fbpx

5不能错过贾斯珀黑暗天空节的活动

贾斯珀黑暗天空节礼貌旅游贾斯珀

贾斯珀黑暗天空节礼貌旅游贾斯珀

我们在天空中翱翔,在我们的脸上和偶尔在我们眼中融化的雪花上眨着眼睛。 “这都是公园体验的一部分!”加拿大公园的翻译人员笑着说道,他的任务是在多云的天空下在暴风雪中引领一个明星凝视计划。

“我希望他们有良好的想象力!”我听到他的伴侣笑了,表示我们的国际组织。 我们已经聚集在无法瞥见天空的无望之中,因为天空没有给出合作的迹象。 尽管如此,公园口译员还是在猎人猎户座猎户座的故事中大展拳脚,每个人都沉迷于明星们的凝视之中。

这样的云盖(从Jasper Tramway的顶部观看可以让明星凝视一点挑战!

我们在贾斯珀国家公园为那里 碧玉黑暗天空节由洛矶山登山家提出,一年一度的庆祝夜空和贾斯珀作为黑暗天空保护区的地位。 艾伯塔省拥有世界上最大的两个黑暗天空保护区,这是非常酷的(贾斯珀国家公园 和伍德布法罗国家公园),所以真正的加拿大时尚,我们庆祝节日!

当我和我的家人有机会参加2016时,我们有一个很好的(看看我在那里做了什么?)时间! 节日期间有很多乐趣可以在冬季的两个周末举行......这是你不想错过的!

比尔奈,黑暗的天空的家伙

1)特邀嘉宾: 好的,是的,你很想知道在黑暗天空音乐节上的主题演讲者。 在2016中,Bill Nye和George Takei分享了演讲者的职责,Nye是第一个周末的头条,Takei是第二个周末。 在Nye周末,他两次登台:一场面向成年人的晚间演讲和一场适合所有年龄段的下午演讲。 我们也有机会听到加拿大宇航员杰里米汉森谈到他与加拿大太空计划的经历。 就我而言,问答时间可能整天都在进行,这完全是令人着迷的。 会谈是一个听取他们领域专家的机会。 即使作为一个有限的兴趣和科学能力的人,我也感受到了启发! 在2017中,特邀嘉宾将包括在内 Brian Cox和Phil Plait, 两位当今最受欢迎的科学教育工作者。

2)与加拿大公园的明星凝视 因此,关于黑暗天空保存的事情就是天黑了。 在镇上,你会略微注意到它并不像你习惯的那样明亮,但是一旦你出城,它就会变暗。 找到我们应该去参加该计划的地方本身就是一次冒险(参见我上面提到的暴风雪!)但即使没有找到星星,这个节目也很有趣,而且信息丰富。 Parks的人们可以很好地保持它的年龄和兴趣水平,这是一个真正值得你花时间的自由活动......即使星星本身不存在! 访问Jasper镇的访客中心,了解有关编程的更多信息 看到网站.

碧玉黑暗的天空节日

空中支持的天文馆是一个很好的机会看到夜空,明星有保证! 设置望远镜进行白天观看; 偷看行星。

3)贾斯珀天文馆 为了保证看星星,请在Jasper Planetarium享受一段时间的体验! 在酒店的庭院中设置的充气圆顶天文馆是360度天文沉浸式体验。 舒适地坐在圆顶下的折叠椅上,我们看着星星和北极光在我们上方闪现。 我的小儿子无奈地面对这样的奇迹保持沉默,气喘吁吁地说 “哇” 在几个关口。 他正在表达我们大家的想法。 当然! 您也可以参加白天观看体验,在这里您可以通过特殊望远镜观看天堂景观。 在黑暗天空节期间,天文馆提供额外的时间和节目,包括在贾斯珀天空电车顶部举行晚餐的明星聚会,以及在玛琳峡谷进行的深夜观星之旅。 看到了 贾斯珀天文馆网站 获取更多信息和机票价格。

4)加拿大皇家天文学会(RASC) 在2017中,加拿大皇家天文学会将在公园内设置,让游客有机会免费观看天堂。 几个望远镜,每个设置为查看天空的不同部分将设置提供一个“近距离”看看超越的机会。 志愿者天文学家也将提供帮助和回答问题。 如果你有自己的望远镜,现在是一个很好的时机,他们会给你安装它。

碧玉黑暗的天空节日

坐落在安妮特湖旁边的座位等待着由ESO顾客填补,舞台是为交响曲而设的; s'mores等待在温暖的火焰上完成

5)星光下的交响乐 雪的裤子通常不是 德严格 在交响乐团的一个晚上,但在 星光下的交响乐,你会想要他们。 相信我。 即使有暖手器,毛毯和热巧克力棒为您提供了体验,但您仍然想要捆绑。 这是十月在落基山脉! 如果你可以负担得起挥霍,Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge的星光下交响乐团是一次难以置信的体验。 入住这个古老的度假村包括一个欢迎酒会,以及一场令人惊叹的3课程晚餐,随后由安妮特湖畔外的埃德蒙顿交响乐团演出。 在2017中,爵士乐巨星汤米班克斯和PJ佩里将加入ESO。 请注意,虽然儿童可以参加活动,但我在交响乐中找到了一个更好的夜晚,他们安全地坐在酒店房间里。 该 礼宾接待处 如果您需要,可以帮助为您安排保姆服务。

光污染的扩散干扰了我们看到夜空的美丽和魔力的能力,贾斯珀黑暗天空节为那些熟悉夜空的人们带来了好处。 之前的演讲嘉宾包括来自埃德蒙顿的TELUS科学世界,加拿大皇家天文学会,Jay Ingram(前任Daily Planet的主持人)以及国际上最受欢迎的宇航员和Twitter明星上校Chris Hadfield。 即将到来的电影节将承诺达到过去节日的高标准。

这些和更多的活动会让你和你的家人对上述事物着迷。 访问 碧玉黑暗的天空节日 以获得更多细节。

非常感谢 贾斯珀旅游 在贾斯珀黑暗天空节举办我的演出。 这些意见如同以往一样是我自己的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

5 Can’t Miss Activities at the Jasper Dark Sky Festival

Jasper Dark Sky Festival Courtesy Tourism Jasper

Jasper Dark Sky Festival Courtesy Tourism Jasper

We peer up at the sky, blinking hard against the snowflakes that land and melt on our faces and occasionally in our eyes.  “It’s all part of the Parks experience!” chuckles the Parks Canada interpreter tasked with leading a star gazing program in a snowstorm under a cloudy sky.

“I hope they have good imaginations!” I hear his partner laugh, indicating our international group. We have gathered in the hopeless impossibility of catching a glimpse of the heavens, as the sky gives zero indication of cooperating. Nonetheless, the park interpreters gamely launch into the story of Orion the Hunter, and everyone settles in for the star gazing sans stars.

Cloud cover like this (viewed from the top of the Jasper Tramway can make star gazing a bit of a challenge!

We are there in Jasper National Park for the Jasper Dark Sky Festival presented by Rocky Mountaineer, an annual bash celebrating the night sky and Jasper’s status as a Dark Sky Preserve.  It’s pretty cool that Alberta is home to two of the largest Dark Sky Preserves in the world (Jasper National Park and Wood Buffalo National Park) so in true Canadian fashion, we celebrate with a festival!

When my family and I had the opportunity to attend in 2016, we had a stellar (see what I did there?) time! There is a ton of fun to be had during the festival that spans over two weekends in the winter…here’s what you won’t want to miss!

Bill Nye, Dark Sky Guy

1) Special guests: Okay, yes, it’s a bit obvious that you will want to hear the keynote speaker at the Dark Sky Festival. In 2016 both Bill Nye and George Takei shared speaker duties, with Nye headlining the first weekend, and Takei the second. On the Nye weekend, he hit the stage twice: an evening presentation that was geared for adults and an afternoon talk for all ages. We also got the chance to hear Canadian astronaut Jeremy Hansen talk about his experience with the Canadian Space Program. The question and answer period could have gone on all day as far as I was concerned, it was completely fascinating. The talks are a chance to hear experts in their field. Even as someone with limited interest and aptitude in science, I felt inspired! In 2017, special guests will include Brian Cox and Phil Plait, two of today’s most popular science educators.

2) Star Gazing with Parks Canada So, the thing about a dark sky preserve is that it’s dark. In the town site you slightly notice that it isn’t as glaringly bright as you might be used to, but once you are out of town, it’s DARK.  Finding where we were supposed to go for the program was a bit of an adventure in itself (see the snowstorm I referenced above!) but even with no stars to be found, the program was entertaining and informative. The Parks people do a great job of keeping it accessible for a range of ages and interest levels and it’s a free activity that is really worth your time…even if the stars themselves are absent! Visit the visitors’ centre in the Jasper town site for more information on programming, or see the website.

Jasper Dark Sky Festival

The air supported planetarium is a great chance to see the night sky, star are guaranteed! Setting up the telescopes for a daytime viewing; taking a peek at the planets.

3) Jasper Planetarium For a guaranteed look at the stars, make some time for an experience at the Jasper Planetarium! Set up in the courtyard of the Hotel, the inflatable dome planetarium is a 360 degree astronomical immersive experience. Seated comfortably in the folding chairs under the dome, we watched stars and Northern Lights flash above us. My young son was helpless to stay silent in the face of such wonders, breathlessly saying “Whoa” at several junctures. He was voicing what we were all thinking. Whoa for sure! You can also take part in a daytime viewing experience, where you can view the heavenly sights through special telescopes. During the Dark Sky Festival the Planetarium offers additional times and programs, including a star session that includes supper at the top of the Jasper Sky Tram, and a late night stargazing tour in Maligne Canyon. See the Jasper Planetarium website for more info and ticket prices.

4) Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) In 2017 the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada will be setting up in the Park to give visitors a chance to gaze at the heavens, for free. Several telescopes, each set up for viewing a different part of the sky will be set up to offer the opportunity for an “up close” look at what lies beyond. Volunteer astronomers will also be on hand offering assistance and answering questions. If you have your own telescope, it’s a great time to bring it and they will give you hand setting it up.

Jasper Dark Sky Festival

Seats set up beside Lake Annette waiting to be filled by ESO patrons, the stage is set for the Symphony; s’mores waiting to be made over the warming fires

5) Symphony under the Stars Snow pants are not usually de rigueur for a night at the symphony, but at the Symphony under the Stars, you are going to want them. Trust me. Even with the hand warmers, blankets and hot chocolate bar thoughtfully provided for the experience, you are going to want to bundle up. It is October in the Rockies! If you can afford the splurge, the Symphony under the Stars event at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is an incredible experience. A stay at the venerable resort includes a welcome reception, and an amazing 3 course supper followed by a performance by the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra outside beside Lake Annette. In 2017, jazz greats Tommy Banks and PJ Perry will be joining the ESO. Note, while children are allowed at the event, I found a night at the symphony better with them safely ensconced in the hotel room. The concierge desk can help arrange nanny service for you if you need.

The proliferation of light pollution has interfered with our ability to see the beauty and magic of the night sky, and the Jasper Dark Sky Festival brings people who are best acquainted with the the night sky. Previous speakers have included including guests from the the TELUS World of Science in Edmonton, the Royal Canadian Astronomical Society, Jay Ingram (former host of Daily Planet) and internationally beloved astronaut and Twitter-star Col. Chris Hadfield. The coming festival promised to reach the high standard that has been set by past festivals.

These and more activities will keep you and your family fascinated by what lies above. Visit Jasper Dark Sky Festival for more details.

Many thanks to Jasper Tourism for hosting me at the Jasper Dark Sky Festival. The opinions, as ever, are my own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *