在Black History Month期间了解Buffalo-Niagara的地下铁路历史

你的孩子知道Harriet Tubman是谁吗? 弗雷德里克道格拉斯怎么样? 还是威廉斯蒂尔? 这些都是地下铁路的英雄“指挥”,这是为估计50,000非洲裔美国人而庆祝的自由之路,他们通过沿着加拿大安全家园和藏身之地的网络逃离奴隶制而逃脱了奴隶制。

哈丽特塔布曼地下铁路供图尼亚加拉艺术文化中心供图

Harriet Tubman供图尼亚加拉艺术文化中心

在2月的黑人历史月期间访问纽约州的布法罗 - 尼亚加拉,进一步了解地下铁路,这是历史上最重要的社会运动之一,当时黑人和白人共同努力积极反对宽恕奴隶制的联邦法律。

悬索桥的HIstoric图片。 尼亚加拉艺术文化中心供图

悬索桥的历史图片。 尼亚加拉艺术文化中心供图

在Freedom Crossing展览上获得(免费)历史课程

划分加拿大和美国的尼亚加拉河是奴隶的主要过境点。 在1848建造第一座悬索桥之前,他们唯一的选择是在夜晚的掩护下通过划艇过河,或爬上由同情船长操作的渡轮和蒸汽船。 有些人冒险渡过河流,冒着生命危险进入加拿大。

你可以了解这个过境点的意义 - 以及着名的Tubman,被称为“她的人民的摩西”,用于指导逃亡奴隶进入“应许之地” - 以及许多不太知名的“指挥家”,他们扮演着关键角色帮助奴隶穿越边界 - 在尼亚加拉艺术和文化中心的免费展览“自由穿越:地下铁路”中,在大尼亚加拉。

密歇根街浸信会教堂,奴隶们在地下铁路上的旅行期间藏身于此

密执安街浸礼会教堂奴隶被掩藏的地方。 图片由Buffalo Niagara提供

访问失控奴隶的藏身之地

布法罗 - 尼亚加拉地区是早期1800s的地下铁路活动的温床,直到美国内战结束奴隶制时的1865。 (加拿大几年前禁止进口超过70的奴隶)。 尽管沿途的许多藏身地点仍未知或已被摧毁,但仍有一些藏身之地,包括隐藏在美国最古老的黑人教堂之一的布法罗密歇根街浸信会教堂楼梯后的秘密室。 (它也是密歇根大街非洲裔美国人走廊的特色景点之一,其中包括纳什故居博物馆,Rev. J. Edward Nash的私人住所,这是60年的教会牧师,他帮助确保它是公民权利活动。)

墨菲的果园是尼亚加拉县65-英亩的苹果农场,您可以看到另一个秘密藏身之处,这个房间可以容纳几个人,藏在谷仓的陷阱门下。 它曾经是奴隶贩子在穿过边界旅行的农用车辆中逃跑的一种方式。

地下铁路自由横穿纪念碑在刘易斯顿

自由过境纪念碑在刘易斯顿。 照片:Anne Bokma

站在奴隶穿过河流的地方

加拿大仅仅是一艘15分钟的渡船,但由于赏金猎人在该地区巡逻,并因为将奴隶归还他们的“主人”而获得奖励,因此这是一场危险之旅。
水牛城的布罗德里克公园位于和平桥的视野内,曾经是黑岩渡轮码头的所在地,这里是在尼亚加拉河上建造桥梁之前逃亡奴隶的主要逃生途径。

在纽约附近的刘易斯顿,尼亚加拉河岸上的青铜自由横穿纪念碑是一个戏剧性的描绘,这个小镇的地下铁路“站长”Josiah Tyron,当地的牧师第一长老会,也是逃避奴隶的避风港。

历史性的彩色音乐家俱乐部

历史悠久的彩色音乐家俱乐部供图布法罗尼亚加拉参观

庆祝音乐在民权斗争中的作用

地下铁路上的Tubman和其他指挥使用信号歌曲,例如“Wade in the Water”和“Go Down Moses”,作为一种策略,将逃离的奴隶沿着他们的秘密路线传递给逃跑的奴隶。

音乐在争取公民权利方面的重要性也在着名的彩色音乐家俱乐部中得到证明,该俱乐部几年前成立了100黑人音乐家协会大厅,当时工会被分开。 这也是在该地区演出的爵士乐大师们最喜欢的下班后停车场,包括Dizzy Gillespie,Billie Holiday,Count Basie,Duke Ellington和Ella Fitzgerald。

仍在运营的爵士乐俱乐部的重要部分已经变成了家庭友好的博物馆,为孩子们提供了一个参与教育和娱乐多媒体展示的机会。 他们可以学习长号和萨克斯管之间的声音差异,听听着名爵士乐艺术家的音乐,并找出如何区分蓝调,摇摆,比波普,拉格泰姆,大乐队,布吉伍吉和新奥尔良爵士乐。

第六届庆祝活动 - 图片参观布法罗尼亚加拉

第六届庆祝活动 - 图片参观布法罗尼亚加拉

非洲裔美国人的夏季庆祝活动

布法罗第六届自由日节(6月17-18)纪念六月的1865宣言,标志着奴隶制的终结。 这个节日包括一个主要的娱乐舞台,书展,地下铁路之旅,儿童活动帐篷和非洲鼓舞课。
在夏季,爵士音乐节也在布法罗举足轻重。 在八月的前两个周末期间,非洲裔美国人文化中心通过免费的Pine Grill Jazz Reunion来庆祝爵士乐的传统,该爵士乐团赞扬了一些最优秀的爵士音乐家在马丁路德金公园的布法罗演出。

在布法罗品尝灵魂的食物

出生于利比里亚的厨师Fred Daniel在Freddy餐厅供应他的招牌菜 - 带糖浆和糖粉的鸡肉和红色天鹅绒华夫饼 - 以及鱼和沙menu,鸡腿肉,蟹肉饼和传统苹果芝士等菜单。 J's,一间在厨房前排有十个座位的小餐厅。 Matti's Restaurant餐厅是一家长期以来的灵魂食品餐厅,被誉为“城里最好的早餐”​​。

如果你去

照片 - 布法罗万豪酒店Harbourcenter

照片 - 布法罗万豪酒店Harbourcenter

包括Motherland Connextions在内的几家旅游公司可以陪同游客前往历史悠久的地铁站点。

布法罗家居型酒店包括Hampton Inn&Suites(免费停车和早餐)。 两家较新的酒店享有城市风景如画的海滨美景,包括Marriott Harborcenter和Courtyard by Marriott Downtown / Canalside酒店。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Learn about Underground Railroad history in Buffalo-Niagara during Black History Month

Do your kids know who Harriet Tubman was? How about Frederick Douglass? Or William Still? These are some of the heroic ‘conductors’ of the Underground Railroad, the celebrated route to freedom for an estimated 50,000 African-Americans who escaped slavery by travelling along a network of safe homes and hideouts to freedom in Canada.

Harriet Tubman Underground railroad Photo courtesy Niagara Arts and Cultural Center

Harriet Tubman Photo courtesy Niagara Arts and Cultural Center

Visit Buffalo-Niagara in New York state during February’s Black History Month to learn more about the Underground Railroad, one of the most significant social movements in history, when blacks and whites worked together to actively oppose the federal laws that condoned slavery.

HIstoric picture of the Suspension Bridge. Photo courtesy Niagara Arts and Cultural Center

Historic picture of the Suspension Bridge. Photo courtesy Niagara Arts and Cultural Center

Get a (free) history lesson at the Freedom Crossing exhibit

The Niagara River that divides Canada and the U.S. was a major crossing point for slaves. Before the construction of the first suspension bridge in 1848, the only option they had was to cross the river by rowboat under the cover of night or climb aboard ferries and steamboats operated by sympathetic captains. Some risked their lives by swimming across the river in a desperate attempt to make it into Canada.

You can learn about the significance of this crossing point – and the famous Tubman, known as “the Moses of her people” for guiding fugitive slaves into the “Promised Land”— as well as many lesser known “conductors” who played a pivotal role helping slaves cross the border — at the Niagara Arts & Cultural Center’s free exhibit, Freedom Crossing: The Underground Railroad in Greater Niagara.

Michigan Street Baptist Church where slaves were hid during their travels on the underground railroad

Michigan Street Baptist Church where slaves were hidden. Photo courtesy Visit Buffalo Niagara

Visit the hiding places of runaway slaves

Buffalo-Niagara was a hotbed of Underground Railroad activity from the early 1800s until 1865 when the American Civil War ended slavery. (Canada banned the importing of slaves more than 70 years earlier). While many of the hiding places along the route remain unknown or have been destroyed, some still exist, including the secret room hidden behind a staircase at Buffalo’s Michigan Street Baptist Church, one of the oldest black churches in America. (It’s also one of the featured attractions along the Michigan Street African American Corridor, which includes The Nash House Museum, the private home of Rev. J. Edward Nash a pastor at the church for 60 years who helped ensure it was a focal point of civil rights activity.)

You can view another secret hiding place, a room that could fit several people and is hidden under a trap door of a barn, at Murphy’s Orchards, a 65-acre apple farm in Niagara County. It was once a way station for slaves who escaped in farm wagons travelling across the border.

Underground railroad Freedom Crossing Monument in Lewiston

Freedom Crossing Monument in Lewiston. Photo: Anne Bokma

Stand at the place where slaves crossed the river

Canada was just a 15-minute crossing by boat, but it was a ride made dangerous because of the bounty hunters who patrolled the area and who were rewarded for returning slaves to their “masters.”
Buffalo’s Broderick Park, situated within view of the Peace Bridge, was once home to the docks of the Black Rock Ferry, a key means of escape for fugitive slaves before bridges were built over the Niagara River.

In nearby Lewiston, N.Y., the bronze Freedom Crossing Monument on the banks of the Niagara River is a dramatic depiction of a family of four being loaded into a rowboat by the town’s Underground Railroad “station master,” Josiah Tyron, the minister of the local First Presbyterian Church, also a safe haven for escaping slaves.

Historic Colored Musicians Club

Historic Colored Musicians Club Photo courtesy Visit Buffalo Niagara

Celebrate the role of music in the civil rights struggle

Tubman and other conductors on the Underground Railroad used signal songs such as “Wade in the Water” and “Go Down Moses” as a strategy to convey coded information to escaping slaves as they moved along their secret routes.

The importance of music in the struggle for civil rights is also in evidence at the renowned Colored Musicians Club, formed 100 years ago as union hall for black musicians at a time when unions were segregated. It was also a favourite after-hours stop for jazz greats who performed in the area, including Dizzy Gillespie, Billie Holiday, Count Basie, Duke Ellington and Ella Fitzgerald.

A significant part of the still-operating jazz club has been turned into a family-friendly museum, which offers kids a chance to engage in educational and entertaining multimedia displays. They can learn the difference in sound between a trombone and a saxophone, listen to the music of famous jazz artists and figure out how to distinguish blues, swing, bebop, ragtime, Big Band, boogie-woogie and New Orleans jazz.

Juneteenth Celebrations - Photo Visit Buffalo Niagara

Juneteenth Celebrations – Photo Visit Buffalo Niagara

African-American summer celebrations

Buffalo’s Juneteenth Freedom Day Festival (June 17-18) commemorates the June 1865 proclamation that signalled the end of slavery. The festival includes a main entertainment stage, book fair, Underground Railroad tours, children activities tent and African drum and dance lessons.
Jazz festivals also reign supreme in Buffalo during the summer months. During the first two weekends in August The African American Cultural Center honours the legacy of jazz with the free Pine Grill Jazz Reunion, which pays tribute to some of the finest jazz musicians to play in Buffalo, at Martin Luther King, Jr. Park.

Sample some food for the soul in Buffalo

Liberian-born chef Fred Daniel serves up his signature dish — chicken and red velvet waffles with syrup and a sprinkle of powdered sugar — along with menu faves such as fish and grits, jerk chicken, crab cakes and traditional mac ’n cheese, at Freddy J’s, a small restaurant with row of ten seats right in front of the kitchen. Matti’s Restaurant is a longstanding soul food diner that’s billed as serving “the best breakfast in town.”

If you go

Photo - Buffalo Marriott Harbourcenter

Photo – Buffalo Marriott Harbourcenter

Several tour companies, including Motherland Connextions, are available to escort visitors to historic Underground Railroad sites.

Family-friendly Buffalo hotels include Hampton Inn & Suites (free parking and breakfast). Two newer hotels with great views of the city’s picturesque waterfront are the Marriott Harborcenter and Courtyard by Marriott Downtown/ Canalside.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *