Мы запрыгнули в фургон в субботу утром и направились на восток по Йеллоухеду из Саскатуна под торопливые звуки, когда Малыш 2 громко пел:Это песня, которая никогда не кончается, она продолжается и на моих друзьях…с вкраплениями еще более громких криков «Хватит петь!» от нашего старшего сына. Мы с мужем были безмолвно благодарны за короткую поездку (чуть более часа) в Ватрус, где мы остановились, чтобы перекусить в Пекарня и кофейня Watrous. Еще больше я был благодарен за первоклассный латте и оладьи со свежими яблоками, которые мне подали дружелюбные владельцы mom & pop, Марла и Рэй Суик. Дети насытились этим винтажным кафе, и мы отправились в путь!

Manitou SpringsИгровой автомат Курортная деревня Маниту Бич это всего лишь прыжок, скип и 5-минутный прыжок из Ватруса, а вид на озеро Литтл Маниту, когда вы входите в город, не так уж и плох! Несколько интересных фактов об этой уникальной экосистеме, которые можно легко узнать из вывесок по всему городу:

  •  Озеро Маленькое Маниту образовалось в результате отступления ледников во время последнего ледникового периода.
  • питание озера подземными источниками и осадками
  • это то, что известно как «терминальное озеро», что означает отсутствие оттока во внешние водоемы. Следовательно, дренаж происходит только за счет испарения или просачивания.
  • все эти качества работают на создание уникальной экосистемы, известной как Эндорейский бассейн.
  • вода в Little Manitou с высоким содержанием соли (соленая) полезные ископаемые такие как натрий, магний и калий, которые дали ему прозвище «Мертвое море Саскачевана».
  • С 19th века, местные жители приехали в Литтл-Маниту на целебная сила и польза вод для здоровья

Главной достопримечательностью поселка в зимний сезон, безусловно, является Маниту Спрингс Резорт & Минерал Спа которые легко найти по дорожным указателям. Дети были в восторге от плавать мы обещали им, так что мы бросились, надели наши костюмы, и они охотно побежали к бассейну. НА ЭТОМ изменился привычный суетливый темп нашего семейного отдыха. Представьте себе место для купания, куда вы водите своих детей купаться на выходных — звуки плескания, запах хлора, прерывистый грохот, доносящийся со дна водной горки, громкий грохот детских криков и смеха — теперь представьте. то самое место, но без химического запаха и водной горки, с чистой, теплой водой и блаженным звуком ТИШИ! Здравствуй Релакс! Я не знаю, то ли это минералы, то ли тот факт, что температура бассейнов колеблется от 94 до 102 градусов, но мы с мужем не могли перестать говорить о том, как блаженно ТИХО было место, включая нашу шумную компанию!

Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa - это отмеченный наградами объект в котором есть несколько более мелких бассейнов (от 0 до 3 футов), которые соединяются с самым глубоким на глубине 9 футов. Есть несколько детских вещей, включая плавучие средства, лапшу и (очень) маленькую горку в одной из мелких областей. Информация о содержании минералов и воде, полученной из озера Литтл Маниту, размещена на стенах, но самым ярким моментом для нашей семьи, безусловно, была плавучесть воды! Представьте вес своего тела и конечностей, подвешенных в теплых, расслабляющих водах! БЛАЖЕНСТВО! По-прежнему важно оставаться рядом со слабыми пловцами, но наши дети наслаждались легкостью плавания на спине в бассейне, как и я.

Manitou SpringsМы закончили в бассейне и пообедали в Ресторан и лаундж Water's Edge откуда открывается потрясающий вид на озеро Литтл Маниту. Наши дети, по-видимому, все еще покоренные водой, прекрасно вели себя в ресторане и наслаждались блюдами из детского меню, в то время как мы с мужем обедали тем, что я бы назвала стандартной едой, хорошо приготовленной! Персонал принес моему мужу на день рождения бесплатный чайный десерт из белого шоколада, и мы ушли сытыми и готовыми к послеобеденным исследованиям!

Непосредственно перед курортом находится само озеро, и мы выбрали одно из нескольких пешеходные дорожки где мы остыли днем, исследуя район пешком. В настоящее время несколько зданий находятся ниже уровня воды благодаря череде лет с большим количеством осадков, что сделало некоторые интересные достопримечательности! В остальном территория вокруг Маленького Маниту представляет собой красивый ландшафт, сочетающий в себе прерии и холмы, напоминающий более мягкую долину Ку'Аппель. Наши дети с удовольствием подышали свежим (соленым!) воздухом и зарядились этой безграничной энергией!

Дорога домой была тихой до жуткой, пока мы не заметили три дремлющих тела в задней части нашего фургона! Судя по всему, воды также славятся своей способностью дарить спокойный сон тем, кто в них купается! Мы наслаждались покоем и долгожданной релаксацией и обнаружили, что жалеем, что не остался на ночь! Ну что ж! В следующий раз мы с нетерпением ждем возможности проверить летние аттракционы, искупаться в озере или, может быть, даже побаловать себя массажем в спа!

Manitou Springs, the Dead Sea of Saskatchewan

manitou springs

Photo courtesy of Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa

Fun, busy, frustrating at times, and occasionally a little bit crazy—these are a few words I would use to describe our holidays as a family. There’s five of us, three under the age of seven, so noise, chaos, and energy are in abundance anytime we hit the road. I’m good with that—it’s just that season in our lives—but occasionally, just once in a super-moon, I wouldn’t mind adding a bit of ‘relaxation’ into that mix! That’s why our family trip to Manitou Springs on a cold, Saskatchewan weekend in November came as a bit of a welcome surprise!

manitou springs

Photos courtesy Watrous Bakery & Coffee Shop

We hopped in the van on Saturday morning and headed east on the Yellowhead from Saskatoon to the harried sounds of Kid 2 singing loudly, “This is a song that never ends, it goes on and on my friends…” interspersed with the even louder shouts of “STOP SINGING!” coming from our oldest son. My husband and I were silently thankful for the short commute (just over an hour) to Watrous where we stopped for a quick bite at Watrous Bakery & Coffee Shop. I was even more thankful for the first-class latte and fresh apple fritter served to me by friendly mom & pop owners, Marla and Ray Suik. The kids had their fill in this vintage-charm cafe and we were on our way!

The Resort Village of Manitou Beach is just a hop, skip, and a 5-minute jump from Watrous, and the view of Little Manitou Lake as you enter the town is not too shabby! Some cool facts about this unique ecosystem which can be easily gathered from the signage around town:

  •  Little Manitou Lake was formed by receding glaciers during the most recent ice age
  • the lake is fed by underground springs and precipitation
  • it is a what’s known as a ‘terminal lake’, meaning that there is no outflow to external bodies of water. Drainage, therefore, only occurs through evaporation or seepage
  • these qualities all work to create a unique ecosystem known as an Endorheic basin
  • the water in Little Manitou is high in (salty) minerals such as sodium, magnesium, and potassium which have given rise to its nickname, ‘The Dead Sea of Saskatchewan’
  • since the 19th century, natives to the area have come to Little Manitou for the healing power and health benefits of the waters
manitou-springs

Photo courtesy Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa

The main attraction in the village during the winter season is definitely the Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa which can be easily found by following the road signs. The kids were excited for the swim we’d promised them, so we rushed in, got into our suits, and they eagerly ran to the pool. THIS is where the usual harried pace of our family holiday changed. Imagine that swimming area where you take your kids for a swim on the weekend—the splashing sounds, the smell of chlorine, the intermittent crashes that come from the bottom of the waterslide, the high-decibel din of children’s screams and laughter—now imagine that same place minus the chemical smell and waterslide, with clean, warm waters and the blissful sound of QUIET! Hello Relaxation! I don’t know if it’s the minerals or the fact that pools range in heavenly temperature from 94 to 102, but my husband and I couldn’t stop talking about how blissfully QUIET the place was—our noisy brood included!

manitou-gManitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa is an award-winning facility that has several shallower pools (from 0 depth to 3ft) which all interconnect to the deepest at 9ft. There are a few kiddy items including floaties, noodles, and a (very) small slide in one of the shallow areas. Information on the mineral content and the waters, sourced from Little Manitou Lake, are posted on the walls, but the highlight for our family was definitely the buoyancy of the waters!! Imagine the weight of your body and limbs suspended in warm, relaxing waters! BLISS! It is still vital to stay near weak swimmers, but our kids relished the ease of floating about on their backs in the pool, as did I.

manitou-springsWe finished up in the pool and had a late lunch at the Water’s Edge Restaurant and Lounge which offers stunning views over Little Manitou Lake. Our kids, presumably still subdued from the waters, were wonderfully behaved in the restaurant, and enjoyed items off the kid’s menu while my husband and I dined on what I would describe as standard fare, well-prepared! The staff brought a complimentary white chocolate chai dessert to my husband for his birthday, and we left satiated and ready for an afternoon of exploration!

manitou-springsImmediately in front of the spa is the lake itself and we chose one of the several walking paths where we cooled off with an afternoon of exploring the area on foot. At present, there are a number of buildings below water level thanks to a string of high-precipitation years which made for some interesting sight-seeing! Otherwise, the area around Little Manitou is a beautiful, prairie-meets-hilly landscape reminiscent of a more gentle Qu’Appelle Valley. Our kids relished this chance to get a breath of fresh (salty!) air and to use some of that boundless energy!

The journey home was quiet to the point of eerie until we noticed the three snoozing bodies in the back of our van! Apparently, the waters are also famous for their powers to bring tranquil sleep to those who bathe in them! We relished the peace and welcome-change relaxation and found ourselves wishing we’d stayed the night! Oh well! Next time we look forward to maybe checking out the summer attractions, going for a dip in the lake, or maybe even pampering ourselves with a massage at the spa!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *