保持冷静并节省资金:9在今年夏天在英格兰捏手拿钱

有人说去英国度过一个家庭假期很昂贵,但这并不意味着您应该将其从清单中删除! 使用一些省钱的技巧和窍门,可以使您充分利用下一次英国度假的机会,而不必花很多钱。

1。 七月份旅行

大多数英国学校直到七月的最后一周才放暑假(对孩子们来说并不难过;他们在十月和二月有一个半星期的假期)。 短暂的英国暑假意味着加拿大人可以在XNUMX月上半月利用丰富的住宿条件和较低的价格,那时所有的英语小童都还在上学!


2。 在出发前购买英国铁路通票。

Britrail通票为英国游客提供难以置信的灵活性和节省,而且对于家庭来说非常适合,因为每个陪同的成年人或老年人,一个孩子(年龄段5-15)免费旅行。 在您离开加拿大之前,您必须购买英国铁路通票,因为它们专为游客而设。 ACP铁路 是购买通行证的最佳场所。

ACP铁路britrail通票,从9方式在今年夏天在英国省钱

Britrail Pass可以为您节省数百美元的旅行/照片: ACP铁路

3。 睡在酒吧上面(并且也在那里吃!)

住在酒吧上面 为家庭省钱是一种很好的方式。 大多数酒吧在早晨提供早餐,包括房价,以及丰盛而实惠的晚餐菜单。 从高端精品店到廉价而开朗的当地酒吧,甚至没有自己的网站,你会发现各种各样的选择 www.stayinapub.com

 4. 住在一个 青年旅社 

你的孩子喜欢双层床吗? 屡获殊荣的英格兰和威尔士青年旅舍协会拥有150独特的特色,从他们的酒店到酒店 牛津街上的现代背包客 令人难以置信 在哈德良长城的门槛 - 诺森伯兰郡一个高规格的旅馆和景观发现中心。 价格为79.00的高价房起价为带连接浴室设施的家庭间。 看看 YHA英国 以获得更多细节。

青年旅舍牛津街,从9方式在今年夏天在英国省钱

YHA伦敦中心牛津街/图片: YHA

5。 使用牡蛎卡

在伦敦旅行? 使用牡蛎卡在伦敦地铁上省钱。 例如,如果您支付现金,Ealing百老汇(3区)和Picaddily马戏团(1区)之间的非高峰单身成人票为$ 4.90,如果您使用牡蛎则为2.90。 更好的是,a 访客牡蛎卡片 可以给你特别的伦敦景点折扣。

6。 旅行非高峰

拿管子? 不要在周一至周五的6:30 am和9:30之间旅行。 这是伦敦人急于工作的时候,所以票价几乎是两倍,人群又厚又快。 国家铁路服务也是如此 - 在高峰时段和周末之后,一切都更便宜。

牛津马戏团避免Helen Earley拍摄的人群照片

伦敦:旅行非高峰期并使用牡蛎卡。 如果在票价付费的成人陪同下,10的儿童可以免费乘坐免费机票/照片: 海伦·Earley

7。 访问伦敦的免费景点

伦敦有许多像帕丁顿最喜欢的免费景点 自然历史博物馆 在南肯辛顿。 就在路上, 戴安娜纪念游乐场 在肯辛顿花园也是免费的。 你可以在这里找到更多的免费景点和家庭旅行的想法 VisitLondon.com

8。 离开大城市......并击中海滩

我们很多人都飞往伦敦的希思罗机场,在伦敦度过了几天,一日游温莎,牛津或巴斯。 为什么不在箱子外面旅行到一个全新的地方? 拿走 康沃尔郡 例如。 美味的当地美食,如馅饼和奶油茶,以及数百个迷人的海滩,这是一个非常受英国度假者欢迎的地方,但许多国际游客都看不到。 了解更多信息 访问康沃尔.

大西部海滩照片由海伦Earley,从9方式在今年夏天在英国省钱

Greatqueen Beach,Newquay,Cornwall:加拿大人不够多/照片: 海伦·Earley

9。 抢野餐

英格兰有很多美丽的绿色空间,而且每个角落都有方便的迷你超市 乐购地铁 or 塞恩斯伯里的本地。 抓住一些现成的三明治,果汁包装和几个苹果,在运动场附近或运河边享受冰凉的家庭野餐。 易碎的柠檬馅饼!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Keep Calm and Save Money: 9 Ways to Pinch the Pennies in England this Summer

Some say that travelling to England for a family vacation is expensive, but that doesn’t mean that you should dump it from your bucket list! Using a few of these money-saving tips and tricks will allow you to make the best of your next UK vacation – without breaking the bank.

1. Travel in July

Most British schools don’t break up for their summer holidays until the final week of July (don’t feel bad for the kids; they get a weeks’ half-term break in October and February). The short British summer means that Canadians can take advantage of plentiful accommodation and lower prices during the first half of July, when all the English kiddies are still in school!

2. Buy a Britrail Pass Before You Go.

Britrail passes offer incredible flexibility and savings for visitors to England, and they’re great for families because for each accompanying adult or senior, one child (ages 5-15) travels free. You must buy a Britrail pass before you leave Canada, as they’re specifically for tourists. ACP Rail is the best place to shop for your pass.

ACP Rail britrail pass, from 9 Ways to Save Money in England this Summer

A Britrail Pass can save you hundreds of dollars on travel/Photo: ACP Rail

3. Sleep Above a Pub (and eat there too!)

Staying above a pub is a great way to save money for families. Most pubs offer breakfast in the morning included in the room rate, plus a hearty and affordable evening menu. Ranging from high-end boutique to cheap and cheerful local pubs that don’t even have their own website, you’ll find a variety of options at www.stayinapub.com

 4. Stay at a Youth Hostel 

Do your kids like bunk beds? The award-winning Youth Hostel Association of England and Wales has 150 unique properties, ranging from their modern backpackers on Oxford Street to the incredible Sill at Hadrian’s Wall – a high-spec hostel and landscape discovery centre in Northumberland. High-season prices start at £79.00 for a family room with en-suite bathroom facilities. Check out the YHA UK for more details.

Youth Hostel Oxford Street, from 9 Ways to Save Money in England this Summer

YHA Central London Oxford Street/Photo: YHA

5. Use Oyster Cards

Travelling in London? Use an Oyster card to save money on the London Underground. For example, an off-peak single adult ticket between Ealing Broadway (Zone 3) and Picaddily Circus (Zone 1) is $4.90 if you pay cash, or 2.90 if you use your Oyster. Even better, a Visitor Oyster Card can get you special discounts on London Attractions.

6. Travel Off-Peak

Taking the tube? Don’t travel between 6:30 am and 9:30 am Monday to Friday. This is when Londoners are rushing to work so fares are are nearly double, and the crowds are thick and fast. The same goes for National Rail services – everything is cheaper after the rush hour and on weekends.

Oxford Circus Avoid the crowds photo by Helen Earley

London: Travel off-peak and use an Oyster Card. Kids up to 10 can travel free without a ticket if accompanied by a fare-paying adult/Photo: Helen Earley

7. Visit Free Attractions in London

London is full of free attractions like Paddington’s favourite, the Natural History Museum in South Kensington. Just down the road, the Diana Memorial Playground in Kensington Gardens is free too. You can find more free attractions and ideas for family travel at VisitLondon.com

8. Leave the Big Cities Behind…and Hit the Beach

So many of us fly into London’s Heathrow and spend a few days in London, with day trips to Windsor, Oxford or Bath. Why not travel outside the box to somewhere completely new? Take the County of Cornwall for example. With scrumptious local food like pasties and cream teas, and hundreds of stunning beaches, it’s a place that is immensely popular with the British holidaymakers, but that many international visitors don’t see. Learn more at Visit Cornwall.

Great Western Beach photo by Helen Earley, from 9 Ways to Save Money in England this Summer

Great Western Beach, Newquay, Cornwall: Not enough Canadians/Photo: Helen Earley

9. Grab a Picnic

England has plenty of beautiful green spaces, and on every corner, there are convenient mini-supermarkets like Tesco Metro or Sainsbury’s Local. Grab some ready-made sandwiches, juice packs and a few apples to enjoy a chilled-out family picnic near a playground or beside a canal. Easy-peasy lemon squeezy!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *