圣诞节传统与你的孩子分享

圣诞传统与你的孩子分享

随着十二月的临近,我们都开始感受到假期的气氛。 随之而来的是本赛季的压力……音乐会,派对,参观者,承诺,当然还有商业化疯狂的泛滥。 面对现实吧,我们每个人都想让这个季节对我们的孩子们来说充满魔力,但是我们都需要从假期中度假吗?

带给朋友和家人,笑声,眼泪和瞬间。 今年,我邀请我们所有人继续创造圣诞节的传统,并为我们的孩子留下真正的回忆。 在玩具和礼物被遗忘很久之后,那些带着微笑的面孔。

您可以与孩子们分享以下12圣诞节的传统,这些传统“相对”没有压力,不会让您破产。

1。 来临塔的书

我们在家中采用了这一传统,并成为家庭的最爱。 我在院内销售和折扣商店全年收藏书籍,并且我们在12月的每个晚上开始开放一个。 它为我们的图书馆增加了新书,并帮助小孩们观看圣诞节前的日子。 这也意味着我不必处理24巧克力的日子。

2。 饼干装饰

让孩子们用这个创意! 面粉一片混乱,溜溜的饼干面团,直到你肚子痛是什么回忆,是吗? 也许你对姜饼屋有耐心,如果你最终得到六打可食用的饼干,也许你会很开心。 无论哪种方式,孩子们都会记得他们做的烂摊子,他们舔的打手和他们的乐趣!

3。 砍下一棵树

没有什么比圣诞节新鲜砍伐的树更能说明圣诞节了! 度过一个下午,然后前往众多树木之一,距市区仅一小段车程。 我不建议像我哥哥一样在圣诞节前夕的晚间砍掉邻居的树,但是如果您自己的后院有一棵树,那就更好了!

4。 自制饰品

制作装饰品的一个下午将使孩子们忙碌,并用装饰品填满你的树,当你年复一年地挖出来时会带来很多笑声。 白天,尝试一些旧式的。 您还记得那些…纸雪花,管道清洁滑雪者,晾衣夹驯鹿和冰棒圣诞树。 那些在手工艺品商店里花不了大钱的东西。 我们的父母用了房子周围的东西,我们也可以。 我知道这是因为我的冰棍棍圣诞树上仍然有紫色,粉红色和橙色的污渍!

5。 去圣诞老人

对于一个孩子去圣诞老人的访问,真的有一些神奇的东西。 他们的眼神,无辜,迷恋。 但是,如果不是的话,吓坏了,尖叫的图片也总是剪贴簿的守护者!

这是我们的清单 最好的地方看到圣诞老人。

圣诞老人

6。 捐赠玩具/做饭

与大家伙拜访之后,我尝试向孩子们解释每个人里面都有一个小圣诞老人。 年轻一代似乎对“水桶装满”,“ WE运动”和其他赋予年轻人力量的想法非常有动力。 了解在假期期间如何回馈的想法。

7。 圣诞灯狩猎

过去,在福尔里弗(Fall River)的斯诺的托儿所(Snow's Nursery)是看圣诞灯可以带来魔力的地方。 他们是“格里斯瓦尔丁”的开拓者。 花时间陪伴孩子上床睡觉真的有一些特别之处。 这是优质的时间,因为他们知道替代方法,所以他们始终处于最佳状态。 趁这个机会! 我的一个朋友让她的孩子们都准备好睡觉,洗澡,讲故事……然后给他们的睡衣里的“深夜看灯”给他们一个惊喜! 拿一杯热巧克力,跳上车,或者如果您有幸在步行距离之内住着,拿起靴子,也许是雪橇,然后在冬季仙境中散步!

树灯

8。 假日播放列表

圣诞音乐。 我们喜欢它。 我们讨厌它。 去制作播放列表,因为如果没有它,它不会是假期。 聆听甜美的声音,因为孩子们完全失调的歌曲,只知道一半的话。 聆听Alvin和花栗鼠的11十亿次,并且可能会潜入一些'Pogues'和'Drop Kick Murphys'来保持你的理智。

9。 电影之夜

每个人都有一个最喜欢的假期! 穿上睡衣,依sn在沙发上,吃爆米花吃晚饭。 今天是假期!

10。 平底雪橇

您还记得在山坡上徒步旅行时看起来像是永恒的事情,那是因为GT赛车手被拖着,或者疯狂的地毯在您的胳膊下卷起? 祝你好运,让那张疯狂的地毯展开得足够长,让你在下山之前就继续前进! 朋友们,那是美好的时光。 因此,让我们请圣诞老人在圣诞节期间为我们带来一些雪。 抓住雪橇,旧的内胎,垃圾桶盖,洗衣篮或自助餐厅托盘……然后继续骑行!

想去雪橇的地方吗? 查看 - 哈利法克斯最好的滑雪场所.

孩子在雪橇上

11。 平安夜食物

啊,平安夜。 它让我想起了满屋子的人们 - 家人,朋友,邻居,甚至陌生人 - 的微笑。 每个人都欢迎前来参观,以及我父亲的一些着名的圣诞平安夜炖肉。 挖掘旧食谱,并从娜娜的书中创作经典或开始自己的传统!

12。 圣诞睡衣/图片

我们家的平安夜总是意味着新的睡衣。 在某个时候,无论如何我们还是需要他们的,所以有比圣诞节更好的时间来买一对新的。 您可以在树上拍摄著名的照片,看着孩子们年复一年地成长。 每年有些人以相同的姿势拍摄相同的照片,我喜欢这个主意! 我们回头看看过去的那些照片,并在问我们的父母“你在想什么?”的同时,嘲笑我们的碗剪和“绿巨人”睡衣,这些回忆……圣诞节的传统。 总有一天,我们都会被问到这个问题,所以让我们在可能的时候尝试一下。

节日快乐,大家好!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Christmas Traditions to Share with Your Kids

Christmas traditions to share with your kids

As December quickly approaches, we are all starting to feel the spirit of the holidays in the air. With that, comes the stress of the season . . .the concerts, the parties, the visitors, the commitments and of course, the inundation of commercialized craziness. Let’s face it, we all want to make the season magical for our kids, but are we all going to need a holiday from our holiday?

Bring on the friends and family, the laughs, the tears and the moments. This year, I invite us all to continue creating those moments and make those real memories for our kids that will bring a smile to their faces to last a lifetime, long after the toys and gifts have been forgotten.

Here are 12 Christmas traditions that you can share with your kids, that are ‘relatively’ stress free and won’t break the bank:

1. Advent Tower of Books

We have adopted this tradition in our house and it’s become a family favourite. I pick up books throughout the year at yard sales and discount shops and we start opening one each night in December. It adds new books to our library and helps the little ones to visualize the days until Christmas. It also means I don’t have to deal with 24 straight days of chocolate.

2. Cookie Decorating

Let the kids get creative with this one! The floury mess and sneaking cookie dough until you get a bellyache are what memories are made of, right? Maybe you have the patience for a gingerbread house, maybe you are happy if you get a half dozen edible cookies in the end. Either way, the kids will remember the mess they made, the beaters they licked and the fun they had!

3. Cutting Down a Tree

Nothing says Christmas more than the smell of a fresh cut tree! Make an afternoon of it and head to one of the many tree lots, just a short drive from the city. I would not suggest cutting down your neighbour’s tree in the late hours of Christmas Eve as my brother once did but if you have a tree in your own back yard, even better!

4. Homemade Ornaments

An afternoon of ornament making will keep the kids busy and fill your tree with decorations that will bring about many laughs as you dig them out year after year. Try some old school ones from back in the day. You remember the ones…paper snowflakes, pipe cleaner skiers, clothes pin reindeer and popsicle stick Christmas trees. The ones that didn’t cost a fortune in craft store supplies. Our parents used the stuff they had around the house and we can too. I know this because my popsicle stick Christmas trees still have the purple, pink and orange stains!

5. Visit Santa

There really is something magical about a child’s visit with Santa. The look in their eyes, the innocence, the fascination. But if not, the terrified, screaming picture is always a keeper for the scrapbook, too!

Here is our list of Best Places to see Santa.

Santa

6. Donate a Toy/Make a Meal

After a visit with the big guy, I try to explain to the kids that there is a little of Santa inside everyone. The younger generation seems to be very motivated with ‘bucket filling’, ‘the WE movement’ and other youth empowering ideas. Get their thoughts on ways to give back during the holiday season.

7. Christmas Light Hunting

Back in the day, Snow’s Nursery in Fall River was the place to go see the magic that Christmas Lights can bring. They were the pioneers of ‘Griswalding’. There really is something special about spending time with your kids when they should be in bed. This is quality time and since they know the alternative, they are always on their best behaviour. Take advantage of this time! A friend of mine gets her kids all ready for bed, bath, story… and then surprises them with a ‘late night look at the lights’ in their PJ’s! Grab a hot chocolate, jump in the car or if you are lucky enough to live within walking distance, grab your boots, maybe a sled, and go walking in the winter wonderland!

Tree Lights

8. Holiday Playlist

Christmas music. We love it. We hate it. Go make the playlist because it wouldn’t be the holidays without it. Listen to the sweet sounds as the kids belt out the songs completely out of tune, while only knowing half the words. Listen to Alvin and the Chipmunks for the 11 billionth time and maybe sneak on some ‘Pogues’ and ‘Drop Kick Murphys’ to keep your sanity.

9. Movie Night

Everyone has a holiday favourite! Put on your PJ’s, snuggle up on the sofa and have popcorn for supper. It’s the holidays!

10. Tobogganing

Do you remember trekking for what seemed like an eternity with a GT Racer in tow or crazy carpet rolled up under your arm? And good luck ever getting that crazy carpet unrolled long enough for you to get on before it went careening down the hill! Those were the good times, my friends. So let’s ask Santa to bring us some snow this Christmas. Grab the toboggans, old inner tubes, garbage can lids, laundry baskets or cafeteria trays…and hang on!

Looking for a place to go sledding? Check out –  the best places to go sledding in Halifax.

Child on Sled

11. Christmas Eve Food

Ah, Christmas Eve. It brings a smile to my face thinking about the house full of people – family, friends, neighbours and even strangers. Everyone was always welcome to stop by for a visit and for some of my Dad’s famous Christmas Eve Stew. Dig out the old recipes and make a classic from Nana’s book or start your own tradition!

12. Christmas PJ’s/Picture

Christmas Eve in our house always meant new pajamas. At some point we would have needed them anyway so what better time than Christmas to get a new pair. You can take the famous picture by the tree and watch the kids grow from year to year. Some people take the same picture every year with the same pose and I love that idea! We would look back on those pics of the years gone by and laugh at our bowl cuts and Hulk-a-mania PJ’s while asking our parents, “what were you thinking?” The memories. Someday, we will all be asked that question so let’s have fun with it while we can.

Happy holidays, everyone!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *