赢得温尼伯冬季赛的5技巧

在我越来越辛苦的呼吸声中,嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖嗖啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪啪 迷惑的想法我应该加入新手组的雪铲而不是初学者组我凝结并冻结在冰冷的一口气中,然后吹过冰冻的湖面。 我更喜欢冬天,这是我的使命的一部分,在一个自称为“Winterpeg”的地方没有更好的地方...... Winnipeg Manitoba。

感谢a 喷泉轮胎广告 其中不幸的发言人因为他的夏威夷假期而乘坐错误的飞机,并呻吟着“Goin”去温尼伯......“我发现几乎每个我说过的人都是我前往'Peg会以同样愚蠢的回应作出回应:”Goin'to温尼伯......“但是,我发现了一个充满活力的冬季城市,它并不认真对待自己,并且学会了接受它作为Winterpeg,Manisnowba的声誉。

那么家庭在加拿大(纵向)中暑期间可以做些什么呢? 这里是我的五大选择,因为这个家庭很有趣!

赢得温尼伯冬季

去一个雪鞋,滑下雪橇滑道,练习你的“snowga”或在FortWhyte Alive上与s'mores一起热身!

拥抱雪鞋

从城市到城市轻松可达 FortWhyte活着 使这个公园自然保护成为您不容错过的目的地! 全年都有各种各样的节目,包括在冰火节上湖上的冷冻瑜伽和我参与的月光雪鞋。在探索树林和冰冻的湖泊后,沿着雪橇滑道滑下。 我不知道是否有一个更为草原的东西,而不是一个巨大的幻灯片,为贫困的平地儿童提供雪橇的地方。 但如果有的话,它必须是某种卷曲。 这让我们:

你见过像这样的crokinole板吗? 你必须访问The Forks来尝试它!

获取Crokicurling

如果你有一个Opa或者你的童年的任何一部分在教堂地下室或农场玩,你可能已经知道了 加拿大弹戏。 桌面游戏包括用手指翻转小圆盘落在棋盘的最高得分部分,同时敲击对手的光盘。 温尼伯通过创造一种叫做crokicurl的卷曲/ crokinole杂交,将游戏提升到了一个新的水平。 玩家不是翻转光盘,而是将冰壶石扔到一片冰上。 游戏设置在外面 叉子市场 并免费供任何人使用。 为了记录,我的团队赢了。 另外为了记录,除了垃圾桶说话,我没有以任何方式为这一胜利做出贡献,我在黑桃队中说过。

沿着红河互动小径的一些艺术变暖小屋,以及需要尽快使用的曲棍球运动员。

系带你的溜冰鞋

征服了crokicurl之后,河流呼唤! 在一些溜冰鞋(可出租)上打耳光,然后往下走 红河相互足迹。 小道沿着阿西尼博内河流经马尼托巴省立法机构,或者沿着红河沿着其他路径行进。 沿着小径散落着艺术气息的温暖小屋,由当地和国际艺术家和建筑师设想。 而且,是的,可以真正进入室内进行热身(尽管有些人看起来像是提供了比其他人更多的元素保护!)如果沿着河流打开里程并不适合你,那么福克斯提供了其他一些小径选项通过网站流淌。 对智者说的话:从节日公园舞台到儿童博物馆的小道通过了一个被雪覆盖但是完全可玩的操场!

在冬天肥胖! 大胖子的轮胎更容易抓住雪。

跳上一辆Fatbike

如果你的家庭由能够骑成人大小的自行车的人组成(我不是在开玩笑说成人大小的......只要问我们小组中那些短腿但可爱的女士,当他们甜美的小munchkin腿不能骑自行车时,不舒服地踏上踏板),你可能想检查租用一些胖子 白松自行车公司 or 伍德科克周期。 厚重的轮胎使得它更容易抓住并穿过雪地和雪泥,即使对于那些可能没有骑自行车的人来说,也许比她想要承认的更长。 温尼伯很适合在市中心骑自行车道骑自行车,但如果你没有很多城市两轮车的经验,宁愿远离城市街道,福克斯周围的小径提供了一个可爱的风景漫步。

参加丘吉尔之旅的北极熊在Assiniboine公园和动物园展出(标志图片由Tourism Winnipeg提供)

参观Assiniboine公园和动物园

想象一下,站在成千上万升的冰蓝色水下,而北极熊在彼此上面玩得很开心。 看着巨大的熊扔玩具,一般游泳的方式,最好的形容为“gallivanting”和“嬉戏”是迷人的。 您可以轻松地在Assiniboine公园度过整整一天(​​动物园所在的地方),但要确保它的一部分用于 去丘吉尔 展示! 这个空间的创造方式使得障碍不会突出,所以当你环顾四周时,你会感受到大开阔的苔原:驯鹿,狼,狐狸和许多其他的北极动物都住在这里。 花点时间在360°Aurora Borealis剧院观看解说电影,了解加拿大北部不断变化的环境,不要错过北极熊! 在“通往北极的门户”展览中观察它们将使您了解我们如何在现场皮革谷国际北极熊保护中心提供帮助和正在进行的工作。

温尼伯比加拿大人普遍认为的平均水平要多得多。 我不否认Manisnowba的声望并不是当之无愧,但在温尼伯冬天有很多事要看和做,你很快就会喜欢Winterpeg。 当我们周末重复时,“为什么 温尼伯在冬天?“

非常感谢我的主人 旅行马尼托巴 旅游温尼伯。 意见,一如既往,是我自己的。 〜JM

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

5 Tips for Winning the Winnipeg Winter

The swish, swish, swish of snow pant clad thighs rubbing against each other is almost lost in the sound of my increasingly laboured breaths. The deluded thought that I should have joined the novice group of snow-shoers instead of the beginner group I am a part of condense and freeze in icy puffs of breath and blow away over the frozen lake. It’s all part of my mission to love winter more, and there isn’t a better place to do that in a place that bills itself as “Winterpeg”…Winnipeg Manitoba.

Thanks to a Fountain Tire ad wherein the hapless spokesman gets on the wrong plane for his Hawaiian vacation and moans “Goin’ to Winnipeg…” I found pretty much every person I told that I was headed to the ‘Peg would respond with the same silly response: “Goin’ to Winnipeg…” But what I discovered was a vibrant winter city that doesn’t take itself too seriously and has learned to embrace its reputation as Winterpeg, Manisnowba.

So what’s there for families to do on an icy vacation in the (longitudinal) middle of Canada? Here are my top five picks for frosty family fun!

Winning the Winnipeg Winter

Go for a snowshoe, take a slide down the toboggan chute, practice your “snowga” or warm up with s’mores at FortWhyte Alive!

Embrace the Snowshoe

The easy access from the city to FortWhyte Alive makes this parkland nature preserve a destination you won’t want to miss! Varied programming happens throughout the year including frozen yoga on the lake at the Fire and Ice Festival and the moonlight snowshoe I took part in.  After you explore the woods and frozen lakes, take a slide down the toboggan chute. I don’t know if there is a more prairie thing than a giant slide constructed to give poor flatland children a place to toboggan. But if there is, it would have to be some kind of curling. Which brings us to:

Have you ever seen a crokinole board like this? You’ll have to visit The Forks to try it!

Get Crokicurling

If you had an Opa or spent any part of your childhood playing in a church basement or at the farm, you probably already know crokinole.  The tabletop game involves flipping small discs with your fingers to land in the highest scoring portion of the board, while knocking your opponent’s discs out. Winnipeg has taken the game to the next level, by creating a curling/crokinole hybrid called crokicurl. Instead of flipping discs, players throw curling rocks across a sheet of ice. The game is set up outside the Forks Market and is free for anyone to use. For the record, my team won. Also for the record, I did not contribute to that win in any way except for trash-talking the other team, which I did in spades.

Some of the artistic warming huts along the Red River Mutual Trail, and a hockey player who will need to use one soon.

Lace Up your Skates

After conquering crokicurl, the river calls! Slap on some skates (available for rent) and head down the Red River Mutual Trail. The trail goes down the Assiniboine River, past the Manitoba Legislature, or travel the trail the other way, along the Red River. Scattered along the trail are artful warming huts, conceived of by local and international artists and architects. And, yes, can really go inside to warm up (although some looked like they offered more protection from the elements than others!) If open miles along the river doesn’t do it for you, the Forks offers a few other options for trails to meander through the site. Word to the wise: The section of trail that goes from the Festival Park Stage to the Children’s Museum passes a playground that was snow covered but perfectly playable!

Fatbiking in the winter! The big fat tires make it easier to grip the snow.

Hop on a Fatbike

If your family consists of people who can ride adult sized bikes (and I’m not joking about adult sized…just ask the short-legged but lovely ladies in our group who ended up hoofing it instead of biking when their sweet little munchkin legs couldn’t comfortably reach the pedals) you might want to check into renting some fatbikes from White Pine Bicycle Co. or Woodcock Cycle. The fat tires make it easier to grip and get through the snow and slush, even for a person who may not have been on a bicycle in longer than she may want to admit. Winnipeg is nicely set up for biking with bike lanes downtown, but if you don’t have a lot of experience in urban two wheeling and would rather stay off the city streets, the paths around the Forks offer a lovely scenic ramble.

Polar bears at the Journey to Churchill exhibit at Assiniboine Park and Zoo (sign image courtesy of Tourism Winnipeg)

Visit the Assiniboine Park & Zoo

Imagine standing underneath thousands of litres of icy blue water while polar bears playfully rough-house with each other above you. Watching the massive bears tossing toys and generally swimming in ways that can best be described as “gallivanting” and “frolicking” was mesmerizing. You can easily spend an entire day in Assiniboine Park (where the zoo is located) but make sure part of it is spent in the Journey to Churchill exhibit! The space has been created in a way that the barriers don’t stand out, so when you look around, you get the feeling of wide open tundra: caribou, wolves, foxes and many other arctic animals live here. Take the time to watch an interpretive film in the 360° Aurora Borealis Theatre to learn about the changing environment in Canada’s north, and don’t miss the polar bears! Observing them in the “Gateway to the Arctic” display will prime you to learn more about how we can help and the work being done at the on-site Leatherdale International Polar Bear Conservation Centre.

There is much more to Winnipeg than the average Canadian gives it credit for. I won’t deny the the Manisnowba reputation isn’t well deserved, but there is so much to see and do in a Winnipeg winter, you’ll soon be enjoying Winterpeg. As we repeated over the weekend, “Why not Winnipeg in winter?”

Many thanks to my hosts at Travel Manitoba and Tourism Winnipeg. The opinions, as always, are my own. ~JM

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *