fbpx

探索邦妮格拉斯哥与青少年和补间

刚刚存放在苏格兰最大城市格拉斯哥的1.2百万人中,我最小的孩子出奇地热情:关于购物。 我不能责怪时尚女郎。

我们也迷上了我们的家庭,我们的行李箱从格拉斯哥皇后街火车站到我们的酒店, 普瑞米尔格拉斯哥市中心布坎南画廊,在这座城市的时尚大道(Style Mile)的中心地带熠熠生辉,这是一个紧凑的步行中心,拥有超过200的商店。

当我们走路时,我们在商店里看到商店,再加上几乎人人喜欢的氛围,人们在鹅卵石街道上漫步和谈话。

如果我们要在格拉斯哥开始我们的时间,一个前卫,现代,繁华的大都市被称为商业城,通过购买伦敦以外的英国最大的零售场所,那么我就可以。

这就是我们喜欢的格拉斯哥:

风格一英里

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和补间 - 格拉斯哥街景 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

格拉斯哥街景 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

即使你不买东西(就像这样会发生!),漫步风格一英里是一种体验。 在建筑中浸泡,观看街头艺人,停下来吃点东西,以及在Sauchiehall,Buchanan和Argyle街道上穿梭的设计师和古董店。 人们不可能变得友善。 在四层的90店铺布坎南画廊,我正在寻找旅行尺寸的头发产品,很快店员正在给她最喜欢的购物地点 - 约翰大卫,芒果,Primark。 “你喜欢低价的好东西吗? 试试Primark,它位于Sauchiehall大街外,还有另一个在Argyle。 我喜欢Primark,我的上衣,我的牛仔裤,我的鞋子都是来自Primark。 你可以得到10磅的整套服装,“她大声说道,表示她时尚的合奏。 当我们在任务中行走步行街时,每第三个人似乎正在携带Primark的商标牛皮纸袋。 最后,我们到了,我的别致装药开满了她的包。 我? 在摩顿布朗喝着甜蜜的乳液并在途中浏览New Look之后,我在Marks&Spencer的几处门口受到伤害。

城市观光格拉斯哥

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和补间 - 格拉斯哥市观光巴士 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

城市观光巴士 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡隆

购物满意,是时候去看看这个城市。 格拉斯哥,我们发现,很容易导航。 尽管如此,最好的方法之一就是随上随下 城市观光 巴士旅游。 随着家人的通行证,我们在城市的文化中心乔治广场跳上独特的明亮的红色敞篷双层巴士,然后坐下来享受完整的乘坐体验,这是一个带20的小时和分钟的21分钟之旅在一些顶级景点停留。 格拉斯哥充满了历史和导游在巡回演出中充斥着这一切。 另外,这是一个很好的解决方法。 完成一个循环后,我们经常跳下去,无需等待很长时间 - 大型红色巴士每隔10分钟一趟。 在停靠点之间,我们了解了格拉斯哥的过去 - 这座城市是如何在克莱德河上进口和出口货物的,以及后来在1800s里,格拉斯哥如何在造船业建立起世界闻名的声誉。 我们也了解到烟草领主变得非常富有。 你仍然可以看到华丽的建筑,许多可以追溯到17th世纪。 今天的魅力也使它成为叙述,欣欣向荣的音乐场景和美食,包括这个城市作为咖喱之都的令人惊讶的地位。

城市分庭

在乔治广场,请抽出时间进入 格拉斯哥市分庭,这座城市最重要和最美丽的建筑之一,并且是总部到市政府的一个多世纪。 我们拉开了维多利亚时代杰作的大门,只是为了寻求方向,并立即被包括华丽的大型大理石楼梯在内的建筑所震撼。 在10上观看免费旅游:30 am和2:30 pm

西区娱乐

“你想喝一杯吗?”位于Byres Road的一家小餐馆UniversityCafé的欢迎服务员询问我的孩子们,他们在这个复古的发现中啜饮着装满奶油的热巧克力,浓厚的自制汤,并且可以说是城市最好的冰淇淋。他们今天仍然很讨好。 广告茶,咖啡,三明治和外卖,咖啡馆几乎是100岁,看起来装饰已经存在了数十年。 这是魅力的一部分。 食物也是如此。 我嘲笑我的第一次吐司,火腿和奶酪,这是最好的。 在西边,不要错过走格拉斯哥大学新哥特式建筑的机会,据说是JK罗琳在哈利波特的霍格沃茨的灵感。 真实与否,这是看到的东西。

博物馆跳

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和吐温 - 格拉斯哥凯尔温格罗夫博物馆 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

Kelvingrove博物馆 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

格拉斯哥吸引了许多原因,其中一个明确的突出是它提供的世界级景点,许多人免费入场。 所有的国家艺术画廊和博物馆在苏格兰都是免费的,欢迎这个五口之家加入这个家庭,讨论对我们不利的汇率问题! 游客可以很容易地计划一个博物馆跳到几个恒星位置。 但是,如果你只有一个时间,就把它变成标志性的 凯尔温格罗夫美术馆和博物馆.

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和Tweens  - 格拉斯哥Kelvingrove博物馆室内 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

凯尔温格罗夫博物馆室内 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

这座博物馆坐落在一座令人惊叹的红色砂岩,西班牙巴洛克式建筑中,是自然历史,苏格兰历史和世界文化的迷人碰撞。 它具有从文艺复兴时期的艺术到中世纪武器装备的一切,轻松地位于Kelvingrove公园旁边,您可以在开尔文河漫步。 其他不错的选择? 互动 河滨博物馆 提供了在苏格兰运输的历史(比听起来更有趣,本地保证!)和 人民宫,这是一个讲述格拉斯哥历史的动手博物馆。 它附有一座植物园,坐落在历史悠久的格拉斯哥绿地上,这是来自詹姆斯二世国王的15世纪礼物和城市最古老的公园 - 其中一个位于格拉斯哥的70公园,包括可以看到高地牛的Pollok郊野公园。

格拉斯哥大教堂

即使对于青少年和青少年组合,对于美丽的灵性格拉斯哥高柯克也有一些特别之处,也被称为 圣芒戈大教堂或格拉斯哥大教堂.

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和吐温 - 格拉斯哥大教堂 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

格拉斯哥大教堂 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

这座巨大的,雄伟的13世纪大教堂捕捉着它的想象力,因为它展示了几个世纪的历史(我们知道它是苏格兰大陆唯一一个完好无损地在1560改革中幸存下来的),它的迷人石墙内。 我的孩子们高兴地穿过苏格兰最重要的中世纪建筑之一。 传说它是建在圣凯尼汀墓的遗址上,标志着格拉斯哥市的诞生地。 入场是免费的,这是探索的亮点。

格拉斯哥大墓地

旁边的大教堂,也免费(我喜欢的一种趋势!),是 格拉斯哥大墓地,一个迷人的山坡蜿蜒曲折,探索维多利亚花园墓地的纪念碑和令人印象深刻的建筑。

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和补间 - 格拉斯哥墓地 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

格拉斯哥墓地 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

格拉斯哥富有的维多利亚时代的最后安息之地,你真正体会到他们的财富凝视着那些标志着他们地位的宏伟错综复杂的坟墓。 也有很棒的城市景观。

探索的门户

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和补间 - 格拉斯哥探索苏格兰一日游苏格兰威士忌 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

发现苏格兰一日游Loch Awe - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

格拉斯哥也是探索苏格兰其他地区的天然门户,每天从乔治广场(George Square)出发的几次带导游的小团体一日游。 在最后时刻,我们预定了一天 发现苏格兰 旅游,以及孩子和成人都有最好的一天学习苏格兰历史。 亮点包括; 在奥本海港购买手工制作的巧克力和吃新鲜的鱼; 参观阿弗勒公爵今天仍然居住的因弗拉里城堡; 参观令人难忘的,历史悠久的格伦科; 看到洛蒙德湖的邦尼银行。 我们在312一年,声名狼借的肯定是大气的Drover's Inn酒店里安顿了一杯饮料(淡啤酒和软饮料),从而为我们的休假增添了一丝曙光。

探索邦尼格拉斯哥与青少年和吐温 - 格拉斯哥探索苏格兰一日游英弗拉里城堡 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦凯

发现苏格兰一日游英弗拉里城堡 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens

Freshly deposited in Glasgow, Scotland’s biggest city at 1.2 million people, my youngest child is surprisingly enthusiastic: about shopping. And I can’t blame the tween fashionista.

I’m hooked too as our family of five wheels our suitcases down the teeming sidewalks from Glasgow Queen Street train station to our hotel, the Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries, smack in the centre of the city’s Style Mile, the compact, a walkable pedestrian hub that boasts overs 200 stores.

As we walk, we see shops upon shops, coupled with an almost festive vibe as streams of people walk and talk through the cobblestone streets.

If we’re to begin our time in Glasgow, an edgy, modern, bustling metropolis dubbed the Merchant City, by shopping the U.K.’s largest retail playground outside London, then I’m okay with that.

Here’s what we liked about Glasgow:

The Style Mile

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow Street scene - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Glasgow Street scene – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Even if you don’t buy a thing (like that’s going to happen!), strolling the Style Mile is an experience to savour. Soak in the architecture, watch street performers, stop for something to eat, and pop in and out of designer and vintage shops that stretch across Sauchiehall, Buchanan and Argyle streets. People couldn’t be friendlier. In the four-level, 90-store Buchanan Galleries, I’m looking for travel size hair products, and soon the clerk is dishing directions to some of her favourite shopping spots: John David, Mango, Primark. “Do you like good stuff at a low price? Try Primark, it’s outside on Sauchiehall Street, and there’s another on Argyle. I love Primark, my top, my jeans, my shoes, are all from Primark. You can get a whole outfit for 10 pounds,” she raves, indicating her stylish ensemble. As we walk the pedestrian streets on a mission, every third person seems to be carrying Primark’s trademark brown paper bag. Finally, we arrive, and my chic charge goes wild happily filling her bag. Me? After slathering on sweet lotions at Molton Brown and browsing New Look en route, I do damage at Marks & Spencer just a few doors down.

City Sightseeing Glasgow

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow City Sightseeing Bus - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

City Sightseeing Bus – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Shopping satisfied, it’s time to see the city. Glasgow, we find, is quite easy to navigate. Still, one of the best ways to get your bearings is the Hop-on, Hop-off City Sightseeing bus tour. With a family pass in hand, we jump on the distinctive bright red open-top double decker bus at George Square, the city’s cultural centre, and sit back for the full ride, a narrated, hour-and-20-minute tour with 21 stops at some top attractions. Glasgow is rife with history and guides spill it all on tour. Plus, it’s an excellent way to get around. After completing a loop, we hop off frequently and never have to wait long for pick-up – the big red bus pulls up at 10-minute intervals. Between stops, we learn of Glasgow’s past – how the city became wealthy importing and exporting goods on the River Clyde, and later, in the 1800s, how Glasgow developed a world-renowned reputation for shipbuilding. We learn too of the tobacco lords, who became incredibly wealthy. You can still see ornate buildings, many dating back to the 17th century. Today’s charms also make it into the narrative, the thriving music scene, and the culinary goodness, including the city’s surprising status as a curry capital.

City Chambers

At George Square, do make time to pop into Glasgow City Chambers, one of the city’s most important and beautiful buildings, and headquarters to city government for over a century. We pulled open the doors to the Victorian masterpiece just to ask for directions and were immediately wowed by the architecture including a gorgeous, large marble staircase. Take a look inside with free tours at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m.

West End Fun

“Do you want a wee drink?” the welcoming server at University Café, a small eatery on Byres Road, asked my kids, who sipped down whipped cream laden hot chocolate, thick homemade soup and arguably the city’s best ice cream at this retro find they still talk fondly about today. Advertising tea, coffee, sandwiches and takeaways, the café is nearly 100 years old, and it looks like the décor has been in place for decades. That’s part of the charm. So is the food. I scoffed down my first ever toasties, ham and cheese please, and it was the best. While in the west end, don’t miss the chance to walk the neo-gothic grounds of the University of Glasgow, said to be the inspiration of J.K. Rowling’s Hogwarts in Harry Potter. True or not, it’s something to see.

Museum Hop

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow Kelvingrove Museum - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Kelvingrove Museum – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Glasgow appeals for many reasons and one definite standout is the world-class attractions it offers, many with free admission. All national art galleries and museums are free in Scotland, welcome news to this family of five Canadians dealing with an exchange rate not in our favour! Visitors can easily plan a museum hop to several stellar locations. If, however, you have time for only one, make it the iconic Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum.

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow Kelvingrove Museum interior - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Kelvingrove Museum interior – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Housed in a stunning red sandstone, Spanish baroque style building, the museum is a fascinating collision of natural history, Scottish history and world cultures. It has everything from Renaissance art to medieval weaponry and is handily located beside Kelvingrove Park where you can stroll by the River Kelvin. Other great options? The interactive Riverside Museum offers a history of transport in Scotland (more fun than it sounds, a local assured!) and The People’s Palace, a hands-on museum telling the history of Glasgow. It has a botanic garden attached and is located on historic Glasgow Green, a 15th-century gift from King James II and the city’s oldest park—one of over 70 parks in Glasgow, including Pollok Country Park where you can see Highland cattle.

Glasgow Cathedral

Even to the teen and tween set, there’s something special about the beautiful, spiritual High Kirk of Glasgow, also known as St. Mungo Cathedral or Glasgow Cathedral.

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow Cathedral - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Glasgow Cathedral – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

The massive, imposing 13th-century cathedral captures the imagination as it showcases centuries of history (we learn it’s the only one on the Scottish mainland to survive the Reformation of 1560 intact) within its stunning stone walls. My kids happily wander through one of Scotland’s most significant medieval buildings. Legend has it that it was built on the site of St. Kentigern’s tomb and marks the birthplace of the City of Glasgow. Admission is free, and it’s a highlight to explore.

Glasgow Necropolis

Next to the cathedral, and also free (a trend I’m liking!), is the Glasgow Necropolis, a captivating hillside meander up to explore the monuments and impressive architecture in a Victorian garden cemetery.

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow Necropolis - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Glasgow Necropolis – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

The final resting place of Glasgow’s wealthy Victorians, you truly get a sense of their wealth gazing at the grand and intricate tombs that mark their place. There are great city views too.

Gateway To Explore

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow Discover Scotland day trip Loch Awe - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Discover Scotland day trip Loch Awe – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Glasgow is also a natural gateway to explore the rest of Scotland, and several guided, small group day tours leave daily from George Square. On a last minute whim, we booked a day-long Discover Scotland tour, and kids and adults alike had the best day learning Scottish history. Highlights included; buying hand-turned chocolates and eating fresh fish in the seaport of Oban; touring Inverary Castle, where the Duke of Argyle still lives today; visiting haunting, historic Glencoe; seeing the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond. We capped our day off by settling in for a drink (ale and soft drinks) at the 312-year-old, reputably haunted and certainly atmospheric, Drover’s Inn.

Exploring Bonnie Glasgow With Teens and Tweens - Glasgow Discover Scotland day trip Inverary Castle - Photo Shelley Cameron McCa

Discover Scotland day trip Inverary Castle – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *