在薩斯卡通的一個忙碌的星期二早上與 3 個忙碌的孩子一起忙碌了 3 個小時後 營養奇蹟中心,感覺有點散。 在有點系統過載的情況下,我考慮如何最好地傳達我們剛剛享受的感官遊戲體驗的聚寶盆。 我沒有製定一份冗長但不可避免地不全面的設施功能清單,我想傳達其景點的奇妙多樣性、質量和獨特性。 讓我印象深刻的最有效的方式就是簡單地轉述 4 個關於我們家庭在 Nutrien Wonderhub 的時間的短篇小說,並鼓勵讀者自己參與來填補空白。

Nutrien Wonderhub 4 個短篇小說挖掘。

“我們下去!” 在電梯/礦井中提供熱情的服務員,將我們帶到該設施的 Discovery Mine。 我們準備好反光背心、安全帽、安全眼鏡和工具帶,並準備好發現更多關於薩斯喀徹溫省最重要行業之一的信息。 “為什麼一切都是粉紅色的?” 我 10 歲的兒子在開門時問道,這是一個工業中心。 當準礦工將礦石裝載到傳送帶上時,各種各樣的螺旋鑽正在將“原材料”提升到地面,而一輛複製的馬車則擠滿了渴望更換電池的孩子。 我的女兒們匆匆忙忙地去操作“轉子鑽孔機”,或者,在我看來,是角落裡巨大的鑽孔機。 “我相信 Potash 是粉紅色的,”我在他調查現場時告訴他,最終選擇了礦井中唯一涉及觸摸屏的活動。 我蜷縮在一個角落裡,以免打擾那些沉浸在薩斯喀徹溫省鉀肥礦地下生活體驗中的人的慌亂。

媽媽!

“媽媽,看這個畫面!” 我服從並有一種奇怪的滑稽體驗,看著我 5 歲的孩子在位於北畫廊的眾多 Boxes o' Fun 之一中為自己表演時,她以搖滾明星的身份扭動、跳躍和唱歌,她熱情地閉上眼睛。 營養奇蹟中心. 我的手臂被拉扯打斷了,“媽媽,過來看看!” 我乖乖地跟著我 8 歲的孩子走進一個黑燈盒子,在那裡我們驚嘆於我們的襪子和襯衫袖子如何像聖誕節一樣發光。 “媽媽! 我告訴過你在屏幕上看我!” 我的另一個女兒帶著復仇的表情浮出水面,當她欣賞她的鞋帶時很快就安撫了,“媽媽,它們在發光!” “媽媽!” 這一次,我兒子探出頭來宣布:“我要和卡勒姆一起玩。” “好吧,但我們必須在 1 點之前到家。我們在……見面吧。” 我的聲音越來越小。 他走了。

創建。

“媽媽,我打破了記錄!” 我的女兒在她堆疊的杯子塔旁邊微笑,令人印象深刻的 8 層高。 “真棒吉納維芙!” 我從油漆片花工藝品上抬起頭來,我已經害羞地護理了 45 分鐘(工藝品也是給父母的,對吧?)。 “我要去建一座橋!” 她說完就搬到了另一張桌子上,這張桌子配備了製作夢想中的冰棒棍橋所需的所有材料。 我的另一個女兒在我旁邊的工藝站的快樂地方,手裡拿著滴著油漆的刷子,為 Create Space 展示最喜歡的夏季食物做一個解釋性的菠蘿。 時間一分一秒地過去,我悄悄地想知道我兒子的下落。

發現。

“NNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOO!” 我的女兒合唱團。 “對不起女士們,我們得走了。 接線員來了。” 我們開始蜿蜒回到入口處。 “奧利弗在哪裡?” 我大聲問。 “媽媽! 我們可以再上網一次嗎?” “當然。 但直到我找到奧利弗,”我告訴他們。 我翻了個身,查看了我最後一次見到他和他的同伙的較低樓層的加拿大公園展。 不在那裡。 我爬上樓梯到夾層,看看他是否選擇了一段時間安靜地沉思。 沒運氣。 當我輕而易舉地穿過 Boxes O' Fun 和以幼兒園為中心的 Toon-Town 時,我左右看了看。 我默默地祈禱,我不會發現他在無人監督的情況下製作場景並在小橋幼兒區打破 3 歲以下兒童規則。 我被證明是正確的。 迷惑不解,我開始想像他和他的伙伴已經飛出去在鎮上喝根啤酒了。 當我回去諮詢女孩們時,我鬆了一口氣,如果有點毛骨悚然,當我走過一個帶有數千個可移動釘子的特殊 Box O'Fun 看......
Nutrien Wonderhub 4 個短篇小說

找到他了。

Nutrien Wonderhub in 4 Short Stories

Wonderhub BlogAfter 3 busy hours with 3 busy kids on a busy Tuesday morning at Saskatoon’s Nutrien Wonderhub, I was feeling a bit scattered. In a bit of system overload, I contemplated how I could best relay the cornucopia of sensory play experiences we’d just enjoyed. Short of formulating a long but inevitably incomprehensive list of the facility’s features, I wanted to convey the fantastic variety, quality and uniqueness of its attractions. What struck me as the most effective way was simply to relay 4 short stories about our family’s time at Nutrien Wonderhub and to encourage readers to fill in the blanks by attending themselves.

Nutrien Wonderhub in 4 short storiesUnearth.

“Down we go!” offers an enthusiastic attendant in the elevator/mine shaft that takes us down to the facility’s Discovery Mine. We are geared up with reflective vests, hard hats, safety glasses and tool belts and ready to discover more about one of Saskatchewan’s foremost industries. “Why is everything pink?” my 10 year-old son asks as the doors open to reveal a hub of industry. An auger of some variety is lifting ‘raw materials’ up to the surface as would-be miners load ore onto the conveyor while a replica buggy is swarmed by kids eager to change its batteries. My daughters scurry off to operate the ‘rotor borer machine’ or, as I see it, the gigantic drill-digging thing in the corner. “I believe Potash is pink,” I tell him as he surveys the scene, eventually choosing the only activity in the mine involving a touch screen. I nestle myself into a corner so as not to disrupt the flurry of those deeply engaged in immersing themselves in the experience of life underground at a Saskatchewan Potash mine.

Nutrien Wonderhub in 4 short storiesMOM!

“MOM, watch this screen!” I obey and have the strangely comical experience of watching my 5 year-old appear as a rock star writhing, jumping and singing with her eyes passionately closed as she performs for herself inside one of the many Boxes o’ Fun located in the North Gallery of Nutrien Wonderhub. I am interrupted by a tug on my arm, “MOM, come see something!” I obediently follow my 8 year-old into a black-lit box where we marvel at how our socks and shirt sleeves glow like Christmas. “MOM! I TOLD YOU TO WATCH ME ON THE SCREEN!” My other daughter surfaces with a vengeance, quickly placated as she admires her shoelaces, “MOM, they’re shining!” “MOM!” this time my son peaks his head in and announces, “I’m going to play with Callum.” “Okay, but we’ve got to be home by 1. Let’s meet at the…” I trail off. He’s gone.

Nutrien Wonderhub in 4 short storiesCreate.

“Mom, I beat the record!” My daughter smiles beside her tower of stacking cups, an impressive 8 layers high. “That’s awesome Genevieve!” I look up from the paint chip flower craft which I’ve been sheepishly nursing for the better part of 45 minutes (crafts are for parents too, right?). “I’m going to go build a bridge!” she says and relocates to another table, this one complete with all the requisite materials for the popsicle stick bridge that dreams are made of. My other daughter is in her happy-place at the craft station next to mine, dripping paint brush in hand, working on an interpretive pineapple for the Create Space’s display of favourite summer foods. The minutes tick over into the hour, and I quietly wonder as to the whereabouts of my son.

Nutrien Wonderhub in 4 short storiesFound.

“NNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOO!” my daughters chorus. “Sorry ladies, we’ve got to go. The cable guy is coming.” We start winding our way back towards the entrance. “Where is Oliver?” I ask out loud.  “MOM! Can we go up the net one more time?” “Sure. But just until I find Oliver,” I tell them. I double back and check the Parks Canada display on the lower level where I’d last seen him and his cohort. Not there. I climb the stairs to the mezzanine to see if he’s opted for some time in quiet contemplation. No luck. I look left and right as I breeze back through the Boxes O’ Fun and, the preschool-centric, Toon-Town. I offer a silent prayer that I will not find him making a scene unsupervised and breaking the under-3 rule in the Little Bridge toddler area. I am vindicated. Puzzled, I begin to imagine he and his buddy have jetted out for a Root Beer on the town. As I head back to consult the girls, I am relieved, if a little creeped out, as I walk by one particular Box O’ Fun with thousands of moveable pegs to see…
Nutrien Wonderhub in 4 short stories

Found him.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.