在英国康沃尔郡Newquay的Headland酒店和水疗中心享受家庭乐趣

The Headland Hotel and Spa从Helen Earley的Pentire Headland Summer 2017拍摄

纽基Headland酒店/图片: 海伦·Earley

专注于康沃尔传统,“五泡”水疗......以及对犬类客人的热情 岬角酒店和水疗中心 康沃尔郡的纽基(Newquay)是一个维多利亚时代的海滨地标,英国西南部的游客不应错过。 但是,尽管它的壮丽,The Headland对于有小孩的家庭来说也是一个完全热情的环境,在海滩上和海滩附近都有很多活动。 以下是与您的家人一起参观The Headland Hotel酒店的几个理由,从我最喜欢的地方开始:好莱坞连接!

The Headland酒店是The Witches Photo的拍摄地点:Headland hotel Steggles

英国康沃尔郡纽基壮丽的Headland Hotel and Spa /照片:Steggles

拍摄'鬼神'的位置

在1990中,The Headland是Nicolas Roeg电影中的明星 巫婆, 基于Roald Dahl的书。 头女巫是当时正在和杰克尼科尔森约会的安吉利卡休斯顿饰演的。 根据客人信息资料夹中的信息传单,尼科尔森将每晚致电休斯顿,并向酒店发送大量玫瑰花束。


酒店经理 巫婆 由Rowan Atkinson扮演,我们大多数人最熟悉的是憨豆先生。 在拍摄期间,他也住在酒店,据报道,他有一天晚上在浴缸里睡着了,房间和地板淹没了! 哦,先生 !

但不仅像巫婆那样喜欢岬角......

照片来源:Headland Hotel / Steggles

照片:Headland酒店

友好的鬼怪

The Headland Hotel酒店在20世纪之交开业,是一个豪华的海滨度假胜地,在第二次世界大战期间被征用为军队医院时只有40岁。 这个宏伟的酒店明亮而多风的位置,一定是苦乐参半的苦乐参半的地方......所以它已成为鬼魂的好地方。

奇怪的是,这里所有的鬼魂都是善良的女佣和护士 - 据说,其中一些只能被儿童看到! 据Headland的工作人员称,孩子们报告看到一位女士“不穿门走过卧室,穿着一件没有手臂的长长的黑色大衣,头上戴着一顶有趣的小白帽子”。 最近还有一位女仆在穿过女士化妆间走过,那里曾经是一扇门。

但鬼魂不会让客人离开。 在夏季,游客仍然涌向酒店享受海边奢华,远离纽基本身疯狂的人群。 在较短的冬季,The Headland Hotel酒店为Newquay居民提供宁静的休闲之地,他们可以前往餐厅,酒吧或休息室享用传统的康沃尔奶油茶或晚间饮品。

Headland酒店掩体,海边景观和室外游泳池。 Helen Earley的照片

在泳池里玩耍,在沙坑里撑着风,在窗外欣赏风景/照片: 海伦·Earley

一切看起来令人惊叹的玉兰灯

岬角不仅是一个可以留下来的地方,它还是你与之发展关系的地方之一,多年来许多客人和工作人员与岬角形成了特殊联系。

在一楼的门厅,有一个令人印象深刻的酒店复制品,由“Sims先生,酒店客人”建造。 在酒店的前门有一个明显的十字架描绘岬角的明信片,上面写着“感谢Andy Coe,我们的维护工头,多年来收集了这些明信片。”

Headland Hotel LEGO和明信片。 Helen Earley的照片

客人和工作人员与Headland / Photo建立特殊联系: 海伦·Earley

我还与The Headland有特殊联系。 十年前,我的姐夫在那里结婚了。 这是我对我未婚丈夫家庭的第一次介绍:在Headland着名的舞厅里跳舞过夜(舞厅的枫木地板由2,500螺旋弹簧支撑,可以拧紧或松开以调节弹跳量。)

岬角宴会厅

不是我的姐夫的婚礼:在1930的照片:Headland酒店的Headland酒店

几年后,我自己的婚礼结束后,我和丈夫一起偷偷溜到了岬角度过了一个蜜月之夜。 早晨,我们走到历史悠久的地方 胡尔的小屋,一座修复过的14世纪渔民的了望台,当天下午,在露台餐厅享用传统的康沃尔奶油茶。 即使在三月,强烈的蓝色康沃尔阳光激发了如此多的艺术家,透过窗户流淌,将我的闪亮新婚结合带反射回来。 康沃尔郡的一切都看起来更美好。

The Headland Hotel是2016西南婚礼大奖的最佳康沃尔婚礼场地的入围者。 即使你已经和孩子结婚了,像我一样,你只是喜欢窥探其他人的婚礼照片,The Headland的网站有很多眼睛糖果 请点击此处。!

专业服务和鸡尾酒...为孩子们!

你会认为像这样的酒店会是一个“不孩子”的区域,但是当我们今年夏天带着两个孩子去拜访时,我们发现了一种老式的服务意识,这对于有孩子的家庭来说是完美的。

Headland hotel Newquay酒店的儿童房内的双层床由Helen Earley拍摄

家庭活动室配有智能墨菲风格的双层床/图片: 海伦·Earley

家庭间设有巧妙的双层床,可折叠在墙外,墨菲风格,室外设有大型室外游乐场和室外游泳池。 两者距离Fistral Beach海滩仅有几步之遥,那里拥有沙滩,阳光和众多餐饮场所,包括Rick Stein着名的鱼类餐厅, 的Fistral.

回到酒店,The 2 AA Rosette Samphire餐厅 提供一流的用餐体验。 我女儿最喜欢的菜是来自通心粉和芝士,来自孩子们的菜单中的Cornish Yarg,但当我们解释说Yarg是一种用荨麻包裹的奶酪时,她几乎改变了主意!

第二天早上,有一个独特的儿童活动 - 酒店酒吧的儿童混合课程。 让我的孩子酗酒? 也许! 但是,看到我三岁的摇滚鸡尾酒摇摇晃晃它是值得的,因为他准备了他最喜欢的模拟尾巴​​:完美的梨。

Headland酒店鸡尾酒混合和海伦Earley美食照片

混合疗法课程,与Headland酒店的奶奶共进晚餐/照片: 海伦·Earley

“五气泡”SPA和一所冲浪学校

酒店的最新成员是“五泡”级水疗中心,包括康沃尔盐蒸汽房。 在一天的特定时间,父母的监督下,孩子们可以在水疗中心享受。 试试“小小姐“修指甲或修脚。

小修指甲或修脚岬

对待孩子们一个小小的小姐或小狗/照片:Headland酒店

如果您想在入住期间去海滩,那么迷人的冲浪圣地Fistral海滩就在Headland的门口。 如需冲浪,可以尝试Headland的内部冲浪学校, 冲浪保护区 这提供了一些更个性化的服务,即在Fistral其他地方提供的大型集体课程。

董事会在Fistral海滩纽基

与...冲浪 冲浪保护区/照片: 海伦·Earley

...最后,特别注意你的潜望

除了欢迎您的加入,The Headland非常友好,甚至可以为您提供一个随时待客的服务,因为当父母和妈妈在餐厅或水疗中心时。 酒店的几个地方有狗的雕像。 仔细看,你会发现有些员工有狗狗主题的领带,别针和围巾。 下面的照片显示了在岬角看起来像什么狗看起来像一个访问国王查尔斯西班牙猎犬专心等待电话响。

岬角酒店的狗

国王查尔斯猎犬协助工作人员接待,而她的主人在餐厅/照片: 海伦·Earley

NEWQUAY的奢华家庭乐趣比您想象的更加密切!

Headland酒店提供96客房和套房以及39自助式小屋,并在淡季(9月至6月)享有特别优惠的价格。 从伦敦前往纽基,您可以驾车一天,或从伦敦帕丁顿车站乘坐康沃尔里维埃拉火车服务 - 这 4-5小时旅程 非常漂亮。 纽基机场 也可以从英格兰和爱尔兰的许多主要中心,包括伦敦盖特威克,利兹布拉德福德,伯明翰和都柏林。

海伦Earley是一位哈利法克斯的作家。 她是Headland酒店的客人。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Family Fun at the Headland Hotel and Spa in Newquay, Cornwall UK

The Headland Hotel and Spa taken from Pentire Headland Summer 2017 by Helen Earley

The Headland hotel Newquay/Photo: Helen Earley

A focus on Cornish tradition, a “five bubble” spa… and a passion for its canine guests makes The Headland Hotel and Spa in Newquay, Cornwall, a Victorian seaside landmark that no visitor to South West England should miss. But despite its grandeur, The Headland is also an entirely welcoming environment for families with young children, with plenty to do on and off the beach. Here are a few reasons to visit The Headland Hotel with your family, starting with my favourite: a Hollywood connection!

The Headland hotel was the filming location of The Witches Photo credit: Headland hotel Steggles

The magnificent Headland Hotel and Spa in Newquay, Cornwall UK/Photo: Steggles

FILMING LOCATION OF ‘THE WITCHES’

In 1990, The Headland was the star of the show in Nicolas Roeg’s film The Witches, based on the book by Roald Dahl. The head witch was played by Angelica Houston, who was dating Jack Nicholson at the time. According to an information leaflet in the guest information binder, Nicholson would phone Houston every night, and send enormous bouquets of roses to the hotel.

The hotel manager in The Witches was played by Rowan Atkinson, who most of us most know as Mr Bean. During the filming, he stayed at the hotel too, and it’s reported that one night he fell asleep in the bath, flooding the room and the floor below! Oh, Mr Bean!

But it’s not only witches that like the Headland…

Photo credit: Headland Hotel/Steggles

Photo: Headland Hotel

FRIENDLY GHOSTS

Opened at the turn of the 20th century as a luxurious seaside escape, The Headland Hotel was only 40  years old when it was requisitioned as a military hospital during the second world war. A bright and windy location, the grand hotel must have been a bittersweet place to convalesce…and so it has become a great place for ghosts.

Strangely, all the ghosts here are kind maids and nurses – and some of them, it is said, can only be seen by children! According to the staff at the Headland, children have reported seeing a lady who “walked through their bedroom without using doors, wearing a long dark coat without arms and a funny small white hat on her head”. There has also been a recent sighting of a maid, walking through the Ladies’ Powder Room, in a spot where there used to be a door.

But the ghosts don’t keep guests away. In the summertime, visitors still flock to the hotel for a bit of seaside luxury, far from the maddening crowds of Newquay itself.  And in the shorter winter days, The Headland Hotel provides a peaceful escape for Newquay residents who stop in to the restaurant, bar or lounge for a traditional Cornish cream tea, or an evening drink.

Headland Hotel bunkers, seaside view and outdoor pool. Photos by Helen Earley

Fun in the pool, bracing the wind in the bunkers, the view outside our window/Photo: Helen Earley

EVERYTHING LOOKS AMAZING IN CORNISH LIGHT

The Headland isn’t just a place to stay, it’s one of those places with which you develop a relationship, and many guests and staff have formed a special connection to the Headland over the years.

In first floor foyer, there is an impressive replica of the hotel built in LEGO, constructed by “Mr Sims, a hotel guest”. At the hotel’s front door there is a framed display of  postcards depicting the Headland through the decade, with an inscription that reads “with thanks to Andy Coe, our Maintenance Foreman, who has collected these postcards over many years.”

Headland Hotel LEGO and postcards. Photos by Helen Earley

Guests and staff form special connections with the Headland/Photo: Helen Earley

I also have a special connection with The Headland. A decade ago, my brother-in-law was married there. This was my first introduction to my would-be husband’s family: dancing the night away in the Headland’s famous ballroom floor (the ballroom’s maple floorboards are supported by 2,500 coil springs that can  be tightened or loosened to adjust the amount of bounce.)

Headland Ballroom

Not my brother-in-law’s wedding: The Headland Hotel in the 1930’s/Photo: The Headland Hotel

After my own wedding a few years later, my husband and I snuck away to the Headland for one honeymoon night. In the morning, we walked to the historic Huer’s Hut, a restored 14th-century fisherman’s lookout, and that afternoon, enjoyed a traditional Cornish cream tea in the Terrace Restaurant. Even in March, the intense blue Cornish sunlight that inspires so many artists, streamed through the windows, sending reflections off my shiny new wedding band. Everything looks better in Cornish light.

The Headland Hotel was a finalist in the 2016 South West Wedding Awards for Best Cornwall Wedding Venue. Even if you’re already married with kids, and like me, you just love snooping at other people’s wedding photos, The Headland’s website has tons of eye-candy here!

PEDICURES AND COCKTAILS…FOR THE KIDS!

You would think that a hotel like this would be a “no kids” zone, but when we visited with our two children this summer, we discovered an old-fashioned sense of service that makes it perfect for families with children.

Bunk beds in kids room at the Headland hotel Newquay photo by Helen Earley

Smart Murphy-style bunk beds in the family room/Photo: Helen Earley

The family rooms have clever bunk beds that fold out of the wall, Murphy-style, and outside, there is a large outdoor playground and an outdoor pool. Both are only steps away from Fistral Beach, where you will find sand, sun and plenty of places to eat and drink, including Rick Stein’s famous fish n’ chip restaurant,  Fistral.

Back at the hotel, The 2 AA Rosette Samphire Restaurant offers a first-class dining experience. My daughter’s favourite dish was from the Macaroni and Cheese with Cornish Yarg from the kids’ menu, although she nearly changed her mind when we explained that Yarg is a type of cheese wrapped in nettles!

The next morning, there was a unique children’s activity –  a Kids’ Mixology course at the hotel bar. Grooming my children toward alcoholism? Perhaps! But it was worth it to see my three-year-old rock the cocktail shaker, as he prepared his favourite mock-tail: The Perfect Pear.

Headland hotel cocktail mixing and fine dining photo by Helen Earley

Mixology course for kids, dinner with Grandma at the Headland hotel/Photo: Helen Earley

 

A “FIVE-BUBBLE” SPA AND  A SURF SCHOOL

The newest addition to the hotel is the “five bubble” rated spa, including a Cornish salt steam room. Children are welcome in the spa under parents’  supervision at certain times of the day. Try the “Little Miss” manicure or pedicure.

Little Miss Manicure or Pedicure Headland

Treat the kids to a Little Miss mani or pedi/Photo: Headland Hotel

And if you want to hit the beach during your stay, the stunning surf-mecca that is Fistral beach is quite literally on the Headland’s doorstep. For surfing, try the Headland’s in-house surf school, Surf Sanctuary which provides a slightly more personal service that the large group lessons that are offered elsewhere on Fistral.

Boards on Fistral Beach Newquay

Surfing with Surf Sanctuary/Photo: Helen Earley

…AND FINALLY, SPECIAL ATTENTION FOR YOUR POOCH

As well as being welcoming to your tots, The Headland is incredibly dog-friendly, even offering a dog-sitting service, for when Mum and Dad are in the restaurant or spa. There are statues of dogs in several places in the hotel. Look closely, and you will notice that some of the staff have dog-themed ties, pins and scarves. The photo below shows exactly what dog-sitting looks like at the Headland, as a visiting King Charles Spaniel waits attentively for the phone to ring.

Headland hotel dog

A King Charles spaniel assists staff on reception, while her owner is in the restaurant/Photo: Helen Earley

LUXURIOUS FAMILY FUN IN NEWQUAY IS CLOSER THAN YOU THINK!

The Headland offers 96 rooms and suites and 39 self-catering cottages and has particularly good deals in the off-season (September – June). To get to Newquay from London, you can spend a day driving, or take the Cornish Riviera train service from London Paddington station – this 4-5 hour journey is incredibly beautiful. Newquay Airport is also accessible from many major hubs in England and Ireland, including London Gatwick, Leeds Bradford, Birmingham and Dublin.

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer. She was a guest of the Headland Hotel.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *