Excursions

Black Loyalist Heritage Centre, Birchtown, Nouvelle-Écosse

Que diriez-vous d'un voyage à la pointe sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse? Vous y trouverez le plus récent musée de Nouvelle-Écosse, le Black Loyalist Heritage Centre, qui raconte l'histoire de la plus grande population africaine libre du monde en dehors de l'Afrique, à la fin du 18e siècle. En plus du centre, vous pouvez ... Lire la suite

Espoir pour le Centre de rétablissement de la faune

Hope for Wildlife Society est un organisme d'éducation et de rééducation de la faune basé à Seaforth, en Nouvelle-Écosse. La Société fournit des services de réadaptation et de secours aux animaux sauvages blessés et orphelins, gère une ligne d'assistance téléphonique pour les animaux sauvages et offre des programmes d'éducation environnementale au public. Le centre est un ... Lire la suite

Oaklawn Farm Zoo

Une aventure amusante pour tous les âges, Oaklawn Farm Zoo possède la plus grande exposition de Big Cats and Primates dans l'Est du Canada, et bien plus encore. Le zoo 50-acre d'Oaklawn offre une atmosphère relaxante dans un cadre champêtre. Vous pouvez vous promener et interagir avec un ... Lire la suite

Day Trips

Black Loyalist Heritage Centre
Black Loyalist Heritage Centre, Birchtown, Nova Scotia

How about a trip to the South West tip of Nova Scotia? There, you will find Nova Scotia’s newest museum, The Black Loyalist Heritage Centre which tells  the story of the world’s largest free African population outside of Africa, in the late 18th century. In addition to the Centre, you can also visit historic buildings and the
Continue Reading »

How to Pick an Apple in Nova Scotia's Annapolis Valley
How to Pick an Apple in Nova Scotia’s Annapolis Valley

Do Not Twist or Pull! When I told a friend that I would be going apple picking, she told me of a trick she had recently learned. Take the apple and gently turn it upside-down. If it’s ripe, the apple will fall off the stem naturally. If not, you should
Continue Reading »

Hope For Wildlife Recovery Centre

  The Hope for Wildlife Society is a wildlife rehabilitation and education organization based in Seaforth, Nova Scotia. The Society provides rehabilitation and resucue services to injured and orphaned wildlife, operates a wildlife help line, and provides public environmental education programs. The center is an interesting place to learn more about
Continue Reading »

Oaklawn Farm Zoo

A fun adventure for all ages, Oaklawn Farm Zoo boasts the largest display of Big Cats and Primates in Eastern Canada, and much more. Oaklawn’s 50-acre zoo offers a relaxing atmosphere in a country like setting. You can stroll along and interact with a wide diversity of mammals, birds and
Continue Reading »