一起烹饪:Langley's Well的家长和孩子们经验丰富

经验丰富孩子们需要能够做饭。 或者更确切地说,成年人需要知道如何烹饪,最好的学习时间是你年轻时。 我嫁给了一个真正可爱的男人,他有一个他擅长的高达5餐。 五是不是一个可怕的数字但是,由于孕吐,仅仅是想要制作食物的想法太多,这个以前怀孕的妈妈会非常欣赏她的丈夫知道如何多做几顿饭。 我的两个儿子正在蓬勃发展的厨师。 如果制作柠檬罂粟籽松饼和一批自制鹰嘴豆泥的能力使其成为一名厨师。 因此,为了让我的男孩们能够在世界范围内拥有超过5餐的能力,我们正在一起参加烹饪课程。

在兰利调味良好,提供家长和儿童烹饪班。 今年秋天,我们的家人一起上课:妈妈,爸爸,6岁和8岁。 这是一个爆炸! 我们一起制作了意大利面条和肉丸汤(疯狂美味),香脆的鸡肉招标配芥末蛋羹(最美味的招标)以及带棉花糖绒毛的燕麦饼干(饼干甚至比我自制的巧克力饼干要好)。 在我们学习一些新技能的同时,花费2与男孩一对一的时间进行一对一的专门课程,这是我和我丈夫不会很快忘记的经历。

配料 - 调味良好

做饭 - 尤其是那些学校午餐 - 有时是一种单调的体验。 然而,我们必须养活自己,为什么我们不想吃新鲜,美味,健康的食物,而不是用微波炉的东西呢? 如果我们教他们,孩子们学习如何烹饪的唯一方法就是如此。 一起上课让我们的男孩如何烹饪容易。 在家里和孩子们一起在家里做饭,看到我围着抓食材飞来飞去,短暂地看着配方说明,擦掉溢出物,一边尖叫着“慢一点”。 为了让烹饪课发生在我的厨房之外,所有的食材都是为我们提供和组织的,相当于住在一家5星级酒店。

厨师卡尔 - 经验丰富我们的家长和孩子烹饪班的导师是厨师卡尔萨瓦茨基。 厨师在调整步骤方面做得非常出色,所以每个孩子都能跟上,并确保每个人都过得愉快。 我们开始制作肉丸的2小时课程。 起初,我们的孩子们并不热衷于用生肉,但一旦他们发现冰淇淋勺可以塑造他们在船上的肉丸。 我喜欢这个班有孩子们负责任何事情。 这是孩子们打算切洋葱,剥胡萝卜,切蔬菜。 虽然父母在那里确保数字不会受到损坏,但孩子们是100%实践。 看到我的6岁的老人挥舞着一把巨大的刀,令人不安,但他坚定而自信。 (这可能无助于他和我拥有不同的优势牌,所以他所做的每一次裁判都对我的左手大脑看起来非常危险)。

肉丸制成后,放在汤上。 我学会了一种制作花束的好方法! 用一根芹菜把所有的草药放入槽内,并将绳子系在整个包装上。 它工作出色! 番茄汤是我吃过的最好的。 认真! 我确信它与我们在最后添加的奶油的1c无关。 但严重的是,我不知道我的生活缺少意大利面条和肉丸汤,但它是! 自从上课以后,我可能会喝几次汤。 这真是太好吃了。

经验丰富毫无疑问,我们孩子们最喜欢的部分是吃东西。 我们最小的孩子没有意识到吃东西是被允许的。 当我们告诉他他要把他所做的一切都吃掉时,他正要从椅子上掉下来。 虽然我的孩子们都吃大部分东西,但有时候可能会让小孩以任何速度吃东西。 他喜欢他所做的一切,并迅速将它吞噬下去。 我很想诱导孩子每周吃一顿饭,只为了让他吃得更快(没有人应该让2小时吃烤奶酪三明治,他们要求的三明治)。

一旦汤被吞噬,我们开始制作酥脆的鸡肉招标。 我喜欢做饭和经常做饭,所以我在课堂上学到的一堂课让我感到有点恐惧。 当疏浚鸡肉(或任何其他事情)时,总是最好有干手和湿手。 它是完全有道理的,但我不会告诉你我用了多少年的双手,最后是用面粉,鸡蛋和面包屑结合在一起。 但回到经验...孩子们做了鸡的疏浚,父母在热油中煮熟肉。 最终的结果是脆皮多汁的鸡肉招标,超过了我过去的任何一项。

我们的课程结束时制作燕麦饼干塞满了棉花糖绒毛。 那么我们实际上是在课堂上做了曲奇。 但是课堂结束时,我们看到疯狂美味的燕麦片,葡萄干,巧克力饼干之间的棉花糖绒毛。 我只是想着他们而流口水。 我吃了这些饼干,完全忘了给他们拍照。 他们真是太棒了!

以下是一起参加家长和小孩烹饪班的几点建议:

  1. 确保班级不是你孩子第一次在厨房里。 虽然课堂是为孩子们准备的,但是它的速度足够快,如果你的孩子是一个全新的厨房环境,他们可能会感到不知所措。
  2. 为剩菜带来容器。 你最终会制作相当数量的食物而你不想让它浪费掉。 由于经验丰富的不是餐厅,他们没有外卖容器。 最好带上自己的。 每个碟子带一个容器。 你不想把剩下的甜点塞进剩下的主菜里。
  3. 班级参与者在他们上课的那天在经验丰富的美食店获得10折扣。 看看你的橱柜,并储存在你的特色产品上。 香料,美味的烘焙巧克力,调味油,独特的意大利面,等等都是这样的一种享受......更有甚者,还有折扣。
  4. 穿舒适的衣服。 你在上下很多。 你也定期到达桌子。 系上长长的头发,不要穿带悬挂束带的连帽衫,并穿上很酷的东西。 你正在做一个热炉。
  5. 该网站称,课程适用于8及以上的儿童。 如果你有一个更年轻的孩子,给Well Seasoned一个电话,看看他们是否会例外。 对于一个稍微年轻(但成熟)的孩子来说,唯一的障碍就是他们的身高。 他们需要能够穿过工作台或高到足以在炉顶上搅拌锅。

该课程适用于年龄超过1的1父母和8儿童。 费用是$ 130(这是父母和孩子的总数)。 只需致电Langley's Well Seasoned商店进行注册(604-530-1518)。 看看 经验丰富的即将到来的烹饪课程日历.

家长和孩子们一起煮熟经验丰富:

地点: 经验丰富
地址: 117 - 20353 64th大道,兰利
网站: www.wellseasoned.ca
Facebook账号: www.facebook.com/WellSeasonedGourmet
Twitter: www.twitter.com/wellseasoned1

经验丰富

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

Cooking Together: Parents & Kids at Langley’s Well Seasoned

Well SeasonedKids need to be able to cook. Or rather adults need to know how to cook and the best time to learn is when you are young. I married a truly lovely man who has a whopping 5 meals he’s good at. Five isn’t a terrible number but when, thanks to morning sickness, the mere idea of making food is too much, this previously pregnant mamma would have really appreciated her hubby knowing how to make a few more meals. My two sons are burgeoning chefs. If the ability to make lemon poppyseed muffins and a mean batch of homemade hummus makes one a chef. So, in an effort to send my boys forth in the world armed with more than the ability to make 5 meals, we are taking cooking classes together.

Well Seasoned in Langley offers a parent & child cooking class. This Fall our family took a class together: mom, dad, 6 year old & 8 year old. It was a blast! Together we made spaghetti & meatball soup (insanely delicious), crispy chicken tenders with mustard custard (tastiest tenders EVER), and an oatmeal cookie with marshmallow fluff (the cookie was even better than my go-to homemade chocolate chip cookies). Spending 2 hours of dedicated one-on-one time with our boys, while we learned some new skills, was an experience my husband and I won’t soon forget.

Ingredients - Well Seasoned

Making meals – especially those school lunches – is sometimes a monotonous experience. However, we have to feed ourselves and why wouldn’t we want to eat fresh, tasty, healthy food instead of something you throw in the microwave? The only way kids are going to learn how to cook is if we teach them. Taking a class together made the act of teaching our boys how to cook easy. Cooking at home with the kids sees me flying around grabbing ingredients, glancing briefly at recipe-instructions, and wiping up spills, all while shrieking “stir slower”. To have the cooking-lesson happen outside of my kitchen, with all of the ingredients pulled & organized for us was the equivalent of staying in a 5-star hotel.

Chef Carl - Well SeasonedOur instructor for the parent & kid cooking class was Chef Carl Sawatsky. The chef did an excellent job of pacing the steps so every child was able to keep up, and made sure everyone was having a great time. We started our 2-hour class making meatballs. At first our kids weren’t enthused about working with raw meat but once they discovered that ice cream scoops were available to shape the meatballs they were on board. I love that the class has the kids being responsible for EVERYTHING. It is the kids who are intended to chop the onions, peel the carrots, dice the vegetables. While parents are there to ensure digits don’t get mangled, the kids are 100% hands-on. It was unnerving watch my 6 year old wield a massive knife but he was determined and confident. (It probably didn’t help that he and I have different dominant hands so every cut he made looked exceedingly dangerous to my left-handed brain).

After the meatballs were made, it was onto the soup. I learned a great way to make a bouquet garnis! Use a stick of celery and stuff all the herbs into the channel and tie the string around the whole package. It worked brilliantly! The tomato soup was the best I’ve ever had. Seriously! I’m sure it had nothing to do with the 1c of cream we added at the end. But seriously, I didn’t know my life was missing spaghetti and meatball soup, but it was! And I may have made the soup a few times since the class. It’s just so darned tasty.

Well SeasonedWithout a doubt our kids’ favourite part of the class was the eating. Our youngest didn’t realize that eating was allowed. He just about fell off his chair when we told him he got to eat everything he made. And while both my kids eat most things, it can sometimes be a battle to get the little one to eat with any speed. He LOVED everything he made and gobbled it up quickly. I’m highly tempted to assign that kid one meal every week, just to make him eat faster (no one should take 2 hours to eat a grilled cheese sandwich, a sandwich they requested).

 

Once the soup was devoured we started making the crispy chicken tenders. I love to cook and I cook often, so I was a bit horrified by a lesson I learned in class. When dredging chicken (or anything for that matter), it is always best to have a DRY hand and a WET hand. It makes complete sense but I won’t tell you how many years I’ve used both hands and ended up with them caked in a combination of flour, egg, and bread crumbs. But back to the experience… the kids did the dredging of the chicken, the parents cooked the meat in the hot oil. The end result was crispy juicy chicken tenders that topped any I’ve had in the past.

Our class ended with the making of the Oatmeal Cookies stuffed with Marshmallow Fluff. Well we actually made the cookies in the middle of the class. But the end of the class saw us slathering marshmallow fluff between insanely delicious oatmeal, raisin, chocolate chip cookies. I’m drooling just thinking about them. I got so into the eating of the cookies I completely forgot to take a picture of them. That’s how good they were!

Here are a few tips when taking a Parent & Kids Cooking Class Together:

  1. Make sure the class isn’t your child’s first time in the kitchen. While the class is paced for kids, it moves at a fast enough rate that if your child is brand new to a kitchen environment they may feel overwhelmed.
  2. Bring containers for leftovers. You end up making a sizeable amount of food and you don’t want it to go to waste. As Well Seasoned isn’t a restaurant, they don’t have take-away containers. It is best to bring your own. And bring one container per dish you are making. You don’t want to have to cram left-over-entree in with your left-over-dessert.
  3. Class participants receive 10% off at the Well Seasoned Gourmet Food Store the day of their class. Have a look through your cupboards and stock up on your speciality items. Spices, gourmet baking chocolate, flavoured oils, unique pasta, and so much more are such a treat…even more so with a discount.
  4. Wear comfortable clothes. You are up and down a lot. You also are reaching across a table on a regular basis. Tie back long hair, don’t wear hoodies with dangling drawstrings, and wear something that is cool. You are working over a hot stove.
  5. The website says classes are for kids aged 8 & up. If you have a child who is a bit younger, give Well Seasoned a call and see if they will make an exception. The only hinderance to a slightly younger (but mature) child would be their height. They need to be able to reach across a worktable or be tall enough to stir a pot on top of the stove top.

The class is intended for 1 parent and 1 child aged 8 years or older. The cost is $130 (that’s total for the parent & child). Just call Langley’s Well Seasoned store to register (604-530-1518). Check out the Well Seasoned Upcoming Cooking Classes calendar.

Parents & Kids Cook Together at Well Seasoned:

Where: Well Seasoned
Address: 117 – 20353 64th Avenue, Langley
Website: www.wellseasoned.ca
Facebook: www.facebook.com/WellSeasonedGourmet
Twitter: www.twitter.com/wellseasoned1

Well Seasoned

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *