fbpx

Surf Town Tofino为非冲浪者

冲浪者Tofino

我被包裹在一张舒适的毯子里,以防止早春的寒意,而我看冲浪者掌握着从我的阳台 长滩旅馆度假村 位于不列颠哥伦比亚省托菲诺的考克斯湾。 托菲诺是加拿大的冲浪之都,在国家地理杂志的全球最佳冲浪地点上屡获殊荣。 我一直想学习如何冲浪,而顶级的Tofino冲浪学校就位于我们的度假村,所以为什么不去上课呢? 我有一个理性的恐慌时刻; 我没那么好游泳。 我是小狗桨和背部浮体的主人,仅仅是带救生员和浅水池的氯化池中的生存技能,而不是在开阔的海洋中被波浪冲击所需的技能。 我不情愿地接受冲浪对我来说是一种旁观者的运动。 最起码到现在。

我们之间在这个冲浪城镇中做什么非冲浪者? 有许多短途旅行:熊和观鲸,海上飞机和乘船游览,徒步到温泉,甚至在附近的平静入口站起来登船。 我丈夫和我决定我们希望这个短暂的假期能够充电,所以我们安排了三项肯定会治愈身体和抚慰心灵的活动:长滩散步,瑜伽课程和古代雪松水疗中心的放纵下午。

海滩漫步在托菲诺

世界上没有任何海滩可以长时间烧掉你会在托菲诺找到的所有美味食物,但是有一些徒步旅行和海滩漫步,会消除你不可避免的过度放纵的负罪感。

考克斯湾

考克斯湾

考克斯湾托菲诺冲浪者

考克斯湾托菲诺冲浪者

考克斯湾(Cox Bay),一个1.9公里舒适的海滩,以其完美的海浪而闻名,是该地区的所在地 长滩旅馆度假村。 面向大海,向右转,您会发现前往Pettinger Point的足迹。 有许多野餐桌,公园长椅和沿途的木板路。 潮汐泳池与小贝壳珍品结合在一起,沿着这里的岩石是细细的,但是在这些潮汐池周围徘徊时,要注意水面; 海洋涌浪是不可预测的。

切斯特曼海滩

切斯特曼海滩

切斯特曼海滩

切斯特曼海滩上的螃蟹

切斯特曼海滩上的螃蟹

一个2.5公里长的海滩与一小群住宅,B&B和Wickaninnish Inn毗邻。 切斯特曼海滩受冲浪者欢迎,是海滩散步的理想场所。 退潮后,沙美元,贻贝和忙碌的螃蟹一鸣惊人。

长滩

长滩

长滩

恰当地命名,这是一个长滩。 在16公里长的长滩是温哥华岛最长的沙滩。 海滩与旧生长的森林接壤,散布着大量漂流木。 位于太平洋沿岸国家公园,这是如同野生和质朴的; 沿海滩没有酒店,住宅或发展项目。

沿海极乐瑜伽

沿海极乐瑜伽

沿海极乐瑜伽

虽然在托菲诺有几个地方可以练习瑜伽, 沿海极乐瑜伽 是镇上唯一的瑜伽工作室。 每天提供各种类别的瑜伽课程。 明亮的柱子和横梁设计的工作室通过其大窗户蜿蜒阳光,一缕芬芳的雪松填满了空间。 我们和Dede Monette一起参加了一个晚上的尹课程 TofinoYoga.com。 Monette在10学习期间一直在教瑜伽,她在课堂上的重点是精神清晰度和情绪增长以及长时间的身体益处。 课程结束后,Monette走进房间,完全记住了每个参与者的名字,并一个接一个地与我们一起检查,看看课后我们的感受。 这是一次全面的亲密体验,也是我们访问多芬诺的亮点之一。 Monette的公司可以为个人和团体组织瑜伽静修,包括为3岁及以上儿童准备的夏季课程。

古老雪松温泉

古老雪松温泉

古老雪松温泉 在Wickaninnish酒店是 练习 放松和舒缓紧张的最后一点。 水疗护理从$ 130.00开始,虽然并不是城里最便宜的地方,可以按摩疲劳肌肉并揉捏,但外部休息区和桉树蒸汽洞的海景使其值得高价。 我们花了四个小时赶上一些阅读和放松在外面的露台上,用舒适的毯子包裹,而阳光穿过云层。

托菲诺的住宿地点

长滩旅馆度假村

长滩旅馆度假村

长滩旅馆度假村

长滩洛奇度假村托菲诺阳台

我们的长滩小屋度假村套房的完美视图

长滩旅馆度假村 在精心布置的现代化山地别致套房中提供最舒适的享受。 俯瞰大海的落地玻璃窗提供了一个完美的浪漫之地,让您享受一杯葡萄酒,舒适的毯子以及您一直想要结束几个月的书。 当我的丈夫白天在阳台上的阳光下和晚上的炉边睡着时,波浪的舒缓声音有时会打鼾。

长滩旅馆度假村

41旅舍的其中一间客房就坐落在海洋上

山寨

Long Beach Lodge酒店沿着自助式小屋散落

如果您和朋友或家人一起旅行,20热带雨林小屋坐落在酒店沿线的树木中,提供舒适的居家设施,包括设备齐全的厨房,主卧室和位于楼上阁楼的第二间卧室。 虽然小屋不包括海景,但它们配备了私人热水浴缸,海洋的声音依然在附近。

令人惊叹的长滩旅馆大房间。 照片提供:Vince Klassen

令人惊叹的长滩旅馆大房间。 照片提供:Vince Klassen

大房间拥有最难以置信的海景,是观看冲浪者或欣赏日落美景的完美视角。 在舒适的沙发上用火偎依,阅读,放松或在度假村的许多桌面游戏之一供客人使用。

Apres冲浪长滩度假村托菲诺

工大餐厅

我从来没有在托菲诺吃过不好的饭,甚至没有吃过一顿饭。 Tofino在疯狂美味的食物中享有悠久的声誉。 我觉得平庸的感觉在这个城镇并不长久。

Tacofino

Tacofino食物卡车

最好。 玉米饼。 永远。 这个地方永远毁了我的玉米饼。

我被告知我要吃东西 Tacofino。 Lindsay,我们的温哥华编辑和一位频繁的Tofino访客告诉我要寻找看上去最笨拙的食物卡车并忽略外观,因为食物是为了死。 我有一半期待一个好的炸玉米饼,但我没有准备好它的味道如何令人垂涎欲滴。 Tacofino标志是圣玛丽拿着一个炸玉米饼,可能有点非正统,但第一口感觉就像宗教体验。

Kuma-日本舒适食品

Kuma Tofino日式舒适食品

Kuma Tofino日式舒适食品

什么是日本的舒适食品? 新鲜的拉面面条在蒸汽海鲜肉汤和热茶中旋转,用简单的清酒糖浆加薄荷叶和柠檬片,由业主自制的陶器供应。 一定要尝试Okonamiyaki分享板。 这是一种带培根,梅奥,切达干酪,炸猪排酱和bon鱼片的奥斯卡卡式卷心菜煎饼。 这是东京街头食物,我从来没有听说过的食材,但其中一种你不会很快忘记的菜肴。 是的,它很好吃。

咖啡在Tofino

Tofitian咖啡

与人口相比,多芬诺拥有大量的咖啡店。 如果你正在寻找快速抢夺和去咖啡,那么 Tofitian 托菲诺咖啡焙烧公司 这两款咖啡都是有限座位的精美咖啡。 不是你想和朋友坐在一杯咖啡上的地方,但是你可以在那里拿一杯咖啡去散步,沿着沙滩散步。

犀牛咖啡屋

犀牛咖啡屋

犀牛咖啡屋

犀牛咖啡甜甜圈

对于坐下来的咖啡,我很享受 犀牛咖啡屋 城里。 室内外有充足的座位,每天都会制作出最好的自制新鲜甜甜圈。 参观完这个地方后,您需要两次全海滩漫步。

托菲诺酿造公司

托菲诺酿造公司

什么才能最好地模仿西海岸的生活方式,而不是在城里拥有一家精酿啤酒厂? 在所有最好的当地餐馆服务, 托菲诺酿造公司 制作适合任何口味的美味啤酒。 从淡啤酒到烈性酒以及介于两者之间的一切,您可能想要参观他们的酿酒厂并品尝一系列令人印象深刻的创意。 拿起一个咆哮者,这是一个西海岸的事情。

去Tofino

自驾车:温哥华岛拥有包括维多利亚,纳奈莫和科莫克斯在内的所有主要机场的多芬诺风景驾车路线。
公共汽车:托菲诺巴士提供温哥华,纳奈莫和维多利亚的日常服务。
:您也可以乘坐Island Express Air,Tofino Air,Atleo Air,Orca Airways和KD Air从纳奈莫,温哥华或维多利亚飞往多芬诺。

额外的资源

旅游Tofino - 官方的Tofino旅游网站。
251必做之事托菲诺 - 凯特芬内尔的电子书充满了当地人的提示。 可从Amazon.ca购买。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Surf Town Tofino for the Non-Surfer

Surfer Tofino

I’m wrapped in a cozy blanket to ward off the early spring chill while I watch surfers master the waves from my balcony at the Long Beach Lodge Resort on Cox Bay in Tofino, BC. Tofino is Canada’s surf capital and holds a coveted rank on National Geographic’s world’s best surf spots. I’ve always wanted to learn how to surf and one of the top Tofino surfing schools is located right at our resort, so why not take a lesson? I had a moment of rational panic; I don’t swim that well. I am a master of the doggy paddle and the back float, mere survival skills in chlorinated pools with lifeguards and shallow ends, not the skill set required when getting ricocheted by waves in the open ocean. I reluctantly accepted that surfing is a spectator sport for me. At least for now.

What are those non-surfers among us to do in this surfing town? There are plenty of excursions: bear and whale-watching, sea planes and boat tours, hikes to hot springs and even stand up paddle boarding in the calmer inlet nearby. My husband and I decided we’d like this short getaway to be about recharging so we settled for three activities that were sure to heal the body and soothe the mind: long beach walks, a yoga class and an indulgent afternoon at Ancient Cedars Spa.

Beach Walks in Tofino

There is no stretch of beach in the world long enough to burn off all the scrumptious food you’ll find in Tofino but there are a number of hikes and beach walks that will take the edge off the guilt of your inevitable overindulgence.

Cox Bay

Cox Bay

Surfers on Cox Bay Tofino

Surfers on Cox Bay Tofino

Cox Bay, a 1.9 km cozy stretch of beach known for its perfect swells and is the home of the Long Beach Lodge Resort. Facing the ocean, head right and you’ll find the trail head to Pettinger Point. There are a number of picnic tables, a park bench and a boardwalk along the way. Tidal pools teaming with little seashell treasures are smattered along the rocks here but keep an eye on the water when poking around these tidal pools; the ocean surges are unpredictable.

Chesterman Beach

Chesterman Beach

Chesterman Beach

Crab on Chesterman Beach

Crab on Chesterman Beach

A 2.5 km stretch of beach bordered by a smattering of residential homes, B&B’s, and the Wickaninnish Inn. Chesterman Beach is popular with surfers and it’s the perfect place for a beach walk. The retreating tide left a wake of sand dollars, mussels and busy crabs.

Long Beach

Long Beach

Long Beach

Aptly named, this is one long beach. At 16 kms long Long Beach is Vancouver Island’s longest stretch of sand. The beach is bordered by old growth forest and wildly strewn with large driftwood. Located in Pacific Rim National Park, this is as wild and rustic as it comes; there are no hotels, homes or development along the beach.

Coastal Bliss Yoga

Coastal Bliss Yoga

Coastal Bliss Yoga

Although there are several places to practice yoga in Tofino, Coastal Bliss Yoga is the only yoga studio in town. Every kind of yoga class is offered here with multiple classes daily. The bright post and beam-designed studio streams sunshine through its large windows and a waft of fragrant cedar fills the space. We went for an evening Yin class with Dede Monette, founder of TofinoYoga.com. Monette has been teaching yoga for over 10 years and her focus for the class was mental clarity and emotional growth as well as the physical benefits of long stretches. After the class ended, Monette went around the room, perfectly remembering each participant’s name and checked in with us one by one to see how we felt after the class. It was a holistically intimate experience and one of the highlights of our visit in Tofino. Monette’s company can organize yoga retreats for individuals and groups including summer programs for children ages three and up.

Ancient Cedars Spa

Ancient Cedars Spa

The Ancient Cedars Spa at the Wickaninnish Inn is the place to unwind and soothe the last bit of tension away. Spa treatments start from $130.00 and although not the least expensive place in town to get tired muscles massaged and knots kneaded, the ocean view from the outside lounge area and eucalyptus steam cave make it worth the premium. We spent four hours catching up on some reading and relaxing on the outside terrace, wrapped in cozy blankets while the sunshine worked its way through the clouds.

Where to Stay in Tofino

Long Beach Lodge Resort

Long Beach Lodge Resort

Long Beach Lodge Resort

Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino Balcony

A perfect view from our Long Beach Lodge Resort suite

The Long Beach Lodge Resort offers the utmost in comfort in the carefully appointed modern mountain chic suites. Floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean offer the perfect romantic place to cozy up with a glass of wine, a snuggly blanket and the book you’ve been meaning to finish for months. The soothing sounds of the waves were sometimes punctuated with a snore as my husband fell asleep in the sunbeam on the balcony during the day and fireside in the evenings.

Long Beach Lodge Resort

One of 41 lodge rooms set right on the ocean

Cottage

Self-catering cottages sprinkled along the Long Beach Lodge property

If you are travelling with friends or family, there are 20 rainforest cottages nestled in the trees along the property offering comforts of home including full kitchen, a master bedroom and a second bedroom in the upstairs loft. Although the cottages don’t include ocean views, they do come with a private hot tub and the sounds of the ocean are still close by.

The stunning Long Beach Lodge Great Room. Photo Credit: Vince Klassen

The stunning Long Beach Lodge Great Room. Photo Credit: Vince Klassen

The great room has the most incredible ocean views and is the perfect vantage point to watch surfers or enjoy the sunset. Snuggle by the fire on a comfy couch to read, relax, or compete at one of the resort’s many boardgames available for guest use.

Apres Surf Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino

Where to Eat

I never ate a bad meal in Tofino, not even a meh meal. Tofino has a long standing reputation for insanely great food. I get the feeling mediocre just doesn’t last long in this town.

Tacofino

Tacofino Food Truck

Best. Tacos. Ever. This place has ruined me for tacos forever.

I was told I HAD TO EAT at Tacofino. Lindsay, our Vancouver editor and a frequent Tofino visitor told me to look for the sketchiest dankiest looking food truck and ignore the exterior because the food is to die for. I was half expecting a good taco but I was unprepared for how mouth-wateringly delicious it was. The Tacofino logo is Saint Mary holding a taco, a little unorthodox maybe, but that first bite felt like a religious experience.

Kuma- Japanese Comfort Food

Kuma Tofino Japanese Comfort Food

Kuma Tofino Japanese Comfort Food

What is Japanese comfort food? Fresh ramen noodles swirling in a steamy seafood broth and hot tea sweetened with simple sake syrup with mint leaves and lemon wedges served in homemade pottery made by the owners. Be sure to try the Okonamiyaki share plate. It’s an oskaka-style cabbage pancake with bacon, mayo, cheddar, tonkatsu sauce and bonito flakes. It’s Tokyo street-food with ingredients I had never heard of but one of those dishes you won’t quickly forget. And yes, it’s off the hook delicious.

Coffee in Tofino

The Tofitian Coffee

Tofino has an extraordinary amount of coffee shops in comparison to its population. If you are looking for a quick grab and go coffee, the Tofitian and Tofino Coffee Roasting Co. both make a fantastic coffee with limited seating. Not the place you want to sit down with a friend over a cup of joe but where you’d grab a take away coffee for your walk along the beach.

Rhino Coffee House

Rhino Coffee House

Rhino Coffee House

Rhino Coffee Donuts

For a sit-down coffee, I enjoyed Rhino Coffee House in town. There is ample seating indoors and outside and they make the best homemade fresh donuts daily. You’ll need two full beach walks after a visit to this place.

Tofino Brewing Company

Tofino Brewing Co

What could best emulate the west coast lifestyle than having a craft brewery right in town? Served at all the best local restaurants, Tofino Brewing Co. makes tasty beer that will suit any palate. From lagers to stouts and everything in between, you may want to visit their brewery and sample a flight of of their impressive creations. Pick up a growler, it’s a west coast thing.

Getting to Tofino

Self-drive: Vancouver Island has scenic driving routes to Tofino from all major airports including Victoria, Nanaimo and Comox.
Bus: Tofino Bus provides daily service from Vancouver, Nanaimo and Victoria.
Fly: You can also fly into Tofino from Nanaimo, Vancouver or Victoria with Island Express Air, Tofino Air, Atleo Air, Orca Airways, and KD Air.

Extra Resources

Tourism Tofino – The official Tofino tourism website.
251 Things to do in Tofino – An e-book by Kait Fennell filled with tips from locals. Available for purchase from Amazon.ca.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *