fbpx

唯一的爱! 探索牙买加的自愿主义

让您的旅行数更多! 这里是你如何进入牙买加的自愿主义。

在牙买加的行为主义

柔软的沙滩,温暖的加勒比海和 比一次旅行中可能做的更多的活动 牙买加是最受欢迎的度假胜地。 很容易爱上这个国家轻松的节奏。 无论你走到哪里,这座座右铭都是“一个人的爱”被贴在墙壁,栅栏和旗帜上的国家。 这是对温柔和慷慨的提醒。 想要回馈一点的人可以找到很好的机会,我们在这里收集了一些!

我们的Pinterest旅游报价板上充满了关于旅行的真正的老生常谈,而且陈词滥调与否,旅行的情绪扩大了你的思想是一个经常性的。 来自富裕国家的特权从未像您访问经济发展中国家时那样明显。 虽然我们是冷冻鸡尾酒和阳光的忠实粉丝,但除了躺在沙滩上什么都不做,感觉有点空虚。 随着联合国宣布2017可持续旅游年认识到潜在的良好旅行可以做到,越来越多的人希望他们的旅行不仅仅是“度假”。

“自愿旅游”的世界并非没有诋毁。 关于有多少优秀的不合格志愿者真的可以做很多有效的论证。 在不熟练的青少年之后,由于当地砖砌层不得不每晚重新修建的墙的故事原来的建设正在制造各种社交媒体。 关于许多不同的志愿者照顾者在孤儿院骑自行车的效果的问题引起了对已经被遗弃的儿童群体的担忧。 在你选择自愿休假之前,花点时间研究你将要与之合作的组织,并确保你的技能符合他们的需求。

牙买加学校,男孩

你可以自愿帮助那些帮助整个牙买加的孩子和学校的组织

为了让您入门,我们收集了牙买加自愿旅行的几个选项。 请记住,并非每个机会都需要时间承诺。 牙买加的物资和设备通常不像加拿大那样容易获得,或者可能会非常昂贵。 而且,就像世界各地的慈善机构一样,捐款总是值得赞赏!

Rockhouse酒店 (尼格瑞尔) - Rockhouse酒店基金会致力于升级尼格瑞尔及其周边地区的学校并使其现代化。 志愿者可以联系基金会参观,或询问安排一段时间与孩子们一起工作,阅读,辅导或帮助活动。 Rockhouse Hotel酒店还拥有一间 愿望清单的用品 他们会非常感激地接待访客。

凉鞋基金会 (全岛) - 凉鞋基金会与当地组织合作,帮助游客找到机会将他们的技能与慈善机构的需求结合起来。 有志愿者将社区,教育和环境分组的地方,你可以选择一个与你最想帮助的地方一致的地方!

养殖基金会所在的珍宝海滩是一个宁静的渔村

Breds基金会所在的珍宝海滩是一个宁静的渔村

养殖基金会 (圣伊丽莎白教堂宝藏海滩) - Bred是牙买加人的爱好,是“弟兄们”的简称。照顾他们社区家庭的成员是基金会的宗旨,重点是教育,文化遗产,体育和紧急医疗保健。 如果您受过医学或教育领域的培训,他们可以使用您的帮助!

为一个目的打包 这是牙买加......你手提箱里真正需要的就是泳衣和牙刷! 使用剩余的行李限额来运送当地慈善机构真正需要的东西。 检查 Pack For a Purpose网站 找到你要去的地区真正需要的东西。 购买并带上你能够做的事情,然后把它们丢给酒店的其中一个合作伙伴。 在牙买加,列出的16酒店是用品的收集点。 5磅的行李大概是2双鞋,你可能不会穿,但它可能是一个带有听诊器,血压袖带和500 band-aids或带有泵的5放气足球的医疗包。

牙买加,948182_1280

如果你有更长的时间在牙买加投入自愿旅游,那么还有其他选择。 大多数长期项目是针对成年人的,尽管有些项目适合有青少年的家庭。 需要各种志愿者 海外项目 寻找不同时间和技能的不同项目,以及 伟大的小屋 在安东尼奥港为符合条件的志愿者提供大幅降低的费用 波特兰康复管理(PRM)无家可归者收容所.

捐赠时间,金钱或资源是一种机会,可以更深入地与当地人联系,并为您将迅速成长为爱的充满活力的国家提供回馈。 有关更多信息和想法,请参阅 访问牙买加网站.

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

One Love! Exploring Voluntourism in Jamaica

Make your trip count for more! Here is how you can get in on voluntourism in Jamaica.

Voluntourism in Jamaica

Soft sandy beaches, the warm Caribbean Sea and more activities than you could possibly do in one trip make Jamaica a favourite holiday spot. It’s easy to fall in love with easy rhythms of the country. It’s a country where the motto “One love” is emblazoned on walls, fences and flags wherever you go. It is a reminder for gentleness and generosity. Those wanting to give back a little bit can find good opportunities to do that, and we’ve collected a few of them here!

Our Pinterest travel quotes board is full of great truisms about travelling, and clichéd or not, the sentiment that travel broadens your mind is a recurrent one. The privilege of being from an affluent country is never more apparent than when you visit a country with a developing economy.  While we are big fans of frozen cocktails and sunshine, doing nothing but laying on the beach can feel a little empty.  With the United Nations declaring 2017 the Year of Sustainable Travel recognizing the potential good travel can do, more and more people are looking to make their trips more than “just a vacation.”

The world of “voluntourism” is not without its detractors. Many valid arguments have been made about how much good unqualified volunteers can really do. The tale of poorly built walls having to be re-built nightly by local brick-layers after unskilled teenagers did the original construction is making the rounds of social media. Questions about the effect of many different volunteer carers cycling through orphanages have prompted concerns for a child population who have already experienced abandonment. Before you choose to volunteer on vacation, take some time to research the organization you will work with, and be sure that your skill set matches their needs.

jamaica-school-boys

You can volunteer with organizations that help kids and schools throughout Jamaica

To get you started, we’ve collected a few options for voluntourism in Jamaica. Remember, not every opportunity requires a time commitment. Supplies and equipment are often not as readily available in Jamaica as they are in Canada, or may be prohibitively expensive. And, just as with charities the world over, donations of money are always appreciated!

Rockhouse Hotel (Negril) – The Rockhouse Hotel Foundation works to upgrade and modernize schools in and around Negril. Volunteers may contact the foundation for a tour, or ask about arranging some time to work with the kids, reading, tutoring or helping with activities. The Rockhouse Hotel also has a wish list of supplies they will gratefully accept from visitors.

Sandals Foundation (island wide) – The Sandals Foundation partners with local organizations to help tourists find opportunities to pair their skills with the needs of the charity. With places to volunteer grouped into community, education and environment you can choose a place that aligns well with where you want to help most!

Treasure Beach, where the Bred Foundation is based, is a tranquil fishing village

Treasure Beach, where the Breds Foundation is based, is a tranquil fishing village

Breds Foundation (Treasure Beach, St. Elizabeth’s Parish) – Bred is a Jamaican endearment that’s short for “brethren.” Caring for the members of their community family is the purpose of the foundation with a focus on education, cultural heritage, sports and emergency health care. If you are trained in the field of medicine or education they can use your help!

Pack for a Purpose It’s Jamaica…all you really need in your suitcase is a swimsuit and a toothbrush! Use the rest of your baggage allowance to transport the things local charities really need. Check the Pack For a Purpose website to find what is really needed in the area you are going to. Buy and bring the things you are able, and drop them off at one of the hotel partners. In Jamaica there are 16 hotels listed that are collection points for supplies. 5 pounds of baggage is roughly 2 pairs of shoes you probably won’t wear anyway, but it could be a medical package with a ­­stethoscope, a blood pressure cuff and 500 band-aids or 5 deflated soccer balls with a pump.

jamaica-948182_1280

There are other options too, if you have a longer period of time to devote to voluntourism in Jamaica. Most of the long term projects are for adults, although some would be suitable for families with teenagers. A variety of volunteers are needed for Projects Abroad with different projects looking for varying amounts of time and skills, and Great Huts in Port Antonio offers a substantially reduced rate for qualified volunteers to stay while working at the Portland Rehabilitative Management (PRM) Homeless Shelter.

Donating your time, money or resources is a chance to connect with locals in a deeper way and offer something back to the vibrant country you will quickly grow to love. For more information and ideas, please see the Visit Jamaica website.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *