多倫多市最近宣布,多倫多歷史博物館現已免費開放! 目標是為每個人提供充分參與文化遺產和空間的機會。 反過來,我們絕對應該慶祝博物館對我們社區的貢獻。 繼續閱讀,了解如何找到在特大城市周圍開放的 10 處房產。

注意:營業時間因場地而異,另外一些特殊的展覽和活動可能會收取費用。

多倫多市區

約克堡國家歷史遺址
哪裡: 多倫多約克堡大道 250 號
與它的新鄰居——(字面上)黯然失色的公寓建築和高速公路——形成鮮明對比的是,在約克堡時光倒流是一種很好的體驗。 它不僅是一個保存完好的 43 英畝考古公園,而且約克堡具有歷史意義:它是英國士兵、原住民戰士和上加拿大民兵站在一起反對美國和他們在戰爭中佔領多倫多的使命的地方1812.

麥肯齊之家 (目前因洪水而關閉)
哪裡: 多倫多邦德街 82 號
這座經過修復的 1858 年聯排別墅位於多倫多市中心,是威廉·里昂·麥肯齊 (William Lyon Mackenzie) 的最後家,他是多倫多的第一任市長,也是 1837 年叛亂的領導人。 (有趣的花絮:首相威廉·里昂·麥肯齊·金,麥肯齊的孫子,從拆遷中拯救了這座房子。)

市場畫廊
哪裡: 多倫多東前街 95 號
在聖勞倫斯市場的二樓,第一個市議會會議廳現在設有旋轉展品,深入了解我們城市的歷史。

斯帕迪納博物館
哪裡: 285 Spadina Road, 多倫多
在這座令人眼花繚亂的豪宅和 Casa Loma 的鄰居中探索 1930 年代的富裕和輝煌。 很酷的事實:“Spadina”這個名字來自一個 Annishnaabemowin 詞 伊什帕迪納 (“高地”或“山脊”),因為它位於俯瞰多倫多的峽谷之上。

住宅區和北約克

吉布森之家
哪裡: 北約克央街 5172 號
Gibson House 是一座 19 世紀的農舍,隱藏在北約克的高樓之間。 在那裡,您可以跨過門檻並返回,為遊客提供了品嚐、嗅覺和触摸歷史的機會。

錫安校舍
哪裡: 1091 Finch Avenue East, 北約克
錫安校舍讓遊客有機會體驗大約 1910 年在學校的一天。想像一下,不僅與您的朋友一起上課,還與附近的每個孩子(包括您所有的兄弟姐妹)一起上課。

東區和士嘉堡

士嘉堡博物館
哪裡: 士嘉堡布里姆利路 1007 號
了解斯卡伯勒如何從原住民和定居者耕種的土地發展成為北美第四大城市的主要郊區。

托德摩登米爾斯
哪裡: 67 Pottery Road, 多倫多
Todmorden Mills 隱藏在頓河谷,讓您通過生產木材、麵粉、啤酒和磚塊的勞動人民的日常生活沉浸在多倫多的歷史中,這些勞動者建造了我們的城市。

西區和怡陶碧谷

科爾本旅館 (內部目前關閉)
哪裡: 11 Colborne Lodge Drive, 多倫多
這座攝政時代的湖畔避暑別墅坐落在西區的高公園,現在是社區活動的活躍中心,如別墅和花園之旅、特別活動、研討會等。

蒙哥馬利旅館
哪裡: 4709 Dundas Street West, 怡陶碧谷
這個熱鬧的博物館讓遊客有機會了解 19 世紀的加拿大旅館是如何經營的,從舞廳到臥室,以及仍在正常工作的廚房和酒吧。 它還運行一個受歡迎的 農貿市場.

在多倫多尋找更多博物館? 你可以找到他們 這裡!

The City of Toronto has recently announced that Toronto History Museums are now open with FREE general admission! The goal is to provide everyone with the opportunity to fully participate in cultural heritage and spaces. In turn, we should definitely celebrate the contributions of museums to our communities. Read on to how find about the 10 properties open around the megacity.

Note: Operating hours vary by site, and additionally some special exhibitions and events may carry a charge.

Downtown Toronto

Fort York National Historic Site
Where: 250 Fort York Blvd., Toronto
As a contrast to its new neighbours — the (literally) overshadowing condo buildings and highways — it’s quite the experience to step back in time at Fort York. Not only is it a preserved as a 43-acre archeological park, but Fort York holds historical significance: it’s where British soldiers, First Nations warriors, and Upper Canadian militiamen stood together against the United States and their mission to capture Toronto in the War of 1812.

Mackenzie House (currently closed due to flooding)
Where: 82 Bond Street, Toronto
Located in the heart of downtown Toronto, this restored 1858 townhouse was the final home of William Lyon Mackenzie, who was Toronto’s first mayor and also leader of the 1837 Rebellion. (Interesting tidbit: Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King, Mackenzie’s grandson, saved the house from demolition.)

Market Gallery
Where: 95 Front Street East, Toronto
On the second floor of St. Lawrence Market, the first City Council chambers now houses rotating exhibits that dive deep into the history of our city.

Spadina Museum
Where: 285 Spadina Road, Toronto
Explore the opulence and splendour of the 1930s at this dazzling mansion and neighbour of Casa Loma. Cool fact: the name “Spadina” comes from an Annishnaabemowin word ishpadina (“highland” or “ridge”), because it sits on top of the ravine overlooking Toronto.

Uptown & North York

Gibson House
Where: 5172 Yonge Street, North York
Gibson House is a 19th-century farmhouse hidden between the high rises of North York. There you can step across the threshold and back in offers visitors an opportunity to taste, smell and touch history.

Zion Schoolhouse
Where: 1091 Finch Avenue East, North York
Zion Schoolhouse offers visitors a chance to experience a day at school circa 1910. Imagine what it’s like to take class not only with your friends, but every kid in the neighbourhood including all your siblings.

East End & Scarborough

Scarborough Museum
Where: 1007 Brimley Road, Scarborough
Learn how Scarborough developed from land farmed by Indigenous peoples and settlers to a major suburb of North America’s fourth largest city.

Todmorden Mills
Where: 67 Pottery Road, Toronto
Hidden in the Don River Valley, Todmorden Mills lets you immerse yourself in Toronto’s history through the daily lives of the working people who made the lumber, flour, beer, and bricks that built our city.

West End & Etobicoke

Colborne Lodge (interior currently closed)
Where: 11 Colborne Lodge Drive, Toronto
Nestled in the west end’s High Park, this Regency-era lakeside summer cottage is now an active hub for community events, such as cottage and garden tours, special events, workshops, and more.

Montgomery’s Inn
Where: 4709 Dundas Street West, Etobicoke
This lively museum gives visitors the opportunity to see how a 19th-century Canadian inn was run, from ballroom to bedrooms, as well as a kitchen and bar that are still in full working order. It also runs a popular farmers market.

Looking for more Museums in Toronto? You can find them here!