fbpx

马尼托斯普林斯,萨斯喀彻温省的死海

周六早上,我们在厢式货车上跳了下来,从萨斯卡通向东进入Yellowhead,到Kid 2大声的嘶嘶声,“这是一首永不结束的歌,它继续和我的朋友们......“穿插着来自我们大儿子的”停止唱歌!“的更大呼声。 我和我丈夫默默地感谢短暂的通勤(刚过一个小时)到Watrous,我们在那里停下脚步, Watrous Bakery&Coffee Shop。 我更加感谢友好的妈妈和流行乐队老板Marla和Ray Suik为我提供的一流拿铁和新鲜苹果油条。 孩子们在这个复古魅力的咖啡馆里填饱肚子,我们在路上!

Manitou泉 曼尼托海滩度假村 只是一个跳,跳,从Watrous跳5分钟,当你进入小镇时,小曼尼通湖的景色并不太破旧! 关于这个独特生态系统的一些很酷的事实,可以从城镇周围的标牌轻松收集:

  • 小曼尼通湖是在最近的冰河时期由冰川退缩形成的
  • 湖泊由地下泉水和降水提供
  • 这是一个被称为'终点湖'的地方,这意味着没有外部水流出。 因此,排水只能通过蒸发或渗漏发生
  • 这些品质都有助于创造一个称为Endorheic盆地的独特生态系统
  • 小曼尼敦的水很高(咸) 矿物质 如钠,镁和钾,因此引起了它的绰号“萨斯喀彻温死海”(The Dead Sea of​​ Saskatchewan)
  • 19th世纪该地区的当地人已经来到小曼尼托 治疗水的功效和健康益处

在冬季,村里的主要景点绝对是 曼尼通温泉度假村及矿泉温泉 这可以通过遵循路标很容易找到。 孩子们为此感到兴奋 游泳 我们答应了他们,所以我们冲进去,穿上了西装,他们急切地跑到了游泳池边。 这是我们家庭度假通常的匆忙节奏改变的地方。 想象一下游泳区周末带孩子去游泳 - 飞溅的声音,氯的味道,来自滑水道底部的断断续续的撞击声,儿童尖叫声和笑声的高分贝声 - 现在想象一下同一个地方减去化学气味和滑水道,干净,温暖的水域和安静的幸福声音! 你好放松! 我不知道这是从94到102的天然温度池的矿物质或事实,但我丈夫和我无法停止谈论这个地方是多么幸福 - 我们吵闹的育雏包括在内!

曼尼通温泉度假村及矿泉温泉是一个 屡获殊荣的设施 它有几个较浅的池(从0深度到3ft),它们都与9ft处的最深处连接。 有一些儿童用品,包括漂浮物,面条以及其中一个浅区的(非常)小滑梯。 关于矿物质含量和来自小曼尼通湖的水域信息贴在墙上,但我们家族的亮点绝对是水域的浮力! 想象你的身体和四肢的重量悬浮在温暖,放松的水域! BLISS! 仍然很重要的是要留在游泳者身边,但我们的孩子喜欢在泳池中轻松地在他们的背上漂浮,就像我一样。

Manitou泉我们在游泳池里吃完了,在那里吃了一顿晚餐 Water's Edge餐厅和酒廊 享有小曼尼通湖的壮丽景色。 我们的孩子,大概仍然是从水域制服,在餐厅里表现得非常出色,并且享用了孩子菜单上的食物,而我和我丈夫吃了我所说的标准菜肴,做好了准备! 工作人员为我的丈夫带来了免费的白巧克力柴甜点的生日礼物,我们已经饱餐了,准备好了一个探索的下午!

紧挨着水疗中心的是湖泊本身,我们选择了其中一个 步行道 我们在一个下午徒步探索该地区时冷静下来。 目前,由于一连串高降水年份,水面以下有许多建筑物,这些建筑物有一些有趣的观光景点! 另外,Little Manitou周围的地区是一个美丽的草原与丘陵地带的景观,让人想起更温和的Qu'Appelle山谷。 我们的孩子们很高兴有机会获得新鲜(咸味!)的空气,并使用一些无限的能量!

回家的路上很安静,直到我们注意到我们面包车后面的三个打盹的身体! 显然,这些水域也因其权力而为着洗澡的人带来宁静的睡眠而闻名! 我们喜欢和平和欢迎改变放松,并发现我们希望我们会 呆了一晚! 好吧! 下次我们期待着也许会检查一下 夏天的景点,在湖中畅游,或者甚至可以在这里按摩 温泉!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Manitou Springs, the Dead Sea of Saskatchewan

manitou springs

Photo courtesy of Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa

Fun, busy, frustrating at times, and occasionally a little bit crazy—these are a few words I would use to describe our holidays as a family. There’s five of us, three under the age of seven, so noise, chaos, and energy are in abundance anytime we hit the road. I’m good with that—it’s just that season in our lives—but occasionally, just once in a super-moon, I wouldn’t mind adding a bit of ‘relaxation’ into that mix! That’s why our family trip to Manitou Springs on a cold, Saskatchewan weekend in November came as a bit of a welcome surprise!

manitou springs

Photos courtesy Watrous Bakery & Coffee Shop

We hopped in the van on Saturday morning and headed east on the Yellowhead from Saskatoon to the harried sounds of Kid 2 singing loudly, “This is a song that never ends, it goes on and on my friends…” interspersed with the even louder shouts of “STOP SINGING!” coming from our oldest son. My husband and I were silently thankful for the short commute (just over an hour) to Watrous where we stopped for a quick bite at Watrous Bakery & Coffee Shop. I was even more thankful for the first-class latte and fresh apple fritter served to me by friendly mom & pop owners, Marla and Ray Suik. The kids had their fill in this vintage-charm cafe and we were on our way!

The Resort Village of Manitou Beach is just a hop, skip, and a 5-minute jump from Watrous, and the view of Little Manitou Lake as you enter the town is not too shabby! Some cool facts about this unique ecosystem which can be easily gathered from the signage around town:

  •  Little Manitou Lake was formed by receding glaciers during the most recent ice age
  • the lake is fed by underground springs and precipitation
  • it is a what’s known as a ‘terminal lake’, meaning that there is no outflow to external bodies of water. Drainage, therefore, only occurs through evaporation or seepage
  • these qualities all work to create a unique ecosystem known as an Endorheic basin
  • the water in Little Manitou is high in (salty) minerals such as sodium, magnesium, and potassium which have given rise to its nickname, ‘The Dead Sea of Saskatchewan’
  • since the 19th century, natives to the area have come to Little Manitou for the healing power and health benefits of the waters
manitou-springs

Photo courtesy Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa

The main attraction in the village during the winter season is definitely the Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa which can be easily found by following the road signs. The kids were excited for the swim we’d promised them, so we rushed in, got into our suits, and they eagerly ran to the pool. THIS is where the usual harried pace of our family holiday changed. Imagine that swimming area where you take your kids for a swim on the weekend—the splashing sounds, the smell of chlorine, the intermittent crashes that come from the bottom of the waterslide, the high-decibel din of children’s screams and laughter—now imagine that same place minus the chemical smell and waterslide, with clean, warm waters and the blissful sound of QUIET! Hello Relaxation! I don’t know if it’s the minerals or the fact that pools range in heavenly temperature from 94 to 102, but my husband and I couldn’t stop talking about how blissfully QUIET the place was—our noisy brood included!

manitou-gManitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa is an award-winning facility that has several shallower pools (from 0 depth to 3ft) which all interconnect to the deepest at 9ft. There are a few kiddy items including floaties, noodles, and a (very) small slide in one of the shallow areas. Information on the mineral content and the waters, sourced from Little Manitou Lake, are posted on the walls, but the highlight for our family was definitely the buoyancy of the waters!! Imagine the weight of your body and limbs suspended in warm, relaxing waters! BLISS! It is still vital to stay near weak swimmers, but our kids relished the ease of floating about on their backs in the pool, as did I.

manitou-springsWe finished up in the pool and had a late lunch at the Water’s Edge Restaurant and Lounge which offers stunning views over Little Manitou Lake. Our kids, presumably still subdued from the waters, were wonderfully behaved in the restaurant, and enjoyed items off the kid’s menu while my husband and I dined on what I would describe as standard fare, well-prepared! The staff brought a complimentary white chocolate chai dessert to my husband for his birthday, and we left satiated and ready for an afternoon of exploration!

manitou-springsImmediately in front of the spa is the lake itself and we chose one of the several walking paths where we cooled off with an afternoon of exploring the area on foot. At present, there are a number of buildings below water level thanks to a string of high-precipitation years which made for some interesting sight-seeing! Otherwise, the area around Little Manitou is a beautiful, prairie-meets-hilly landscape reminiscent of a more gentle Qu’Appelle Valley. Our kids relished this chance to get a breath of fresh (salty!) air and to use some of that boundless energy!

The journey home was quiet to the point of eerie until we noticed the three snoozing bodies in the back of our van! Apparently, the waters are also famous for their powers to bring tranquil sleep to those who bathe in them! We relished the peace and welcome-change relaxation and found ourselves wishing we’d stayed the night! Oh well! Next time we look forward to maybe checking out the summer attractions, going for a dip in the lake, or maybe even pampering ourselves with a massage at the spa!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *