满了沉默,飞禽,走兽,最好的为孩子们的 - 空间探索。

在弯曲的海岸开车去米库岛提供了自己的放松的魅力。 照片–乔安妮·埃利斯(Joanne Ellis)

MiCou的岛 是一个22英亩的潮汐岛,在格兰黑文是整个家庭最喜欢的目的地。 只有在低潮时才可以轻松到达,所以请检查 潮汐表 在您访问之前了解您何时可以穿过沙洲到公共海滩。 要到达MiCou's(发音为Ma-Koos),因为它在当地是已知的,只需在Indian Point Road关闭Peggy's Cove的路线HWY 333即可。 留在它上面,直到你到达一个砾石的肩膀,俯瞰大海和前面的岛屿。 10分钟开车到MiCou离开HWY是自己放松和精彩的。 你会通过停泊在大海中的船只,经过时间和天气测试的美丽的小屋和有趣的家园,并通过曲折的沿海道路,你会沿着海岸线看到一个受保护的荒野空间,两个空荡荡的海滩。 这里没有饼干切割的社区,只有咸味的空气,风,和浪花。

在Micou岛的沙洲 - 在Nova Scotia的Chebucto半岛上与孩子们一起探索

为了孩子们,行行出到沙洲交叉总是会见了兴奋和看作是一个野外探险。 照片 - 乔安妮埃利斯

停在沙砾的肩膀上,走过岸边,前往最右边的沙洲。 岩石可以很大,海藻覆盖,所以需要稳定的手。 孩子们喜欢我们背上的冒险,零食和沙滩装备,如果我们对潮汐进行了一些误算,我们会穿上雨靴。 这就像是一次传奇冒险,一旦成功越过并将它带到海滩的安全和干燥,那里有无尽的自然探索和乐趣等待的海滩,他们会高兴地尖叫。 无论您是喜欢徒步旅行的岛屿,还是两条小路(不经常维护),游泳或在沙滩上玩耍都有很多事情可以占据所有年龄段。

 

Tic Tac Toe in the Sand  - 在新斯科舍Chebucto半岛与孩子探索

没有足够的时间来进行所有的沙滩娱乐和井字游戏。 照片–乔安妮·埃利斯(Joanne Ellis)

 

该岛由联合管理 新斯科舍省自然资源部 圣玛格丽特湾管理协会。 鼓励每个人都尊重荒野空间,并在发现它时留下。 这是一个自然的皮划艇运动场,奇怪的狗步行者和当地人在一段安静的时间里逃走。 Tic-tac-toe在沙滩上,在水中寻找蜗牛,想知道我们离那些呱呱叫的牛蛙有多近,只是我们可以在Micou的两个小时内轻松过关的几种方法。 当然,所需的跳岩也起到了作用,并寻找珍宝拖回车内 - 各种炮弹,最喜欢的形状的岩石等等。 我的后座充满了他们。 在我们最近的一次访问中,我们很幸运地看到两只鹿在俯瞰大海的草坪上咀嚼。 他们愉快地享受着新鲜的草地,让我们感觉就像我们以特殊的方式完成了我们的访问。

对于更长的徒步旅行,请检查 虚张声势荒野远足径 以及旧圣玛格丽特湾路的远足都可以在Chebucto半岛提供偏远荒野游览。

探索自然世界,无需关心,或人群是我们的孩子幸福的秘诀。 与新斯科舍Chebucto半岛上的孩子探索

探索自然世界,没有照顾,或人群的幸福为我们的孩子的食谱。 照片 - 乔安妮埃利斯

 

旧圣玛格丽特湾路的步行指南!

旧圣玛格丽特湾路的步行指南

想要了解更多关于该地区的信息? 本书的第二版 旧圣玛格丽特湾路的步行指南 由2017发布 五桥荒野遗产信托。 它描述了兴趣点,提供全彩照片,地图和GPS坐标,穿过Chebucto半岛延伸穿过荒野和保护区的这条超过200年的老道路。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joanne Ellis的故事

 

 

Joanne Ellis是一位自豪的海上妈妈,热爱户外活动并与孩子分享。 她自由撰稿人作为沟通顾问,同时努力为她的书籍和花园挤压时间。

Peggy’s Cove and More! Exploring With Kids on Nova Scotia’s Chebucto Peninsula

Most Canadians are familiar with the iconic lighthouse, picturesque fishing village and beautiful granite coastline found at the world-famous Peggy’s Cove. It is one of the top Canadian attractions on the East Coast and the Tourism Visitor Information Centre served 22,781 guests from May – October 2016. Considering the population of Peggy’s Cove is around 640, that’s a lot of summer company!

Peggy's Cove Nova Scotia

If you go with children, you know to wear sturdy footwear (not flip flops), expect windy conditions (I mentioned it is the edge of the world right?) and adhere to the safety precautions posted. The ever present Sou’wester Restaurant sits atop a high point and offers good, home cooking, a gift shop and obviously, those fantastic views. It’s a great place to rest with kids who will no doubt also enjoy the large lobster tank, usually filled to the rim and teaming with activity. Watching lobster while drinking tea and enjoying some gingerbread desert sounds like a fine way to start a hike day to me.

That being said, there are other wondrous adventures that await you and your active family on the Chebucto Peninsula aside from the breath taking Peggy’s Cove. There are few others that stand out for their natural beauty. These are not places where you’ll be swarmed by people; black flies, yes, so come prepared. These are natural places full of silence, birds and animals and best of all for kids – space to explore.

The curvy coastal drive out to Micou’s Island offers its own relaxing charms. Photo – Joanne Ellis

MiCou’s Island is a 22-acre tidal island, in Glen Haven is a favourite destination for the whole family. It is accessible easily on foot only at low tides, so check the tide schedule ahead of your visit to know when you can cross the sandbar to the public beach. To get to MiCou’s (pronounced Ma-Koos), as it is known locally, just turn off HWY 333, the route out to Peggy’s Cove, on the Indian Point Road. Stay on it until you reach a gravel shoulder overlooking the ocean and the Island just ahead. The 10-minute drive to MiCou’s off the HWY is relaxing and wonderful in its own right. You’ll pass moored boats bobbing in the ocean, gorgeous cottages and interesting homes that have stood the test of time and weather, and through the twisty, coastal road you’ll end up along the shoreline looking out at a protected wilderness space with two wide empty beaches. No cookie cutter neighbourhoods here, just salty air, wind, and lapping waves.

On the Sandbar of Micou's Island -Exploring With Kids on Nova Scotia's Chebucto Peninsula

To the kids, trekking out to the sandbar crossing is always met with excitement and seen as a wild adventure. Photo – Joanne Ellis

Park on the gravel shoulder and walk over the bank to make your way to the sandbar on the far right. The rocks can be very large and seaweed covered, so steady hands for little ones are needed. The kids love this adventure, snacks and beach gear on our backs, and we wear rain boots if we’ve miscalculated the tides a bit. It’s like a portaging adventure and they squeal with delight once they’ve successfully crossed and made it to the safety and dryness of the beach where an endless supply of nature exploring and fun awaits. Whether you like to hike the Island, there are two trails (not regularly maintained), swim or play on the beach there are plenty of things to occupy all ages.

 

Tic Tac Toe in the Sand - Exploring With Kids on Nova Scotia's Chebucto Peninsula

There is never enough time for all the sand fun and tic-tac-toe games. Photo – Joanne Ellis

 

The Island is managed jointly by the Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources and the St. Margaret’s Bay Stewardship Association. Everyone is encouraged to treat the wilderness space with respect and leave it as you found it. It is a natural play land for kayakers, the odd dog walker and locals getting away for some quiet time. Tic-tac-toe in the sand, looking for snails in the water and wondering how close we are to those croaking bullfrogs are just a few ways we can easily pass two hours at Micou’s. Of course, the required rock skipping also comes into play as well as searching for treasures to drag back to the car – various shells, favourite shaped rocks etc.; my backseat is full of them. On our latest visit, we were lucky enough to see two deer munching away on a lawn that overlooks the ocean. They were happily enjoying the fresh grass and left us all feeling like we’d finished our visit in a special way.

For longer treks, check out the Bluff Wilderness Hiking Trail and the hikes of the Old St. Margaret’s Bay Road, both offer remote wilderness excursions on the Chebucto Peninsula.

Exploring the natural world, without a care, or a crowd is a recipe for happiness for our kids. Exploring With Kids on Nova Scotia's Chebucto Peninsula

Exploring the natural world, without a care, or a crowd is a recipe for happiness for our kids. Photo – Joanne Ellis

 

A Walking Guide to the Old St. Margaret’s Bay Road!

A Walking Guide to the Old St. Margaret’s Bay Road

Want to read more about the region? A second edition of the book A Walking Guide to the Old St. Margaret’s Bay Road was released in 2017 by the Five Bridges Wilderness Heritage Trust. It describes points-of-interest, offers full-colour photos, maps and GPS coordinates to landmarks across this more than 200- year-old road that stretches across the Chebucto Peninsula through the wilderness and protected areas.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Story By Joanne Ellis

 

 

Joanne Ellis is a proud Maritime Mom who loves the outdoors and sharing it with her children. She freelances as a communications consultant while trying to squeeze in time for her books and gardens.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. July 25, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *