坐落在距离埃德蒙顿17公里以外的地方是一个拥有平常特色的小镇。 坐落在精品店和老式黑色灯柱之上的不仅仅是30彩绘壁画。 这些画代表了斯通尼平原的历史,并提供了这片阿尔伯塔省各界人士如何定居的一瞥。

这里看一些壁画。

Stony Plain的第一位警长,以色列Umbach 是小镇的民间英雄。 在1907中,加拿大太平洋铁路公司(CPR)欠缴城镇税,但他们没有支付。 Sherriff Umbach从当地五金商店购买了一款重型链条和强大的挂锁,并将火车紧紧地绑在了轨道上! 心肺复苏术迅速降温并支付了退税。 今天,这种虚张声势的行为被称为“法律强臂”的壁画。 勇敢的警长在旋转公园也有自己的雕像。

石质平原壁画 - 谢里夫以色列翁巴赫雕像

谢里夫以色列翁巴赫雕像

 

 

石质平原壁画 - 强大的法律壁画

法律壁画的强大手臂

早在沃尔玛成为斯托尼平原的家居用品一站式商店之前,居民就蜂拥而至 雅各布米勒的一般商店和邮局。 米勒还经营一家男装店,是该镇的第二任市长。 他的许多贡献都被收录在一张名为“The General Store”的1,452平方英尺壁画中。 米勒的三胞胎和他的几个雇员也在壁画上展出。

石质平原壁画 - 雅各布米勒的一般商店和邮局

雅各布米勒的一般商店和邮局

现在这幅壁画有许多千禧年人问:“那是什么?” “连接1906-1963” 描绘了Stony Plain得到自己的电话办公室的兴奋。 Ottila Zucht在13的招标年龄,是第一个电话运营商。 这个职位后来被Ida Smith在1923占领。 史密斯将担任下一个20年的这个职位。 显示居民被新技术迷住(并且困惑)的这幅壁画增加了历史意义,因为移动电话继续主宰着我们今天的交流方式。

石质平原壁画 - 连接1906-1963

连接1906-1963

什么是没有制服的农业小镇? 即使在今天,斯托尼普莱恩通过举办一年一度的农民节牛仔节和展览,牛仔诗歌节(2016标志着它的24th年)以及其他特别为容纳马匹和其他牲畜而设计的展览场地举办活动,向其农业根源致敬。 小壁画, “结交朋友” 被塞进了大街上的一个角落,显示两个孩子正在乔祖克的衣服里喂马。 时间段是1905。 旅客可以将他们的马放在号衣上,或租用马和马车。 这个号称早已被经销商和车库所取代,但这张小号的39平方英尺油画是对过去日子的爱的提醒。

石质平原壁画 - 交朋友

制作朋友壁画

常规产品的 加拿大商业银行(CIBC) 只不过是1906的一个帐篷,客户在那里处理毛皮和黄金。 两年后,CIBC变成了一座木质建筑,然后被1953中的一块砖块替换(并在1983中升级)。 CIBC仍然站在大街上,并拥有一个高大的800方形壁画展示其转变。

石质平原壁画 -  CIBC历史壁画

CIBC历史壁画

这些只是您可以在历史上重要的小镇斯托尼平原中探索的许多壁画中的一小部分。 如果你正在访问埃德蒙顿地区,这是来自这个城市的短途旅行 - 这是一次值得一试的短程旅行。 要了解更多关于壁画的信息,请访问www.stonyplain.com并点击景点和活动下的历史室外壁画链接。 更好的是,计划亲自前往“历史悠久的城镇”。

Picture Perfect: The Town with the Painted Past

Situated just 17 kilometres out of Edmonton is a small town with an usual feature. Nestled among the boutique stores and old-style black lampposts are more than 30 painted murals. These paintings represent Stony Plain’s history and provide a glimpse into how this slice of Alberta was settled by people from all walks of life.

Here’s a look at a few of the murals.

Stony Plain’s first sheriff, Israel Umbach is the town’s folk hero. In 1907 the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) owed the town taxes, but they weren’t paying up. Sherriff Umbach purchased a heavy chain and strong padlock from the local hardware store and literally tied the train to the tracks! CPR quickly relented and paid the back taxes. Today, this act of bravado is memorialized in a mural called “Strong Arm of the Law”. The plucky sheriff also has his own statue in Rotary Park.

Stony Plain Murals - Sherrif Israel Umbach Statue

Statue of Sherrif Israel Umbach

 

 

Stony Plain Murals - Strong Arm of the Law Mural

Strong Arm of the Law Mural

Long before Wal-Mart became Stony Plain’s go-to one-stop-shop for household goods, residents flocked to Jacob Miller’s General Store and Post Office. Miller also ran a men’s clothing store and was the town’s second mayor. His many contributions are captured in a 1,452 square foot mural called “The General Store”. Miller’s triplets and a couple of his employees are also featured on the mural.

Stony Plain Murals - Jacob Miller’s General Store and Post Office

Jacob Miller’s General Store and Post Office

Now this is a mural that has many millennials asking, “What’s that?” “The Connection 1906-1963” depicts the excitement of Stony Plain getting its very own telephone office. Ottila Zucht, at the tender age of 13, was the first telephone operator. This position was later occupied by Ida Smith in 1923. Smith would hold this position for the next 20 years. This mural, showing residents enthralled (and confused) by the new technology, increases in historical significance as mobile phones continue to dominate the way we communicate today.

Stony Plain Murals - The Connection 1906-1963

The Connection 1906-1963

What’s a farming town without a livery stable? Even today Stony Plain pays homage to its agricultural roots by holding an annual Farmers’ Day Rodeo and Exhibition, a Cowboy Poetry Festival (2016 marks its 24th year) and other events on exhibition grounds specifically designed to accommodate horses and other livestock. The small mural, “Making a Friend” is tucked into a corner on Main Street and shows two children feeding a horse in Joe Zucht’s livery. The time period is 1905. Travellers could rest their horses at the livery or rent a horse and buggy. The livery has long since been replaced by dealerships and garages, but this small 39 square foot painting is a loving reminder of days gone by.

Stony Plain Murals - Making a Friend

Making a Friend Mural

The Canadian Bank of Commerce (CIBC) was nothing more than a tent in 1906 where clients came to deal in fur and gold. CIBC morphed into a wooden building two years later and then was replaced by a brick one in 1953 (and upgraded in 1983). CIBC is still standing on Main Street and boasts a tall 800 square foot mural showing its transformations.

Stony Plain Murals - CIBC History Mural

CIBC History Mural

These are just a few of the many murals you can explore in the historically significant town of Stony Plain. If you are visiting the Edmonton region, it’s a quick jaunt from the city – and a side trip that is worth the short drive. To learn more about the murals, visit www.stonyplain.com and click on the Historical Outdoor Murals link under Attractions and Activities. Better yet, plan to visit “The Town with the Painted Past” in person.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates