与女孩拼抢:在哈利法克斯的董事会室游戏咖啡馆度过的时光

哈利法克斯董事会会议室咖啡厅由Helen Earley提供的多代拼图游戏

我的女儿和奶奶在哈利法克斯Barrington st的董事会室咖啡厅玩拼字游戏/照片:Helen Earley

这个下毛毛雨的星期六下午是尝试我们运气的绝佳机会。 董事会室游戏咖啡馆  –一个我8岁的女儿和我很久以来就一直打算去的地方。 还有谁比我们的居民更好地带给我们 乱涂 专家:亲爱的妈妈,又名奶奶!

四年前,当他们在Barrington St.开设第一家餐厅时,Board Room Game Cafe被许可为饮料房,这意味着孩子们只能来吃饭,并且必须在晚上9:00之前出门。 。 随着今年早些时候政府规则的变更,Board Room Cafe现在拥有限制较少的饮食场所许可证。 这意味着儿童不再需要点餐。 他们可以像其他所有人一样来玩游戏。

在我们下午的晚间探访中,咖啡馆已经充满了各个年龄段的参与者,他们来自一个充满活力的年轻五口之家, 迷宫 一群庆祝生日的青少年(他们正在玩LIFE游戏)–大量的学生玩着我从未见过的东西。

我们的游戏开始顺利。 在第三回合中,我将Entailed放在三字母上,获得额外的50分。 妈妈吟着,但我的女儿不介意,因为我们的服务器刚刚在她面前的桌子上放了一瓶生啤酒,一大碗爆米花和糖果。 尽管我母亲感到不安,但咖啡馆的食物真的很好吃:

“我不敢相信所有这些人都在吃糖果和玩游戏。 一切都会变黏吗?”

哈利法克斯董事会会议室咖啡厅由Helen Earley提供的多代拼图游戏

董事会会议室游戏咖啡厅提供非常惊人的小吃菜单,以及丰盛的茶,咖啡,拿铁咖啡等。

我因为她是对的笑着……但是我自己从来没有想过。

最近,我一直在向父母寻求帮助:在孩子方面提供帮助,精神上的支持甚至是金钱。 我今年42岁,对我们的关系变得多么不平衡感到as愧。 我应该支持他们,带他们去度假,为他们做饭,但我仍然是有需要的人,每隔几周就打电话给我,为我最近的危机招募赞助商。

我意识到,我今天下午比其他几个星期都更喜欢妈妈的陪伴,因为在这里,我的女儿,妈妈和我只是朋友-一组三个女士,如果愿意的话,一起去参加下午的比赛。

但是游戏本身很差。 从爆炸开始,我现在能提供的最好的东西是BEE和WE的总和是10分,而我的女儿一直在退缩她不满意的瓷砖。 这是一个可怕的策略,我对此表示怀疑。

“她喜欢那样做,”我妈妈轻轻地说,“她不介意错过转弯。”

我的妈妈和我的女儿玩 乱涂 经常在一起。 我不知道我的女儿,现在正在一碗糖果的一半,就是这样玩的。

“我想我一定是这里最大的人,”我的妈妈突然说道。

她是对的。

我把LOVE放在右上角,因为14的积分很差。

妈妈直接进来,用O来拼写WOE。

她相当戏剧性地说道:“紧挨着爱情是祸”,得分同样糟糕至12分。

“我的妈妈”是个旁观者,“董事会会议室游戏咖啡厅”吸引了她。 她说:“我从来没有见过这么多人围坐在玩游戏的地方,除了在家。”

家人在玩 迷宫 现在,几张桌子旁边的桌子已经完全动起来了,齐声喊着“ Oooohhh”,“ Ahhhh”和“ Yayyyy”。

妈妈说:“这就像在烟火之夜。”

游戏继续。 没有官员 乱涂 字典或我们信任的“可接受的两个字母单词列表”,妈妈和我的女儿不允许我使用KIR,但在我的下一个步骤中,他们允许使用DINK,而妈妈很快将其转换为DINKY。

妈妈说:“我真的不喜欢您的DINK,”我抗议她只允许我拥有它,因此可以使用她的Y。

在她的下一回合中,妈妈将气味放在了外面。

“气味,适当的英文拼写。” 她强调地说。 (妈妈是英国人)。

“奶奶,您有气味的问题,”我8岁的女儿窃笑。

“不,”格兰尼回答,“如果用U拼写美国字,就会遇到气味问题。”

我再次笑了起来,当我用QI打破200点的门槛时,我突然意识到在过去两周里我一直困扰着我的胸部紧张已经消失。 我遇到了明显的问题:和亲人一起玩游戏可以减轻压力。

但棋盘游戏还有其他好处。 法国的一项2013法国研究报告 英国医学杂志,报告称棋盘游戏玩家患痴呆症的风险比非游戏玩家低15%。

并在一篇文章中 今日心理学,作家杰伊·泰格尔(Jay Tiegel)报告说,在一群心理学家进行的游戏实验之后,人们发现“观看人们的演奏会显示出与他们有关的大量信息……您通常只能期望经过数月的官方治疗”

所以我更愿意认识我的母亲和女儿的感觉,只是通过分享一场比赛 乱涂确实不是那么遥不可及,而我的母亲-一名作为旁观者的母亲-在这里为自己的钱而赚钱的事实也就不足为奇了。

在游戏快要结束时,我们花了几轮来抛弃我们的瓷砖:IS,IN,TI或OR,ME。 我女儿只剩下Z –初学者的愚蠢! 比分确实是可怕的。 我们所有人都同意这是因为我们每个人都有很多瓷砖,尽管我秘密地想知道,由于所有玩笑和吃糖的缘故,我们当中没有人真正专注于游戏。

最后,我们结束游戏。 我是207分的“第一冠军”。 格兰尼以167分获得“第二名”,我的女儿以94分获得“第三名”。

确实成绩很差,但是今天我们三个人都通过花宝贵的时间在一起玩而取得了胜利。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Scrabble with the Girls: Time Well Spent at the Board Room Game Cafe in Halifax

Multi-generational Scrabble at the Board Room Cafe in Halifax by Helen Earley

My daughter and Granny playing Scrabble at the Board Room Cafe, Barrington st, Halifax/Photo: Helen Earley

This drizzly Saturday afternoon was the perfect opportunity to try our luck at the Board Room Game Cafe  – a place my 8-year daughter and I have been meaning to visit for ages. And who better to bring with us than our resident Scrabble expert: my dear Mum, a.k.a Granny!

When they opened their first location on Barrington St. four years ago, the Board Room Game Cafe was licensed as a Beverage Room, which meant that kids could only come for the purposes of a meal, and had to be out by 9:00 pm. With a change in government rules earlier this year, the Board Room Cafe now holds a less restrictive Eating Establishment license. This means that children no longer have to order have a meal; they can just come in and play games just like everyone else.

On our late afternoon visit, the cafe is already filling with players of all ages, from an energetic young family of five playing Labyrinth to a group of pre-teens celebrating a birthday (they are playing the game of LIFE) – and tons of students playing stuff I’ve never seen before.

Our game begins well. On my third turn, I place ENTAILED on a triple-letter, gaining an extra 50 points. Mum groans but my daughter doesn’t mind, as our server has just placed a bottle of root beer and enormous bowl of popcorn and candy on the table in front of her. The food at the cafe is really good, despite my mother’s misgivings:

“I can’t believe all these people are eating candy and playing games. Won’t everything get sticky?”

Multi-generational Scrabble at the Board Room Cafe in Halifax by Helen Earley

The Board Room Game Cafe offers a really amazing snack menu, and hearty mugs of tea, coffee, latte etc.

I chuckle because she’s right… but it would never had occurred to me on my own.

Lately, I have been turning to my parents for help: help with the kids, moral support, even money. At 42 years old, I feel ashamed at how unbalanced our relationship has become. I should be supporting them, taking them on holiday, cooking for them, but instead I am still the needy one, phoning up every few weeks in tears, recruiting sponsors for my latest crisis.

I realise that I am enjoying my mother’s company more this afternoon than in many weeks because here, my daughter, my Mum and I are simply friends – a group of three ladies, if you will, getting together for an afternoon game.

But the game itself is poor. Having started with a bang, the best I can offer now is BEE and WE combined for 10 points, and my daughter keeps putting back tiles that she’s not happy with. It’s a terrible strategy and I question it.

“She likes doing that,” says my Mum gently, “She doesn’t mind missing a turn.”

My Mum and my daughter play Scrabble together often. I had no idea that my daughter, who is now halfway through the bowl of candy, played this way.

“I think I must be the oldest person here,” remarks my Mum, out of the blue.

She is right.

I place LOVE on the top right hand corner, for a lousy 14 points.

Mum comes straight in, using the O to spell WOE.

“Next to love is woe” she says, rather dramatically, and tallies an equally lousy score of 12.

My Mum is a people-watcher, and the Board Room Game Cafe is intriguing her. “I’ve never seen so many people sitting around playing games,” she remarks, “you know, except at home.”

The family playing Labyrinth a few tables away is now totally animated, shouting “Oooohhh” and “Ahhhh” and “Yayyyy” in unison.

“It’s like being at Fireworks night,” says Mum.

The game continues. Without an official Scrabble dictionary or our trusty List of Acceptable Two Letter Words, Mum and my daughter do not allow me KIR, but on my next turn they permit DINK, which Mum swiftly transforms into DINKY.

“I didn’t really like your DINK,” Mum says, and I protest that she only let me have it so she could use her Y.

On her next turn, Mum places ODOUR.

“Odour, the proper English spelling of it.” she states emphatically. (Mum is British).

“Granny, you have an odour problem,” snickers my 8-year old daughter.

“No,” Granny replies, “you have an odour problem if you’re spelling it the American way with a U.”

I laugh again, and as I break the 200-point threshold with QI, I suddenly realize that the tightness in my chest that has been bothering me for the past two weeks has nearly disappeared. I encounter the obvious: that playing games with loved ones reduces stress.

But board games have other benefits. A 2013 french study reported in the British Medical Journal, reports that board game players have a 15% lower risk of developing dementia than non-players.

And in an article for Psychology Today, writer Jay Tiegel reports that following a game-playing experiment by a group of psychologists, it was discovered that “watching people play revealed a depth of information about them…that you would ordinarily expect only from months of official therapy”

So the feeling that I am getting to know my mother and my daughter better, simply by sharing a game of Scrabble, is really not that far off the mark, and the fact that my mother – a people-watcher – is getting good run for her money here, is no surprise.

Toward the end of the game, we spend several rounds dumping our tiles: IS, IN, TI, OR, ME. My daughter is left with a Z – beginner’s folly! The scores are truly dire. We all agree that it was because we each had a bad lot of tiles, although I secretly wonder whether, due to all the banter and candy-eating, none of us were really focused on play.

Finally we end the game. I am the “first winner” with 207 points. Granny is the “second winner” with 167, and my daughter is the “third winner” with 94.

Bad scores indeed, but today all three of us have triumphed, by spending valuable time together, just playing.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *