夏洛特敦,爱德华王子岛历史名城的家庭乐趣

夏洛特敦与孩子们有这么多迷人的海滩上 爱德华王子岛,您很容易忘记,爱德华王子岛(PEI)也是加拿大历史最悠久,风景如画,最容易步行的城市之一。 我们一家人 夏洛特敦,从哈利法克斯(Halifax)到 魁北克的玛格达琳群岛,我们很高兴我们做到了! 以下是我们的主要建议:

夏洛特镇的家庭活动:

探索联邦地点:
省府 是所有事情发生的地方,可以追溯到1864。 由于4年21百万美元的保护项目,该建筑目前已关闭,但与此同时,在这个国家历史遗址的基础上举办了大量有趣的夏季活动。

PEI公园加拿大联邦广场

尽管在省府的保护工作,仍然与加拿大公园有很大关系。

在真正的互动式加拿大公园风格中,家庭有机会在绿屏上穿着古装打扮,而您的照片则由加拿大公园的口译员拍摄。 您的照片可以选择四种背景,并通过电子邮件发送给您! 拍摄完照片后,孩子们可以爬过比生命更大的1864年雕塑。 好玩!

PEI 1864雕塑

联邦广场的1864雕像

见Green Gables的安妮:音乐剧
现在在52nd赛季, 绿山墙的安妮,音乐 已被“吉尼斯世界纪录大全”评选为“运行时间最长的年度音乐剧制作”。 这个节目是任何夏洛特敦游客的必选节目,非常适合孩子们。

绿色山墙的安妮在联邦的地方

看安妮和吉尔伯特坠入爱河
对于更偏离百老汇的体验,请去The Guild Theatre看到备受好评的 安妮和吉尔伯特 在皇后街的小型公会剧院。 我们还没有看过这个惊人的节目,但是我们等不及了。 阅读 旅行顾问评论,你会明白我的意思!

安妮和吉尔伯特在夏洛特敦公会剧院

逛一圈
Charottetown周围的旅游项目包括The 港口河马陆地和海上旅游,并 大蓝色巴士之旅,但是当我们参观时,喜欢徒步探索。 如果您也是您的选择,请寻找这些有用的指南,例如Austin(如下图所示),这些指南为市中心的游客提供指南和小册子。

夏洛特敦雇用学生在夏洛特敦周围骑车游览地图。 太好了!

夏洛特敦雇用学生在夏洛特敦周围骑车游览地图。

去鼠标狩猎
孩子们会喜欢这个 以鼠标为主题的清道夫狩猎! 在爱德华王子岛作家大卫·韦尔的作品“阴影的意义”一书的成功之后,夏洛特敦市在整座城市竖立了9小小的铜像雕像,为孩子们创造了寻宝之旅。 开始寻找所有的东西,或者偶然发生,就像我们一样!

PEI夏洛特敦寻宝游戏-城市埃克哈特(Eckhart)。 您可以在线下载“线索”手册。 照片海伦·厄利

埃克哈特在城市清道夫狩猎:你可以在线下载线索手册。

与夏洛特镇的孩子们一起吃什么:

水王子角落店的龙虾和海鲜
对于美味的新鲜海鲜和一流的服务,请尝试 水王子角落商店,因其位于水和王子街一角的位置而得名。 我们从蒸贻贝开始,然后是1.5磅龙虾晚餐(太新鲜了!)。 我们都品尝了屡获殊荣的鱼杂烩,孩子们吞下了价格合理的儿童面包屑黑线鳕和炸薯条。 工作人员甚至为孩子们演示了一个有趣的龙虾演示。 (您知道雄性龙虾有“硬屑”吗?)

水王子角落店龙虾裴是一个与孩子一起吃饭的好地方。 美味的新鲜龙虾,价格合理的儿童餐。 Helen Earley的照片

夏洛特敦水上王子角落店的家庭娱乐和美味佳肴

Water-Prince Corner Shop很忙,部分原因是它从诸如“ 你必须在这里吃'和 瑞吉斯和凯利。 提示:要求有一张户外桌子,请耐心等待:值得等待!

家庭乐趣在夏洛特敦历史名城

水王子角铺:繁忙而值得期待!

特里的浆果食物卡车
你不能错过 特里的浆果食物卡车 (卡车是亮粉色!)在Water和Great George的角落。

特里的浆果食物卡车。 从粉红色的卡车惊人的食物! 照片:Helen Earley

午餐时间,我们有几杯冰沙,完全神圣 盐爸爸龙虾融化,足以分享。 强烈推荐。 前进,水王子。 特里将成为夏洛特敦的下一件大事! (注意:Terry's Berries仅在夏季开放!)

盐老爹龙虾融化在特里的浆果食物卡车在夏洛特敦PIE摄影海伦Earley

您必须在特里的浆果食品卡车上尝试盐爸爸龙虾融化

牛的冰淇淋
牛的冰淇淋 已被读者文摘评选为加拿大最佳冰淇淋。 在夏洛特敦有两个地点,再加上 奶牛奶油厂 城外提供免费的自助游! 我们建议在Peake's Wharf的位置享受绝佳的海滨氛围。皮克码头的牛奶冰淇淋照片:Helen Earley

要获得真正的PEI风味,请尝试蓝莓冰淇淋或PEI Apple Crisp。 而且,别忘了购买这些有趣(无热量)的Cows T恤和纪念品!

牛奶冰淇淋夏洛特敦阿黛尔和神秘博士

牛奶冰淇淋很有幽默感(但中间一个不是玩笑!)

怪物饭盒
在你回到车上之前,请从袋中装满野生和美妙的糖果 怪物饭盒 在皇后街。 尽管我们的家乡哈利法克斯已经有了一个Freak午餐盒,我的孩子们在这里疯了,并认为这个古怪的糖果店是我们暑假的亮点之一。 孩子不是那么......怪异吗?

疯狂午餐盒夏洛特敦PEI

怪物饭盒

与夏洛特敦的孩子们住在哪里:

罗德夏洛特敦
以前是一家CN酒店, 罗德夏洛特敦 保留了很多原有的魅力。 女王伊丽莎白二世陛下是1990的客人,住在310房间,现在是蜜月套房。 将书放在5th层楼的套房之一,这些套房距离罗德的屋顶花园只有几步之遥,可以欣赏到城市的壮丽景色,或者留在普通房间,其中许多房间保留了原有的装饰艺术特色。

家庭乐趣在夏洛特敦历史名城

罗德夏洛特敦的屋顶花园

我们最喜欢留在罗德夏洛特敦的是最好的服务(谢谢奥利弗!)。

家庭乐趣在夏洛特敦历史名城

历史悠久的罗德夏洛特敦。 女王留在这里(我们也是这样!)

这家历史悠久的酒店的第二大特色是? 令我儿子高兴的是,罗德夏洛特敦酒店就位于夏洛特敦消防局的隔壁!

夏洛特敦消防局美国法国消防车

在夏洛特敦消防局的古董消防车

罗德皇后
如果您不介意驾驶5分钟,那么 罗德皇后 距市中心仅需5分钟车程。 你为什么要呆在那里? 哦,只有105滑水道!

罗德皇后

Rodd版权/照片:Booking.com

记利佐治
夏洛特敦有很多很酷的精品酒店,包括获奖的酒店 记利佐治,是位于市中心的各种客房,套房,“隐居套房”和自炊式公寓。 我们这次旅行不是停留在大乔治城,而是因为我们要在周末保存它,所以我们离开了 经过反复的改良试验, 孩子们!

记利佐治

屡获殊荣的乔治酒店/图片:乔治大酒店Facebook的住宿选择之一

参观PEI时,别忘了花几天的时间探索古朴,宜人,历史悠久且举世瞩目的夏洛特敦城市。 希望我们的建议能给您一些有关在历史名城夏洛特敦的家庭乐趣的想法。

除非另有说明,Helen Earley的所有照片。

谢谢 旅游PEI 他们的 热情好客。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. <span class="notranslate">2020年5月25日</span>

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Family Fun in The Historic City of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Charlottetown with KidsWith so many stunning beaches on Prince Edward Island, it’s easy to forget that PEI also has one of Canada’s most historic, picturesque, and easily walkable cities. Our family made Charlottetown, PEI part of our itinerary on a summer road trip from Halifax to Quebec’s Magdalen Islands, and we’re so glad we did! Here are our top recommendations:

Family Activties in Charlottetown:

Explore Confederation Place:
Province House is where it all happened, way back in 1864. The building is currently closed due to a 4-year, 21 million dollar conservation project, but in the meantime, there are tons of fun summer activities for visitors taking place on the grounds of this National Historic Site.

PEI Parks Canada Confederation Place

Still tons to do with Parks Canada, despite conservation work at Province House.

In true interactive Parks Canada-style, families have the opportunity to dress up in period costume against a green screen, while your photo is taken by a Parks Canada interpreter. Your photos, with a choice of four backgrounds, get emailed to you!  After the photo shoot, kids can clamber through a larger than life 1864 sculpture. Fun!

PEI 1864 Sculpture

The 1864 statue at Confederation Place

See Anne of Green Gables: The Musical
Now in its 52nd season, Anne of Green Gables, The Muscial has made it into The Guinness Book of World Records for the ‘Longest running annual musical theatre production’. This show is a must for any visitor to Charlottetown and great for kids.

Anne of Green Gables at Confederation Place

Watch Anne and Gilbert Fall in Love
For a more off-broadway experience, go to The Guild Theatre to see the highly acclaimed Anne and Gilbert at the smaller Guild Theatre on Queen Street. We haven’t seen this amazing show, but we can’t wait. Read the Trip Advisor Reviews, and you’ll see what I mean!

Anne and Gilbert at the Guild Theatre, Charlottetown

Take a Tour
There are a couple of options for tours around Charottetown including The Harbour Hippo Land and Sea Tour, and the Big Blue Bus Tour, but when we visited, enjoyed exploring by foot. If that’s your choice too, look out for these helpful guides, like Austin (pictured below), who give out directions and brochures to tourists in the city centre.

Charlottetown employs students to cycle around Charlottetown with maps for tourists. Nice!

Charlottetown employs students to cycle around Charlottetown with maps for tourists.

Go Mouse Hunting
Kids will love this mouse-themed scavenger hunt! Following the success of Prince Edward Island author David Weale’s book, The Meaning of Crumbfest, the city of Charlottetown erected 9 tiny little bronze mouse statues across the city, creating a treasure hunt for kids. Embark on a quest to find them all, or happen upon them by accident, like we did!

PEI Charlottetown Scavenger Hunt - Eckhart in the City. You can download a "clue" brochure online. Photo Helen Earley

Eckhart in the City Scavenger Hunt: you can download a clue brochure online.

Where to Eat with Kids in Charlottetown:

Lobster and Seafood at Water-Prince Corner Shop
For delicious fresh seafood and great service, try Water-Prince Corner Shop, named for its location at the corner of Water and Prince Street. We started with steamed mussels, followed by the 1.5 lb lobster dinner (so fresh!). We all sampled the award-winning fish chowder, and the kids devoured a very reasonably priced children’s portion of breaded haddock and french fries. The staff even presented a fun lobster demo for the kids. (Did you know that male lobsters have “hard bits”?)

Water Prince Corner Shop Lobster PEI is a great place to eat with kids. Yummy lfresh lobster, reasonably priced kids meals. Photo by Helen Earley

Family fun, and delicious food at the Water Prince Corner Shop in Charlottetown

Water-Prince Corner Shop is busy, due in part to the buzz it has received from TV shows like ‘ You Gotta Eat Here‘ and Regis and Kelly. Tip: Request an outdoor table, and be patient: it’s worth the wait!

Family Fun in The Historic City of Charlottetown

Water-Prince Corner Shop: busy and worth the wait!

Terry’s Berries Food Truck
You can’t miss Terry’s Berries Food Truck (the truck is bright pink!) at the corner of Water and Great George.

Terry's Berries Food Truck. Amazing food from a pink truck! Photo: Helen Earley

For lunch, we has a couple of smoothies and the totally divine Salt Daddy Lobster Melt, which was big enough to share. Highly recommended. Move over, Water-Prince. Terry’s is going to be The Next Big Thing in Charlottetown! (Note: Terry’s Berries is open during the summertime only!)

Salt Daddy Lobster Melt at Terry's Berries Food Truck in Charlottetown PIE photo by Helen Earley

You’ve got to try the Salt Daddy Lobster Melt at Terry’s Berries Food Truck

Cow’s Ice Cream
Cow’s Ice Cream has been voted the Best Ice Cream in Canada by Reader’s Digest. There are two locations in Charlottetown, plus the Cows Creamery outside of town which offers free self-guided tours! We recommend the Peake’s Wharf location for a great waterfront vibe.Cows Ice Cream at Peake's Wharf Photo: Helen Earley

For a true PEI flavor, try the blueberry ice cream or the PEI Apple Crisp. And don’t forget to stock up on these hilarious (calorie-free) Cows t-shirts and souvenirs!

Cows Ice Cream charlottetown Adele and Doctor Who

Cows Ice Cream has a great sense of humour (but the middle one is no joke!)

Freak Lunchbox
Before you hop back in the car, fill a bag with wild and wonderful candy from the Freak Lunchbox on Queen Street. Despite the fact that we already have a Freak Lunchbox in our hometown of Halifax, my kids went crazy here, and consider this wacky candy store one of the highlights of our summer vacation. Aren’t kids just so…freaky?

Freak Lunchbox Charlottetown PEI

Freak Lunchbox

Where to Stay With Kids in Charlottetown:

Rodd Charlottetown
Formerly a CN hotel, the Rodd Charlottetown retains much of its original charm. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II was a guest there in the 1990’s, staying in room 310, now a honeymoon suite. Splash out a book one of the 5th floor suites, which are only steps away from the Rodd’s rooftop garden, offering a stunning view over the city, or stay in a regular room, many of which retain original Art Deco features.

Family Fun in The Historic City of Charlottetown

Rooftop Garden at the Rodd Charlottetown

The thing we liked best about our stay at the Rodd Charlottetown was the excellent service (Thank you Oliver!).

Family Fun in The Historic City of Charlottetown

The Historic Rodd Charlottetown. The Queen stayed here (and so did we!)

The second best feature of this historic hotel? To my son’s delight, The Rodd Charlottetown is located right next door to the Charlottetown Fire Station!

Charlottetown Fire Station american la france fire engine

An antique Fire Engine at the Charlottetown Fire Station

Rodd Royalty
If you don’t mind driving 5 minutes, The Rodd Royalty is just 5 minutes by car outside of the city centre. Why should you stay there? Oh, only the 105 foot-waterslide!!

Rodd Royalty

Rodd Royalty/Photo: Booking.com

Great George
There are plenty of cool, boutique hotels in Charlottetown, including the award-winning Great George,  a complex of rooms, suites, “hideaway suites” and self-catering condos, located in the heart of the city. We didn’t stay at the Great George on this trip, but only because we’re saving it for the weekend that we go away without the kids!

Great George

One of the options for accommodation at the award-winning Great George hotel/Photo: The Great George Hotel Facebook

When visiting PEI, don’t forget to spend a couple of days exploring the quaint, walkable, historic and great-for-kids city of Charlottetown. Hopefully, our recommendations have given you a few ideas for family fun in The historic city of Charlottetown.

All photos by Helen Earley unless otherwise noted.

Thank you to Tourism PEI for their hospitality.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *