文字學院的力量 致力於在有趣和有教養的環境中為兒童提供最高質量的書面和口頭交流培訓。 他們創新的夏令營課程為營員提供了創造性的機會,有助於培養批判性思維、團隊建設以及個人成長。

創意寫作和戲劇夏令營(7-12歲)

這個夏令營是孩子們一個活躍而引人入勝的創意週。 他們建立了自己的故事寫作技巧和為觀眾表演的信心!

創意寫作
營員創作並出版自己的書籍! 營員和老師一起選擇鼓舞人心的主題。 然後,教師帶領學生完成創作自己的敘事故事的計劃、寫作和編輯階段。 在周末,營員會收到他們書籍的數字和印刷副本。 這些專業裝訂的書籍看起來就像購買的出版物! 朋友和家人還可以在線購買您孩子出版的書籍,這絕對是我們營員引以為豪的事情。

使用技術的戲劇
下午,這個項目幫助孩子們建立自信,以及公開演講、領導力、團隊合作和協作技能。 本次夏令營使用講故事和角色扮演。 孩子們分組合作,就他們感興趣的話題製作脫口秀或紀錄片。 然後,他們錄製綠屏視頻並學習編輯和製作視頻。 在本週末,營員將收到他們作品的數字副本。 這個訓練營適合所有有抱負的年輕學生,從害羞和矜持到敏銳和自信的演講者!

創意寫作和辯論夏令營(10-14 歲)

對於年齡較大的孩子來說,這個訓練營是一個充滿創造力和引人入勝的一周,培養他們的故事寫作技巧,並激發孩子們以結構和自信的方式辯論要點。

辯論
Power of Words Academy 為營員提供倡導想法的機會。 他們通過即興公開演講遊戲、辯論爭執和正式辯論回合形成回應並就某一觀點發表講話。 孩子們獲得信心,建立彈性並發展有效的協作技能。 營員每天參加一輪辯論,並從老師那裡獲得建設性的反饋。 目的是提高他們的交付和批判性思維能力。

充實寫作課程(2-3、4-5、6-8 年級)

本課程專為新學生設計,沒有以前的 Power of Words Academy 學年充實寫作和公開演講課程的經驗。 一個班級最多有 12 名學生,虛擬課程使用 Zoom Platform 和 Google Classroom 授課。 這些課程是互動的,並符合安大略學校課程的共同核心標準。

學生學會收集和組織想法,起草和修改他們的寫作,校對,然後確定他們的優勢和需要改進的領域以及他們認為在寫作過程的不同階段最有幫助的策略。 此外,營員學習寫作四種論文的結構,培養批判性思維能力並學習增加寫作的深度。

公開演講課程(2-3、4-5、6-8 年級)

這是一門介紹性的公共演講課程,專為尚未參加 Power of Words Academy 學年充實寫作和公共演講課程的學生而設計。 一個班級最多有 12 名學生,虛擬課程使用 Zoom Platform 和 Google Classroom 授課。 學生通過郵件收到活頁夾,其中包含每週筆記和工作表。

Power of Words Academy 認識到口頭交流技巧是學生參與任何學習環境的基礎。 除了設計這門專門針對公開演講的課程(學生在模擬環境中編寫和展示自己的演講)外,他們還在整個課程中融入了學習活動,目的是培養自信和強大的演講者。

入學考試英語預備課程(6-8 年級)

本課程將使您的孩子熟悉 SSAT 和 ISEE 考試的各個方面,重點是考試的口頭、閱讀和論文部分。

學生將在口頭和閱讀理解部分學習他們將面臨的所有類型的問題。 清楚地解釋了解決每種類型問題的策略,然後有大量機會在定時條件下練習每種類型的問題。 學生學習關鍵的 SSAT/ISEE 考試策略和時間管理技能,這將幫助他們最大限度地提高考試成績。 它還將幫助您的孩子準備 MaCS、TOPs、IB 等的英語部分。

文字學院的力量

什麼時候: 11 年 25 月 2022 日至 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日
哪裡: 北約克、萬錦和密西沙加的虛擬校園和麵對面校園
網站: www.powerofwordsacademy.ca

別忘了查看我們的完整版 夏令營指南!

Power of Words Academy is committed to providing the highest quality of written and oral communication training to children in a fun and nurturing environment. Their innovative summer camp curriculum provides campers with creative opportunities that aid in the development of critical thinking, team building as well as personal growth.

Creative Writing and Drama Summer Camp (Ages 7-12)

This camp is an active and engaging week of creativity for kids. They build both their story writing skills and their confidence in performing for an audience!

Creative Writing
Campers create and publish their own books! Campers and teachers choose the inspiring themes together. Then, the teachers take students through the planning, writing and editing stages of creating their own narrative story. At the end of the week, the campers receive digital and print copies of their books. These professionally-bound books look just like purchased publications! Friends and family can also purchase your child’s published books on-line, which is definitely something our campers take pride in.

Drama Using Tech
In the afternoon, this program helps kids build their confidence, as well as public speaking, leadership, teamwork, and collaboration skills. This session of the camp uses storytelling and role playing. The kids work in groups to create a talk show or documentary on a topic of interest to them. Then, they record green screen videos and learn to edit and produce their videos. At the end of the week, the campers will receive digital copies of their productions. This camp is for all aspiring young students, from the shy and reserved to the keen and confident speakers!

Creative Writing and Debate Summer Camp (Ages 10 – 14)

For older kids, this camp is an active and engaging week of creativity, building their story writing skills and inspires kids to debate on point with structure and confidence.

Debate
Power of Words Academy provides campers with opportunities to advocate for an idea. They form a response and speak on a point through impromptu public speaking games, debate feuds and formal debate rounds. Kids gain confidence, build resilience and develop effective collaboration skills. Campers participate in one debate round daily and receive constructive feedback from the teacher. The intent is to advance their delivery and critical thinking skills.

Enrichment Writing Course (Grades 2-3, 4-5, 6-8)

This course is designed for new students, without the previous experience of the Power of Words Academy School Year Enrichment Writing and Public Speaking program. There is a maximum of 12 students in a class and the virtual classes are delivered using the Zoom Platform and Google Classroom. The lessons are interactive and aligned with the common core standards of the Ontario School Curriculum.

Students learn to gather and organize ideas, draft and revise their writing, proofread, then identify their strengths and areas for improvement and strategies they found most helpful at different stages of the writing process. Furthermore, campers learn the structure of writing four types of essays, develop critical thinking skills and learn to add depth to writing pieces.

Public Speaking Course (Grades 2-3, 4-5, 6-8)

This is an introductory public speaking course designed for students who have not taken the Power of Words Academy School Year Enrichment Writing and Public Speaking program. There is a maximum of 12 students in a class and the virtual classes are delivered using the Zoom Platform and Google Classroom. Students receive binders by mail with the weekly notes and worksheets included therein.

Power of Words Academy recognizes that oral communication skills are fundamental to student participation in any learning environment. In addition to designing this course specifically focused on public speaking, where students write and present their own speeches in a mock setting, they have incorporated learning activities throughout the curriculum with the goal of building confident and powerful speakers.

English Prep Course for Entrance Exam (Grades 6-8)

This course will familiarize your child with all aspects of the SSAT and ISEE exams with a focus on the verbal, reading, and essay components of the test.

Students learn all the types of questions they will face in the verbal and reading comprehension sections. Strategies for solving each type of question are clearly explained, then followed up with plenty of opportunities to practice each type of question under timed conditions. Students learn critical SSAT/ISEE test-taking strategies and time management skills that will help them maximize their test scores. It will also help your child prepare for the English component for MaCS, TOPs, IB etc.

Power of Words Academy

When: July 11 — August 25, 2022
Where: Virtual campus and in-person campuses in North York, Markham and Mississauga
Website: www.powerofwordsacademy.ca

Don’t forget to check out our full Summer Camp Guide!