伦敦呼叫 - 英国首都的高低观点!

我们在伦敦的高低假期。

每当我开始计划一次旅行时,我就会陷入一个奇怪的瞬间陷阱,我认为我可以像布兰妮斯皮尔斯一样旅行:无限制的一级高级豪华套房中的Cristal和米其林星级的手扒松露油鞑靼晚餐的厨师。

以下是它通常会发挥的方式:我的孩子们争夺谁能拿到iPad,直到我在经济课上为几乎不可通过的Pinot Grigio多付了钱,我在4醒来:30在其中一个酒店房间里谁在睡眠八英尺,直到时间变​​化赶上,我在我们去海滩的路上匆匆把一根奶酪串插入我的嘴里,然后才有机会被沙子覆盖。

我对冒险的渴望并不是因为我无力承担富人和名人的生活方式而受到遏制。 话虽这么说,但这是一个有趣的,如果只是稍微有点痛苦的实验,将高端梦想之旅与我更习惯的预算类型的旅行进行比较,我选择伦敦作为我的目的地。

伦敦,皇家之路

当你到达希思罗机场时,你可以远离平民,找到你的司机(查尔斯王子,如果请求经过并且那天他不忙)。 你的 驾驶司机 到你的酒店,将从近XXUMXX(这是低端,所以可能少于王子驾驶,更可能是杰克开膛手)开始。

A 出租车 从机场到伦敦市中心的距离范围是£46-£87,假设速度根据距离,一天中的时间以及您的孩子在驾驶员头部后方投掷旅行枕头的次数而增加。

宿舍

白金汉宫终于让我停止打电话询问房价,因为显然他们不这样做,凯特和威廉不需要登机旅客的额外收入。

看看一些高端酒店几乎给我一个恐慌的攻击,到我的研究结束时,我听起来完全像朱迪丹奇。 镀金的天花板和木板墙 莱恩斯伯勒 (起价为每晚$ 500-700 CDN,可能睡在拖把衣柜里)明显没有蜡笔标记,我敢打赌,雪茄休息室的地板很少与乐高有关。

你可以在这个地方贫民窟 大皇家伦敦海德公园 起价为每晚$ 300 CDN。 他们没有雪茄吧,但他们也有木板墙,并在酒店描述中多次使用爱德华时代酒店,这些酒吧必须算作什么。

美酒佳肴

下午茶是伦敦所有特权旅客的亮点 克拉里奇 (成人58,不包括酒精,儿童28)不仅是最着名的之一,而且非常认真地聘请茶艺鉴赏家(伦敦的合法职位,自然而然),他们将确保您的品味饮料不会与您的烤饼或手指三明治发生冲突。 着装要求优雅时尚,如果您的孩子高声说话,他们将被扔到街上,并用特色鸭蛋蛋黄酱砸。

或者,也许在享受着名的纪念品购物时尽情享受 哈罗德,参观他们的许多餐馆之一来享用小吃,比如来自Ladurée的标志性(他们的话,不是我的)马卡龙或Caviar House Oyster酒吧的新鲜海鲜。 当我试图将英镑成本转换为加拿大货币时,我的电脑提醒我,我的孩子有一天需要上大学并关闭自己。

运作

在此 伦敦眼 自2000以来,一直为客人提供无与伦比的城市景观。 如果您提前在线预订,您可以与一群陌生人一起享受低至£21的体验。 对于额外的£10 *,您可以享受一次 香槟体验,其中包括一杯br,,伴随着快速赛道入场和个人伦敦眼主持人。

*与一群陌生人在一起,但用葡萄酒更加可以忍受

显然,你不能只付一些钱去追踪帕特里克斯图尔特和伊恩麦克伦在一个酒吧的某个地方,这样你就可以和他们一起待上一整天。 所以你必须要在皇家外出度假去解决 白金汉宫,对于37来说,你可以进入国家房间,皇后画廊,皇家新闻,但显然不是女王的真实观众。

白金汉宫在伦敦

白金汉宫
照片信贷访问伦敦

现在是让Judi Dame的声音消失的时候了,用一个Cockney口音代替,因为如果你实际上必须以预算旅行到伦敦,这是您的替代旅程。

伦敦,现实叮咬之路

宿舍

在一个受欢迎的旅游区休息你的时差身体是大多数旅客预订住宿的目标,但不幸的是农民,为了在这些地区中的一个地区购买一家酒店,您在整个旅行期间只吃糊状豌豆。 一间小巧的房间 双树 酒店在旺季期间可以每晚支付超过$ 400 CDN,并且在淡季期间每晚支付$ 200 CDN。

另外请记住,伦敦的酒店客房与北美的酒店客房相比往往相当小,因此房价不太可能让您在房间中获得任何特别的东西,例如在没有肘部的情况下转身的空间你的孩子在头上。 你可以将自己锁在浴室里,并在家免费完成。

你离伦敦市中心越远,你可以找到的实惠价格越多。 对于一个晚上少于$ 200,你可以找到很多工作室 airbnb.com 在Hammersmith,Notting Hill和Bayswater等地区设有厨房。 虽然大多数伦敦公寓都很小,但它们并不像旅馆房间那么紧凑,不仅价格降低,而且在没有国内刑事指控的情况下将其带出国外的可能性也更大。

美酒佳肴

你可能会发现有人从卡车后面卖鱼子酱,但这是一个你只需要做一次的错误。 那些提供住宿更实惠的替代地区也是当地人经常光顾的酒吧,咖啡馆(全天早餐!)和快餐(或外卖店)的所在地,并且可以找到更好的交易 - 卡车床鱼子酱排除在外。

因为你不是洛克菲勒,所以找一些 咖喱外卖 (这个城市很受欢迎),许多菜肴都在6周围徘徊。 用在当地超市购买的啤酒或葡萄酒清洗 乐购 而且这里的价格要低得多,因为我绝不会大胆地建议在成本的情况下努力渡过一个不情愿的干家庭假期。

交通运输

那个穿着西装在机场拿着标志的花式男人不适合你。 当你走过去时,不要呼吸他的空气。 从希思罗机场到伦敦的最具成本效益的方式是 希思罗机场快线,特快列车不停地前往帕丁顿车站。 门票可以提前在线购买(这也节省了金钱),15下的儿童免费乘坐(而不是在屋顶上,我检查过)。

一张牡蛎卡(比听起来好吃的美味)

加载 现收现付智能卡 是您在伦敦各地搭乘公共交通工具的机票,包括地铁,巴士(巴士票价不能用现金支付),电车,伦敦Overground以及一些 国家铁路 在伦敦的服务。 他们可以在游客中心,车站和Oyster Ticket Stops购买。不同于加拿大的大多数公共交通工具,票价是以区域为基础的,而不是平坦的,但是您可以将其增至最高,从而节省50购买单个票的百分比。

运作

如果伦敦眼上的香槟酒意味着你不得不卖掉一个小孩或者风琴,那么可以在伦敦提供的许多免费博物馆中选择一些迷你杜松子酒*。 大英博物馆, 国家美术馆 以及 伦敦博物馆 只是少数。

*家庭娱乐加拿大不负法律责任,如果你被踢出设施走私自己的妓女。

伦敦眼照片由P自由

可口可乐伦敦眼照片由P自由

而不是正式参观着名的教堂,比如 威斯敏斯特修道院 or 圣保罗大教堂,客人可以免费参加一项服务。 在这段时间内,您无法拍照或漫游探索。 绝对不要把自己的酒精带到这些地方。

包括白金汉宫和伦敦塔在内的着名地标的正式游览费用可能会每人增加£9,然而许多人 免费徒步旅行 将引导你围绕这些网站的外部观点,并提供评论和历史。 根据旅游公司的运作方式,请务必小费导游或付费。 请注意:它们不愿意将这些机构的鼻子挤到里面去看看,这让那些能够承担实际进入的费用的人感到恐慌。

无论您是像凯瑟琳公爵夫人一样旅行,还是更喜欢My Lady淑女,伦敦都是一座可以驾驭并享受它所提供的品种和历史的城市。 即使帕特里克爵士和伊恩确实把你吹走了。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

London Calling – A High-Low view of the UK’s Capital!

Our Hi-Low vacation in London.

Whenever I start planning a trip, I fall into a weird, momentary trap, where I think I can travel like Britney Spears: unlimited Cristal in first-class, high-end luxury suites and hand-fed truffle oil tartare by a Michelin-star chef for dinner.

Here’s how it usually plays out: my kids fight over who gets to hold the iPad until I’m driven to overpay for barely passable Pinot Grigio in economy class, I’m awoken at 4:30 am in a hotel room by one of them who was sleeping eight feet away until the time change caught up, and I hastily shove a cheese string into my mouth while on our way to the beach, before it has a chance to get covered in sand.

My desire for adventure isn’t one to be curbed by my inability to afford the lifestyle of the rich and famous. That being said, it’s a fun, if only mildly torturous experiment to compare a high-end, dream trip to the budget type of getaway I’m more accustomed to, and I chose London as my destination.

London, The Royal Way

When you arrive at Heathrow, distance yourself from the commoners and find your driver (Prince Charles, if the request went through and he isn’t busy that day). Your chauffeured ride to your hotel, will start at nearly £100 (which is the low end, so probably less the prince driving, more likely Jack the Ripper).

A taxi from the airport to central London ranges from £46-£87, assuming the rate climbs based on distance, time of day and how many times your kids hurl their travel pillow at the back of the driver’s head.

Accommodations

Buckingham Palace finally asked me to stop calling and inquiring about room rates, because apparently they don’t do that, and Kate and William don’t need the supplemental income from boarding travellers.

Just looking at some of the higher-end hotels nearly gave me a panic attack, and by the end of my research, I sounded exactly like Judi Dench. The gilded ceilings and wood-paneled walls of The Lanesborough (starting at $500-700 CDN per night, probably to sleep in the mop closet) are distinctly devoid of crayon marks and I’m willing to bet the floor of the cigar lounge is rarely littered with Lego.

You could slum it at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park starting at $300 CDN per night. They don’t have a cigar bar, but they also have wood-paneled walls and use Edwardian numerous times in the hotel description, which must count for something.

Wine & Dine

High tea is a highlight of any privileged traveller in London, and Claridge’s ( £58 for adults, not including alcohol, and  £28 for children) is not only one of the most famous, it’s serious enough to employ a tea connoisseur (a legitimate job title in London, naturally) who will ensure the taste of your beverage doesn’t clash with your scones or finger sandwiches. The dress code is elegant smart casual and if your kids speak above a whisper, they’ll be tossed onto the street and pelted with the specialty duck egg mayonnaise.

Or perhaps while indulging in souvenir shopping at the famed Harrod’s, visit one of their many restaurants for a snack, such as an iconic (their words, not mine) macaron from Ladurée or fresh seafood at the Caviar House Oyster Bar. When I tried converting the GBP cost to Canadian currency for both of these, my computer reminded me my kids need to go to college one day and shut itself down.

Activities

The London Eye has been offering guests an unparalleled view of the city since 2000. You can enjoy the experience with a bunch of strangers for as low as £21 if you book online in advance. For an additional £10*, you can enjoy a Champagne Experience, that includes a glass of brut, accompanied fast track entry and a personal London Eye host.

*Also with a bunch of strangers, but made more bearable with wine

Apparently you can’t just pay someone to track down Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen in a pub somewhere so you can hang with them for the day. So you’ll have to settle for A Royal Day Out at Buckingham Palace, which for £37, gains you access to The State Rooms, the Queen’s Gallery, the Royal News, but apparently not an actual audience with the Queen.

Buckingham Palace in London

Buckingham Palace
Photo credit Visit London

Now it’s time to let Dame Judi’s voice fade, to be replaced with a Cockney accent, because provided you actually have to travel to London on a budget, here is your alternate trip.

London, the Reality Bites Way

Accommodations

Resting your jet-lagged body in a popular tourist district is the goal of most travellers when booking accommodations, but unfortunately peasant, to afford a hotel in one of these areas, you’ll be eating only mushy peas for the entire duration of your trip. A modest room in a Doubletree hotel can run over $400 CDN per night during high season, and around $200 CDN per night in the off-season.

Also keep in mind that hotel rooms in London tend to be quite small compared to what is typical in North America, so that rate isn’t likely going to get you anything special in a room, such as the space to turn around without elbowing one of your kids in the head. You could have locked yourself in the bathroom and done that at home for free.

The further you stay from central London, the more variety at an affordable rate you can find. For less than $200 a night, you can find many studios on airbnb.com complete with kitchens in areas such as Hammersmith, Notting Hill and Bayswater. While most London flats are tiny they are not nearly as compact as hotel rooms and not only is the price reduced, the chances of making it out of the country without a domestic criminal charge is greater.

Wine & Dine

You might find someone selling caviar out of the back of a truck, but that’s a mistake you only have to make once. Those aforementioned alternate areas where accommodations are more affordable are also home to pubs, cafes (all-day breakfast!) and fast food (or takeaway joints) that locals frequent and where better deals – truck-bed caviar excluded – will be found.

Because you’re not a Rockefeller, look for some curry takeout (a popular option in the city), where many dishes hover around £6. Wash it down with beer or wine  purchased at a local supermarket such as Tesco and prices here are far lower, because I would never be so bold as to suggest trying to survive a reluctant dry family vacation because of cost.

Transportation

That fancy guy in a suit holding the sign at the airport isn’t for you. Try not breathe his air as you walk past. The most cost-effective way to travel from Heathrow into London is the Heathrow Express, where express trains travel non-stop to Paddington Station. Tickets can be purchased online in advance (which also saves money) and children under 15 ride for free (and not on the roof, I checked).

An Oyster card (less tasty than it sounds), a re-

loadable pay-as-you-go smart card is your ticket to riding public transit all over London including the tube, bus (bus fare cannot be paid with cash), tram, London Overground and some National Rail services in London. They can be purchased at visitor centres, stations, and Oyster Ticket Stops.Unlike most public transit in Canada, the fare is zone-based instead of flat, however you are able to top it up which saves 50 per cent from buying individual tickets.

Activities

If champagne on the London Eye means you’ll have to sell a child or organ, sneak a few mini-bottles of gin* into one of the many free museums London offers: the British Museum, National Gallery and the Museum of London are just a few.

*Family Fun Canada is not legally responsible if you get kicked out of a facility for smuggling in your own hooch.

London Eye Photo by P Libera

Coca Cola London Eye Photo by P Libera

Instead of a formal tour of famous churches such as Westminster Abbey or St. Paul’s Cathedral, guests can attend a service at no charge. You are not able to take photos or wander around exploring during these times. And definitely don’t bring your own alcohol to these.

Formal tours of famous landmarks including Buckingham Palace and the Tower of London may run upwards of £9 per person, however many free walking tours will guide you around the outside view of these sites and provide commentary and history. Be sure to tip your guide or pay what you can, depending how the tour company operates. Note: it’s frowned upon to press your noses to glass of these institutions to see inside, and it scares the people who can afford the cost of actually going inside.

Whether you’re traveling like Duchess Catherine or more My Fair Lady, London is a city that can be navigated and enjoyed for the variety and history it has to offer. Even if Sir Patrick and Ian do blow you off.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *