在加州棕榈泉生活沙漠动物园保持冷静

一只墨西哥狼孤零零地矗立在沟壑中,微风吹过,仿佛一个封面上的模特。 在阴影之外,我们的向导向我们保证,其他的狼在炎热的天气中憔悴不已,渴望站在风扇的前面,那是狼的特权之地。 生活沙漠动物园和花园 在棕榈泉加利福尼亚。

事实上,尽管有厚厚的60 SPF防晒霜,但来自风扇的微风看起来像是一个非常受欢迎的喘息机会。

鬣狗在他舒适的小窝里打瞌睡; 一只猫鼬在地上温暖着他的肚子; 一个javelina午睡 信用:慈善快速和梅丽莎Vroon

生活沙漠动物园是来自430物种和150物种的1000动物的家园,所有这些动物都特别适合在沙漠中生活...不像我和我被晒伤的肩膀。


了解这些动物如何在沙漠中保持清凉的热度是这次访问的一个有趣的部分。 在“通过保护,教育和欣赏保护沙漠”的使命下开展活动生活沙漠遵循动物园的趋势,即展示本地的物种,如果不是在该地区,至少在气候条件下。 在Living沙漠,你不会找到起泡的北极熊或滚烫的企鹅!

参加导游或参加每日“野生动物奇观表演”或动物聊天之一是一个很好的方式,使您的访问不仅仅是漫步动物。 这些动物是在沙漠中为生命而建造的,并且有很多东西可以学习如何在极端荒漠中生存。

一个跋涉者收集太阳,捷豹围栏中的池塘提供了一个可喜的喘息时机,墨西哥狼路易斯 信用:慈善快速

在鸟笼里,我们看着一个在太阳下聚集的跋涉者,抬起翅膀,露出羽毛下的黑皮肤。 在这个凉爽的沙漠之夜,行走的人慢下来,慢慢地(不要让Wyle E. Coyote知道!)早晨,他们抬起羽毛在阳光下沐浴,重新振作起来。 路易斯,热爱球迷的墨西哥狼也喜欢爬进他的饮用水。 隐身的美洲虎有一个池塘,他们会坐在他们的脖子上,始终保持在水线以上的注意力的眼睛。

即使对沙漠生活进行了内置改编,一些动物也需要动物园管理员的帮助。 用冷却的水和一些冰块冲洗,里面的水果可以咀嚼,这些都是动物的粉丝。 在极端高温下,动物园管理员会密切关注他们的动物费用。 老年居民的Cape豪猪,通常在温暖的非洲地区的家中发现加利福尼亚的夏天有点多,所以在最温暖的月份度过温度控制的舒适度 Tennity野生动物医院和保护中心。 我觉得你是Porcupine先生,空调也是我的朋友!

“你好? 你有没有更多美味的胡萝卜? 信用:梅丽莎Vroon

即使对于典型的沙漠动物也要特别考虑:骆驼! 虽然我会喜欢尝试骑回骆驼,但在夏季,骆驼会从周围的游客中休息。 你可以一年喂一头长颈鹿! 长长的黑色沙包皮舌头包裹着胡萝卜,给了我一个像没有任何事情的笑声。

就像调整热量的动物一样,该设施也必须进行季节性变化。 规划艾森豪威尔峰的自然小径和生活沙漠所在的1200英亩土地是另一种与沙漠近距离接触的方式。 在无情的索诺兰夏季,即使是经验丰富的徒步旅行者也会很危险,并且禁止使用这条头。 3300-foot G-scale模型火车显示器在夏季也部分关闭。

不要在沙漠中独自死亡! 艾森豪威尔峰在冬季保存您的徒步旅行。 信用:Voula Martin

生活沙漠动物园一年四季都是开放的(不包括圣诞节),每当你发现自己在棕榈泉,一个访问是非常值得你的时间。 从十月开始到五月底,动物园从9开放,直到5 pm(在晚上有一些特别的活动)。在夏天,它只从9开放,直到1:30 pm。 下午对于游客来说常常太热,动物们在阴凉处休息,让他们很难看清楚。

要计划您访问生命沙漠动物园,请访问网站。 有幼童的家庭会想要确保有足够的时间在Gecko Gulch游乐场玩耍,骑着濒危物种的旋转木马,并在Miriam U. Hoover探索中心学习。

非常感谢生命沙漠动物园和花园 参观棕榈泉 为主办我们的小组。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Keeping Cool at the Living Desert Zoo in Palm Springs, California

A lone Mexican wolf stands across the gully, the breeze blowing his fur back like a model on a cover shoot. Out of sight in the shadows, our guide assures us, the other wolves languish in the heat, longing to stand in front of the blowing fan that is the place of privilege in the wolf enclosure at the Living Desert Zoo and Gardens in Palm Springs California.

Indeed, the breeze from the fan looks like a very welcome respite from the pressing heat of the desert sun currently reddening my shoulders despite the thick layer of 60 SPF sunscreen.

A hyena dozes in his cosy den; a meerkat warms his belly on the earth; a javelina enjoys a nap credit: Charity Quick and Melissa Vroon

The Living Desert Zoo is home to 430 animals from 150 species and 1000 species of plants, all of them particularly suited to life in the desert … unlike me and my sunburned shoulders.


Learning how the animals keep cool in the desert heat is a fascinating part of the visit. Operating under the mandate of “Desert conservation through preservation, education, and appreciation” Living Desert follows the trend in zoos of showcasing species which are native, if not to the area, at least to the climate. You won’t find blistering polar bears or piping hot penguins at Living Desert!

Taking a guided tour or participating in one of the daily “Wildlife Wonder Shows”  or animal chats is a great way to make your visit more than just a stroll past the animals.  The animals are built for life in the desert, and there’s a lot to learn about how to survive life in desert extremes.

A roadrunner collects the sun, the pond in the jaguar enclosure offers a welcome respite, and Luis, the Mexican wolf credit: Charity Quick

In the bird aviary, we watch a roadrunner gathering in the heat of the sun by raising his wings to expose the dark skin under his feathers. The roadrunners slow in the cool desert evenings and get sluggish (don’t let Wyle E. Coyote know!) In the morning they lift their feathers and bathe in the sun to reinvigorate themselves. Luis, the Mexican wolf who loves the fan also likes to crawl right into his drinking water. The stealthy jaguars have a pond they will sit in, right up to their necks, always keeping a watchful eye above the water line.

Even with the built-in adaptations for desert living, some of the animals need a helping hand from the zookeepers. Hosing off with a cooling spray of water and blocks of ice with fruit inside to chew on are some fan favourites of the animals. In the extreme heat, the zookeepers keep a watchful eye on their animal charges. The ageing resident Cape porcupine, normally right at home in warm African climes finds the California summers a bit much, so spends the hottest months in the temperature controlled comfort of the Tennity Wildlife Hospital and Conservation Centre. I feel you Mr Porcupine, air conditioning is my friend too!

“Hello? Do you have any more delicious carrots for me please?” credit: Melissa Vroon

Special considerations are made even for the quintessential desert animals: camels! While I would have loved to try my hand at camel back riding, during the summer the camels take a break from lugging tourists around. You can feed a giraffe year round though! The long black sandpapery tongue wrapping around a proffered carrot gave me a case of the giggles like nobody’s business.

Like the animals that make adjustments for the heat, the facility also has to make seasonal changes.  The nature trails that scale Eisenhower Peak and line the 1200 acres of land the Living Desert sits on are another way to get up close and personal with the desert. In the unforgiving Sonoran summer, it is dangerous for even experienced hikers to be out there and the trailhead is barred. The 3300-foot G-scale model train display is partially shuttered for the summer too.

Don’t die alone in the desert! Save your hiking on Eisenhower Peak for the winter months. credit: Voula Martin

The Living Desert Zoo is open every day of the year (excluding Christmas), and whenever you find yourself in Palm Springs, a visit is well worth your time. From the beginning of October until the end of May, the zoo is open from 9 am until 5 pm (with some special events in the evenings.) During the summer, it is open only from 9 am until 1:30 pm. In the afternoon it is often too hot for human visitors, and the animals rest in the shade, making getting a good look at them difficult.

To plan your visit to the Living Desert Zoo, please visit the website. Families with young children will want to make sure there is enough time to have some fun at the Gecko Gulch playground, riding the Endangered Species carousel, and learning by doing in the Miriam U. Hoover Discovery Centre.

Many thanks to the Living Desert Zoo and Gardens and Visit Palm Springs for hosting our group.

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *