fbpx

直接去监狱...在你的假期! 5 Cool Jailhouse酒店

这里是最酷的监狱入住的5。 这些有趣的前监狱变身酒店绝对更具魅力,更少抨击!
监狱住宿

我自称热闹的爸爸每星期都会给我的兄弟和我发放津贴,用同一句话:“你走吧,你这些小罪犯。”

我们并不是特别恶毒,只要有忧郁的青少年去,但我不禁想到我父亲的笑话,因为我调查了住宿和住宿的特定利基:前监狱。

他是多么高兴知道他的小罪犯可以和我们的家人在一个曾经是臭名昭着的重罪犯的地方过夜? 这些以前的灰色酒吧酒店现在只是普通的酒店,其中一些酒店保留的不仅仅是他们以前的刑事用途。 你觉得怎么样,你会在叮当声中过夜吗?

酒店监狱

弗里曼特尔监狱的殖民地时代卫兵小屋已经修复并可供出租

弗里曼特尔监狱和别墅,澳大利亚弗里曼特尔:在澳大利亚西部的弗里曼特尔监狱有两个地方可以入住。 该 YHA Hostel-Freemantle监狱 是一个传统的背包客宿舍宿舍住宿和私人房间,共用厨房和(主要)共用浴室设施。 位于19世纪监狱的女子街区,游客可以选择留在经过改造的单元中,以获得“真实”的体验。 被警告,灵魂据说仍然走在大厅! 如果“闹鬼的监狱”看起来有点偏离你通常在寄宿处寻找的东西,但你仍然很感兴趣,殖民地时代的后卫们最近被改造成了前监狱墙外的两间卧室自给式宾馆。

在伊斯坦布尔的四季苏丹艾哈迈德的令人愉快的花园曾经是监狱的“院子”。

伊斯坦布尔四季酒店(Sultanahmet)令人愉快的花园曾经是监狱的“院子”。 图片由The Four Seasons提供

四季Sultanahmet, 土耳其伊斯坦布尔:告诉人们你要留在土耳其监狱,并保证时髦的苏丹艾哈迈德附近的豪华四季不是他们想到的! 除了沉重的木门和俯瞰可爱的客人的了望塔之外,该建筑的历史已被有效地清理干净。 你可以在曾经是监狱运动场的美丽花园漫步,如果你问礼宾,他会指出哪里的犯人雕刻在庄严的大理石柱子里。 那些呆在前者的围墙内的人,而不是努力工作 Sultanahmet Cezaevi 很难离开。 [看到? 我可以让我自己的爸爸开玩笑!]

HI-渥太华

HI-Ottawa监狱旅馆 mikecphoto / Shutterstock.com

HI-Ottawa监狱旅馆,加拿大渥太华:有些可怕的标语“最好的地方挂!”这家旅馆以前是卡尔顿县监狱,是的,绞刑架的地方,这往往是借给这个地方有点可疑的荣誉“最闹鬼的建筑物在加拿大。“邀请客人每天30分钟参观该设施,以了解首都地区最独特的物业之一的历史。 该地点本身很难击败,靠近发生的拜沃德市场,步行可至国会山和加拿大国家美术馆。

Liberty Hotel酒店中心的一座90脚圆形大厅

Liberty Hotel酒店中心的一座90脚圆形大厅。 图片由喜达屋酒店提供

自由酒店,美国波士顿:前查尔斯街监狱保留了它的前世,因为酒店经过重新装修,以适应当今高端旅客的口味,而不是19th监狱看守的严格标准。 酒店有很多有趣的主题,查尔斯街监狱因骚乱而臭名昭着...现在我认为骚乱唯一受到威胁的是客人无法在现场餐厅之间做出决定:Alibi,Clink或Scampo。

监狱酒店里一条不祥的走廊,一位客人形容为“直走寂静岭”。

监狱酒店里一条不祥的走廊,一位客人形容为“直走寂静岭”。

HotelLöwengraben(Hotel Jail), 瑞士卢塞恩:这家酒店的客房(作为监狱服务直到1998)从监狱严肃认为的双层床和共用浴室设施一应俱全到高档。 几年前,当卢塞恩监狱迁往几乎20的城镇郊区的一个设施时,这个中央位置(以前被一条护城河隔开)被认为是酒店的理想地点。 图书馆仍然藏有最后被囚犯用来表现良好行为的奖励,而曾经的导演办公室现在是高端套房。 查看巴拉巴斯套房,这是一座安置在良心囚犯和艺术家巴拉巴斯艺术仍在展出的牢房。 他和其他前囚犯偶尔在酒店酒吧见面。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
标签:
一个响应
  1. 17年 2016月 XNUMX日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Go Directly to Jail… on Your Vacation! 5 Cool Jailhouse Hotels

Here are 5 of the coolest jailhouse stays. These fun former prisons-turned-hotels are definitely more glamour and less slammer!
Jailhouse Stays

My self-proclaimed hilarious dad would dole out allowance to my brother and I every week with the same line: “Here you go, you little criminals.”

We weren’t particularly villainous as far as sullen teenagers go, but I can’t help thinking of my dad’s joke as I investigate a particular niche in accommodations and lodging: former prisons.

How happy would he be knowing that his little criminals could spend a night with our families at a place that used to house notorious felons?  These former grey bar hotels are now just regular hotels, with some of them retaining more than a hint of their previous penal purpose. What do you think, would you spend a night in the clink?

Hotel Jail

Colonial Era Guards’ Cottages at Freemantle Prison have been restored and are available for rent

Fremantle Prison and Cottages, Freemantle, Australia: There are two places to stay at the Fremantle Prison in Western Australia. The YHA Hostel-Freemantle Prison is a traditional backpackers hostel with dorm accommodations and private rooms available, shared kitchen and (mostly) shared bathroom facilities. Located in the women’s block of the 19th century prison, visitors have the option to stay in a converted cell for an “authentic” experience. Be warned, spirits are said to still walk the halls! If “haunted jail” seems a little outside of what you usually look for in lodgings, but you are intrigued nonetheless, the colonial era guards’ cottages have recently been converted into two bedroom self-contained guesthouses just outside the walls of the former prison.

The delightful garden at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet in Istanbul used to "the yard" of the prison.

The delightful garden at the Four Seasons Istanbul at Sultanahmet used to be “the yard” of the prison. Image courtesy of The Four Seasons

Four Seasons Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey: Tell people you are going to stay in a Turkish prison, and guaranteed the posh Four Seasons in the funky Sultanahmet neighbourhood is not what they have in mind! Aside from the heavy wooden doors and watchtowers overlooking the pampered guests, the building’s history has been effectively wiped clean. You can take a stroll through the beautifully appointed gardens that used to be the prison exercise yard, and if you ask the concierge, he will point out where inmates carved into the stately marble pillars. Instead of doing hard time, those staying within the walls of the former Sultanahmet Cezaevi have a hard time leaving. [See? I can make dad jokes of my own!]

HI-Ottawa

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel mikecphoto / Shutterstock.com

HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel, Ottawa, Canada: With the somewhat macabre tagline “The best place to hang!” the hostel was previously the Carleton County Gaol, and yes, the site of gallows, which goes towards lending the place the somewhat dubious honour of “Most Haunted Buildings in Canada.” Guests are invited on a 30 minute tour of the facility daily to learn a little more of the history in what is one of the most unique properties in the Capital Region. The location itself is hard to beat, near the happening Byward Market and walking distance to Parliament Hill and The National Gallery of Canada.

A 90 foot rotunda in the centre of the Liberty Hotel

A 90 foot rotunda in the centre of the Liberty Hotel. image courtesy of Starwood Hotels

The Liberty Hotel, Boston, USA: The former Charles Street Jail retains little of its past life, as the hotel has been luxuriously redone to suit the taste of today’s high end travellers, rather than the less exacting standards of 19th prison warders. The hotel has lots of fun playing with the theme, The Charles Street Jail was notorious for riots…nowadays I think the only time a riot is threatened is when guests can’t decide between the onsite restaurants: Alibi, Clink or Scampo.

An ominous hallway in the Jail Hotel that one guest described as "straight out of Silent Hill."

An ominous hallway in the Jail Hotel that one guest described as “straight out of Silent Hill.”

Hotel Löwengraben (Hotel Jail), Luzern, Switzerland: Rooms in this hotel (which served as a prison until 1998) range from jailhouse austere—think bunk beds and shared bathroom facilities, to decidedly upscale. When the Lucerne prison moved to a facility on the outskirts of town almost 20 years ago, the central location (formerly bordered by a moat), was thought to be the perfect spot for an hotel. The library still contains the books last perused by inmates being rewarded for good behavior, and the once director’s office is now a high end suite. Check out the Barabas Suite, a cell that housed prisoner-of-conscience and artist Barabas whose art is still on display. He and other former prisoners still meet occasionally in the hotel bar.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:
One Response
  1. June 17, 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *