11访问华盛顿州塔科马的理由

生活在不列颠哥伦比亚省西海岸,我经常听说提及塔科马。 我知道它位于西雅图以南,是世界着名玻璃艺术家的家, 戴尔·奇胡利。 但就是这样,我的塔科马知识的全部范围。 在3冒险在港口镇度过了几天后,我告诉大家我知道塔科马需要被添加到他们必须去的假期列表中!塔科马华盛顿

塔科马提供独特的家庭友好体验,并拥有惊人的人潮。 我们在5月份的第一个阳光明媚的周末参观了这个也是加拿大的长周末。 我期望找到每个旅游目的地都与家人一起爬行,但没有人。 我们觉得我们拥有整个塔科马自己。 我从来没有经历过一个周末没有人潮的大城市。 这是光荣的!

四处游览塔科马非常容易。 如果你不走路,最好的选择是 塔科马链接。 完全免费的地上轻轨,连接塔科马圆顶体育馆,博物馆区和剧院区。

塔科马位于温哥华以南3小时。 通过西雅图使用E​​xpress Lanes可以更快地缩短驾驶时间。 市中心位于Thea Foss水道沿线,建在从水边延伸的山丘上。 塔科马是一个视觉聚宝盆:新建筑与古老而引人注目的建筑地标(如玻璃博物馆,美国汽车博物馆和法院大楼)混合在一起,而雷尼尔山则高耸入云。 我们对塔科马的3日访问远远超出了我们的所有期望,我们已经在查看日程表,以确定我们下次返回的时间。

住宿安排:

穆拉诺酒店

位于华盛顿塔科马的Hotel Murano酒店

照片来源:Hotel Murano

Hotel Murano酒店是塔科马市中心最高的建筑之一。 从城市的几乎每个角落都可以很容易地看到高大的白色塔楼。 与塔科马的许多建筑一样,Hotel Murano酒店展示了令人惊叹的玻璃制品。 彩虹前台,前方巨大的绿色雕塑,色彩鲜艳的维京船和原始的Chihuly碎片将Hotel Murano提升到远处,是一个夜晚的地方。 我们家人的一大亮点是发现酒店的每个楼层都有不同的玻璃艺术家。 在电梯里有一个艺术家和地板的列表,你可以找到他们的工作。 每当电梯门打开时,乘客都会看到原始玻璃制品的展示和关于艺术家的简短传记。

酒店的客房空间宽敞,可以舒适地容纳一家四口。 酒店的床位选择为King或双人床。 我喜欢酒店鼓励环保意识的事实。 欢迎客人在门口挂上便条,表明不需要客房清洁服务。 每次不需要家政服务时,客人将获得一张5积分,可以在酒店内的餐饮场所享受。 很确定我们都可以自己制作床并不止一次重复使用毛巾! 我们实际上在Hotel Murano的餐厅吃了Bite,食物很美味。 景色壮观,饮料令人惊叹,菜单选择多样。 我强烈推荐熟食拼盘。

家庭娱乐事实:预订赞助人级别的房间(楼层23 - 25),享受健全的免费欧陆式早餐,作为您入住的一部分。 早餐可在周末使用7am - 10am,周一至周五使用6am - 9am。

景点:

塔科马艺术博物馆

塔科马艺术博物馆,塔科马华盛顿

所有参观者都被邀请使用艺术品在塔科马艺术博物馆创作自己的杰作。

想进一步了解戴尔奇胡利的惊人作品吗? 整个房间里挤满了他的作品,有一个封闭的庭院,展示着他的一种灌输,还有一些视频展示了他的作品。 塔科马艺术博物馆还有一个旋转特色展览,展示“艺术家吸引到西方“当我们访问。

家庭娱乐事实:塔科马艺术博物馆邀请所有参观者参观艺术品。 就在主大堂旁边,一个充满自然光线的大教室和充满艺术桌的艺术家等待着有兴趣和崭露头角的艺术家。 成像走进传统的艺术品供应商店,并开始使用货架上显示的材料。 各种类型的纸张,钢笔,铅笔,毛毡和油漆等待所有年龄段的顾客使用。

塔科马儿童博物馆

华盛顿塔科马儿童博物馆

攀岩结构,装扮服装,艺术室和户外游乐站为9儿童提供了几个小时的乐趣。

对我来说,目的地假期是关于最大化观光体验的。 尽管我的家人一般都会采取休假方式,但有时孩子们只需要玩。 非结构化,大声,富有想象力,出汗。 当我们访问塔科马儿童博物馆时,他们得到了这些。 大型的L形空间充满了儿童娱乐(非电子类):我见过的最好的服装选择,一个巨大的艺术室,多个攀爬结构,一个互动的水表,以及更多。

家庭娱乐事实:塔科马儿童博物馆是世界上唯一的现收现付儿童博物馆。 捐款箱被塞到一边; 对家庭捐赠的数额没有预期。

福斯航道海港

福斯水道海港,塔科马华盛顿

乐高造船站,装扮服装,互动海洋教育站对全家人都很有趣。

我们在Foss水道海港开始了我们的塔科马观光假期,该海港位于塔科马水道上仅有的两个恢复小麦转运设施之一。 大型开放式内部拥有众多经过修复的船只,互动教育站和迷人的历史。 乐高造船站,动手实践的海洋教育站,装扮和想象力壁龛,都是非常棒的儿童友好活动。

家庭娱乐事实:高大的船舶将作为Foss航道海港的一部分来到 风帆节 (六月15 - 18)。 计划在父亲节周末举办的海上活动包括一个工作船店,美人鱼故事讲述,在普吉特海湾运行的海盗和朗姆酒展览,以及儿童乐高项目。

玻璃博物馆

塔科马华盛顿玻璃博物馆的热卖店

在热卖店里看到你眼前的一些吹制玻璃。

Hot Shop是一个迷人的地方,适合孩子们。 玻璃博物馆的艺术家们在观众面前用熔融玻璃制作杰作。 当艺术家创作玻璃作品时,主持人会四处游荡,解释过程并回答观众提问。 一旦你在Hot Shop充分过热,就去探索画廊。 当我们参观时,有一个令人惊叹的水下生物,珠宝和私人收藏的花瓶和投手。

家庭娱乐事实:在每个月的第三个星期四,免费参观玻璃博物馆。 什么家庭旅行时不想省钱?

Chihuly玻璃桥

玻璃桥塔科马,华盛顿Chihuly玻璃桥从玻璃博物馆的屋顶延伸,穿过火车轨道并连接到市中心。 当你走过桥时,你会遇到三种不同的Dale Chihuly灌输。 抬头看看五十二十个食品板玻璃Seaform Pavilion。 天花板的制作由各种款式,颜色和尺寸的2,364玻璃制成。 在桥的中间是四十英尺高的水晶塔。 每个塔架都显示63块状绿色晶体。 最后的装置位于玻璃博物馆的顶部,是威尼斯墙。 来自Chihuly系列的三部作品(威尼斯人,Ikebana和Putti)的109作品使游客停下脚步。 插花,鲜艳的色彩和异想天开的天使填满了80英尺的空间。 威尼斯墙上收录了一些曾经执行过的最大的吹制作品。

家庭娱乐事实:这座桥全天开放,每天都开放。 如果你的孩子是早起者,并且你正准备在早上的某个时候填饱肚子,那就去桥上吧。

美国的汽车博物馆

美国的汽车博物馆在华盛顿州塔科马尽管我父亲做了最好的努力,但我并不是他试图培养的汽车爱好者。 话虽这么说,我非常喜欢汽车博物馆。 虽然我们有很多东西需要了解展出的超过300的老式汽车,但我们的家人在访问期间有一个声音。 该 家庭区 提供大量娱乐活动:建造您自己的汽车并沿着巨大的轨道竞赛; 爬进一辆修复过的汽车里,启动发动机,打开灯光,鸣喇叭和变速器; 并参加驾驶1998福特野马的Road Trip Challenge,学习明智的能源使用策略。 该 速区 是迄今为止最受欢迎的。 赛车模拟器和老虎机赛车对孩子们来说是一个巨大的打击。 赛车模拟器的8分钟为6分钟,而老虎车的价格为每人3。

家庭娱乐事实:在每个月的3rd周六,ACM会举办家庭节日活动。 入场费用免费。 家长和孩子们共同探索汽车世界及其与科学,技术,工程,艺术和数学(STEAM)的关系。 六月的家庭蒸汽日 专注于赛车。

Point Defiance动物园和水族馆

位于华盛顿州塔科马的Point Defiance动物园和水族馆Point Defiance动物园和水族馆是北美唯一的动物园和水族馆。 邀请参观者参加众多活动 每日演示 (北极熊守护者谈话,动物饲养,大象守护者谈话,山羊修饰,眼睛鲨鱼潜水等等)。 我们访问的亮点包括:黄貂鱼湾,看着令人难以置信的摇摆siamang,并了解到 红狼恢复计划.

家庭娱乐事实:父亲节入场是 半价为爸爸。 Point Defiance酒店还设有一个特殊的游乐场和水上乐园。 覆盖了大部分游戏空间,使其可在一年中的任何时间进入。

餐馆:

哈蒙餐厅

家庭娱乐事实:说实话,这个有趣的事实只适用于妈妈和爸爸。 订购五种储备啤酒的航班,价格非常便宜。 少于$ 6 US尝试慷慨的Harmon的5预备款。

Rhein Haus Tacoma

家庭娱乐事实:Rhein Haus酒店不仅提供美味的巴伐利亚美食。 在您用餐之前或之后您可以预订您的家庭时间玩地掷球。 塔科马餐厅有四个室内球场球场。 每个预订都为您提供一小时的游戏时间。 我们的男孩们度过了一段美妙的时光,尽管我很确定他们最喜欢的部分是在球场上击球以及移动得分钉。

当计划你的家人去塔科马的假期时,看看这个非常有用的东西 旅行塔科马网站。 除了列出所有城市的景点外,他们还有很多名单 塔科马的25件免费旅游活动 5在$ 5下.

谢谢 旅行塔科马穆拉诺酒店 为我们的家人举办我们难忘的访问塔科马。 本文中表达的所有意见都是我自己的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

11 Reasons to Visit Tacoma, Washington

Living on the West Coast of British Columbia, I’ve often heard mention of Tacoma. I knew it was slightly south of Seattle and home to the world renowned glass artist, Dale Chihuly. But that was it, the full extent of my Tacoma knowledge. After 3 adventure packed days in the port-town I’m telling everyone I know that Tacoma needs to be added to their must-go vacation list!Tacoma Washington

Tacoma offers unique family-friendly experiences with a shocking lack of crowds. We visited on the first sunny weekend in May which was also a long weekend in Canada. I expected to find every tourist destination crawling with families, but there was no one. We felt like we had the whole of Tacoma to ourselves. I’ve never experienced a big city so devoid of crowds mid-day on a weekend. It was glorious!

Getting around Tacoma is ridiculously easy. If you aren’t walking, the best option is the Tacoma Link. The completely FREE, above-ground light rail that connects the Tacoma Dome, through the Museum District, to the Theatre District.

Tacoma is located 3 hours south of Vancouver. The drive time is made quicker by utilizing the Express Lanes through Seattle. Situated along the Thea Foss Waterway, the downtown core is built upon hills running up from the water’s edge. Tacoma is a visual cornucopia: new construction intermingled with old, striking architectural landmarks (such as the Museum of Glass, America’s Car Museum, and the Courthouse), and Mt Rainier towering in the background. Our 3 day visit to Tacoma far exceeded all of our expectations and we are already peering at the calendar to figure out when we may next return.

Accommodation:

Hotel Murano

Hotel Murano in Tacoma, Washington

Photo credit: Hotel Murano

Hotel Murano is one of the tallest buildings in downtown Tacoma. It is very easy to spot the tall, white, tower with the teal M from nearly every corner of the city. Like many buildings in Tacoma, Hotel Murano displays stunning glasswork. The rainbow front desk, the huge green sculpture out front, the brightly coloured Viking boats, and the original Chihuly pieces elevate Hotel Murano far above being just a place to lay your head at night. A big hit with our family was discovering that each floor of the hotel featured a different glass artist. In the elevator there is a list of the artists and the floor where you can find their work. Whenever the elevator door opens the occupants are treated to displays of original glasswork and a brief biography about the artist.

The hotel rooms are spacious and can comfortably accommodate a family of four. Bed options for the hotel are either King or doubles. I loved the fact that the hotel encouraged environmental awareness. Guests are invited to hang a note on their door indicating they don’t require housekeeping. Every time housekeeping isn’t needed, the guest is rewarded with a $5 credit to one of the on-site dining venues. Pretty sure we can all make our own beds & re-use a towel more than once! We actually dined Bite, the restaurant at Hotel Murano, and the food was delicious. The view is spectacular, the drinks are amazing, and the menu selection is diverse. I highly recommend the charcuterie platter.

Family Fun Fact: Book the Patron level rooms (floors 23 – 25) and enjoy a robust complimentary continental breakfast as part of your stay. The breakfast is available from 7am – 10am on weekends and 6am – 9am on weekdays.

Attractions:

Tacoma Art Museum

Tacoma Art Museum, Tacoma Washington

All visitors are invited to use the art supplies to create masterpieces of their own at the Tacoma Art Museum.

Want to learn more about the stunning work of Dale Chihuly? An entire room is packed with his creations, there is an enclosed courtyard displaying one of his instillations, and there are videos showing his work. The Tacoma Art Museum also has a rotating feature exhibit which was showing “Artists Drawn to the West” when we visited.

Family Fun Fact: The Tacoma Art Museum invites all of their visitors to Make Art. Just off the main lobby, a large classroom lit with natural light and filled with art tables awaits interested and budding artists. Imaging walking into a traditional art supply store and getting to use the materials displayed on the shelves. Various types of paper, pens, pencils, felts, and paint sit waiting to be used by patrons of all ages.

Children’s Museum of Tacoma

Children's Museum of Tacoma, Washington

Climbing structures, dress up clothes, art rooms, and outdoor play stations provide hours of fun for kids 9 years and under.

For me a destination holiday is all about maximizing the sight-seeing experience. And while my family is generally onboard to the go-go approach to vacations, sometimes the kids just need to play. Unstructured, loud, imaginative, sweaty play. They got that in spades when we visited the Children’s Museum of Tacoma. The large L-shaped space is packed with kid-entertainment (the non-electronic variety): the best selection of dress up costumes I’ve ever seen, a massive art room, multiple climbing structures, an interactive water table, and much more.

Family Fun Fact: The Children’s Museum of Tacoma is the only pay-as-you-will children’s museum in the world. The donation box is tucked off to the side; there is no expectation as to the amount a family donates.

Foss Waterway Seaport

Foss Waterway Seaport, Tacoma Washington

LEGO boat building stations, dress up clothes, interactive marine education station are fun for the whole family.

We started our Tacoma sight-seeing holiday at the Foss Waterway Seaport, located in one of only two restored wheat transfer facilities on the Tacoma waterway. The large open interior boasts numerous restored boats, interactive education stations, and fascinating history. The LEGO boat building station, the hands-on marine education station, the dress-up & imagination alcove, are all fantastic kid-friendly activities.

Family Fun Fact: The Tall Ships are coming to the Foss Waterway Seaport as part of the Festival of Sail (June 15 – 18). The maritime activities planned for the Father’s Day weekend include a working boat shop, mermaid storytelling, an exhibit on pirates & rum running in the Puget Sound, and kids’ LEGO projects.

Museum of Glass

The Hot Shop at the Museum of Glass, Tacoma Washington

Watching pieces of blown glass created right in front of you in the Hot Shop.

The Hot Shop is a fascinating place for kids. The artists at the Museum of Glass create masterpieces from molten glass right in front of the audience. While the artists create the glass pieces an emcee wanders around explaining the process and answering questions from the audience. Once you get sufficiently over-heated in the Hot Shop, head off to explore the galleries. When we visited there was a stunning display of underwater creatures, jewelry, and a private collection of vases & pitchers.

Family Fun Fact: On the third Thursday of every month it is FREE to visit the Museum of Glass. What family doesn’t want to save money when travelling?!

Chihuly Bridge of Glass

Bridge of Glass Tacoma, WashingtonThe Chihuly Bridge of Glass stretches from the roof of the Museum of Glass, across the train tracks and connects to downtown. As you walk across the bridge you encounter three distinct Dale Chihuly instillations. Look up to see the fifty-by-twenty food plate-glass Seaform Pavilion. The ceiling creation is made from 2,364 glass pieces of various styles, colours & sizes. In the middle of the bridge are the forty-foot tall Crystal Towers. Each tower displays 63 massive green crystals. The final installation, located on top of the Museum of Glass, is the Venetian Wall. 109 pieces from three of Chihuly’s series (Venetians, Ikebana, and Putti) stop visitors in their tracks. Floral arrangements, bright colours, and whimsical cherubs fill the 80-foot space. Some of the largest blown pieces, ever executed, are included in the Venetian Wall.

Family Fun Fact: The bridge is open all day, every day. If your kids are early risers and you are looking to fill sometime in the morning, head on over to the bridge.

America’s Car Museum

America's Car Museum in Tacoma, WashingtonDespite my father’s best efforts I’m not the car enthusiast he tried to cultivate. That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed the car museum. While we have much to learn about the more than 300 vintage cars on display, our family had a hoot during our visit. The Family Zone offered loads of entertainment: building your own car & race down a giant track; climb inside a restored car and start the engine, turn on the lights, honk and horn, and shift the gears; and take the Road Trip Challenge driving a 1998 Ford Mustang to learn strategies for wise energy use. The Speed Zone was by far the favourite. Racing car simulators and slot car races were a huge hit with the kids. The racing simulators are $8 for 6 minutes and the slot cars are $3 per person.

Family Fun Fact: On the 3rd Saturday of every month the ACM hosts Family S.T.E.A.M. days. The activities are free with the cost of admission. Parents & kids work together exploring the world of automobiles and its relation to science, technology, engineering, art and math (S.T.E.A.M.). June’s Family STEAM Day focuses on race cars.

Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium

Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium in Tacoma, WashingtonThe Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium is North America’s only combination zoo and aquarium. Visitors are invited to take part in the numerous daily presentations (Polar Bear Keeper Talk, animal feedings, Elephant Keeper Talk, Goat Grooming, Eye-to-Eye Shark Dives, and more). Highlights from our visit included: stingray cove, watching the incredible swinging siamang, and learning about the red wolf recovery program.

Family Fun Fact: On Father’s Day admission is half-price for dads. There is also an exceptional playground & water park at Point Defiance. A large portion of the play space is covered which makes it accessible anytime of the year.

Restaurants:

Harmon Restaurant

Family Fun Fact: Let’s be honest, this fun fact is just for the moms & dads. Order the flight of the five reserve beers, the price is insanely cheap. Less than $6 US to try generous pours of Harmon’s 5 reserve creations.

Rhein Haus Tacoma

Family Fun Fact: There’s more than just delicious Bavarian food at the Rhein Haus. Either before your meal or after you can book your family time to play bocce ball. There are four, indoor, bocce ball courts at the Tacoma restaurant. Each booking provides you with an hour of play. Our boys had a terrific time, though I’m pretty sure their favourite part was hurtling the balls down the court and moving the scoring pegs.

When planning your family’s holiday to Tacoma, have a look at the very useful Travel Tacoma website. In addition to listing all of the city’s attractions, they have great list such as Twenty-Five FREE Things to Do in Tacoma and 5 Under $5.

Thank you to Travel Tacoma & Hotel Murano for hosting our family on our unforgettable visit to Tacoma. All of the opinions expressed in this article are my own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *