三代人喜歡蓬塔卡納的巨大水上公園和世界級海灘!

當我們接近蓬塔卡納時,興奮就會增長。 我們即將在加勒比地區最大的現場水上樂園度過五天時光,我們的飛機在多米尼加共和國最東端的數公里長的原始白沙和綠松石水域下降。 我們與弗雷德里克頓的女兒勞拉,她的丈夫丹和我們的三位孫女,年齡在7,9和11。 我們和孩子們一樣興奮,因為我們也愛水上樂園,並有機會與我們的省外女兒,女婿和孫子女一起度過美好的時光。

三代旅行 - 在Royalton  - 攝影桑德拉和約翰諾蘭

三代人在羅爾頓—照片作者Sandra和John Nowlan

隨著我們旅行越來越多,我們發現三代家庭正變得非常普遍。 我們經常看到快樂的祖父母陪同他們的子女和孫輩參加遊輪和全包式度假村。 這是一個很好的趨勢。

這次我們的家是 回憶飛濺度假村,這是一家加拿大擁有的525房間全包式酒店,距繁忙的蓬塔卡納機場半小時車程。 寬敞而整潔的熱帶度假村有五個游泳池(包括充滿活力,充滿音樂的游泳池,還有一些大而安靜的游泳池),豐富的自助餐,三間點菜餐廳,對孩子來說最重要的是無盡的冰塊奶油。

三代旅行 - 祖父母的陽台景觀。 安靜的游泳池 - 照片由桑德拉和約翰諾蘭

祖父母的陽台景觀。 安靜的游泳池—照片作者Sandra和John Nowlan

我們有我們自己的干淨舒適的房間(雖然拖鞋是為小人們提供的),陽檯面對著棕櫚樹和安靜的游泳池,而勞拉,丹和孩子們在下面一層樓有兩個相鄰的房間。 這是一個理想的安排。

三代旅行 - 大和小幻燈片 - 照片由桑德拉和約翰諾蘭

大和小幻燈片–照片作者Sandra和John Nowlan

當我們到達度假村並且發現了水上公園時,清晨醒來和長途航班就被遺忘了。 隨著七個怪物幻燈片,一個波浪池和幾個較小的幻燈片,回憶飛濺水上公園真是令人印象深刻。 時間受到限制(9是5下午),並且救生員在執行安全規則方面非常堅定。 但有趣的是遊戲的名字,我們的家人立即選擇了最喜歡的幻燈片。 有一條很高的四車道,一起很有趣,還有一條更高的,狹窄的叫Kamikaze,直線直線下降。 一個有趣的幻燈片被稱為太空碗(孩子們更喜歡稱它為馬桶)!最後,你在一個大坦克中旋轉,然後被倒入一個水池。 一些幻燈片使用充氣筏,包括黑洞,孫子們都敢約翰加入他們。 與11歲的伊娃一起坐在木筏上,這輛車有許多急轉彎,並且在隧道結束之前完全在黑暗中進行,筏子大聲飛入水池。 孩子們認為他們的爺爺很勇敢。

三代旅行 - 來自黑洞 - 攝影桑德拉和約翰諾蘭

從黑洞–照片由Sandra和John Nowlan

在我們在Memories Splash的五天時間裡,水上公園是第一優先。 但我們的家人也喜歡海灘和回憶客人可以免費使用其姐妹酒店,毗鄰的Royalton Punta Cana。 這個稍微更高檔的485房間度假村坐落在10公里長的巴瓦羅海灘上,這是加勒比地區最光榮的沙灘之一。 這是一個從Memories輕鬆步行,但也有一個手推車,每隔幾分鐘穿梭在度假村之間。 在沙灘上有許多沙灘躺椅,服務員定期提供飲料,最重要的是,免費的Wi-Fi(兩個度假村都可以使用)在沙灘上運行得非常好。

三代旅行 - 世界上最棒的海灘之一 - 攝影:桑德拉和約翰諾蘭

世界上最偉大的海灘之一—照片作者Sandra和John Nowlan

憑藉100度假村和蓬塔卡納地區的酒店,Memories和Royalton的管理層致力於提供創新以及全包奢華和價值。 我們對其技術領先地位印象深刻。 除了免費的Wi-Fi之外,撥打加拿大和美國(以及一些歐洲國家)的電話是相輔相成的,所有房間都有藍牙連接。 即使房間鑰匙反映加拿大技術。 每個人都佩戴的時尚腕帶包括一個可以激活門鎖的芯片,而不是卡片或金屬鑰匙。 永遠不要再錯過你的房間鑰匙! 我們懷疑其他度假村很快就會復制這個好主意。

三代旅行 - 在海灘上免費無線上網 - 照片由桑德拉和約翰諾蘭

在海灘上的免費無線網絡—照片作者Sandra和John Nowlan

幾乎所有的大型度假村現在都有一個水療中心,而Royalton的一家(服務於這兩家酒店)都非常出色。 它包括修指甲,修腳,甚至夫妻按摩的個別房間(勞拉和丹有一個孩子正在享受監督良好的兒童俱樂部)。 還有一個水療池和相鄰的室外游泳池。

在一個包羅萬象的度假勝地,食物總是很重要,而且我們充分利用了回憶錄和羅爾頓的各種美食(儘管羅爾頓有更多的自選菜品)。 每間餐廳都擁有吸引人的獨特設計。 從美國和加拿大進口的牛肉總是很棒,自助餐通常有很多蝦,蟹和加勒比龍蝦。 我們希望會有更多的新鮮,本地捕撈的魚(例如鯛魚和石斑魚),但管理層承認,很難穩定地供應穩定質量的當地海鮮。 但是總有美味的當地水果和新鮮果汁。 日式鐵板燒餐廳是一種特殊待遇(壽司,炒飯,雞肉,牛肉和蝦非常出色),但是與我們參觀過的其他度假村不同,廚師的娛樂性不是很高。 那是一半的樂趣。 昨晚,在大型劇院上演精彩表演之前(馬戲表演令人印象深刻),我們在Royalton的Hunter Steakhouse用餐(以加拿大業主的名字命名),它成為了我們最喜歡的餐廳。

三代旅行 - 富有想像力的設計。 海餐廳下 - 桑德拉和約翰諾蘭拍攝

富有想像力的設計。 在海餐廳下–照片由Sandra和John Nowlan

夏季,許多歐洲人和南美人訪問多米尼加共和國(價格比冬季低),但我們遇到的加拿大人和美國人的數量令我們感到驚訝。 我們並不對像我們這樣的所有三代家庭感到驚訝。 Royalton的經理告訴我們,度假勝地是將家庭聚在一起的絕佳方式,因為各個年齡段的人都有很多事情要做。 正如我們最年長的孫女伊娃(Eva)所說:“我贊成與祖父母一起旅行。 更多的家庭意味著更多的樂趣。” 我們遇到了愛好娛樂的威廉·利斯(William Lis),他是蒙特利爾的祖父,他和2017歲的家人一起在《回憶回憶》中。 去年,他們去了古巴的記憶,並知道他們必須在11年再做一次。來自亞利桑那州的另一組祖父母告訴我們,他們每年都帶著女兒和孫子(現在XNUMX歲)旅行。成功的秘訣是什麼? “順其自然,做孫子們想要的事情,並保持靈活。”

三代旅行 - 在綠松石水中玩 - 照片由桑德拉和約翰諾蘭

在綠松石的水中嬉戲玩耍—照片作者Sandra和John Nowlan

 

John和Sandra Nowlan是位於哈利法克斯的旅行和食品作家。

 

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

由於使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Three Generations Love a Huge Water Park and World-Class Beach in Punta Cana!

The excitement grows as we approach Punta Cana. We’re about to spend five days at the Caribbean’s biggest on-site water park and our plane is descending over kilometres of pristine white sand and turquoise waters at the far eastern end of the Dominican Republic. We’re with our Fredericton-based daughter Laura, her husband Dan and our three granddaughters aged 7, 9 and 11. We’re as excited as the kids since we also love water parks and the chance to spend quality time with our out-of-province daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren.

Three Generation Travel  - At the Royalton - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

Three Generations at the Royalton – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

As we travel more, we’re finding that three-generation families are becoming quite common. We often see happy grandparents accompanying their children and grandchildren on cruises and at all-inclusive resorts. It’s an excellent trend.

Our home this time was Memories Splash Resort, a Canadian-owned 525 room all-inclusive property a half hour ride from the busy Punta Cana airport. The spacious and well-groomed tropical resort has five pools (including active, music-filled ones and, thankfully, a couple of large, quiet ones), an extensive buffet, three a la carte restaurants and, most important to kids, endless ice cream.

Three Generation Travel - The grandparents' balcony view. Quiet Pool - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

The grandparents’ balcony view. Quiet Pool – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

We had our own clean, comfortable room (although the slippers provided were for tiny people) with a balcony facing palm trees and the quiet pool while Laura, Dan and the children had two adjoining rooms just one floor below. It was an ideal arrangement.

Three Generation Travel - Big and Little Slides - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

Big and Little Slides – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

The early morning wake up and long flights were forgotten as soon as we arrived at the resort and the water park was spotted. With seven monster slides, a wave pool and several smaller slides for the younger ones, the Memories Splash water park was truly impressive. Hours are restricted (9 am to 5 pm) and the lifeguards are very firm in enforcing safety rules. But fun was the name of the game and our family immediately chose favourite slides. There’s a high, four lane one that’s great fun together and an even higher, narrow one called Kamikaze that plummets almost straight down. One funny slide is called Space Bowl (the kids preferred to call it Toilet Bowl!) where, at the end, you spin around in a big tank before being dumped into a pool of water. A couple of slides use inflatable rafts including The Black Hole where the grandchildren dared John to join them. Sitting in tandem with 11-year-old Eva on the raft, the ride has many sharp turns and takes place entirely in the dark before the tunnel ends and the raft splashes loudly into a pool. The children thought their grandfather was very brave.

Three Generation Travel - From The Black Hole - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

From The Black Hole – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

During our five days at Memories Splash, the water park was priority number one. But our family also loves the beach and Memories guests have free access to its sister property, the adjacent Royalton Punta Cana. This slightly more upscale 485 room resort sits directly on 10 kilometre long Bavaro Beach, one of the most glorious stretches of sand in the Caribbean. It’s an easy walk from Memories but there’s also a trolley that shuttles between resorts every few minutes. On the beach there are plenty of beach loungers, servers come by regularly offering drinks and, best of all, the free wi-fi (available all over both resorts) works very well on the beach.

Three Generation Travel - One of the World's Great Beaches - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

One of the World’s Great Beaches – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

With over 100 resorts and hotels in the Punta Cana area, the management of Memories and Royalton have focused on providing innovation along with all-inclusive luxury and value. We are especially impressed with its technology leadership. In addition to the free wi-fi, phone calls to Canada and the US (plus some European countries) are complementary, and there’s Bluetooth connectivity in all rooms. Even the room keys reflect Canadian technology. Instead of a card or metal key, the fashionable wrist bands that everyone wears include a chip that activates the door lock. Never again do you misplace your room key! We suspect other resorts will soon copy this great idea.

Three Generation Travel - Free wi-fi on the beach - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

Free wi-fi on the beach – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

Almost all large resorts now have a spa and the one at Royalton (serving both properties) is outstanding. It includes individual rooms for manicures, pedicures and even a couples massage (Laura and Dan had one while the children were enjoying the well-supervised Kid’s Club). There’s also a hydrotherapy circuit and adjacent outside pool.

Food is always important at an all-inclusive resort, and we took advantage of the great variety available at both Memories and Royalton (although Royalton has more la carte options).  Each restaurant has an appealing, distinctive design. The beef, imported from the US and Canada, was always excellent and the buffet usually had plenty of shrimp, crab and Caribbean lobster. We were hoping there’d be more fresh, locally caught fish (like snapper and grouper) but management admitted that it’s difficult to get a steady supply of local seafood with the quality and safety they demand. But tasty local fruit and fresh juices were always available. The Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant was a special treat (the sushi, fried rice, chicken, beef and shrimp were outstanding) but, unlike other resorts we’ve visited, the chef wasn’t very entertaining. That’s half the fun. On our last night, before an excellent show in the large theatre (the Circus acts were impressive), we ate at the Hunter Steakhouse at Royalton (named for the Canadian owners) and it became our favourite restaurant.

Three Generation Travel - Imaginative design. Under the Sea Restaurant - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

Imaginative design. Under the Sea Restaurant – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

In the summer a lot of Europeans and South Americans visit the Dominican Republic (prices are lower than in the winter) but we were surprised by the number of Canadians and Americans we met. We weren’t surprised by all the three-generation families like ourselves. The manager at Royalton told us that resorts are an excellent way to bring families together because there’s always so much to do for all age groups. As Eva, our oldest granddaughter observed, “I give thumbs up to travelling with grandparents. More family means more fun.”  We met fun-loving William Lis, a grandfather from Montreal, who was at Memories Splash with his family of eleven. Last year they went to Memories in Cuba and knew they had to do it again in 2017. Another set of grandparents from Arizona told us they travel every year with their daughter and grandson, now 11. The secret to success?  “Go with the flow, do what the grandchildren want, and be flexible.”

Three Generation Travel - At play in turquoise water - Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

At play in turquoise water – Photo by Sandra and John Nowlan

 

John and Sandra Nowlan are travel and food writers based in Halifax.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *