我们失去了架子上的精灵:“圣诞节失败”如何帮助我理解趋势与传统之间的差异

theelfontheshelf1我们在架子上失去了精灵。

去年,他与我们一起去了英格兰,在那里(被轻蔑的英国亲戚所迷惑),我们成功地进行了一次精彩的表演,证明架子上的小精灵看着孩子们 到处 他们去。

但是他没有回到哈利法克斯。

我们发现,直到8月的一个星期,孩子们一直在竞选活动,米克(Meeka)失踪了:“请拜托,去地下室弄小精灵!”,以及我XNUMX岁那年的每日故事,讲述她的朋友精灵的故事达至:“妈妈,妈妈–泰勒的小精灵拍了个自拍照……劳伦的小精灵走进了 麦片

但是Meeka不在地下室。 他在节后的狂热狂潮中被丢在手提箱或手提袋中的某个地方,可能被包裹在袜子中,或者被扔进了垃圾中。

我没有买一个新的小精灵,部分原因是它要花40美元,还因为他看起来不一样(Meeka是第一代小精灵;他的脸有点瘦)。 另外,我仍然希望圣诞节奇迹能以某种方式揭示他,从堆积在我们卧室地板上的脏衣服堆里偷看。 但是随着季节的临近,我失去了希望。

我曾考虑过创建一个名为“房间里的芭比娃娃”的小精灵替代品,但是我们所有的芭比娃娃的短发和脸部标记都很短。 另外,我没有时间或技能来为芭比娃娃打造一个小精灵服装。

所以今年,我们没有精灵。

和出现日历。 (我忘了买一个)。

和树。

好。 最后一个谎言。 我们确实得到了一棵树。 但这不是一天的时间,在树林里徒步旅行,然后是我希望的热巧克力和糖果手杖体验。 不。 而不是开车进入该国家的白雪皑皑的树丛(Family Fun Halifax实际上有一个很棒的清单 时间表),我们坐上车,开车5分钟到达哈利法克斯论坛的停车场,并选择了一棵预先砍好的树。 你知道吗? 好玩。 来自Naugler's的家伙总是很好。 我们不必开车太远。 我三岁的孩子去看了电锯和打捆机。 这段小小的旅程正在成为一种家庭传统。 一种城市传统。

第二天早上,我开始担心我们什么时候能找到装饰树的时间(我正在考虑家庭照片,圣诞音乐,饼干,热巧克力,蛋黄,或许邀请奶奶过来)。 我决定退后一步。 我在努力创造另一个圣诞节传统,到底是什么? 为什么不只是装饰该死的树?

在下一周,这就是我们所做的。 我们让孩子们扔一些装饰品,然后他们失去了兴趣。 我们摆弄灯,然后失去了兴趣。 第二天,又增加了一些装饰品。 当我有10分钟的时间(可能会发生)时,我计划小心地放几把“非常特别的”装饰品,这些装饰品是我小时候就拥有的。 最后, 每当我们到处走, 我们将把其中一个孩子抬到顶端,并将这颗星或天使放在树顶上。

拍一张照片。

失去架子上的精灵让我感到非常难过–就像我在圣诞节完全失败一样。 我要记住的是,趋势和传统之间是有区别的,传统不被出售,强加或转推。

这个圣诞节,尽管我失败了,但我还是要退后一步,忘记那个幸运的精灵……并更加注意那些简单的家庭传统,这将使我们的圣诞节特别。

 

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

We Lost The Elf on the Shelf: How a “Christmas Fail” Helped me AppreciateThe Difference Between Trend and Tradition

theelfontheshelf1We lost the Elf on the Shelf.

He travelled with us to England last year, where (to the bemusement of mildly scornful British relatives), we succeeded in putting on a great show of proving that the Elf on the Shelf watches children everywhere they go.

But he didn’t make it back to Halifax.

We discovered that Meeka was missing about one week into December, following a constant campaign by the kids: “please, please, go to the basement and get the elf!”, and daily stories from my 8-year old about what her friends elves were up to: “Mum, Mum – Tyler’s elf took a selfie…Lauren’s elf got into the Cheerios!”

But Meeka is not in the basement. He’s somewhere in a suitcase or carry-on bag, possibly wrapped in a sock… or maybe in the garbage, thrown out during in the post-holiday unpacking frenzy.

I didn’t buy a new elf, partly because it would cost 40 bucks, and also because he wouldn’t look the same (Meeka was a first generation elf; his face was a little skinnier). Plus, I still have hope that a Christmas miracle will somehow reveal him, peeking out of the mounds of dirty clothing piled on our bedroom floor. But as the season approaches, I am losing hope.

I considered creating an elf replacement called “Barbie in the Room”, but all our Barbies have short cropped hair and marker all over their face. Plus, I don’t have the time or the skills required  to fashion a little elf outfit for Barbie.

So this year, we are going without the elf.

And the advent calendar. (I forgot to buy one).

And the tree.

OK. That last one is a lie. We did get a tree. But it was not the day-long, hike in the woods, followed by hot chocolate and candy canes experience that I had wished for.  Nope. Instead of driving into the country to a snowy tree-lot (Family Fun Halifax actually has an amazing list of them here), we got into our car, drove 5 minutes to the parking lot of the Halifax Forum and chose a pre-cut tree. And do you know what? It was fun. The guys from Naugler’s are always so nice. We didn’t have to drive too far. My three year old got to see the chainsaw and the baler. This small journey is becoming a family tradition. A city tradition.

The next morning, I began worrying about when we would find a time to Decorate The Tree (I was thinking family pictures, Christmas music, cookies, hot chocolate, egg nog, maybe invite Granny over). I decided to take a step back. What the heck was I doing trying to create another Christmas tradition? Why not just decorate the damn tree?

Over the next week, that’s what we did. We let the kids throw up a few ornaments, and then they lost interest. We fiddled with the lights, and then we lost interest. The next day, a few more ornaments went up. When I have 10 minutes to myself (it may happen), I plan to carefully put up my handful of “very special” ornaments – ones I have had since I was a kid. And finally, whenever we get around to it, we will lift one of the children up to the top and place the star, or an angel at the top of the tree.

And take one picture.

Losing the Elf on the Shelf made me feel really bad – like I totally failed at Christmas. What I have to remember is that there is a difference between trend and tradition, and that traditions are are not sold, imposed or retweeted.

This Christmas, despite my failures, I am going to try to step back, forget about that blessed elf…and pay more attention to the simple family traditions that will make our Christmas special.

 

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *