fbpx

节俭和神话般的路易斯湖

在斜坡上,我偶然听到两位讲师在谈论明年冬天的计划,并希望他们再次被雇用 路易斯湖滑雪和滑雪度假村。 其中一个人强调:“我知道你可以在其他国家赚更多的钱,但是(做一个清晰的手势表明这座山)我的意思是说吧!

这简直就是路易斯湖的经历。 这是在预算考虑和加拿大落基山脉令人叹为观止的冒险之间的妥协。


那么有没有什么办法让家人在没有打破银行的情况下在路易斯湖度过时光? 虽然我不确定有什么方法可以将度假小镇变成预算目的地,但您可以通过几种方法在世界级的度假胜地收获一些便士。

国际青年旅舍HI路易斯湖高山中心

HI-Lake Louise Alpine Centre欢迎家庭入住:舒适的公共休息室,美丽的环境邀请您漫步,基本的住宿非常适合预算!

住哪里:

在我年轻的狂野和/或粗略的日子里,经历了几次狂野和/或粗略的宿舍体验,我不确定如何与我的两个年轻儿子呆在一起 HI路易斯湖高山中心旅馆。 它由联合所有 国际旅游加拿大高山俱乐部, 而令人愉快的事实是,除了一些生气勃勃的德国女孩(他们最终谦卑地安静下来),这对家庭来说是一个完美的设置。 您可以在$ 4(淡季)预订一间可入住130的私人房间。该区域的酒店客房每晚起价约为$ 200,从那里开始,简单的住宿非常适合我们。 凭借落基山脉雄伟的环境,我们无论如何都没有在室内度过长时间。 我们住在阁楼风格的家庭房,最多可容纳6人,阁楼配有一张双人床,两张双层床和一间私人半浴室(水槽和卫生间),隔壁共用淋浴。 提供毛巾和床单,我们遇到了一些可爱的人,他们像摇滚明星一样对待我们的男孩,这很难被击败。

该怎么办:

我问过一位曾经在路易斯湖工作的朋友该村应该做什么。 她揉了揉鼻子。 “嗯,到班夫去吗?”靠近班夫镇的人意味着有人定期开车到更近发生的邻近城镇,但不要太快折扣留在路易斯湖玩耍。 很显然,主要的吸引力是滑雪。 路易斯湖滑雪和滑雪度假村 是来自世界各地的滑雪者的平局。 如果你前往山上,有几种方法可以保存:

电梯票: 提前购买电梯票可以节省一些钱。 如果您将在本季中多次访问路易斯湖度假村,那么一个季节的通行证可能会很多。 看看他们在网站上或在网站上提供的促销活动 滑雪大3网站,其中包括两个班夫度假村(诺奎和阳光)以及路易斯湖滑雪场。 在本赛季早些时候,您还可以在Costco找到电梯门票。 如果您计划为2017-18冬季提前计划,请在秋季开始时将您的眼睛留在当地Costco。 另外,您也可以在旅馆的前台购买折扣电梯票 - 这是他们帮助您节省的另一种方式!

设备租赁: 山上的出租物品质量很高,而且脱掉湿衣服的便利性很难被打败。 但在卡尔加里租赁设备并自己搬运可以大大节省您的时间。 查看 哪里租用卡尔加里的运动和户外设备 为想法。

甚至有方法可以在山上的雪鞋之旅中节省开支!

雪鞋之旅: 从世界顶端看一些事情,尝试在山顶上进行引导式雪鞋远足。 乘坐缆车开始大约两个小时的活动。 这是一个非常好的机会,去滑雪道,了解更多有关该地区的地理和历史,并且适合所有能力水平。 作为一个害怕高处的人,最恐怖的部分就是这样,但是我的4岁就管理得很好。 如果您有电梯票或通票持有人,您可以节省旅行费用。 目前也有一个 优惠券在网站上 你可以下载。 另一个探索的选择是 免费的山间游览 由志愿者山友之友主持,这是学习更多关于路易斯湖的一个很酷的方式。

除了滑雪胜地之外,没有访问路易斯湖会完成访问冰川 路易斯湖 以及标志性的Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise酒店。 除非您是客人或在其中一家餐厅用餐,否则他们不会热衷于游览酒店周围的游客,但湖边的小径可以自由漫步,非常值得一游。

何处吃饭:

你会很快发现“预算定价”是路易斯湖的一个相对术语,包括食品成本。 要保持多少食物的积累速度太快,最好的办法就是带上自己的食物。 HI路易斯高山中心配备了一个可爱的商业级厨房,拥有您在共享空间自己做饭所需的一切。 山上食物的价格并不是很高,但它远不是一种便宜货,自带小吃和午餐是最便宜的饲养方式。 更衣室里的储物柜允许进/出特权,所以你可以访问你的东西,而不必支付更衣室的费用。

如果在度假时做饭听起来像是要付出太高的代价(是的,那就是我),有几家餐馆的价格并不是天文数字。

从HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre青年旅舍步行到附近的餐厅都是一次可爱的短程旅行!

比尔佩托的咖啡厅 这家餐厅位于旅馆,有健康的,坚持你的肋骨类食物。 不幸的是,我们只能在那里用餐一次(在早餐时),因为他们在我们访问的周末关闭了无限次的私人活动。 $ 6儿童菜单特别有吸引力,也是我们遇到的最好价格,所以我们必须回去尝试!

路易斯湖旅馆 从旅馆到街对面的路易斯湖旅馆,您可以步行一小段路,为您提供一些食物选择。 楼上是比萨饼,大部分是意大利菜 森林狼比萨和意大利面咖啡厅。 儿童主菜是$ 10。 将大约$ 20比萨饼中的一些分开似乎是最好的价值。 楼下是酒吧的食物 探索者休息室 (孩子们欢迎,直到8 pm)再次在主题$ 16- $ 18范围内。 如果您恰好在周六晚上参观,您可能需要查看 Aprés滑雪派对 在凉亭..从4 pm-7下午,他们的特色热狗和汉堡$ 6与$ 2芯片的一面。 还有$ 6饮料特价为你的派对猎犬。

山餐厅 不要在赫斯基站旁边的家庭餐馆过快张嘴。 美味的汉堡包和意大利面在$ 16附近戒指,还有一些有趣的韩国主菜也可以尝试。 再次,您可以分摊比萨来支付费用,或者在相邻的Javalanche咖啡厅停留一些面包店的美食。

路易斯湖并不被称为预算度假胜地,而且昂贵的声誉是当之无愧的。 但是有了一些规划和创意,你可以让它为你工作!

非常感谢Hosteling International和路易斯湖滑雪胜地举办我们的家庭。 和以往一样,这些意见是我自己的。



这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Frugal and Fabulous in Lake Louise

On the slopes I overhear two instructors talking about plans for next winter and their hopes to be hired again at the Lake Louise Ski and Snowboard Resort. One of the pair sums up emphatically: “I know you can make more money in other countries, but (makes a sweeping gesture indicating the mountain) I mean COME ON!”

And that is pretty much the Lake Louise experience in a nutshell. It is a compromise between budget considerations and a breath-taking adventure in the Canadian Rockies.

So is there any way for a family to spend time in Lake Louise without breaking the bank? While I’m not sure there is any way to turn the resort town into a budget destination, there are a few ways you can pinch some pennies in the world class vacation spot.

Hosteling International HI-Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Families are welcome at HI-Lake Louise Alpine Centre: The cozy common room, the beautiful setting invites wandering, and the basic accommodations are perfect for the budget minded!

Where to Stay:

Having had a few wild and/or sketchy hostelling experiences in my younger wild and/or sketchy days, I wasn’t exactly sure how it would be staying with my two young sons at the HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre Hostel. It is owned jointly by Hostelling International and Alpine Clubs of Canada, and the pleasant truth is that aside from some exuberant German girls (who graciously did quiet down eventually) it was a perfect set up for families. You can book a private room that sleeps 4 starting at $130 (low season.) With hotel rooms in the area starting at around $200 a night and going well up from there, the simple accommodations were perfectly suited to us. With the majestic surroundings of the Rockies, we didn’t spend long hours indoors anyway. We stayed in a loft style family room that sleeps up to six, with a double bed in the loft, two bunk beds and a private half bath (sink and toilet) with a shared shower next door.  Towels and bed linens were provided, plus we met some lovely people who treated our boys like rock stars, and that’s tough to beat.

What to do:

I asked a friend who used to work in Lake Louise what there is to do in the village. She scrunched up her nose. “Ummm, go to Banff?” The proximity to the Banff townsite means there are people who make the drive regularly to the more happening neighbouring town, but don’t be too quick to discount staying and playing in Lake Louise. Obviously the main draw is skiing. The Lake Louise Ski and Snowboard Resort is a draw for skiers from all over the world. There are a few ways to save if you are headed for the hill:

lift tickets: buying your lift tickets ahead of time can save some serious money. If you will be visiting the Lake Louise resort more than a few times in the season, a season’s pass can be a great deal. Look at the promos they are offering online on their website, or on the Ski Big 3 website, which includes two Banff resorts (Norquay and Sunshine) as well as Lake Louise Ski Resort. Earlier in the season you could also find lift tickets at Costco. If you are planning ahead for the 2017-18 winter, keep your eyes out at your local Costco starting in the fall. Alternatively, you can purchase discounted lift tickets from the front desk at the hostel–another great way they help you save!

equipment rentals: the rentals on the hill are high quality, and the convenience of dropping off your wet gear is hard to beat. But renting equipment in Calgary and transporting it yourself can save you significantly. Check out Where to Rent Sporting & Outdoor Equipment in Calgary for ideas.

There are even ways to save on a snowshoe tour on the mountain!

Snow Shoe tours: To get a look at things from the top of the world try a guided snow shoe excursion at the top of the mountain. A ride up the gondola starts the roughly two hour activity. It’s an amazing chance to go off-piste and learn a bit more about the geography and history of the area, and it is appropriate for all ability levels. As a person who is terrified of heights, the scariest part was the way up, but my 4 year old managed just fine. If you have a lift ticket or are a pass holder, you save on the price of the tour. There is also currently a coupon on the website you can download. Another option to explore is the free mountain tours led by the volunteer Friends of the Mountain which is a cool way to learn a bit more about Lake Louise.

Aside from the ski resort, no visit to Lake Louise would be complete with out a visit to glacial Lake Louise and the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise hotel. They aren’t too keen on tourists traipsing around the hotel unless you are a guest or dining at one of the restaurants, but the trails around the lake are free to wander and well worth the visit.

Where to Eat:

You will quickly find that “budget-priced” is a relative term in Lake Louise, food costs included. The best way to keep how much you spend on food from adding up too quickly is to bring your own. The HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre is equipped with a lovely commercial grade kitchen that has everything you need to make your own meals in the shared space. The price of food on the hill isn’t very outrageous, but it is far from a bargain, and bringing your own snacks and lunch is the cheapest way to feed your brood. The lockers in the change rooms allow in/out privileges, so you can access your stuff without having to pay the locker charge over.

If cooking on vacation sounds like too high a price to pay (yes, that’s me) there are a few restaurants that aren’t too astronomically priced.

The short walk from the HI-Lake Louise Alpine Centre hostel to near by restaurants is a lovely jaunt!

Bill Peyto’s Café Located right in the hostel, this restaurant has wholesome, stick to your ribs kind of food. Unfortunately we were only able to dine there once (at breakfast) because they were closed for an indeterminate amount of time for a private function on the weekend we visited. The $6 kids menu was particularly attractive and the best price we encountered, so we will have to go back to try!

Lake Louise Inn A short, pretty walk from the hostel to the Lake Louise Inn across the street gives you a few food options. Upstairs is pizza and mostly Italian food at Timberwolf Pizza and Pasta Café. Children’s entrees are $10. Splitting a few of the around $20 pizzas seems to be the best value. Downstairs is pub food in Explorers Lounge (children are welcome until 8 pm) with entrées again in the $16-$18 range. If you happen to be visiting on a Saturday night, you may want to check out the Aprés Ski Party in the gazebo.. From 4 pm-7 pm they feature hot dogs and hamburgers for $6 with a side of chips for $2. There are also $6 drink specials for you party hounds.

Mountain Restaurant Don’t turn up your nose too quickly at the family restaurant beside the Husky station. Yummy burgers and pasta ring in around $16, and there are some interesting Korean mains to try as well. Again, you can share a pizza to defray costs, or stop by the adjacent Javalanche Café for some bakery delights.

Lake Louise is not known as a budget vacation spot, and that expensive reputation is pretty well deserved. But with a bit of planning and creativity, you can make it work for you!

Many thanks to Hosteling International and the Lake Louise Ski Resort for hosting our family. As ever the opinions are my own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *