在英格兰康沃尔的伊甸园项目参观今年冬季的雨林

雨林树冠人行道/照片:Eden Project Facebook

被其他出汗的旅行者包围,我的4岁儿子和我登上郁郁葱葱的热带雨林。 我们走过一棵香蕉树,一个菠萝床,一棵橡胶树。 小型热带鸟类俯冲在头顶。

在一个带棕榈叶屋顶的小屋里,一个友好的当地人正在出售甜猴面包树冰沙(朗姆酒可选)。 充满姜黄和肉桂的异国情调饮料浓郁,清爽,美味。 我们被告知,猴面包树是非洲原产的,并且生产出富含维生素,矿物质和抗氧化剂的粉末。 我们传递朗姆酒。

Baboab冰沙在Baboab和朗姆酒吧。 Helen Earley的照片

伊甸园项目的猴面包树和朗姆酒吧/照片:Helen Earley

我的儿子脱下他的衬衫是如此炎热潮湿,但似乎没有人介意。 这里还有另一半穿着衣服的孩子,还有一些只穿着尿布的婴儿。 每隔一段时间我们都会看到警告通知。 具体地区是高血压游客的禁区。 今天,由于极端高温,观景台,手掌上高耸的眩晕引起的观察区域,是禁区的时期。

菠萝在树上生长吗?

伊甸园项目的菠萝 - 不,它们不生长在树上/照片:海伦Earley

半小时后,我们回到了新鲜的英国空气中,啜饮着热腾腾的咖啡,并在当天早晨挤满了一堆自制的切达干酪三明治中咀嚼。


我和我的家人不在巴西,而是在英格兰的康沃尔 伊甸园项目 - 位于St. Austell镇郊区的旅游景点,教育中心和音乐会场地。 伊甸园的标志性特征是两个巨大的太空时代圆顶。 这些是生物群落,每个都包含一个独特的生态系统。

伊甸园项目的生物群系,康沃尔海伦·Earley拍摄的照片

康沃尔伊甸园项目的太空时间看似生物群落/照片:Helen Earley

全年 雨林生物群落 生长出一系列你只能在热带地区看到的动植物。

雨,光泽或雪, 地中海生物群落 生长意大利,希腊,南非和西澳大利亚的柠檬,迷迭香和橄榄。 它也有一个非常地道的地中海餐厅, Med厨房,今天,厨师正在将大米和大虾转入海鲜饭大量的平底锅里。

在Med Kitchen的海鲜饭/照片:Helen Earley

连接生物群落是一个链接建筑,其中包含道德礼品店和伊甸园厨房,这是一家巨大的咖啡厅式餐厅。 尽管新鲜制作的卷饼和玉米片看起来令人垂涎欲滴,但在伊甸园吃饭对于一家四口人来说可能是昂贵的(因此自制奶酪三明治)。

伊甸园厨房/照片:海伦Earley

伊甸园厨房/照片:海伦Earley

伊甸园是用高岭土矿的遗骸建造的。 高岭土,也被称为“瓷土”,是英国相对贫困地区康沃尔郡农村经济的主要推动力之一。 这个项目由荷兰出生的唱片制作人兼商人,现任爵士蒂姆·斯密特爵士率先发起,他已经取得了成功。 黑里根失落的花园,一座位于梅瓦吉西附近的200英亩花园,该花园早在1990的早期就被毁了。

伊甸园之前的土地:在伊甸园项目建成之前,位于康沃尔郡圣奥斯特尔郊外的裸露高岭土矿井

伊甸园之前的土地:康沃尔圣奥斯特尔郊外的裸露高岭土矿坑/照片:伊甸园项目Facebook

这是一个寒冷的家庭冒险天堂,你应该计划花一整天,甚至两天。 从一个开放的泥坑到茂盛的,美妙的新世界,伊甸园也是这里的居所 挂松散的冒险中心,与英格兰最长和最快的zipline。 我们也经历过这种情况,但却喜欢听到冒险家们比我们更勇敢的神经,飞越了生物群落。

对于一个住宿的地方, YHA Eden - 这是一家青年旅馆,由超现代,环保的“Snoozeboxes”制成 - 高规格的酒店客房(想想平面电视和连接浴室),由回收的集装箱制成。 与大多数英国YHA一样,伊甸园青年旅舍设有自助式厨房,供应小吃和早餐的咖啡厅以及带儿童游戏和活动的持照酒吧和休息区。

YHA伊甸园项目的snoozeboox:家庭住宿由一个回收的集装箱制成! Helen Earley的照片

Snoozebox:家庭住宿由回收集装箱/照片制成:Helen Earley

研究和旅游都发生在伊甸园。 你将遇到的许多人都来自世界各地的大学,在人造环境中进行研究。 研究生课程 例如可持续发展硕士与Anglia Ruskin大学的全球可持续发展研究所在伊甸园提供工作实习。

此外,园艺,园艺和园林绿化设计,可再生能源技术甚至活动管理都提供全部或兼职大学课程。

也有音乐会。 好的。 在2017,在夏季在场地表演的知名演员 伊甸园 包括疯狂,金发女郎,范莫里森和布莱恩亚当斯。 过去的表演者包括Amy Winehouse,Oasis,Spandau Ballet,Mumford和Sons以及Peter Gabriel(两次)。

伊甸园音乐会/图片:伊甸园项目Facebook

伊甸园音乐会/图片:伊甸园项目Facebook

康沃尔郡气候温和,所以伊甸园一年四季都不会停止。 冬天是一个特别愉快的时光,因为游客和学校人数较少。

从11月下旬到2月,有一个大型溜冰场可以租用溜冰鞋,欢迎使用手动轮椅(伊甸园一般都很容易到达)。 地中海生物群系装饰有节日植物展示,菜单将反映当地的季节性美食 - 温暖的砂锅菜,热葡萄酒和肉馅饼。

事实上,伊甸直到圣诞节才开放,是的 - 快乐的圣诞老人自己会在那里 - 除了它是英格兰的,所以你可以称他为圣诞老人。
圣诞老人在康沃尔伊甸园项目

伊甸园项目的圣诞老人/照片:伊甸园项目Facebook

在他舒适的帐篷(实际上是一个精心制作的巨型帐篷)内,你会发现不仅仅是旧圣尼克。 圣诞老人的总部包含精灵的双层床,包含所有儿童信件的鸽子洞信箱,以及一队帮助传播欢乐的精灵。

如果我们去圣诞节,我想我会让孩子们和圣诞老人​​一起独自探索热带雨林生物群系。 第一站? 该 猴面包树酒吧 - 这次,我会吃朗姆酒。


如果你走的话:

您可以在线访问伊甸园项目 www.edenproject.com。 圣诞老人的会议必须提前预订。

按照伊甸园项目 推特, Facebook or Instagram

康沃尔郡圣诞节期间发生了很多事件。 查看 康沃尔旅游 以获得更多细节。

如果您可以亲手使用一些猴面包树粉(可在伊甸园礼品店和非洲购买),那么这里就是猴面包冰沙的食谱。 只需添加朗姆酒!

猴面包树smothie的食谱

伊甸园项目Baobab冰沙的食谱/照片:Helen Earley

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Visit a Rainforest this Winter at the Eden Project in Cornwall, England

The rainforest canopy walkway/photo: Eden Project Facebook

Surrounded by other sweaty travellers, my 4-year old son and I ascend into the lush tropical rainforest. We walk past a banana tree, a bed of pineapples, a rubber tree. Small, tropical birds swoop overhead.

At a small cabana with a palm-leafed roof, a friendly local is selling sweet baobab smoothies (rum optional). The exotic drink, infused with turmeric and cinnamon, is thick, refreshing, and delicious. The baobab tree, we are told, is native to Africa, and produces a powder which is rich in vitamins, minerals and anti-oxidants. We pass on the rum.

Baboab smoothie at the Baboab and Rum Bar. Photo by Helen Earley

Baobab and Rum Bar at the Eden Project/Photo: Helen Earley

It is so hot and humid that my son removes his shirt, but no one seems to mind. There are other half-dressed children here, and a few babies wearing only a diaper. Every so often we see a warning notice. Specific areas are off- limits for visitors with high blood pressure. Today, because of the extreme heat, The Lookout, a vertigo-inducing viewing area high up in the palms, is off-limits, period.

Do pineapples grow on trees?

A pineapple at the Eden Project – no, they do not grow on trees/Photo: Helen Earley

Half an hour later, we are back in the fresh English air, sipping a piping hot coffee, and munching our way through a stack of homemade cheddar cheese sandwiches, packed earlier that morning.

My family and I are not in Brazil, but Cornwall, England, at The Eden project – a tourist attraction, education centre and concert venue located on the outskirts of the town of  St. Austell. The iconic features of Eden are two giant space-age looking domes. These are biomes, each one containing a distinct ecosystem.

The biomes at the Eden Project, Cornwall photo by Helen Earley

Space-aged seeming biomes at the Eden Project, Cornwall/photo: Helen Earley

Year round, the rainforest biome grows a collection of flora and fauna that you would only see in the tropics.

Rain, shine or snow, the Mediterranean biome grows lemons, rosemary and olives native to Italy, Greece, South Africa and Western Australia. It also has a very authentic mediterranean restaurant, The Med Kitchen, where today, the chef is turning rice and giant prawns in a massive saucepan of Paella.

Paella at the Med Kitchen/photo: Helen Earley

Connecting the biomes is a link building containing the Ethical Gift Shop and the Eden Kitchen, an enormous cafe-style restaurant. Although the freshly made burritos and nachos look mouth-watering, eating at Eden can be expensive for a family of four (thus the homemade cheese sandwiches).

Eden Kitchen/Photo: Helen Earley

Eden Kitchen/Photo: Helen Earley

Eden was built from the remains of a kaolin mine. Kaolin clay, also known as “china clay” is one of the primary drivers of the economy in rural Cornwall, a relatively disadvantaged part of the UK. The project was spearheaded by Dutch-born record-producer and businessman, the now knighted Sir Tim Smit, who had already seen success with The Lost Gardens of Heligan, a 200-acre garden, in nearby Mevagissey, which was brought back from ruin in the early 1990’s.

Land before Eden: The bare kaolin clay pit mine outside of St. Austell, Cornwall before the Eden project was built

Land before Eden: The bare kaolin clay pit mine outside of St. Austell, Cornwall/Photo: Eden Project Facebook

It’s a chilled-out family adventure paradise where you should plan to spend an entire day, or even two. From an open clay pit to lush, fantastic new world, Eden also houses the Hang Loose Adventure Centre, with England’s longest and fastest zipline. We passed on this too but enjoyed hearing the whizz of adventurers braver than ourselves, flying over the biomes.

For a place to stay, the YHA Eden -is a youth hostel made of ultra-modern, eco-friendly “Snoozeboxes” –  high-spec hotel rooms (think flat-screen TV’s and en-suite bathrooms) made from recycled shipping containers. The YHA at Eden, like most British YHAs, has a self-catering kitchen, a cafe serving snacks and breakfast, and a licensed bar and lounge area with games and activities for children.

The snoozeboox at the YHA Eden Project: family accommodation made from a recycled shipping container! Photo by Helen Earley

The snoozebox: family accommodation made from a recycled shipping container/photo: Helen Earley

Research, as well as tourism, happens at Eden. Many of the people you will meet have come from universities from all over the world to conduct research in the artificially created environments. Post-graduate courses such as the Masters in Sustainability with Anglia Ruskin University’s Global Sustainability Institute offer work placement at Eden.

Additionally, there are full or part-time university courses offered in Horticulture, Gardening and Landscaping Design, Renewable Energy Technologies and even Event Management.

There are concerts too. Good ones. In 2017, high-profile performers who performed at the venue during the summertime Eden Sessions included Madness, Blondie, Van Morrison and Bryan Adams. Past performers have included Amy Winehouse, Oasis, Spandau Ballet, Mumford and Sons and Peter Gabriel (twice).

Eden Concerts/Photo: Eden Project Facebook

Eden Concerts/Photo: Eden Project Facebook

Cornwall has a mild climate, so there’s no stopping Eden being open all year round. Winter is an especially pleasant time to visit because there are fewer tourists and school groups.

From late November until February, there is a large ice rink where skates can be rented, and manual wheelchairs are welcome (Eden is very accessible, generally). The Mediterranean biome is decorated with festive plant displays, and the menus will reflect local, seasonal fare – warm casseroles, mulled wine and mince pies.

In fact, Eden is open right up until Christmas day, and yes – jolly old Santa himself will be there – except it’s England, so you can call him Father Christmas.
Santa at the Eden Project, Cornwall

Santa at the Eden Project /Photo: Eden Project Facebook

Inside his cosy tent (an elaborate giant yurt, actually), you will find much more than just old Saint Nick. Santa’s HQ contains the elves’ bunk beds, pigeon-hole mailboxes containing all children’s letters, and a team of elves to help spread cheer.

If we ever go at Christmas, I think I’ll leave the kids with Santa and explore the rainforest biome on my own. First stop? The baobab bar – and this time, I’ll have the rum.


If You Go: 

You can visit the Eden project online at www.edenproject.com. Sessions with Father Christmas must be booked in Advance.

Follow the Eden Project on Twitter,  Facebook  or Instagram

There are lots of events happening in Cornwall over Christmas. Check out Cornwall Tourism for more details.

If you can get your hands on some baobab tree powder (available at the Eden gift shop, and in Africa), here’s the recipe for a Baobab smoothie. Just add rum!

recipe for baobab smothie

Recipe for the Eden Project Baobab Smoothie/photo: Helen Earley

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *