弗雷德里克顿家庭时间的24小时

“不,不要让幽灵般的格斯去找你失踪的女儿。 我们爱Ghostly Gus,“我们九岁的女儿笑着看着一个闹鬼的徒步参与者和我们的领导人之间的一段短暂的混乱,在漂流在弗雷德里克顿市中心的河边步行道上。

幽灵般的格斯在弗雷德里克顿闹鬼的徒步旅行

幽灵般的格斯在闹鬼的徒步旅行。 照片 - Shelly Cameron-McCarron

我们感到困惑的是,我们将这两场比赛看在远处,在这个大学和政府城镇的这个温暖的夜晚,一个新角色,即船长莫莉库尔,从阴影中浮现出来。

当红色的天空升起在圣约翰河上时,30--我们中的一些人站在灯笼上 Calithumpians闹鬼的徒步旅行,不知道接下来会发生什么,在弗雷德里克顿的幽灵般的过去之后,这场黑暗的喧闹声再次发生。

我的青少年和两个补间明显地被迷住了,比赛的目的是保持在包的前面,因为Calthumpians(一个当地的剧团)带领我们围绕着新不伦瑞克的绿叶之都,带着幽灵般的传说,一些笑话甚至一些歌曲。

当我们踏上城市街道,走进小巷,穿过比尔索普步行桥时,这座城市成为一个华丽的舞台。 我们在城里只有24小时,但我们肯定会被打败。

闹鬼的徒步旅行是我们在弗雷德里克顿短暂休息的一个亮点。 以下是我们正在粉碎的其他内容:

嗯马卡龙...

弗雷德里克顿精选马卡龙精选

来自国际象棋棋子蛋糕店和咖啡馆,弗雷德里克顿照片 - 雪莱卡梅隆 - 麦卡伦的马卡龙精选

在中午之前进入城市,我们的第一站就是品尝甜美的马卡龙 棋子蛋糕店&咖啡厅,361皇后街一家受欢迎的Parisienne糕点店和咖啡店。 这是星期六下午的热闹,因为我们排队订购半打马卡龙(布朗尼软糖,粉红柠檬水,盐渍焦糖和生日蛋糕味道),还有一些孩子们喜欢的非常好的烤宽面条汤。

Home Base适合皇冠

燃起来,下一站就是把我们的行李放在皇冠假日酒店。 酒店位于皇后街市中心,是理想的下榻之地。 距离历史悠久的加里森区,国家历史遗址仅有几个街区,距离主要景点仅一箭之遥。 从前门出来,你正在看弗雷德里克顿会议中心,比弗布鲁克美术馆,弗雷德里克顿剧场和新不伦瑞克立法机构大楼。 沿着后门进入,您就可以享受河畔小径 - 这座城市拥有88公里的步行道,其中包括一条右后方的酒吧。

弗雷德里克顿河与灯塔和皇冠假日广场的景色

弗雷德里克顿河与灯塔和皇冠假日广场的景色。 照片 - 雪莱卡梅伦 - 麦卡伦

皇冠假日酒店经营毗邻的绿色灯塔,我们在白色和红色灯塔内订购冰淇淋勺,并在露天烧烤和精酿啤酒花园的灯塔河滨露台上享用美食。 之后,我们爬上灯塔的台阶,欣赏弗雷德里克顿的梦幻般的景色。

灯塔视图弗雷德里克顿

从灯塔查看。 照片 - 雪莱卡梅伦 - 麦卡伦

或许,我最喜欢Crowne的是它的露台餐厅,它令我吃惊地注意到它的餐饮特色,优秀的儿童菜单以及可俯瞰圣约翰河的露台上的户外用餐。 提示:订购牧羊人的派或Big MacLeod汉堡。 两者都很出色。

节日和乐趣!

弗雷德里克顿政府大楼

弗雷德里克顿政府大楼。 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

我们当时在城里 新不伦瑞克高地游戏,在政府大厦的庄严理由举行。 一个有趣的下午风笛,裤子和重大活动。 但不要担心,如果你的访问没有时间与高地舞者和强壮的男子在千里之外。 弗雷德里克顿是一个节日城市,冬天总会有一些事情发生 FROSTival 到每年夏天的乡村音乐。 如果历史是你的果酱,请访问政府大楼。 我丈夫特别喜欢这个位于圣约翰河畔的11亩的国家历史遗址。 这是加拿大访问量最大的政府房屋之一,可以安排旅行。

是的,我说免费!

与家人旅行变得昂贵。 在弗雷德里克顿,你可以将一些来之不易的现金存入你的钱袋子里。 是的,我正在谈论免费活动。 他们的负担。 这座城市提供免费的带导游的历史悠久的徒步旅行,服装的导游带着历史和民俗传统,免费的Calithumpians下午剧院,免费换卫队仪式,在历史驻军区穿着猩红色的19世纪卫兵,周六在星空下免费观看电影和星期天晚上在军营广场。

湿地和野生动物

在弗雷德里克顿的海狸池塘寻找生物

在弗雷德里克顿的海狸池塘寻找生物。 照片 - Shelley Cameron-McCarron

不要离开城市,不要参加Mactaquac Provincial Park Beaver Ponds的自我引导或自由的解说导游步行,该步道位于城外的25分钟。 这些旅游团可以通过预约探索一系列海狸池塘,孩子们可以亲身了解野生动物和湿地,在宁静的自然环境中观看海狸切树,海狸小径和森林生活。 在巡演结束时进行浸网探索将会看到你的孩子在有趣和教育体验中发现鲤科鱼,鲶鱼和大型牛蛙。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

24 Hours of Family Time in Fredericton

“Nooo, don’t take Ghostly Gus to look for your missing daughter. We love Ghostly Gus,” my nine-year-old daughter laughs as we watch a brief kerfuffle between a haunted hike ‘participant’ and our leader on the pretty riverside walking trails that lace downtown Fredericton.

Ghostly Gus on a Haunted Hike in Fredericton

Ghostly Gus on a Haunted Hike. Photo – Shelly Cameron-McCarron

Bemused, we watch the two race off into the distance, and a new character, riverboat captain Molly Kool, emerge from the shadows on this warm evening in this university-and-government town.

As red skies rise over the Saint John River, 30-some of us stand by lantern light on the Calithumpians Haunted Hike, wondering what will happen next on this after-dark romp through Fredericton’s ghostly past.

My teen and two tweens are clearly hooked, racing to keep up near the front of the pack as costumed Calthumpians (a local theatre group) lead us around New Brunswick’s leafy capital with tales of ghostly lore, a few jokes, and even some song.

As we head down city streets, into alleys, and across the Bill Thorpe Walking Bridge, the city makes a gorgeous stage. We’re in town only 24 hours, but we’re surely smitten.

The Haunted Hike is a highlight of our short time in Fredericton. Here’s what else we’re crushing on:

Mmm Macarons…

A selection of lovely macaron in Fredericton

A selection of macaron from Chess Piece Patisserie & Café, Fredericton Photo – Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Pulling into town just before noon, our very first stop is to sample sweet macarons at Chess Piece Patisserie & Café, a popular Parisienne pastry and coffee shop at 361 Queen Street. It’s bustling on this Saturday afternoon as we line up to order half a dozen macarons (brownie fudge, pink lemonade, salted caramel and birthday cake flavour, please) and some very good lasagna soup that the kids raved about.

Home Base fit for a Crowne

Fueled up, next stop is dropping our bags at the Crowne Plaza. Located downtown on Queen Street, the hotel makes an ideal base. It’s just blocks from the Historic Garrison District, a National Historic Site, and within a stone’s throw of major attractions. Exit the front door and you’re looking at the Fredericton Convention Centre, Beaverbrook Art Gallery, Fredericton Playhouse and the New Brunswick Legislature Building. Take the back entrance and you’re ready for a riverfront trail amble-the city is blessed with 88 kilometres of walking trails, including one right behind the hotel.

A view of Fredericton's riverwalk with the Lighthouse and Crowne Plaza

A view of Fredericton’s riverwalk with the Lighthouse and Crowne Plaza. Photo-Shelley Cameron-McCarron

The Crowne Plaza operates the adjacent Lighthouse on the Green, where we order scoops of ice cream inside the white and red light tower and take the treat out to enjoy on the lighthouse’s riverfront patio, with its open air BBQ and craft beer garden. Afterwards we climb the steps of the lighthouse for dreamy views of Fredericton.

Lighthouse View Fredericton

View from the Lighthouse. Photo-Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Perhaps, though, what I like best about the Crowne is its Terrace Dining Room, which surprised me with its eat-local focus, excellent children’s menu and al fresco dining on a terrace overlooking the Saint John River. Tip: Order the shepherd’s pie or the Big MacLeod Burger. Both are outstanding.

Festivals & Fun!

Fredericton Government House

Fredericton Government House. Photo p Shelley Cameron-McCarron

We were in town during the New Brunswick Highland Games, held on the stately grounds of Government House. Bagpipes, kilts and heavy events made for a fun afternoon. But don’t worry if your visit doesn’t time with the Highland dancers and strong men in kilts. Fredericton is a festival city and there’s always something going on from winter’s FROSTival to country music jams each summer. And if history’s your jam, do visit Government House. My husband especially liked this national historic site on 11 acres on the banks of the Saint John River. It’s one of Canada’s most visited government houses, and tours can be arranged.

Yes, I said FREE!

Traveling with a family gets expensive. In Fredericton, you can keep some of your hard-earned cash in your pocketbook. Yes, I’m talking free activities. Loads of them. The city offers free guided heritage walking tours where costumed guides entertain with history and folklore, free Calithumpians afternoon theatre, a free Changing of the Guard ceremony with scarlet-clad 19th century guards in the Historic Garrison District, and free movies under the stars on Saturday and Sunday nights in Barracks Square.

Wetlands and Wildlife

Looking for critters on Fredericton's Beaver Pond

Looking for critters on Fredericton’s Beaver Pond. Photo – Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Don’t leave town without taking a self-guided or free, interpretive guided walk of the Mactaquac Provincial Park Beaver Ponds, located 25 minutes outside the city. The tours, available by appointment, explore a chain of beaver ponds, where kids get hands-on learning about wildlife and wetlands, looking at beaver-cut trees, beaver trails, and forest life in a peaceful natural environment. A dip-netting exploration at tour’s end will see your kids spotting minnows, catfish and big bullfrogs in a fun and educational experience.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *