fbpx

与美国国际学院一起留学:青少年活着去学习它

这是Face Time的电话让我哭了起来。 悲哀? 喜悦? 这是两个。 我非常想念我的女儿。 她正在她的旅馆房间里,巴黎繁忙的街道在窗外。 这是她夏季冒险的第二周,她很喜欢它。 一切事情如何神话般的故事从她的嘴唇上冒出来。 当我问她是否在学习任何东西时,她从7300公里处望向我,并说, “妈妈! 你在跟我开玩笑吗? 我不只是在学习 - 我活着!“

Bonnie参加了由MEI国际学院提供的6周夏季课程。 基于多伦多的“学校”为10和11年级的孩子提供一生的机会 - 出国旅游并获得高中学分。 她选择了“通过欧洲旅行”来学习12社交和英语课程。 在六个星期结束的时候,她将访问五个国家,回到家中,两节课在去年在学校拉开了序幕。

这一切都是从一个介绍性会议开始的,在这个会议上,MEI老师访问加拿大各大城市,引诱学生和家长。 MEI提供全球范围内的课程,以6周为单位进行一整年的学习和探索。 虽然邦妮因为对历史和莎士比亚的热爱而选择了欧洲,但她的朋友选择了“非洲之旅”进行野外探险。 两门课程的其他目的地包括: 冒险,国际商务:东部会见西部,澳大利亚,中美洲,古代世界奥德赛,背包客通过中美洲和西班牙/法国。

在离开之前,邦妮必须阅读与他们要去的地方有关的小说。 在冒险开始之前,六月份的小型作业将她与老师联系起来。

在美国国际学校的环球剧场

在环球剧场
照片来源Bonnie Wearmouth

第一站是伦敦,他们不得不鼓起勇气在海德公园的演讲角落咆哮。 当他们探索莎士比亚的环球剧场观看凯撒大帝时,梦想成真了。 他们买了地铁通票,但邦妮说这不是必要的。 “我们拿了一次管 - 只是为了体验它。 我们的老师确定我们会看到所有可以看到的东西,所以我们走了,我真的很高兴我们做到了。 如果我们去了地下,我们会错过这么多。“

忘了教室,他们坐在楼梯上,博物馆,城市广场,高山花卉和大教堂和咖啡馆里。

MEI国际学校从浴室窗户眺望阿尔卑斯山美景

从浴室窗户的阿尔卑斯山迷人的景色
照片来源Bonnie Wearmouth

在巴黎,他们了解了参观这些结果关键网站的革命。 她的夏季冒险是在100期间th Vimy Ridge的庆祝活动加入了对加拿大国家维米纪念堂的访问。 今天的纪念碑是令人愉快的,但陨石坑和隧道告诉了一个不同的故事。 “穿过狭窄的壕沟让我们想象,对于那些穿过脚踝深水蹲下来躲在火枪下的男人来说,这是多么的可怕。 除非你真的见证别人为你的自由而做的事情,否则你不知道自己有多幸运。“

(嗯?那是我的17岁的说法!)

在慕尼黑学习纳粹德国的同时,他们在达豪集中营的一个火车装卸码头上坐着,同时了解那些在那里散步的人的困境。 能否有更严肃的教室把历史课带回家?

参观集中营是MEI国际学校学生们坚持的一个教训

参观集中营是MEI国际学校学生们坚持的一个教训
照片来源Bonnie Wearmouth

但是,这不仅仅是研究。 他们有足够的时间观看。 他们走上伦敦眼,从艾菲尔铁塔的顶端发出纸飞机,是的,在卢浮宫博物馆与蒙娜丽莎一起拍照。 在慕尼黑有足球比赛,骑自行车和日常瑜伽的MEI版本。 在阿尔卑斯山,他们登上旅舍,并以艾格峰为背景进行研究。

蒙娜丽莎Selfie MEI国际学校

蒙娜丽莎自拍照。 当然。
照片来源Bonnie Wearmouth

当他们到达捷克共和国布拉格美丽的城市时,是时候完成作业并编写期末考试了。 当她回到家时,对世界有了新的爱和欣赏,并希望看到更多。

大多数孩子忘记了他们在Social 30中学到的东西。 不是我,” 这是邦妮两年后所说的。

美国国际学院是以Joe Mei的名字命名的,他开创了海外项目,因为他知道学习是最好的学习方式。 三名教师与40学生一起上课。 课程符合Upper Grand District School Board(安大略省)的要求,很容易转移到您孩子的学校董事会。 学费包括大部分费用,包括机票(基于多伦多出发)和酒店。 了解更多关于MEI的信息 www.meiacademy.com

在列侬墙上微笑MEI国际学生

在列侬墙上微笑MEI国际学生
照片来源Bonnie Wearmouth

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Studying Abroad with MEI International Academy: Where Teenagers Live it to Learn it

It was the Face Time call that had me in tears. Sorrow? Joy? It was both. I missed my daughter terribly. She was in her hotel room with the busy streets of Paris out the window. It was week two of her summer adventure and she was loving it. Stories of how everything was so fabulous bubbled from her lips. When I asked if she was learning anything she looked at me from 7300 kilometres away and said, “MOM! Are you kidding me? I’m not just learning it – I’m living it!”

Bonnie was on the 6-week summer program offered by MEI International Academy. The Toronto based “school” offers kids in grade 10 and 11 the chance of a lifetime – to travel abroad and earn high school credits. She chose “Trek through Europe” to study grade 12 Social and English curriculum. By the end of the six weeks she would visit five countries and come home with two classes kicked off her last year at school.

It all started with an introductory meeting where MEI teachers visit the major cities across Canada to tempt both the students and the parents. MEI offers courses all over the world in increments of 6 weeks to an entire year of learning and exploring. While Bonnie picked Europe because of her passion for history and Shakespeare, her friend picked “Journey to Africa” for a safari adventure. Other destinations for the two course program include; Adventures Down Under, International Business: East Meets West, Australia, Central America, Ancient World Odyssey, Backpackers through Central America and Spain/France.

Prior to leaving, Bonnie had to read novels that would pertain to places they were going. Small assignments in June connected her with the teachers before the adventure even started.

At the Globe Theatre while at MEI International School

At the Globe Theatre
Photo credit Bonnie Wearmouth

First stop was London where they had to gather courage to “rant” at Speakers Corner in Hyde Park. A dream came true when they explored Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre to watch Julius Caesar. They bought a subway pass but Bonnie said the it was un-necessary. “We took the tube once – just to experience it. Our teachers were determined that we would see everything there was to see so we walked and I’m really glad we did. We would have missed so much if we’d gone underground.”

Forget classrooms, they sat on stairways to museums, in town squares, in fields of alpine flowers and in cathedrals and cafes.

A captivating view of the Alps from the bathroom window is one perk of MEI International School

A captivating view of the Alps from the bathroom window
Photo credit Bonnie Wearmouth

In Paris, they learned about the revolution touring the sites that were pivotal in the outcome. Her summer adventure was during the 100th celebration of Vimy Ridge so a visit to the Canadian National Vimy Memorial was added. The monument today is pleasant but the craters and tunnels tell a different tale. “Walking through the narrow trenches made us imagine how horrible it was for the men who trudged through ankle deep water ducking to stay below gun fire. You don’t know how lucky you are until you actually witness what others have done for your freedom.”

(Huh? That was my 17-year-old saying that!)

While studying Nazi Germany in Munich they sat on a train loading dock at the Concentration Camp at Dachau while learning the plight of those who walked there. Can there be a more solemn classroom to drive the history lesson home?

Visiting a concentration camp is one lesson that sticks with students at MEI International School

Visiting a concentration camp is one lesson that sticks with students at MEI International School
Photo credit Bonnie Wearmouth

But there was more than study. They had plenty of time to sightsee. They went on the London Eye, sent paper planes from the top of the Eiffel Tower and yes, took selfies with Mona Lisa at the muse du Louvre. There was a MEI version of Amazing Race in Munich, soccer games, cycling and daily yoga. In the Alps they hiked to the hostel and studied with the Eiger as their backdrop.

Mona Lisa Selfie MEI International School

Mona Lisa Selfie. Of course.
Photo credit Bonnie Wearmouth

By the time they reached the beautiful city of Prague in the Czech Republic it was time to finish assignments and write their final exams. When she came home there was a new love and appreciation of the world and the desire to see more.

Most kids forget what they learned in Social 30. Not me,” is what Bonnie says two years later.

MEI International Academy is named after Joe Mei who started the overseas program because he knows hands on learning is the best way to learn. Three teachers travel with the class of up to 40 students. The courses meet the Upper Grand District School Board (Ontario) requirements and are easily transferred to your child’s school board. The tuition includes most costs including the airfare (based on a Toronto departure) and hotels. Learn more about MEI at www.meiacademy.com

Smiling MEI International students at the Lennon Wall

Smiling MEI International students at the Lennon Wall
Photo credit Bonnie Wearmouth

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *