fbpx

成长起来也需要妈妈时间! 和温哥华岛的妈妈一起旅行

当您和妈妈一起游览温哥华岛时,去哪里以及该怎么做 - 以及为什么要这样做!

Parksville海滩是您在早晨享受冬季散步的理想场所。

如果你想一想,没有比你自己的妈妈更好的旅行伴侣 - 当然,假设你与她有良好的关系。 但是,如果你像我一样幸运并与在你生活中扮演母亲角色的女人相处,你应该和她一起去旅行,就像成年人一样。 还有谁会照顾你,确保你吃饭,并且一般都很高兴和你在一起? 没有人,那是谁。 如果您要和妈妈一起旅行,请继续阅读您需要记住的事项,然后再打包行李!

Tigh-Na-Mara树林里舒适的小屋; Parkside Hotel入口处的池塘(锦鲤搬到冬天里面)

女士在哪里? 首先要做的事情。 你想去哪里? 温哥华岛适合各种年龄段的活动,气候温和,价格实惠,是您理想的选择。 我的妈妈绝对是我们中的一员,并向我保证,无论走到哪里,她都会很开心。 我不能去旅行,需要意识到预算。 我的妈妈不喜欢炎热,但对我来说,宜人的天气是必须的。 对于12月初的旅行,温哥华岛非常适合这项法案。

我们住在僻静的地方 Tigh-Na-Mara Resort 就在帕克斯维尔外面,而且精致 帕克赛德酒店 在我们度假期间在维多利亚市中心。 对于我们的目的而言,它们不可能更加不同或更美妙。 在Tigh-Na-Mara,我们住在树木中的2卧室小木屋,配有燃木壁炉和深喷射浴缸。 在Parkside,我们的套房有两间浴室和两个庭院,可以展开。 我们一起躺在巨大的特大号床上 - 与妈妈一起旅行的另一个好处是,没有人必须睡在沙发床上。

提示:考虑一下你和妈妈在住宿方面需要多少空间。 你们每个人都需要自己的床或自己的卧室吗?

这是维多利亚州的圣诞节:在皇家不列颠哥伦比亚省博物馆的老城区和Craigdarroch城堡的餐厅。 来自Nourish的健康美食可以平衡圣诞节的美食!

做你喜欢......或尝试一些新的东西。 我妈妈和我分享的不仅仅是DNA。 你可能也和你妈妈有一些共同的兴趣。 我们参观的时候,圣诞节很好地安顿下来 维多利亚所以我们很高兴看到树木节,Habitat for Humanity姜饼展示区以及The Butchart Gardens的灯饰。 我们漫步在不列颠哥伦比亚省皇家博物馆,参观了Craigdarroch城堡。 我们很喜欢做孩子和丈夫可能没有耐心的事情......至少不是我妈妈和我去的悠闲节奏。 我们花时间去做一些我们可能不经常做的事情,比如在山上品尝。 Arrowsmith精酿啤酒厂,或在维多利亚州的Nourish Kitchen&Café或Agrius享用不合情理的健康食品。

提示:为您的行程增添色彩。 尝试选择你喜欢的东西,你们各自喜欢的东西,以及在一般情况下你可能不会做的事情。

在Qualicum海滩遗产森林的反思步行是太平洋雨林探险森林疗法(又名森林沐浴)处方的一部分

安排停工时间 争吵的高能量孩子会让你有一种扭曲的感觉,那就是应该把活动塞进一天。 你的妈妈可能是一个活泼的大四学生,但你必须记住,她比你六岁的孩子更累。 除了安静的阅读时间(我读了两本书 - 比我几年来实际完成的两本书!)我们安排了一些轻松的活动。 我们了解到了 信RIN-YOKU,日本人在一个下午的森林沐浴练习中漫步于郁郁葱葱的森林小径上 太平洋雨林历险记。 我们度过了一个美好的夜晚,在Tigh-Na-Mara的Grotto水疗中心静静地浸泡和聊天。 两者都是我觉得我从来没有时间的安静的恢复活力,以及让妈妈从我无情的安排中休息一下的完美方式。

提示:请记住,您可能与您妈妈有不同的节奏。 确保您休息并留出空间以便停工。

我们的维多利亚美食之旅开始于城市市场的采样; The Butchart Gardens的两人茶,Agrius早餐的南瓜派,因为我们可以!

每个人都喜欢食物 即使你不能就其他事情达成一致,你仍然可以认为食物很棒。 与你妈妈一起旅行意味着你可以在几个小时的长餐中享用多杯葡萄酒...至少那就是跟妈妈一起旅行的意思。 作为两个经常吵闹的男孩的妈妈,悠闲的饭菜对我来说远非常规。 利用成人公司的特殊膳食(或几餐)。在温哥华岛,我推荐在The A的季节性下午茶的美味零食和精致甜食。 布查特花园,我们得到的食物的惊人的横截面 维多利亚的味道 在Tigh Na Mara的Treetops徒步游览迷人的导游和无尽的小吃(是的,您的正确阅读)。

提示:旅行和餐馆意味着你不必做饭或主持餐。 确保您充分利用这种罕见的美食。

意想不到的奖金 当我和我的伴侣和孩子一起旅行时,我就是妈妈。 我做所有“妈妈”的事情,比如当我们需要在那里并跟踪我们的东西时确保我们需要的地方(酒店钥匙除外,我对此毫无希望。)和妈妈一起旅行意味着分享妈妈责任,我无法相信这是多么自由。 她在出门的时候抓住了我的手套,移动了我的眼镜,所以我不会踩到它们,给我点了她的甜点。 这一定是我孩子一直想的样子。 如果他们只有他们的年龄足以意识到他们有多好。

如果我记得我有多好 仍然 有它。

提示:和妈妈一起旅行。 并打电话给她!

非常感谢 参观Parksville Qualicum海滩目的地大维多利亚 托管我们。 这些意见一如既往地是我自己的意见。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Grown Ups Need Mom Time Too! Travels with Mom on Vancouver Island

Where to go and what to do when you visit Vancouver Island with your mom–and why you should!

The Parksville beaches are the perfect spot to enjoy a winter walk in the morning.

If you think about it, there is no better travel companion than your own mom—assuming, of course, you have a good relationship with her. But if you are lucky like me and get along with the woman who filled the maternal role in your life, you should go on a trip with her now, as grown-ups. Who else is going to take care of you, make sure you eat and just be generally pleased to be spending time with you? No one, that’s who. Read on for the things you need to keep in mind if you are going to travel with your mom, then go pack your bags!

The cozy cabin in the woods at the Tigh-Na-Mara; the pond at the entry to the Parkside Hotel (the koi move inside for the winter)

Where to ma’am? So first things first. Where do you want to go? For a variety of all-ages activities, mild climate, and affordability, Vancouver Island is an ideal choice. My mom is definitely the easy-going one of us and assured me she would be happy wherever we went. I couldn’t be gone for an extended trip and needed to be conscious of the budget. My mom doesn’t like the heat but pleasant weather is a must for me. For an early December trip, Vancouver Island fit the bill perfectly.

We stayed at the secluded Tigh-Na-Mara Resort just outside Parksville and the sophisticated Parkside Hotel in downtown Victoria during our getaway. They couldn’t have been more different or more fabulous for our purposes. At the Tigh-Na-Mara, we stayed in a 2-bedroom log cabin set in the trees, complete with wood-burning fireplace and a deep jetted tub. At the Parkside, our suite had two bathrooms and two patios and room to spread out. We bunked in together on the massive king-sized bed —another good thing about travelling with your mom is that no one has to sleep on the sofabed.

Tip: Consider how much space you and mom need when it comes to accomodations. Do you each need your own bed or your own BEDROOM?

It’s Christmas in Victoria: in Old Town at the Royal BC Museum and in the dining room at Craigdarroch Castle. Healthy fare from Nourish balances the Christmas treats!

Do what you love…or try something new. My mom and I share more than DNA. You probably have some shared interests with your mom too. Christmas was settling in nicely when we visited Victoria, so we had a great time looking at the displays at the Festival of Trees, the Habitat for Humanity Gingerbread Showcase, and the illuminations at The Butchart Gardens.  We strolled through the Royal British Columbia Museum and toured Craigdarroch Castle. We relished doing things kids and husbands might not have patience for…at least not at the leisurely pace my mom and I went at. And we took time to do things we might not do regularly, like a tasting at the Mt. Arrowsmith craft brewery, or chowing down on unconscionably healthy food at Nourish Kitchen & Café or Agrius in Victoria.

Tip: Spice up your itinerary. Try to choose a mix of things you both like, things you each enjoy separately, and things you might not do under ordinary circumstances.

A reflective walk in the Heritage Forest at Qualicum Beach is part of the prescription for Forest Therapy (aka forest bathing) with Pacific Rainforest Adventures

Schedule downtime Wrangling high energy kids leaves you with a warped sense of how much activity should be crammed into a day. Your mom might be a vigorous senior, but you have to remember that she gets tired faster than your six-year-old. In addition to quiet time for reading (I read two books—which is two more than I have actually finished in about years!) we scheduled in some relaxing activities. We learned about shin-rin-yoku, the Japanese practice of forest bathing on an afternoon walking the lush forest trails with Pacific Rainforest Adventures.  We spent a glorious evening soaking and chatting quietly in the Grotto Spa at the Tigh-Na-Mara.  Both were the quiet rejuvenating experiences I feel like I never have time for, and the perfect way to give mom some a break from my relentless scheduling.

Tip: Remember you may have a different pace from you mom. Make sure you take breaks and leave space for downtime.

Our Taste of Victoria food tour started off with samplings at the City Market; tea for two at The Butchart Gardens, pumpkin pie for breakfast at Agrius, because we can!

Everyone loves food Even if you can’t agree on much else, you can probably still agree that food is great.  Travelling with your mom means you can indulge in hours long meals with multiple glasses of wine…at least that’s what travelling with MY mom means.  As the mom of two often rambunctious boys, leisurely meals are far from the norm for me. Take advantage of the adult company by splurging on a special meal (or several.) On Vancouver Island, I recommend the savoury treats and dainty sweets of the seasonal high tea at The Butchart Gardens, the amazing cross section of food we got to sample on our Taste of Victoria walking tour with a charming guide, and the endless tapas (yes, your read that right) at Treetops at the Tigh Na Mara.

Tip: Travelling and restaurants mean neither of you have to cook or host the meals. Make sure you take advantage of the rare treat.

Unexpected bonuses When I travel with my partner and kids, I am the mom. I do all the “mom” things like making sure we are where we need to be when we need to be there and keeping track of our stuff (except hotel keys, I am hopeless at that.) Travelling with my mom meant sharing the mom responsibilities, and I couldn’t believe how freeing it was. She grabbed my gloves on the way out, moved my glasses so I wouldn’t step on them, and gave me bites of her dessert. This must be what my kids feel like all the time. If only they were old enough to realize just how good they have it.

If only I remember just how good I still have it.

Tip: Take a trip with your mom. And call her!

Many thanks to Visit Parksville Qualicum Beach and Destination Greater Victoria for hosting us. The opinions, as always, are my own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *